Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of City Hotel Meckenheim This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Bonner Straße 25, 53340 Meckenheim, Germany

#3 of 3 hotels in Meckenheim

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 357 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We saw that the ventilation in the ceiling of the bathroom was dusty, but over-all our room was neat and clean. The bathroom was also small, but that's fine. But two people couldn't use the mirror the same time, because it was small and there's no extra mirror in the sitting area. It would be nice if the room has an extra mirror outside the bathroom! 😉

    I liked that the place was quiet and peaceful, though it's located beside the main road. The center is just minutes away and some shops are scattered around the area, but you would need a car because there's no public transportation nearby. I also liked that the room, though just simple, was spacious ( at least where we stayed) and the bed was comfortable. And there's a little coffee maker in the room too! The staff were friendly and those in the reception spoke English fluently. There was just this awkward moment during our breakfast that there's one staff in there who was trying to explain something with the coffee machine, but because she couldn't speak English and we couldn't understand German, she just stopped the conversation and smiled. 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the internet connection was not good at all, I was in the second building and it hardly worked, only issue but not big enough of an issue to give a worse rating, otherwise the hotel was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has very nice rooms and a good restaurant. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet is very good and leaves very little wishes open.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were lacking a refrigerator in our room. We would also have appreciated having a sauna in the hotel..

    Good parking near the hotel, friendly staff, good breakfasts, Free WiFi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Signage to Reception for hotel proper. Easy to park in the area for conferences and health centre with longer walk to very far from obvious Reception Entrance. This is a modern property stuffed with totally inappropriate ancient woodwork to no purpose at all. The ambience is both odd and nearly entirely lacking. The bar is soulless and the restaurant entirely lacking in any character at all. The whole feeling is that this is a Health Centre and a Conference Centre with an hotel add on that takes less management attention.

    Excellent helpful pleasant woman on Reception with perfect English.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's only the location which is a bit far from the centre.

    breakfast was excellent. Always ready before time. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was basic and dated. The coffee-tea machine didn't work. The bathroom was small.

    There is a small fitness area and swimming pool to work out. The hotel is basic but good enough for one night. Breakfast is good, a lot of choice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When you arrive, there are a flight of steps from the front door to the lobby and I carried my bags up those steps to reach the front desk. I then found that if I went around to the left side outside, there was a ramp that lead to the lobby area with no steps involved. There probably should be a sign posted to advice arriving guests of this alternative means of access. I have stayed there a number of times but never realized the ramp was there because it is out of sight when standing by the front entrance.

    Staff was most helpful and everyone spoke English so communicating was no problem. At breakfast one morning, the scrambled eggs had run out but a cook offered to make more and then brought a plate heaping full of scrambled eggs to me at my table. Can't ask for more than that. And, as always, the buffet provided a good range of food choices for breakfast in a nice, large airy dining area. Also, the hotel is only a few blocks easy walk from the railroad station and the heart of the city.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bar or restaurant facilities Saturday & Sunday, although staff did recommend an excellent restaurant a short distance away.

    Very nice breakfast, comfortable room and excellent staff who made us very welcome.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff very accommodating

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good clean hotel nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    food was very good, highly recommend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in room Water is too expensive in restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi in Annex had an intermediate connection. Wifi in main building fine.

    Great Breakfast! Easy walk to Bus or S-Bahn station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very polite friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked to have air conditioning.

    Staff, cleanliness.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast and easy parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Spacious twin room. Good breakfast. Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fresh cheeses at breakfast with jam and croissant were great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not far from motorway. Comfortable rooms. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in a room that was near a band that was playing and not much sleep! :(

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great service, friendly staff and very helpful

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is split across a road - leisure facilities involve a walk outside

    nice bar area and good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We choose this hotel specially for its wellness facilities, and made therefore a D tour. When we arrived there, the facilities proved to be closed over the weekend. The lady at the front desk told that this was a short time decision of the management. We felt cheated, as the facilities should be free. No discount was possible. Very disappointing.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25