Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of City-Oase

Ludwigstr. 2, 01097 Dresden, Germany

#5 of 52 B&Bs and Inns in Dresden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 57 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 15

    The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was probably our favorite place that we stayed during our 2 week trip to Germany. We only stayed here 2 nights, but wished we had stayed longer. It wasn't right in downtown, but it's close to the Elbe and was a beautiful walk down the river and across a bridge away from downtown. Streetcars are nearby too. Parking was easy and free, but City Oase is in an unusual location. It was an updated older building with unique themed rooms. We stayed in the "bridge artists" room. (This room had separate beds, but we booked the last room available). The rooms were large and the wifi was decent. The owners and hosts were absolutely wonderful. They lent us books, gave us history, and directed us to the highlights of Dresden. And the breakfasts were excellent, including the owner's aunt's Stollen bites (we were there just before Christmas). So good! This place was probably as close to downtown as you can get, without feeling like you are in the city. And it was reasonably priced. We really enjoyed it.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We were just slightly put off on arrival by what seemed a rather back street and, at first, unattractive location.

    However we received a very friendly reception from the owners who did everything they could to be helpful. Exquisitely and uniquely decorated rooms - airy, bright and spacious. The hotel is right by the Elbe and a short pleasant stroll along the river brings you into the heart of the old city with great views on the approach. Convenient also for Neustadt, the modern lively side of town with great eating places. There is safe plentiful parking right outside. Would highly recommend a visit.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The new tax law, we had to pay extra 17 euros (for 3 nights)... We took a taxi from the airport, instead of 20 euros we paid 28 just because the taxi driver couldn't find a hotel, as it is located in a small hidden street, we had to look at google map. The staff is limited, so you need to advise beforehand your arrival time.

    Really nice place to stay, gorgeous, spacious very original rooms. We had a music room dedicated to German opera, with antique furniture, very comfortable king size bed, sofa, armchairs, plasma tv, music player, original decoration etc. Definitely recomendable. The owner is very nice and helpful. The place is comfortably connected to tram lines and train station, it is 15 minutes walking distance from the old town Altstadt, and also 10 minutes walk from the vibrant, modern pubs area of Neustadt. There is a 24/7 gasoline super market just two minutes away. In general very original, nice, comfortable, quiet and clean.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very limited check-in-time and one has to make an agreement about the check-in-time by phone, which is not very convenient. The hotel doesn't accept credit cards, you have to pay by cash. There is a city tax added to the Booking.com-price (in my case it was 11 euros / 2 nights). Quite a walk from the Old Town - the river route is beautiful during the day, but in the evening it's dark.

    Very friendly and helpful owners. Each room has it's own theme, which is very nice. My room had a dvd-player and dvd´s. 100% soundproofed room, very quiet. Good shower. The house has a small but nice garden.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being north of the Altstadt means you see the Canaletto view as you walk into town, but are in the Neustadt for evenings out (miles preferable). Host charming and informative, room wonderful, breakfast excellent - what's not to like?

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very nice place to stay. The host is very informative and helpfull. The rooms are extremely welldesigned and original but still totalt clean and comfortable. The location is central but quiet. God and free parking conditions.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    En suite was not exactly en suite as we had to go out of the room to get to our bathroom.

    Great location near city centres, river, excellent restaurants. Good welcome.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    City Oase is located alongside a lovely green space that stretches along the Elbe on the "new" side of the city. It's an beautiful stroll past the Japanese Palace to the bridge to the old town. The view along the walk is magnificent. The inn is also a stone's throw from the Neustadt train station, and not far from the more bohemian nightlife that the Neustadt area offers. Our room, which was themed after the 18th century writer Schiller, was tastefully decorated, spotless, and comfortable. The bathroom seemed to be newly renovated. The breakfast offered, at an additional cost, is absolutely worth taking. We had a generous selection of gourmet cheeses and charcuterie, various breads with butter and jams, yogurt, fresh fruit, and crudités.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bedrooms are all individually designed on a theme. Our was based on 1001 Nights - beautifully decorated with books and CDs reflecting the theme. Great personal attention from Herr Ranft and delicious breakfasts.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner was very outgoing and full of information about the city sites. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable with individually decorated themes based on Dresden attractions. The location is about 15-20 minutes walk from major attractions and right near the Neustadt train station. The atmosphere is more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Welcoming, interesting host who thinks of everything to make guests comfortable. His quick orientation on how to get to and from the city was perfect. We didn't even need a map. Each room has a theme and is decorated and painted so creatively. Great room, great bath, great breakfast, great location.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful place, nice stuff, artistic and clean rooms, delicius breakfasts! For me number 1 in Dresden.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    good service good room good communication

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Need to plan your arrival time, as limited staff

    Very clean, good location. Enrico was very helpful

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wonderful host, helpful and friendly, easy walking to the old city.

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 15

Guests also reviewed these properties: