Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Germany hotel reviews
  3. Bavaria hotel reviews
  4. Munich hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of City-Hotel München

Reviews of City-Hotel München This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Schillerstrasse 3a, Ludwigsvorstadt, 80336 Munich, Germany

#278 of 364 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2669 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable, quiet and very satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel could be described as plain but it doesn't pretend to be a 5 star. If you want an all singing and dancing hotel then pay for it. This place is functional, clean and very well positioned. To sum up, I would go there again.

    The dining area was spotless, the tables immaculate and the staff very friendly. The food was buffet style and a there was a wide enough choice to suit most tastes. The position of this hotel is perfect for the shops and all transport links. You might read elsewhere about this hotel being in a "red light district" but this is not an issue. Sure there are lap dancing clubs but so what...they are not doing it in the street and nobody approaches anyone passing by to persuade them to enter. I saw no "ladies of the night".

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    8.8
    Overall great room for the cost; breakfast was very good, European style - which we loved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very well presented and was overall very comfortable. However, it was very warm in the room, and turning down the thermostat didn’t help. We slept with the window cracked in order for it to be comfortable for sleeping. Some may prefer it very warm to sleep, we did not.

    Overall this hotel was great for the cost. We traveled to Munich for the Christmas Markets and the location of the hotel was perfect and within a short walk to the MarionPlatz. Get the Breakfast included! If you’re a fan of German/European breakfast, this one didn’t disappoint!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    6.3
    The night shift staff was very nice and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The day time staff were not helpful and their attitude was not good. There was no kettle in the room to boil some water.

    The night shift staff was very nice and helpful

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    9.2
    good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is very close to the train station (very convenient for an early travel) and quite close to the old town (most sights are within walking distance). The facilities are not the newest ones, but it is clean and provides decent quality for money.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    8.8
    Hotel was nice and central for Munich, being only a few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No coffee making facilities in the room, which isn't a disaster but just a nice finishing touch. The room had a strong smell of Indian spices which was a bit overpowering at first but soon got used to it. Not sure where the smell was coming from, perhaps a local takeaway close by (our room was to the back of the property).

    Hotel was nice and central for Munich, being only a few minutes walk to the main train station (Hauptbahnhof) and a 5 min walk to Karlsplatz / 10-15 min walk to Marienplatz. There were good transport links if required. Room was a reasonable size and bed was comfortable enough. Can't fault the cleanliness of the room and the breakfast buffet was reasonable.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    4.6
    Good location but not much else going for the site. Wouldnt stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed Lack of facilities in room Unapproachable staff Cleanliness

    We asked for a large double bed, we got 2 single beds pushed together which was a little bit tricky and uncomfortable when sharing a bed. There was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, only a mini bar containing cold drinks. The staff weren't very approachable or certainly the older staff weren't. The sheets when we arrived had short black hair on the sheets and only one pillow each with a small pillow on top which didn't smell the freshest. There was lot of banging going on to very late in the night which on top of the bed didn't help with sleeping. Location wise it was central and close to the main station

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    8.3
    Conveniently located, and the hotel stay was pleasant. Fortunately there were food deliveries too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    While conveniently located, the street makes one feel somewhat uncomfortable. Grocery store was located a distance away. Unfortunately internet connectivity issue occured on our last day, which slightly disrupted our plan (of planning our next journey).

    Conveniently located near main train station, and sights were within walking distance. Food outlets were nearby

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is nicely situated close to the Central Station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is nicely situated close to the Central Station and you have a lot of public transport close. Also, the hotel is 10 minutes walk from the old city center. The breakfast was ok, but not great. A good choice for a standard 3 star hotel and good value of money

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel for the station and town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, it was what we expected.

    Great location, right next to the main station, and about 10 minutes flat and easy walk to the centre of town. Perfect for a one night stopover, comfy beds, good shower and decent breakfast. Staff were generally friendly, and we were able to leave our bags during the day. I'd stay here again if I were needing a hotel near the station.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    2.5
    Choose a different hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were rude, blatantly didn’t want to even speak to us, location was close to town but surrounded by sex shops awful kebab shops and beggars and wasn’t n or to walk through. Request a double room and got a twin. Was just an overall bad hotel and bad staff. We regularly travel and stay in different hotels and this is one of the worst we have stayed in.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    7.5
    worth for budget trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the toilet pipe does not seem to be up to typical german standard. facilities are old but intact.

    nice location with less than few minutes walk to the hauptbahnhof. heating devices are in a good condition.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    7.1
    Central location, only 1 minute walk to the main train...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Floor 1 and 6 allow smoking inside the rooms, remember to ask for non-smoking room in your booking if you don't smoke. Reception staff could try to smile or at least pretend they like their job. To advertise WiFi is just a bad joke, it does not work at all.

    Central location, only 1 minute walk to the main train station. Large rooms with comfortable beds. Good breakfast. Asked for new room because the first one had very bad smell and that was no problem.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    7.1
    Could
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall outdated. Carpet. No possibility to bake the eggs according to my wish, i.e. not completely baked.

    Nice bed. Good organic bread. Very close to HauptBahnhof

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    7.5
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although on the third floor the smell of cigarettes from the lower floors was quite strong. When you are used to all non smoking hotels the smell was quite strong in our non smoking room.

    The location was good. Good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    9.6
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was a little overpriced but otherwise a pleasant stay.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location. Room was spacious and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    5.4
    BAD CLEANING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE CLEANING OF THE ROOM WAS AWFUL ESPECIALLY THE TOILET.WORST WE EVER SEEN.DIRTY WALLS AND CARPET.THERE WAS A CURRY SMELL ALL AROUND THE ROOM BOTH DAYS....

    THE LOCATION WAS REALLY NICE.NEXT TO A METRO/TRAIN STATION THE BREAKFAST WAS DECENT ENOUGH FREE OF CHARGE LUGGAGE DROP OFF AFTER THE CHECK OUT TIME FRIENDLY BREAKFAST STUFF

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    7.5
    Very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Strange smell in the hotel room.

    Very good breakfast. Room was clean and quite. Hotel is just next to the main train station. Many restaurants, shops, clubs, pubs etc all around. Excellent location.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    6.7
    A good value for money base to enjoy a City break. If you want boutique or upmarket look elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is in a very lively part of the town - with strip clubs and bars next to it and lots of people hanging around on the streets outside - to be fair it is right next to the main station. Having said this we never felt uncomfortable with this even coming back late at night. The bathroom shower head was broken, with water gushing out at all angles. The basin plug pull was also broken, so it wasn’t able to hold water. The free WiFi was intermittent in our room and slow when connected.

    Hotel was good value for money, room and hotel was kept clean and tidy, staff were friendly and helpful. Location was relatively central in the city - right next to a major transport hub so easy to get to and from, and about.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    5.8
    Location, big comfortable rooms, comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Smelt in the room, a bit noisy from the street. Minibar is not stated in the provided hotel brochure, be careful using it.

    Location, big comfortable rooms, comfortable beds

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    7.9
    Central hotel, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A touch noisy at night due to the central city location

    Great central location close to Munchen Munchen hbf train station. Plenty of cheap eats and bakeries within walking distance

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    6.7
    The room was hot and the shower was cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The facilities were dated. The AC never worked. Nor did the phone (to contact the front desk). The shower didn’t work, but was fixed by the second day.

    The proximity to the train station was great!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    8.8
    Nice and conveniently located within easy walking access to Main Train Station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Weak Wifi connection. Limited facilities.

    Nice and convenient location- within easy walking access to the Central Train Station, near which are Meeting Points of tour operators such as Hop On Hop Off / local tours.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    9.2
    For a short stay in Munich, the hotel is ideal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No bar, but that is just a niggle! Not for a week but one or two nights, just the job!

    The location is excellent! A stone's throw from the station. Rooms big, think eighties German decor! A great shower, comfortable bed, well noisy but think where you are! I didn't mind the life outside! Very good breakfast indeed with very pleasant service! And newspapers!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    7.1
    Almost exactly what I expected.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The towel heating device was not working. The first night the toilet did not flush and there was only hot water in both the sink and shower. Everything but the towel heater was fixed promptly

    The room was good in spite of several problems that were uncharacteristic. I have stayed there many times in the past and these problems did not occur before. The bed and pillows were great, one could actually read in bed, a rarity in most of the hotels/motels I have stayed in recently. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    8.8
    Great location and comfortable beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is a very basic hotel and the next door neighbor is a somewhat seedy strip club.

    Great location, just two short blocks from the main train station. Munich is a very expensive city, so this property is a very good deal. The breakfast buffet was excellent, and gave us a good start to a busy day of sightseeing. Front desk staff was really helpful. I will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    7.1
    Overall value for $$ for the price I got for a night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Adult bar along this same street.

    Near the main train station at exit F. Not suitable to travel with young children due to some adults bars on the same street.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    5.0
    It's very close to an underground station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Value for money was not good for me. The hotel looks old and smells old. The neighborhood is full of strip clubs. Some people might mind this.

    It's very close to an underground station. Marienplatz is at walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    6.7
    They included explicitly not requested breakfast in the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They included explicitly not requested breakfast in the invoice. I complained and they removed the breakfast and reduced the price. Leaving they let me pay the amount with breakfast without having had breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    8.3
    convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very close to the central station means it is not in a quiet area. So I did not mean to complain, but even in middle of night it was so noisy outside. Luckily I was tired enough to sleep, though. The safe box in the room was not usable (I needed to sign the form stating that I do not leave valuables there for security reason, and the safe was locked).

    Very close to the entrance of Munich central station, although the central station is so big that I need some time inside the station to get the right platform from the entrance of the station. Room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    9.2
    very great stay in Munich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    very great stay in Munich. the staff was very helpful and the the room is clean and i like the candy present. 3mins walking to main station and close to historical area too.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    8.3
    Very quiet comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The area is a bit on the sketchy side at the street level.

    Very quiet comfortable room. Excellent breakfast with friendly staff. Location was convenient to train station and sites in Munich.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    7.9
    Great Hotel but awful internet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet was WOEFUL! Worst experience after travelling in Europe for 8 weeks. Yes that bad! Cutting in and out and slow speeds were not what we expected in the Munich CBD. It was a significant disappointment sending emails and photos to family as well as browsing news and events at home.

    The room was very spacious as was the bathroom. The location was excellent for a tourist; just a stone's throw from the Central station; handy to the Old City; very close to the bus tour pick up point.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    10
    Solid three-star hotel option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Located in the heart of the city, this hotel is a solid option for travelers that enjoy walking around. Staff was relaxed and willing to help, the room was clean, tidy and spacious, the breakfast was good and, overall, this is a good value-for-money choice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    4.2
    Not worth money paid, very moose and hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy, you open the windows and you can’t sleep. It is very hot inside the rooms. The smell of the breakfast comes to the rooms on the 4th floor!!!! The elevator smell spices from nearby restaurants! The staff is not helpful at all, they nearly say hi to you. I do not recommend staying here.

    The location is good, almost in front of central station and close to marienplatz

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    6.7
    Room was comfortable enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom small, handsoap wasn't refilled and was empty. Shampoo, conditioner and body soap were all the same pump pack - not very nice for hair. Price was incredibly expensive for a 3 star - more like what I'd expect to pay for a 5 star hotel, but was during Oktoberfest so I suppose they can get away with it. Definitely would not pay that price normally.

    Room was comfortable enough. Location was good, easy walk to Oktoberfest and train station. Breakfast was fine. Coffee nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    7.1
    Basic but everything we needed and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Right in the Munich “red light” area didn’t bother us but not ideal for families. Quite a basic breakfast

    Basic but everything we needed and clean. Close to the train station.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    9.6
    Great Munchin
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Out ofvthe hotel the road is very dirty and too crowded and noisy

    The hotel was very clean and breakfast was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found the hotel to be clean, very well located to reach all kinds of historic sights, shopping and restaurants in the old city. The hotel was very quiet despite being on a busy street. Staff were attentive and responsive to our needs. The price was very reasonable for us as well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    9.2
    If available I would definitely stay here again and definitely recommend the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't think of anything I didn't like.

    After reading all the negative reviews of the place which were written between the time my partner and I booked this accommodation and our stay. I found that none of those things had any merit for our experience. The breakfast had plenty of variety of both hot and cold. The one thing that I really appreciated by the staff was that we had a short stay elsewhere in the middle of our time in Munich. We asked if we were able to store our large luggage bags with them which they did. When we returned the staff had already placed them back in the room and it was the same room that we had stayed in the previous week. They also had air conditioning which is pretty rare in Germany.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    5.8
    Decent hotel, very unhelpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Upon arrival, the front desk clerk could not find my name and reservation even after I showed him my confirmation email. He asked if I was in the correct place.

    The breakfast was nice, the hotel was clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    5.8
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It near a club, and the street does not make you feel good, the breakfast was very bad also the female who work there in the restaurant.

    Location was good, near of central station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    6.7
    It was cheap but not cheerful, the location was central but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioner was noisy, there weren't any English speaking stations available on the TV, the general area are a bit seedy and the reception staff were stern.

    It was cheap but not cheerful, the location was central but in a seedy place of the city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    4.2
    Location was convenient for sightseeing and Oktoberbest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very outdated and didn't feel clean. Air conditioning blew warm air and when we asked staff about it, they said it was brand new, and we shouldn't expect A/C like in the States. Did not feel like it was a good value, even with the inflated Oktoberfest prices. Area around hotel is not welcoming. Hallways reeked of cigarette smoke, even though were we in non-smoking room.

    Location was convenient for sightseeing and Oktoberbest. Staff was somewhat helpful with issues. Bed was fairly large. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    6.7
    Alright, provides basics.. doesn’t look great.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathrooms were quite old, didn’t feel nice. The area is a bit seedy. The furniture and carpet feel like they’ve been there a long time.

    Bed was comfortable. Staff generally helpful. Very close to Hauptbanhof.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    9.2
    Great location- across street from train station and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My non smoking room was fine but halls smelled like smoke. Expensive but it was during Octoberfest.

    Great location- across street from train station and very close to old town and Octoberfest grounds.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel and I would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    One thing I didn´t like was the materials of the wall. Accumulated dirt was probably stuck to the walls at some places. But that didn't bother me at all, did not feel as the woom was dirty. Some people would say the neighborhood isn't great. There are strip clubs and something like that all around. I have been to hotels in this neighborhood 3 times before and this doesn't bother me at all and I never felt like I was unsafe.

    Beds was really comfortable and the room was spacious. Breakfast was very good. Staff friendly and helped if we had any questions. Location is excellant, only few meters to Hauptbahnhoff. For oktoberfest travellers it is also excellent location. About 10 minutes of walking to the fest and also about same to downtown. Would deffinitely stay there again!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location and walking distance for most major sites...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi signal was weak at times.

    Perfect location and walking distance for most major sites and Oktoberfest. The room is spacious and clean. Breakfast is plentiful and very good with bacon and eggs, yogurt and fruit and much more. The coffee is great. The staff were very friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable clean hotel near Oktoberfest and Munich central station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was so warm. The air con didn't circulate any cold air at all so it was very stuffy. A nightmare for ladies getting ready with hairdryer on etc. The staff at reception were not very smiley, friendly. They were just matter-of-fact.

    The room was spacious and bed was comfortable. The location to Oktoberfest and the train station was perfect. I was so pleased with this.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    6.7
    It was a short stay so we couldn't partake in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was small. I would have liked a coffee/tea pot in the room. No amenities like shampoo or lotion.

    It was a short stay so we couldn't partake in the included breakfast, but the desk clerk did give us a bag of sandwiches, apples and water to go. Good location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    9.2
    Over expectation, cost efficient, comfortable.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The negative side of being close to Hauptbahnhof would be some noise. But it was OK to stay in 5 OG and the isolation of windows was working fine.

    Great location, heart of München, easy access to hub of transportation. Decent breakfast, clean room, comfortable bed and polite staffs. All hotels in München are expensive during Oktoberfest, but I'm feel lucky to have this jackpot offer here. 😁

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Neighborhood a little run down. A little expensive.

    Location to train and major tourist attractions. Hotel completely modern, clean and very well equipped. Outstanding breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    6.3
    Perfect location, near central station, old city and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really expensive, but for the Oktoberfest were all hotels with increased prices. Floorcarpet was really old and not especially clean, dust under the bed. Shower 🚿 was broken though functional.

    Perfect location, near central station, old city and Theresienwiese

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    7.1
    It was very central to all transport etc.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only small thing was, I was at the front of the hotel with a street view but the smell of old curry from the take away next door as you entered your room each evening wasn't great, but you got used to it very quickly. I know you have to sacrifice something to be at the front!!

    It was very central to all transport etc. Staff were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    7.1
    Price hike in Munich !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inflated price on the night booked (50% increase) relative to available rooms on the following night. A week before Oktoberfest ? 2 out of 3 staff on the front desk were somewhat gruff. Slightly seedy location at night.

    Convenient to the main rail station with walking access to the city centre. Spacious, quiet and comfortable room facing the rear courtyard. Pleasant buffet breakfast with hot coffee pot on each table.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    6.7
    My stay in Munich
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The quality of the internet connection was really poor. Since the hotel is located on a small street in the city center, there are some restaurants near the hotel, where the smell from their kitchen is annoying.

    The hotel is in the city center. So, you have access to the public transportation and can easily get to the different part of the city. It is a quiet hotel and almost nobody disturbs you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    7.9
    Just a regular hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff is polite, but cold and not fully helpful. I didn't like the two situations: 1/ When I asked about possibility to print my boarding passes, they told me that I may do it by myself, at the public computer with printer in the reception lobby. After finishing session at that computer (which my be used by all hotel guests), I wanted to delete all my data (files, log-ins, browsing history etc) as it should be done when you use public computers. However, receptionist considered it was not necessary since nobody else may use my data - he knows because he is there the whole night?!?!?! I do not understand how his presence at the reception desk during the night may prevent anybody from viewing my data in computer?! Hence, I insisted on deleting and asked his help just regarding OS in German that I do not speak. He was not able (or willing) to help me... :-( I did what I wanted thanks to Google Translate, but I didn't like receptionist's attitude (and/or non-existing skills?) towards my ask. 2/ Because of early flight, I ordered breakfast-package for 5 a.m. The order was made around 3 p.m. (15.00h) previous day and confirmed around 10 p.m. (22.00h). However, when I wanted to pick up the packet at 5.05h (5 minutes later than it should be ready), it was not available. I was told that it will be ready "in 2 or 5 minutes or so". Of course that I was not able to wait for it because I had to go to the airport and expression "in 2 or 5 minutes or so" may also mean "in 10 or more minutes". Hence, I left hotel without breakfast package. The problem is not breakfast, but the principle. If they promise to make it, they should keep their promise. Otherwise, they should have told me there was no possibility to make it so early and I would accept it. Not this way - to fail my expectations.

    Location - 6-7 min walk to the central railway station (with suitcases!), 20-30 min pleasant walk to the main city square. Nice, clean, spacious room and bathroom

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    6.7
    Close to the main train station and easy walking distance to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel getting a bit tired as the hall way to the rooms had a smell if people had been smoking . The shower had seen better days but clean .

    Close to the main train station and easy walking distance to the center of city . The room has air conditioning which was great as one wouldnt like to open the windows for security reasons .The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    8.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AC in our room was not cooling. We informed the hotel but didn't do anything to fix it.

    Location. Near the main station, restaurants and grocery shops. Room has plenty of space and clean. The hotel accommodated us early from the check in time. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    8.8
    Walking distance from Hauptbahnhof and Karlsplatz.
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There’s this lady at the front desk who doesn’t know how to smile. She would always scold us if we didn’t bring the ID card provided by the hotel. Too strict for a front a desk person and not very accommodating. 😒

    Walking distance from Hauptbahnhof and Karlsplatz. Near rendezvous of most tours you find online. Smack right in the middle. 😊👍🏼

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air condition did not work. Notified hotel authority but they told me it's a known issue and they can't fix it. Had to open the windows, could not sleep due to noise. Minus that everything else was great

    Great location, just a few minutes walk from Munich central station. Close to major attractions. Plenty of restaurants. Breakfast was superb. Room was large with comfy bed/pillow. Shower was good. Overall great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    9.2
    good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    one elderly man at reception was very abrupt when we asked for key to the room. practically threw it at us. this member of staff marred what was otherwise a very good experience

    good location close to main train station. very clean and comfortable. good breakfast and good value for a city hotel. kept our luggage when we arrived early for check in and had it delivered to our room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    3.3
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Found some members of staff extremely rude. Was far to expensive for what was on offer. Was put in a smoking room when I am a non-smoker, was told if you dont tick non-smoking you will be put in a smoking room, however there was no option to tick smoking or non-smoking. All together this was one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. Was not a happy customer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    7.1
    Very nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    La zona esta llena de fumadores por lo que el hotel huele constantemente a cigarrillo. The area is full with smoking people, so the hotel smells like cigarette in the halls and sometime in the room

    Very nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    6.3
    Great location, very close to the U-bahn/S-bahn station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi didn’t work (2nd floor room), old fashioned hotel, overpriced, air conditioning kept making a strange noise when turned on. Definitely a place to just sleep and get on with your business

    Great location, very close to the U-bahn/S-bahn station. The room was clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    4.2
    Awful. I hope this puts others off.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception could not have been worse, with no eye contact at all. If the room had not been paid for( no cancellation option) I would have walked out again. The whole place smelt awful, though it was clean. The beds were not very comfortable. The air-conditioning did not work. There was NO satellite TV , as advertised in the bedroom. Wifi did NOT work in the bedroom. There was no Bar or coffee house (again advertised in the bedroom). The cost of anything from the mini bar was extortionate. We had booked for two nights but only stayed for one. In the morning a pleasant girl had replaced the original miserable, discourteous man on reception but we only saw her because we had decided to leave!

    the breakfast was surprisingly good. Convenient for the station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    9.6
    Very good budget hotel for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to dislike in our opinion.

    For a budget hotel, we were very happy with our stay. Very quiet within the hotel. 3 minutes walk from main rail station and transport links. 20 minute walk into old town. Breakfast was reasonable for a budget hotel. Large room (238). Staff were very helpful and friendly. We felt very safe walking around the area at night time. Plenty of bars and cafes open late at night, and well policed. However, some people may find the immediate area a little 'shady' at night time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine

    Excellent location, only a short walk from the main train station. Fantastic breakfast, clean and comfortable, nice staff. Would definately stay there again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    5.4
    Handy Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room we had smelled of curry unfortunately, I think from the places nearby. The staff were not rude, but certainly not the friendliest or helpful. Shame. We were paying peak rate due to the time we were there which I wouldn't say is worth it. If you're looking for a budget one night stay central then it should be fine.

    Location is very central, a few meters from the main train station and a short walk to the city centre. The rooms are a good size and kept clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    3.8
    Convenient but expensive
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioner does not work through the stay. Staff did not response about that. Amenity was not satisfied Less Breakfast menu

    Good location, near the central station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    7.5
    Close to the rail way station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning did not work, the man tried to fix it but couldn't, so offered us another room which we were extremely grateful as it was 30 degrees outside.

    Close to the rail way station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    7.5
    Staff was very pleasant and location was was convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I purposely took this hotel paying more than I wanted to because they advertised air conditioning. We got there and they had no air. They said it was broken! then don’t advertise it. Next time I will stick with the one I should have, Jedermann hotel their breakfast is good air is great and good location

    Staff was very pleasant and location was was convenient

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    5.4
    The hotel has a good location and good breakfast included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel facilties is too old and poor maintenance, likes the aircondition of some rooms are not working. But the hotel technician was unable to fix the problem, and the front desk feed back is no free room to replace and force the guest to stay the room without air condition during such hot summer time in Europe. The most unacceptable is when we book this hotel from booking.com which has specific all rooms has fixed with with airconditioner.. But end up is so disappointed.

    The hotel has a good location and good breakfast included. Only a few minute walk to the Munich central station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    5.8
    The main advantage was the LOCATION.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The main advantage was the LOCATION...Otherwise -i think the hotel was below average.. Grateful thanks to the 2 ladies in front desk that service in the morning period...Mrs Sandra ahd Mrs Staudinger...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    8.8
    A great place to stay, central and very good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air con a bit noisy and street outside likewise if turned off and opened window but only minor issue. Would happily stay again

    Great location. Really handy for the main railway station and only a short walk to bars and restaurants. Good breakfast, available early for morning train departures. Staff helpful and pleasant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent. Happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Excellent brakfast. Good air-conditioning.Outside temperature was 22-32c.Short distance to center. Maybe too many beggars. bathroom was clean and good. Room 124 was very quet.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse City-Hotel München Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: