Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of City Hotel Saarbrücken This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Richard-Wagner-Straße 67, 66111 Saarbrücken, Germany

#44 of 48 hotels in Saarbrücken

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 722 hotel reviews

6.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6

  • Comfort

    5.3

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    5.3

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 73

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather dated, carpets on stairs need replacing. Cleanliness of room ok, but rest of areas not so good. Bathroom dated. Parking limited

    Convenient location close to autobahn

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioning, and the windows would not open. Hotel needs a lot of updating, but the rooms sheets were clean. Room had 3 beds and a couch, but we were forced to rent another room for a teenager, which smelled too bad to sleep in (stale cigarette smoke).

    Rooms and bedding were clean. It may have been a good value if we hadn’t been required to rent a single room for a teenager.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, furnitures, floor carpet were very old and worn out. Sometimes tv was not working. Internet is not working at all. There is no AC. It was hot untill morning time. Everything in the room was smelling old. Very very old. It was 1994 last time i have stayed that old type of hotel. Room was small and dark. I didnt ser anything moving around but the enviroment was suitable.

    The location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for the hotel itself seemed a bit much, but regarding the location was a good deal.

    The hotel was between 5 and 10 minutes away from the city center which is very good if you want to avoid spending money on transport. I did all the sightseeing by walk. I only spent the weekend there so I didn't get to spend much time in the room but overall it was clean and I had a good rest over night. The staff was helpful when asked questions about where to go and what to do. They were very kind by letting us to leave our luggage at the reception after check-out, so we wouldn't have to walk the rest of the day with our bags on our backs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rooms size is normal , bed not good at all and very dirty . nothing was as written on BOOKING.com, the night staff was just speaking english.

    NOTHING , just the breakfast..!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to declare

    It is what it is i normally stay in 5 star hotels when on holiday and wouldn't take my family to this hotel and i Stayed one night on a business trip here staff helpful. I slept well and there was breakfast provided in the morning. The parking was secure and WiFi was provided all in all was a good stay with good location and i would return next time i am in Saarbrucken

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was basic furnished with only old items, all everything dark and consumed, nothing pretty. Worst part is the lights, 50% of the tiny LED are not functioning, particularly bothersome in the bathroom where one needs light to handle the contact lenses. Its like being in a tunnel! Shower equipment half broken. Unpleasant stay, not recommended.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds not very comfortable construction -under a mattress net that creacked at any motion. Irregular cleaning up

    Good hotel for the price. Close to center and train station. Various breakfast. Friendly staff. Normal Wi-Fi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were awful. We all had awful sleeples night. Old matresses and when you turn arround your partner wakes up from the sound they make. Wifi very bad at the room no connection. Leaking wc. We had 2 rooms booked. We noticed at one of our room as soon as we checked in then they changed the room but when we went to sleep in our 2nd room ours was leaking too. It was late so were too tired to go back to reception to change for other room so placed towels on the ground. Basic breakfast.

    Nice personal. Price was ok and location was ok. Pictures on the website and breakfast looks super nice but in reality is not so good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shouldn't complain too much, as my German is very poor, but the listing says 'we speak your language', should say, 'when the morning receptionist starts work ... rooms are adequate, but decoration is very tired and dated, not decorated for a few years (30) ...

    Great location and private, covered, parking firmly motorbike. Great breakfast, perfect start to the day ...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At the weekends the staff are not quite organised enough to make sure you have a plate and a coffee cup at breakfast. It's eccentric and not super professional. The breakfast is just ok.

    The beds are comfortable, it's inexpensive and does the job and is quite well located for events at the acting and arts centre - it's not a very long walk. I've stayed here quite a few times. It depends a bit who's on the desk that day. My room on this occasion was rather large and very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anymore parking available when we arrived. We ended up parking more than a couple blocks away. The bed wasn't super comfy and we couldn't make it into a full one. The heat was very powerful and hard to regulate to a comfortable temperature. The towels were super hard and scratchy. Also we were near the crowd floor and at one point in the night there were people yelling loudly.

    The location was great. It was within walking distance of the main walk-platz and shopping area. Also it was in an area with plenty of bars, clubs, and restaurants. The room was very clean and spacious. It had a table and chairs and nice ledge to sit on. Breakfast was basic with brotchen and hot eggs, but yummy. We enjoyed being to get everywhere on foot as the weather was sunny. We didn't spend much time in the room as we were only there for a night. The staff were pretty friendly during breakfast and check-in.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not clean. The beds were the only thing in the whole house that at least "looked" clean, but after I had seen the rest, I doubt that whatever is under the sheets would be washed regularly. The whole building is run-down and sleazy, the carpets on the way to the rooms seem to have never ever been cleaned before. Many light switches did not work (neither in the hallway nor in the room itself). On the balcony many cigarette butts. After one hour in the room I decided to move out and sleep elsewhere instead (without being reimbursed).

    Central location close to bus station.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The electricity should be renovated soon. One of the AC plugs just came out completely from the wall, half of the lamps as well as the ventillation in the bathroom didn't work.

    They provided the breakfast earlier upon request.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is rather run down with a HEAVY smell of cigarettes. The bed was uncomfortable, the shower was dirty, the sink leaked... just not worth staying here!

    There is not much that I liked about this hotel. I guess the onsite parking was a plus.?.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The condition of shower door was bad. 2. Will be good to have kettle as we like to drink warm water and make coffee/tea in the room ☺

    The location was great as nearby city centre and supermarket. Spacious room even for 2 persons and suitable for family stay. This is our first trip to Saarbrucken and will definitely stay there again on our next family trip in summer 2017.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very unfriendly, room was not clean there was empty alcohol bottles in the room The pictures from the hotel were taken at the opening - now it doesnt look like this :)

    Breakfast was nice for those money Good for one night sleep :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some receptionists are not so polite, other are good and welcoming. Room's floor was not cleaned and has not been regularly cleaned during my stay there. WIFI: so-so, not so reliable.

    Politeness of some receptionists, relatively quiet place to stay, good mattress, big room, good breakfast, good location (near to Rathaus, centre, train station).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The infrastructure is a little bit old. I would just say that it is little bit expensive, but Saarbruecken is expensive in terms of hotel.

    I liked everything on this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Women on check in totally uninterested.hotel needs complete revamp it's like something from the 70s stay away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ground was dirty and the whole place was smelly and old. Also the Net service was very bad

    Only the location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not that clean. And smell after smoke. Bathroom wasn't the best

    Free breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable

    Mini kitchen

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No choices of tea, no selfmade coffee

    The fact that they accept pets

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A short walk from the station & the town centre, helpful staff, big room with a comfortable bed, good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was horrible ...

    The building

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alot of things not working,advertising a mini bar but not available,

    Friendly breakfast staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff spoke English, friendly atmosphere, great value for money, is in need of refurbishment but ideal for an overnight stop.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The equipment(beds,carpets,lights) of the hotel is really old and should be replaced.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Direction (GPS) not too accurate

    it was in the town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower dirty had clumps of hair on hose

    Near to bars. Staff friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little sad, need a facelift,

    Motorbike parking good hiden away.great features

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air quality was poor and there is probably mold in this hotel.

    Low price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prices are too high for the facilities provided. No free wifi, rooms are not good enough.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    coffee

    large rooms

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good for an overnight stay. Nice breakfast. Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Very spacious room with a lounge corner and a big working desk. Comfortable, calm and clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to ask for the Wi-Fi password.

    The layout of the room, I had access to a common balcony, that is a nice feature.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Passage ways, floors have to be renovated, dark and dirty, no WIFI - but offered in booking.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wi fi

    Quite good to stay overnight

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Every things good and comfortable , thanks for every things

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was very slow. Moldy bathroom.

    Spacious and quiet room. Good breakfast. Friendly staff. Couple of hondred metres distance from centre.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the internet system is a little bit annoying in particular if they run out of vouchers. The hotels needs some renovations.

    Nice staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fee for WiFi Breakfast was poor. Morning staff grumpy

    Large comfortable room. Close to downtown shopping

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift not working.Ran out of eggs at breakfast.

    Ideal location for visiting St.Michaels Church for an organ recital.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good hearty breakfast to start the day. Could walk everywhere we wanted to.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is old, with a dirty moquette e no services (wifi slow and to pay, poor breakfast, etc.)

    The position was quite central and the price was cheap

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very old and used furniture. It seem my room was used by a smoker, requested a non smoker room. TV was very small. Extra chargé for parking. Poor breakfast compare to other hotels in the area. Do not recomend

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The hotel looks dated, the furniture and carpets (all over the place) have clear signs of long use.

    The breakfast was very nice with both sweet and savory options. The parking in the yard (about 7 spots) was very convenient.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Solo traveller

    - i did need a late check-out, but it was not possible. I don''t usually like 10, 11 a.m. checkouts.

    - The breakfst is Buffet-like. Nice - The room is bright - The staff was helpful

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    One of the staff, an old lady, had an attitude and wouldn't help most of the time (!!!) and of course she could barely speak English. The internet was awful, when you could actually go online. The room as well as the building smelled. The towels too. All carpets (including the ones on the wall of the elevator!) had dirty stains.

    I liked two people from the staff who were there to help at all times and could speak English.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pictures on website not representative of awful rooms checked out after one night, corridors smelly of cigarette smoke and urine had a family of six next door in one room as I said awful

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Couple

    Dirty room.. stains everywhere, Mouldy smelling bathroom, human hair in the bed, not enough staff!!

    The friendly lady when we arrived

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only one device can be used with the Wifi code.

    Breakfast was OK.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking was very secure. Good location to walk for food and drink. Easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The facilities are quite old and would need a renovation.

    Very helpful staff, closeness to the city centre.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Old hotel.

    Very good location and very friendly staff, comfotable bed.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    when we have arrived were 7 degrees in the room. whe couldn't take a shower because of the cold.everything very old and ugly

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - Room smelled like smoke - The desk was dirty - Carpet old and dirty - Toilet smelled like doodoo - etc.

    Staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Parking 7€ not 5

    Nice Staff

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    shower door broken, bathroom was not cleaned. wlan access poor.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    State of decor. Miserable staff. Awful bathroom. No real parking available beyond tiny courtyard.

    It's close to city centre.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, breakfast, quitness

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Family with older children

    Old room and bathroom, bad smell; bed was old, making sounds on every movement

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Cleanless below normal arrangements I have seen in other hotels.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Roo smelled old cigarettes and was well from a another century and not wih a good way.

    The place was situated very well.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good location for getting in and out of the city, short walk to the centre, garage available for our motorbikes, staff were very helpful too,

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor parking by other guests

    Nice room, food.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Old furniture, but for me it was not a problem

    Good location, good price, breakfast - nothing special, but OK

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dirty

    Location

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was a little loud.

    Very friendly staff, strong Wifi, great breakfast, good price, 8 min walk from HBF.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very spacious room, Good position in city centre close to a very good pizzeria

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Help full staff, clean and neat. Few blocks walking distance to attractions. Great stay.

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 73

Browse City Hotel Saarbrücken traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: