Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of CityClass Hotel Caprice am Dom - Superior This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Auf dem Rothenberg 7-9 / Eisenmarkt, Altstadt-Nord, 50667 Cologne, Germany

#140 of 232 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1141 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.5
    Overall, a really good stay at the hotel, would defo recommend to friends and family
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower room was poorly designed and soaked the whole floor, no tea or coffee in the rooms.

    The location of the hotel was excellent, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    5.8
    Did the job
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is still being built! Sure it'll be nice when complete. Wasnt told this when booked. Elevator wasnt operational and no offer to have bags taken to room

    The Location was excellent. Close to plenty bars and restaurants, and the conference centre. Easy to find. Rooms were comfortable enough.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.8
    I would definitely stay here again if on a city break.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Taxi found it difficult to find as it is up a side street.

    Location was great, Breakfast was plentiful and staff were friendly. Rooms were quiet at the back of the hotel which made for a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.3
    Good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have booked double bed for me and my girlfriend, there were two beds pushed together( they were not even attached together, so in the middle of the night you wake up hanging from your bed as they got separated while you were sleeping) with two single douvets ?!?! -this is not acceptable even if you were sleeping in a hostel somewhere in the desert. - Come on guys.

    I work in a hotel industry so i will try to be as accurate as possible in my review. Breakfast is superb. Absolute must do for 11€. Great choice of food, tasty. Hotel is very clean, staff helpful and friendly. Location could not be better, - right in the middle of the city center, but not in the busy street! Good floor heating, clean and good shower. Good sized bedroom, for this price- kind a modern looking room. Good value for the money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.3
    The location is ok, the staff was responsive to our...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only a sauna and the jacuzzi didn't work. The double room is quite small.

    The location is ok, the staff was responsive to our demands(we had a problem with the heating)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.8
    We had a specious room on the 4th floor and it was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only problem we had was with the drainage of the bath tube. All the rest was excellent.

    We had a specious room on the 4th floor and it was excellent. The location is very good, close to restaurants, bars, shops.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.1
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toilet paper in bathroom, room felt very basic. No onsite parking, parking garage was 18euro/day

    Public parking garage only 2 min walk away. Hotel was 1 min walk from christmas market, great location to see city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.7
    Superb localisation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Request for "doppelbett" not answered. Staircase. Poor lightning. Ugly room decoration. In summary, low value for money !

    Superb localisation. Sauna & jacuzzi.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Lovely Christmas markets break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only snag was some noise from nearby bars, but that's only to be expected in a city centre at a busy time of year.

    The hotel was lovely and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Most enjoyable,relaxing and would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were of poor quality, even having requested extra before our arrival, same were not provided.

    The staff were pleasant and unobtrusive, the location was ideal for the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    The Hotel for all seasons
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The small square in front of the Hotel was somewhat poorly lit! Maybe nothing to do with the hotel itself but worth getting the Cologne council to look into it.

    The Hotel Staff were extremely helpful and cordial. The Hotel is bang in the middle of the old part of Cologne, easily reached by metro at Haymarket and within 15-20 minutes from the Main train Station. Getting there by Taxi will only set back ones pocket ca 10 euros. It is a couple of streets away from the river bank from where one can take ferry rides on the Rhine. the old quarter is strewn with restaurants/Snack Bars/Pubs/Christmas Markets (in season) and with prices to suit every pocket!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    6.7
    NEEDS WORK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've been coming here for 10 years and the property needs to be upgraded. The Wi-Fi was for pay, but now it's free but requires frequent log-in. The elevator does not go to the top floor. The bathrooms up there are fine if you're under 5'6. Otberwise no shower, at least in the end rooms. Stay at the Hilton for about the same price.

    Not too much. The staff is great and the location is great. Close to Heumarkt, trams, Dom, etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    I lived in the hotel for two days, I liked everything very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I lived in the hotel for two days, I liked everything very much !!! The room is clean, friendly staff, excellent location in the city center, I really liked it !!! If I ever come to Cologne again, I will choose this hotel! ))

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.4
    NEVER MORE!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolulety unfriendly personal, especially women in erecption. Do you wanna change anything? PAY. Do you wanna something small in advance? PAY. Do you have any problem? PAY. I lost my room key during my stay there and I had to pay 50EUR fee. When I told them it is too much, her answer was: "We have your credit card number, we will take this amount anyway". I need to reduce my stay there for one night becouse I finished my business earlier then I expected - she asked for the cancelation fee 80%(!!!!!!) of the amounf. and again absolutely arogance attitude. Beware of this hotel if you want anything more, or if you want to change anything.....

    Perfect location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.8
    nice location but no safety at hotel room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    new thing bought in the Cologne (with the price tag) disappeared from our hotel room , we turned to the reception, but were not helped. They just told us "we will ask" and "we are looking for it". When you stay at the hotel safety is an important thing and also the staff who shell be more helpful. the floor wasn't cleaned at all during our 5 day stay - the candy wrapper lay at the floor when we arrived, it stay there when we departured

    very good location, nice breakfasts

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    We enjoyed everything about the hotel and the service, making our stay in Köln very memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A ramp to the hotel entrance so that people who do not walk well find it easier to get into the building.

    The good breakfast with lots of choice. The friendly and helpful staff. The clean and comfy rooms. The quiet but central location. The facilities and provision of toiletries in the room. The handy fridge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    Location and breakfast were the best!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location and breakfast were the best! The hotel is located on a quiet street with no traffic, noise... the bed was very comfortable and everything was extremely clean. But the best part is breakfast! The buffet is amazing... they have absolutely everything: coffee/tea, fruit juices, cereals, cold meats, lots of different breads, sausages, eggs, croissants... I loved having breakfast here!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    4.6
    Not a good experience.
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked 3 standard rooms, and checked in rather late that day. Upon arrival, we were given 3 rooms, one of which was a lower rank (economy type) and we were not notified of the change. When we checked with the front counter, they told us they were out of rooms, and on top of that, refused to lower/change the price of the room that was downgraded. Will not pick this hotel again after this bad experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.5
    Pleasent, but nothing to wrtie home about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dimly lit corridors made it feel a bit gloomy. Bathroom could use an update (but not gross or anything by any means - just redo the grout etc., these kind of things), their parking validation system was out of order which made it a hassle to pay at the garage, but that was probably not their fault. As this is in the hear of the old town, expect it to be loud outside on weekends. Then again, if this is a major concenrn just don't book a hotel in such a location.

    Central location in the old town, brewhouses all in walking distances, friendly staff, 24h reception. Nice that you can park your car very close by in a garage at an discounted rate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.5
    perfect location ,very friendly and helpful stuff
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No airconditioner in the room :( Guests are smoking right infront of rooms windows ..aroma of cigarets in my room saved from previous guest may be :(((((

    Perfect location ! frendly stuff! Tasty breakfast )

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    Staff was great, especialy Juliana, very kind and gentle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was great, especialy Juliana, very kind and gentle. Breakfast was also very good. Location was very quiet, but only a small walk to the cathedral.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    6.3
    Good base for short trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room on the first floor was really hot and stuffy even though the weather was not. Would have been nice to have had an option to have a bath rather than a shower.

    Comfy beds, great location and quiet. Breakfasts good value considering out of hotel options...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Great choice for staying in the real heart of Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is unbeatable if you like the flair of the Cologne "Altstadt" and the vicinity to the Rhein and the shopping strip. The breakfast was also very rich with a good amount of choices (Continental/European). A big thank you to the whole team!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Awesome Location, Very Helpful Staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was a little too warm in the rooms but it was mid June

    Fantastic Location, very helpful staff with regards to parking a large van whilst working in Cologne. Would defo use again in the future

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Very good location close to restaurants/pubs &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Blanket was too warm. The pillow was too low.

    Very good location close to restaurants/pubs & shopping. Also public parking very close, with a special discount. Even if the hotel was close to the pub area, the music & people did not disturb at night. Varied breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived on a 36° day and the room was very hot. We were provided with a fan but the windows only slightly opened and we were quite hot and did not have a comfortable sleep

    Great location, however we were on the 4th floor and had to carry our bags up one flight of stairs. Clean and comfortable. Parking was off site at a parking station which was relatively close to the hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Good value and great facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room wasn't very spacious but it was still above my expectation for the price we paid

    Good value and great facilities. The staff was friendly and approachable. Nothing to complain about

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.4
    Central location but very noisy and airless in summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noise from the bar next door, and lack of aircon made it almost impossible to sleep at night.

    The breakfast was good, but came at an extra cost (which we weren't warned about). Location was good apart from the noise factor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows - they could have been firmer. The bigs ones are floppy and the small firm ones are too small for comfort.

    The location is really central to lots of activities, restaurants, bars, shopping, and the Rhine river. It is walking distance to the Koln Dom (cathedral), train station, and other places of interest. Parking is close or 5 minute walk from HueMarkt (plaza) underground parking haus. Breakfast at the Caprice Am Dom was very nice with variety and plentiful assortment of eats. Staff were very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    A very enjoyable place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Weather was exceptionally hot so the lack of air conditioning meant that the room was too warm. The locality was also noisy at night on Thursdays and Saturdays because of the local bars.

    Staff were very good, breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    5.4
    beer and sausage weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was too hot, couldn't sleep and the Jacuzzi wasn't working as didn't have any water in it, tiny bar but not needed as close to lots

    it was close to everything and they let us check in early as arrived at 11.00

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.2
    Charming city center hotel for a great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great little hotel in the heart of the old town of Cologne. Charming house in a walking distance from everything. Even though there is no dedicated hotel parking, a reduced fee parking is available for hotel guests in a nearby parking house. The decoration of the hotel and of the rooms is fun too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable Business Trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi speeds really slow. Only one device supported.

    Centrally located. Tram station 5 min walk. Main station 10 min away. Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms with all the necessary amenities. Electronic safe large enough even for laptops. Great breakfast both in quality and quantity.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.5
    It's about a ten minute walk along the Rhein River from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Since this is a older property, it is not air conditioned...

    It's about a ten minute walk along the Rhein River from Koln's Main station and cathedral. The cruise boats and tour buses are within two to three minute walks from the property. There are plenty of eating and drinking places in the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    Central Hotel in Cologne!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet badly needs upgrading and quite poor at times.

    The location is very central and the train station is only 10 min away on foot. The Hotel breakfast had quite a good selection and was always fresh and delicious. The staff were always very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    At breakfast, being told to drink orange juice from a cup...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At breakfast, being told to drink orange juice from a cup AND that I needed to find one, from among all the dirty ones, somewhere on one of the tables!! No climate control or even fans on some very hot days. Okay, unseasonably hot for Cologne and maybe I am being a bit unfair here but still made for uncomfortable nights sleep

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.1
    Very good hotel, excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    absence of conditioned air

    Except for the absence of conditioned air and parking lot to be far from hotel (public parking about 200 m walking distance), the hotel is very nice. Exceptionally located in the the heart of old downtown, hotel installations are new and very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.6
    Very nice breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. We put a watch in a room and it is lost!!!! 2. if you have many heavy luggage. Pls consider, since the road nearby is all paved with small stones. But if you have only a backpack, this hotel is perfect

    Very nice breakfast. Helpful staffs. Good location! next to Rhein, near central station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    5.0
    Small room next to Loud dance bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE NOISE! The hotel is in a quiet courtyard but after 10pm, the Flamenca Bar next door played LOUD, THUMPING Spanish dance music until 5am! The room was so hot, I had to keep the window open with the desktop fan in the window to try to cool the room. The shower is so small, I had to open the door and get out to pick up the bar of soap! Do NOT stay here!

    It was a dry room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.1
    Functional, great location, not great VFM
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from a neighbouring bar was loud till early hours on a Friday and Saturday. Price was a little high for quality of hotel however imagine prices were higher due to IIHF World Championships being on.

    Great location for the old town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Optimum combination of location(near metro station and city...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Optimum combination of location(near metro station and city hall) and price-performance ratio. Friendly nice and cute staff. Nice breakfast.will be my First choice in cologne next time

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.9
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was necessary to login every time we come back to the hotel and when there is inactivity for some time even in the hotel.

    The location was good, near the cathedral, restaurants and public transport. The staff was very helpful. The room was a good size, bright and quiet. Very thing else was ok. We did not take the breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.3
    Best Place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It's in a center of city and very close to the Dom . Location of hotel is quiet and peaceful. Staff are very helpful. You are surrounded by the restaurants

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Great hotel in the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location. Right near all the mouse una, the water and a metric ton of restaurants and shops. The staff was very friendly. They have a chunky key that wasn't too fun to carry around but it was kind of antique-looking so even that was kind of cool. I'd definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay close to Cologne Cathedral
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast expensive (price above city average)

    The day we checked in the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. She spent some time explaining where to eat typical food and drink. Beds comfortable, Excellent view from our window. Close to main attractions.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    5.4
    Bra läge mitt i stan, perfekt om man ska ut på stan.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Obekväma sängar med galon under lakanet = svettigt och varmt. Mycket ljud från folklivet runtomkring, partydistrikt. Ocharmigt rum. WiFi fungerade bara på en enhet i taget.

    Bra läge mitt i stan, perfekt om man ska ut på stan.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    7.9
    Good place to stay in the middle of the old city center of cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On Saturday evening the bar next to the hotel was rather noisy until 2 or 3am. The other days were very quiet.

    Very gentle staff, great location within walking distance to all sites right in the middle of the old city centre.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    Recommended for 2 days in Cologne/Kolnmesse visit.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was a little small.

    The beds were small (2x singles) but very comfortable, pillows were awesome. Room and hotel was very clean, staff were great. 2mins from the riverside in the prettiest part of old town.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.1
    Great Location, Good value for Money, Go and Enjoy !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sauna was not working. They should say that before. Missing a few lamps in the room.

    The room was big, very quiet. The hotel is very well located. The shower is great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    7.1
    Good location and good value for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Light in bathroom broken, but was fixed right away. Wellness area closed since it was renovated, was not mentioned on webpage. Unfriendly staff member telling me that there is no wellness area, although it exists. Room wi-fi only accessible for one device at a time.

    Location is well accessible, very close to central station. Room was clean and fair value for the price.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    7.1
    Koller Allaf!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room & bathroom were pretty basic for the price. Big down was bed was in the corner with wardrobe at the foot so one had to climb over the other to get in and out of bed.

    The location was superb and staff were friendly. Cleaning staff were great.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    5.8
    Good location and for leaving bags somewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds are not comfortable at all (especially the pillows). I have requested a double bed, in the room we found 2 beds. The wifi was a joke, besides the signal being extremely bad, only one person could connect. If the second person connects to the wifi, the the other person is kicked out from the network... 2 people in a room, only one with Internet connection... embarrassing, especially because in this price range we have seen much better hotels in Germany.

    It is situated in a very good location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    5.4
    The cleanliness of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were uncomfortable, I asked to have different pillows but got none. the location of the hotel is a bit of puzzle, we had to spend a bit of time to find the hotel.

    The cleanliness of the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for Christmas Markets
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were horrible! At least 3 hotels with same/similar name. Be sure your cab is at the right one because it's pretty irritating to drag your luggage back and forth cobblestone roads after traveling all day.

    Great location, able to walk everywhere (all 7 Christmas markets, socialist museum, German/Roman museum, cathedral) Lots of restaurants and bars close by but no outside noise heard in room (inside noise was another story) Friendly staff. Small bar in hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet gateway is allowing just one device for room at a time. Elevator was very small... Well, that's a price for the historic building. EUR 11 per person for breakfast looks a bit expensive.

    Small and cosy hotel in the old Koln. Good location, it's close to the most of a local sightseeing and main train station. Heated room floor - priceless option at winter time.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    9.6
    Great location, breakfast, and value for your money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We went to experience the Christmas markets and totally loved the perfect location a stone's throw from the old city's market in one direction and a stone's to the beautiful Rhine river. The breakfast was fabulous, too.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    9.6
    Another great stay in Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were too soft

    Location is perfect for all the sights, breakfast was excellent with a wide choice for everyone. Hotel staff were so helpful, we love staying here it is our second visit to Cologne and this hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    6.7
    Nice hotel, needs improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The address on the website leads to the wrong street, with no indication where the hotel is. It is very confusing, and not nice on a dark evening. There is noise coming from the corridor, when anyone who walks can be heard loudly in the room, and every time the door closes it closes in a bang that wakes everyone up if it's the middle of the night. The window in the shower/bathroom is transparent glass and every time you pee at night with the lights on you feel as if you are giving a show to he neighbors...

    It was very clean, the breakfast was very good and varied.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    8.8
    Excellent business of leisure location in central Koln
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of aircon at night - even with the heating turned right down to a minimum/off it was VERY hot and difficult to sleep - the one "bonus" however was the first morning when the hot water failed and it was a cold shower for us to start the day!!!!

    The hotel is in an excellent central position with off street parking within a few metres and discounted by the hotel. The staff were very responsive to all requests etc but could not resolve my hot water issue (or lack of it) the first day

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    5.4
    Central but not good or cozy
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi just at the door Cold - heating didnt work Spa/sauna out of use (reason why we opted for this one) After 30 min diacussion they offered free breakfast as compensation

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    8.3
    Great stay in Cologne
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress was covered with plastic, making it uncomfortable, even with good sheets

    Breakfast was excellent! Location was superb, with easy walking access to restaurants, all downtown spots. Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast was great, location is really close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were not all that comfortable, and our room was really close to a dancing where people partied until 6 AM.

    Breakfast was great, location is really close to the christmas market

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    2.9
    /
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality /price ratio. Old-fashioned room, situated in the upper floor, was noisy because of staff facilities on the opposite side. The elevator does not go to the last floor. For the same price, you may have a better option at the neighborhood.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    7.1
    Great location, affordable. Ideal for only a couple nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaner came in at 9 waking us up abruptly. The walls are incredibly thin so you can hear the water everywhere, luckily it wasn't busy when we stayed but may be an issue if it's peak season. Also our "double bed" was two twins pushed together so you easily fall in a gap.

    The room smelt clean, the pillows were perfect and you could control your own under floor heating. Sooooo cozy. The room was more spacious than I expected for the price and the safe was useful. It was a shame the sauna was being refurbished, it would've been the highlight.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    7.9
    Good. Central. Easy access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Because the hotel is in the city centre it there are a lot of bars and clubs right next to it and it can get very noisy at night, especially during the weekend. The WiFi had good reception but the system for logging in only allows one device connected at a time, even though the reservation was made for a double room. You can ask at the reception for a secondary "ticket" to log in with another device but they only give you one that is good for 24 hours. So, because of this we had to spend a night sharing the connection and the second two I needed to ask for a "ticket" twice. The first room they gave us (107) was very small, it was missing a pillow and smelled a lot like cigarette smoke. So, we asked for a room change. Even though we were happy with the staff's ability to quickly solve the situation (we got a much better room - no questions asked), we later leaned that a friend of ours was given the same room earlier that same day and also asked for a room switch. I don't know why they would give out the same room if they knew it had problems.

    The hotel is right in the city centre, close to most of the attractions available there. The breakfast was good and offered a lot of choices. The room was clean and had a very easy to use safe for your valuables. The hotel encourages a system where you leave your key at the desk to avoid it getting lost and they give it back to you whenever you need it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    8.3
    Central location in amazing old city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    quite old lift and narrow corridors

    Excellent central location, however, a little bit hidden for the first time visitor. Clean large room Ten minutes walk from main railway station Excellent breakfast Surrounded by eateries at the doorstep Large courtyard in front

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    10
    Newly renovated, and in a perfect location
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast not up to standard: strange-tasting coffee, cold boiled eggs, no egg-cups. Strange,

    Newly renovated, and in a perfect location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    It is in the center of old town, everything is near, lott of...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is in the center of old town, everything is near, lott of restaurants, bars...

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    6.7
    Good location - Good staff - Small rooms - Expensive price
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very small rooms without enough facilities and very expensive price

    Very good location and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    Convenient. Quiet location in the midst of the old town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom a bit of a squeeze but you don't spend much time in there.

    Nice, basic hotel. Comfortable bed. Quiet. Wonderful location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.6
    The room was very spacious and cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very spacious and cozy. The location was quiet, yet still in close proximity of all attractions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Ordered a double bed got two singes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered a double bed got two singes. Asked for another room with a double and got two more singles.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast buffet was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were as flat as pancakes.

    The breakfast buffet was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    situated very clise to center jyst what we wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    situated very clise to center jyst what we wanted

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    Cologne is my second home
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Centrale ligging en de cityclass group is super !

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: