Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of City Hotel Frankfurt Bad Vilbel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Alte Frankfurter Strasse 13, 61118 Bad Vilbel, Germany

#2 of 4 hotels in Bad Vilbel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 596 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet/Wi-Fi! For a hotel used for business meetings, etc. the Wi-Fi is, frankly, just not up to it. Veeeery slow and all in all, frustrating. Internet/Wi-Fi is now a part of everyday life and no longer a luxury. If there is one thing to improve, it is this. I would suggest an RG-45 port for hardware connection to the internet and a more robust Wi-Fi.

    The hotel is fine and this is the second time that we have stayed. The restaurant was very good though some of the personnel could do with a bit more training!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is expensive. Free parking place is not enough. Not so close to the town or the train station by walking.

    The hotel itself is very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A couple of people in the staff doesn't speak / understand a good english and it's difficult ot understand each other. Anyway, 95% of the staff was really excellent!

    Very comfortable hotel, in a good position, close to the S-bahn station to Frankfurt.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The free parking is only across the hotel and it has about 20 places. When we arrived there was no empty space so we had to park in the hotel garage for 10 euro per night. Not much, but keep it in mind. The side of a table was dirty from some kind of spilled liquid. We heared everybody because we were on the first floor: the cars outside, the people inside. Also, there was no air conditioner (?) and it was very HOT in the room.

    The room was quite big. The restroom comfortable and clean.The staff were great and helpfull. Very nice breakfast Overall it is a great hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi continuously dropped.

    The staff is very friendly and professional. Spoke English. The room was clean and comfortable. Cleaning staff extremely friendly. All in all a great stay. Hopefully in the future they will get the wifi situation fixed. That was the only negative thing about the entire stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They totally lost our reservation from Booking. We arrived at about 8:45 P.M. after a long way driving, and the girl from reception kept us on our feet for 1 hour and a half. Even after we gave her the No.of the reservation, she couldn't find it, then she wanted the date, then after 10 mins she wanted the hour we made the reservation. After more than 1 1/2 hours, she gave us another kind of room that we reserved, and when we rejected the room she gave us a decent room. It was a nightmare for us and our little girl. We finally, at about 23:30, had a tasteless pizza for supper, recommended by the guy from the bar, because previously, the same girl from reception recommended a pizza house that was already closed!

    The room we got (second try) was spacious and nice (but the first one was really small and didn't look and smell very well at all).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy reach from highway. Near Frankfurt

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad mattress and pillow.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get sky sports and we were gutted the whirlpool wasn't working.

    Almost everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Triathlon approved

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable and clean. Helpful staff!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no kettle in the room.

    Good breakfast choice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent position next to bus stop and helpful staff. Very clean and comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Der Late-check-out, 12:00

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee maker and water heater!

    Please bring coffee maker and heater

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location

    The room was very well equipped anf everything was woking fine

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Limited free parking space, poor wifi, expensive breakfast (16E pp).

    Friendly staff, big windows, quiet area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive breakfast

    Clean, very modern, free parking

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I personally do not like the double bed as per 4 start hotel.

    Staff was really good, cleanliness was also great. It was good time to spend there.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    quite expensive not in the centre of bad vilbel

    the bar in the lobby

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    just next to bus stop

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe have kettle with coffee in room like most hotels.also shampoo and conditioner in bathroom.

    Friendly and helpfull staff! brilliant balcony.clean!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the underground garage should be included for hotel guests

    excellent value for money

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress and pillow were poor quality.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was hot Mattress was hard Would not recommend the hotel to spend a night before an important meeting if +10-20EUR for a night is an option.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A slight smell from the toilet had to be expelled using the extractor fan every time we entered the room. The lifts felt unsafe when you got on or off. The breakfast is far to costly, businesses may be willing to pay that amount but the average customer would I suspect find it to costly. They need to offer a variety of different pillows.

    The staff were very attentive and were obviously well trained. Housekeeping were spot on. The layout and design was simple but to a high level of design. Free high speed Wifi. Underground Parking

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The small elevator is very slow (one elevator) The double room had 2 single bed pushes together, so in the night they moved away and one would full through the gap :-) The shower was acting up. Suddenly cold, suddenly hot.

    Location is great.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no double bed in the hotel, while the booking was for a king size double. we were offered twin beds placed side by side! we were told that there are no double beds in the hotel!

    mediocre hotel in all respect for the higher price we pay

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The sauna was only open after 5 pm, I really enjoy going in the Sauna in the morning before breakfast . The bacon was cold .

    Location was great,I took the bus and a street car and was in downtown Frankfurt within twenty minutes.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Surprisingly spacious rooms - beautifully appointed and scrupulously clean. Very friendly staff, good restaurant and excellent breakfasts. Very convenient location -- easy access to Frankfurt if required. Overall a first class Hotel with excellent facilities...

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing at all

    warm welcomming, very nice and cooperative staff, very clean and very good location, 15 minutes to Frankfurt, and 20 minutes to the airport

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it was no AC and it was unbearable and hot inside the rooms . The elevator broken and we locked in elevator cabin for 15 minutes and it was horrible . The mattress we were in room 310 was very old and curved ! Fardanesh

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bathroom in my single room was bordering on the cramped side. The jacuzzi in the Wellness area was covered over and not in use.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Room was contemporary and clean. The Wellness area is great. Good facilities all round. Wasn't charged for parking at the front of the hotel, despite the sign posted time limit.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The internet connection is very slow. The carpet is threadbare. Beds are in horrible condition. No A/C in the summer time and fans are only available upon request. Food is just "OK" in the restaurant - and expensive!

    Friendly staff, easy to find, centrally located, many restaurants within walking distance with a supermarket next door.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I contacted the hotel several days before my arrival to enquire about the best way to get there from Franfurt airport, but never had a reply.

    Clean, convenient, comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Female staff seemed to have to wear incredibly impractical high heels, kind of out of context for this type of hotel. Payment with a foreign debit card was impossible due to technical fault of the hotel, which created quite an embarrassment upon check-out.

    Friendly staff. Impeccable service Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived at the hotel in the evening - around 23:00h. The front desk person was very strange. He didn't speak English and it took us 30 min to check in. He was confused and didn't know what to do. Finally he gave us the key of the room. We booked non-smoking room, but he gave us the key of the smoking room that was smelling very bad. We tried to change our room for the non-smoking room, but he told us that the hotel is fully booked. This was not true because on booking.com we could still book 5 more non-smoking rooms :-( In the morning, another person at the reception desk apologized for the inconvenience that we had and just fully charged the price of the room. Not happy with my stay in this hotel :-(

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The "Rapport qualité/prix" was extremely favourable. I would recommend the City Hotel Frankfurt Bad Vilbel to anyone who needs to stay on the northeast edge of Frankfurt. The room and the service exceeded our expectations: a first class business hotel.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent staff - very friendly

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The smallest room I have ever slept in !!

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No swimming pool ,bed is single and small

    Quiet place easy to reach from Frankfurt 14mins with car

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    1 small - very slow elevator no water heater or coffee maker in the room.

    Good location Room not spacious, but o.k. for 1-2 nights

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very convenient to Frankfurt. Staff courteous and helpful. Rooms spacious, comfortable and clean.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bad pillows!

    Great room,breakfast ,location.Friendly and courteous staff.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    elevator bounces and is slow

    convenient location

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    nothings

    If you have car, This hotel is very good to stay. Staff are very good , always answer with smile.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Too far away from S-bahn stop (uphill 15 minutes) so must take taxi or wait for bus if you have luggage

    Very clean, very comfortable, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dinner restaurant has limited menu items.

    Quite and clean

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - ambiance and reception (you feel welcome) - size of the room - fair price

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff. Nice restaurant and food. On site parking.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We experienced a very warm welcome at the reception. Service with a big smile that was exceptional. Good to see people that love their job.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff were very polite. Rooms were very warm and comfortable for winter and transport right outside the door.

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Browse City Hotel Frankfurt Bad Vilbel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: