Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of City Hotel Schönleber This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Theaterstraße 5, 97070 Würzburg, Germany

#36 of 37 hotels in Würzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 152 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Convenient and friendly. Good for us.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing worth commenting on.

    Short walk from station. Central city location- all main interests in easy walking distance. Very helpful staff (English spoken). Typical EU city hotel - all the basics expected and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Staff very friendly and helpful and a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking two blocks away in a car park.

    Great location within walking to the Residence palace and the old town. Good restaurants nearby and a comfortable room with a large bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    I would stay here again for the location, good price and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is old with an outdated interior. Yet, nothing was lacking and it was comfortable.

    Very friendly staff. Excellent central location. 24 hour coffee machine. Free map of city and very helpful instructions / recommendations. On my arrival the staff at hotel reception recommended that I visit the Residence and also a running route around the city center on the park route. This was great advice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.4
    Not a happy customer. My bad experience. Don't stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad nights sleep due to very old noisy beds that squeaked whenever I moved. Staff offerred another room but it meant we had to pack up and move. The new room was smaller with the tiniest bathroom I have ever seen, so small I was banging my elbows if I turned around. I was given a 2E bottle of water in compensation for a bad nights sleep and then the smaller room. The manager didn't care. Avoid this place!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    5.4
    Outdated and smelly room but ok stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small which is fine but the bed was very short and the room was rather smelly. Especially in the beginning. Maybe I just got used to it. WiFi was only available in part of the room and not very strong where it's needed: at the bed. Further, furniture and room design are quite dated. I've stayed better for similar money before.

    The location is great and the staff is friendly. Breakfast was ok. I liked the it was clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    6.7
    Could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was small and in need of renovation as it was like it was first designed, with an early 70's look, especially in the bathroom.

    The hotel is very well located very close to the Residenz and the city center, surrounded by shops and all the city's attractions.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was a bit hard to get on when the hotel was busy.

    Great location. Bit of a walk from the train station but very easy to get to. Very friendly staff and the breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    Great hotel for a modest price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was comfortable, clean and quiet. Staff were very helpful. The location is ideal, merely a few blocks from the Hauptbahnhof and likewise from the Altstadt. We would stay here again!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    5.8
    Excellent location but
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small, very basic and dated. Needs renovation. Bed poor. We had warm weather making the room quite stuffy and hot with the windows closed. Lots of traffic noise in the street below with the window open. Breakfast was extra.

    Great location, clean room, excellent breakfast, attentive friendly staff. Allowed us to check in early. Room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location, helpful personal, cosy room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.0
    The location was good and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very dated and small.

    The location was good and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staff, well appointed room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was very bad

    Friendly staff, well appointed room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    6.7
    Great selection for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee/tea making facility would be nice.

    Great selection for breakfast. Really friendly staff. They spoke English.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    6.7
    GPS instructions were faulty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    GPS instructions were faulty.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.2
    Efficient check-in and check-out.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WLAN was not very reliable in my room (corner of building)

    Efficient check-in and check-out. Central location (Bus stop on front of hotel, walking distance to the train station). Quietness. I somehow liked the old interieur (maybe 70s)

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    7.1
    Good location and easy to find from the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The comfort room was good in size and convenient, but it looks old and rather worn.

    Good location and easy to find from the train station. Very helpful and friendly staff in reception. Room facing the street but was quiet.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    7.1
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel need a make over. Rather old fashion and equipment (TV etc...) needs updating. Room was tidy but in need of a deep clean.

    Location. Friendliness of the staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    8.8
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room and the elevator were very small, but this was to be expected.

    The location was excellent. We walked from the train station and visited the Residence and the popular bridge over the river. Everything we wanted was within easy walking distance, and we're in our 60;s. The staff was also friendly and helpful.By the way, we loved waking up to the church bells ringing.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    5.4
    The mattress is something that need to be renew from time to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The mattress is something that need to be renew from time to time, it destroyed my back so hard that I have spend my second night on the sofa (that was just a little bit better).

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    9.2
    The location was very good, close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was difficult to find parking nearby, the lots were all full, we had to walk about four blocks.

    The location was very good, close to everything. The front desk staff was pleasant, and the room was nice, but a little worn.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    6.3
    Warm welcome by the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very poor mattress and pillows. A whole in the wall at the head of the bed was loosing plaster over our heads.

    Warm welcome by the staff. Nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    7.1
    The receptionist is nice and willing to help traveller.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room is not too big to open two luggage suitcases on the ground. The evalator is small and just fits two people with two luggage suitcases, but that's a special experience.

    The receptionist is nice and willing to help traveller. The location is compatitively close to the train station. It is great that you can drop your luggage there after the check-out.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    10
    We enjoyed this hotel enough last year to stay there again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We enjoyed this hotel enough last year to stay there again this year while in the area. It is walking distance to the train station, the river and the Old Main Bridge (the place to be at sunset!), the Residence, and most of the main attractions in Wuerzburg. It's small but the staff was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    10
    Secure bike storage, very quiet room in the back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Secure bike storage, very quiet room in the back. The room was small but conveniently laid out and comfortable, good vibes. We spent 2 nights and walked everywhere on our day off the bike. We particularly enjoyed the English tour of the Residenz.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    9.2
    The location and the staff are excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location and the staff are excellent. Stayed here twice when visiting my son. Parked the car and walked everywhere. Rooms are comfortable and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    10
    Our room had a plumbing problem but the desk clerk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room had a plumbing problem but the desk clerk immediately moved us to a very nice updated room along with a complimentary bottle of wine! We enjoyed an excellent breakfast each morning in a very pleasant dining room. The staff was very friendly and helpful when we had questions. The hotel's central location made for an easy walk to everywhere we wanted to go.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    8.8
    The hotel is in city centre with courteous and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is in city centre with courteous and helpful staff. The rooms and corridors are kept clean.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    8.8
    location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    old type of TV, small desk

    location. speed wifi

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    8.3
    The location was nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi was slow.

    The location was nice. It was easy from railway station and close to the center. The staffs were very kind and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    8.3
    location, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    expensive compared to Munich and Berlin

    location, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    6.3
    Location was very good, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The toilet/shower was very small.

    Location was very good, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    5.8
    - location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - very soft and short bed - green bathroom, with green toilet, which was not very clean

    - location - staff - quiet room

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    9.6
    Reception staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing, but someone feels old facilities is uncomfortable.

    Reception staff was very friendly and helpful. The best staff I had met in germany.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: