Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Am Hof 38-46, Altstadt-Nord, 50667 Cologne, Germany

#62 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2753 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    The stay was great. Just a small disappointment with the check-in experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room wasn't ready by the check-in time (2:30pm). I waited in the lobby/restaurant and the staff didn't update me regarding the room situation. After 3pm I had to go to the front desk and asked if the room was ready (and was told yes). This experience was a bit below expectation.

    Excellent location, clean and comfortable room and bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Well located friendly hotel close to tourist attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing not to like! If I had to I would say my pillow. They seem to use the most wonderful huge square type filled with feathers. Perfect you would say and you sink into it ! I couldn’t get really comfy with it and my hair was standing on end in the morning 😂😂

    The hotel was very well located. Beside the magnificent cathedral and about a 2 minute walk to the river where You can admire the beautiful Rhine from a multitude of restaurants. The hotel is immaculate and staff are more than helpful and friendly. Our room although not large was adequate. Bed very comfortable with Snow White bedding! Lovely. Nice bathroom . Breakfast was buffet , nothing exciting but perfectly fine. Staff here were lovely and voyldnty do dnough to help. We were very satisfied with our choice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    The location is ideal if you want to be in the city center...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is ideal if you want to be in the city center and also walk to the river. The breakfast was extremely good the breakfast room is very comfortable and has a good atmosphere. The staff was very helpful when I could not understand how to make a phone call. Parking is close by in the city center which is however always crowded but we had no trouble. Our room faced the street and had a great view of the dome. There are lots of restaurants around very convenient location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Perfect location, but not a 4 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's definitely not 4 star hotel! The space is extremely small, much less than it was committed. No water-cooker, no body lotion etc. The wardrobe is very narrow - less then the width of wire hangers. Elevator is working only till 4th flour, while the room is on 5th ?!

    The Location is just perfect for tourists, easy to get from the airport and to find the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Great tailor-made experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Almost at a loss for words. In a great way. With an unbeatable location, this hotel is literally in front of the Köln Dom and within walking distance to most attractions in Cologne. The rooms, including bathrooms, are very comfortable and staff was very willing to accommodate to our needs. I suggested we were staying there for a special occasion, and the hotel went above and beyond to make it an amazing one.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice staff and great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not quite easy to find the partner parking garage. The elevator couldn’t reach the top floor where I stayed, so I have to take a floor stairs with my big luggage. The bath booth doors didn’t work well and caused a little water leakage when showering.

    Great location. Just several steps to the Cathedral. The buffet breakfast is amazing. Plenty of choices. Staff is friendly and helpful. When we have electricity problem, they responsed very quickly. Parking fee is very reasonable in the city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    First class hotel and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower cubicle was a minimum size so you could hardly bend down - yet there was room in the bathroom for a large one.

    First class city centre hotel. Widest range for breakfast. Clean comfortable rooms. Convenient if arriving by train. Staff very helpful on where to explore and eat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable at City Class in Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Carpets everywhere in the hotel, old curtains, breakfast ok, but just ok. steep stairs into the hotel, the drinks in the hotel bar

    Large bathroom, cleaning was good, quiet hotel, hotel staff was friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location next to the Dome and a fairly good price...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's understandable since it's the city center they don't have their own place, so they are partnering up with a city parking garage and they provide a discount for those staying at the hotel, but since we had a big car, it wasn't accepted to this garage and the person there was rather rude to us, so we had some difficulties finding another spot nearby.

    Amazing location next to the Dome and a fairly good price among the similar options further from the city center, the hotel rooms are very nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location, but that’s about it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Staff left the door open (lock extended) after cleaning, with our room directly next to the elevator and stairs for the entire floor. - Bed pillows were hardly pillows.. we had to fold them in four before they were anywhere near usable (for reference, size wise, we are about the average European) - On arrival & after, the glass table in the room, together with some other things, were clearly not clean(ed at all)

    - Good location - Staff is friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money because of location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn’t say it’s a 4 stars hotel, more like 3 stars so don’t expect much.

    Great location and spectacular views of cathedral from the window. Reception girl checked me in at 13:30 which was very good as I needed to change.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    If I have a trip to Cologne again , I rearly like to stay at Hotel Europa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very friendly,helpful , warm-hearted ,especially the girl and the boy ,spending lots of time writing the cards for me,making me feel at home. Thank you, Savarou and Rickus! Byebye!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Exvellent value for money in the centre of Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is the second time I stayed at this hotel. Location is excellent. The front of the hotel overlooks the side of the 'Dom', so only 2 or 3 minutes walk. About 10 minute walk from the train station, and doable even if you have a suitcase to pull. The hotel is modern, bright and clean. There is an elevator to all the floors. the room was a very reasonable size. Free bottle of water in the fridge. I never had time for breakfast , but it looked good. Plenty of places to eat close by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent Hotel in the centre of Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In my opinion there is absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel.. , Excellent location, front of the hotel looks over the Dom.. 10 minutes walk from the train station with a suitcase. Lots of places to eat close by. I never had time to take the optional breakfast, but it looked good. Lift to all floors, and the room was extremely clean and very good size.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.0
    Quality hotel at an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom is a bit uncomfortable due to poor space optimisation.

    Great location, at the same time I didn't hear the noisy companies wandering around the city center. Overall quality is good, the hotel is worth the money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly staff, excellent location, fantastic choice of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing i would change is the pillows on the bed they were not very comfortable at all. Will maybe take my own next time .

    Very friendly staff, excellent location, fantastic choice of breakfast and a beautiful city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location, for a business traveler like me.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location, for a business traveler like me. Near to Koln Hbf, in the same time in the city center just a front of the DOM. 30 minutes for Dusseldorf Hbf, 20 min form Neuss Hbf, 50 min form Frankfurt airport using DBahn

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Europa is all you need for a nice time in Cologne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing worth mentioning at all.

    The accommodation met all our needs..location,price,cleanliness, staff friendliness (which is valued a lot as a foreign traveller).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Superb location - 5 mins from the station, 2 mins from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to pay for a coffee at reception when there is no kettle or coffee making facilities in the room. Not really any worthwhile bar or restaurant at the hotel

    Superb location - 5 mins from the station, 2 mins from the cathedral, 3 mins from the river. Comfy room, decent size. great breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value in the heart of the City near major transport links
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a single room - and the desk in these would really be too small for someone needing to use it on a business trip. I have previously had a double room at this hotel where the desk was much bigger - so I would advise booking a double if you are going on business.

    Excellent location 5 minutes from the train station, the Cathedral and Shopping. Good value for money - really good breakfast. Pleasant staff. Fast wifi - food restaurants in the immediate vicinity.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Convenience at it’s best
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water of the shower was not hot (only lukewarm at night), in the morning however it was very hot and spot on. I couldn’t set the perfect room temperature either it was a bit warm or a bit cold.

    Perfect location near the Cathedral. All basic amenities provided for a comfortable stay. I recommend it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only downside was no kettle for making tea and coffee in the room, and charged €2.50 for a coffee at reception.

    Excellent breakfast - good wide choice and good quality. Helpful staff. Fridge in room with free mineral water. Super location very close to cathedral and river.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    The only word to use for describe it is "super"!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed super comfortable,shower very clean and with a very powerful pressure just as I like. the location is something unreal!so close to the old town,dom and the station!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    A definite option when I visit Cologne
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The heating/aircon controls which flash all night - I ended by covering it it up.

    Perfect location for old town, station, Dom and 15 minute walk to the Messe

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Cologne was amazing and we had a lovely time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t say anything negative about the hotel at this time. We only slept at the hotel we spent most of our time exploring the city.

    This hotel is very close to the train station making getting to and from the hotel so easy. The hotel is in the centre of it all! So close to the cathedral, river and multiple museums as well as the bars and restaurants. We we able to leave our luggage at the hotel also after we checked out to spend more time in the town. .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    Great stay. Will certainly return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel, clean room, very comfortable bed, complimentary water, fantastic location very near to the Dome, train station, museums and city centre shopping.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    Very good hotel in wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room could be a little larger.

    Everything that matters was fine: staff, location, quietness, cleanliness, service, rich and varied breakfast, ... We asked to stay a bit longer after the check-out time and got immediate OK from the reception. In the evening we ran out of drinking water and were given a bottle at the bar for free.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    Handy but staff are unhelpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were unhelpful. We left the day before carnival and they wouldn’t give us wine over lunch as they had put it all away for carnival. They also tried to charge ua city tax twice.

    Great location and good value. Room and bathroom were clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    It was possible to get a room much earlier than the official...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heater is a bit noisy.

    It was possible to get a room much earlier than the official check-in, which was really useful for me. Wi-Fi worked well. The room was clean and the location is really great. The hotel is located in a frequented area, but in a quiet corner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While taking a shower, water slight through the shower cabin door, wetting the whole bathroom floor. I think this also contributed to a 'moldy' smell in the room (water wetting the carpet in the room).

    Great location, close to the Central Station (Hauptbahnhof), shopping, Heumarkt, etc. Even though it was a 1-person room, the room was not too small. Great breakfast options with delicious food options. Within walking distance from public transportation (several busses, S-bahn 1,7,9).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Great value for money, would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean, quiet, well-decorated and very comfortable. Great view (photo attached). Room temperature was great and easy to handle. Wi-Fi very reliable. Also very good/strong water pressure in the bathroom/shower. Extra credit in parking was very useful. In all it was a great value for the money and I absolutely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.9
    Good place if you are visiting for Business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Entrance is a bit chaotic. It delivers a sense of bazar! Bar is too dark and requires a clear update

    Perfect location, very good breakfast For sure I would not go there if I am looking for a romantic place, but for business is a perfect solution

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    6.7
    Not a 4* hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is not really a 4* hotel. I was cold in my room and I called the recepion immediately upon arrival. I was asked if they should bring another blanket, but the heating is central, so there was nothing they could do. No coffee/tea facilities in the room, bathroom is good but basic. Not good value for money.

    Good location and good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    We were surprised how close the hotel was to the Cathedral,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many channels on the TV, and sometimes the two beds separated from one another. Both are overlookable though.

    We were surprised how close the hotel was to the Cathedral, literally across the street. We were there to see the Christmas markets and it was perfect for that, as there are quite a few of them all within a 10-20 min walk. We requested a corner bedroom and got it, and it was lovely. We saw right onto the street but it never got too loud, even with crowds of people outside. Beds were comfy, shower worked well, and the breakfast was amazing!! So many choices and great coffee for a very low price. Way less than you'd pay in any restaurant for the same things. Would absolutely stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Can’t fault it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room, comfortable bed, clean facilities and very quiet. Staff welcoming and friendly. Breakfast amazing- lots of fresh choices. Bar area very pleasant- enjoyed a nightcap there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    6.3
    Could be better for a 4* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad pillows, room heating problematic, bathroom and room quite basic, elevator out of use, cluttered stairways, parking options in public parking too far away. All in all no 4* experience.

    Breakfast good standard, location very good !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    6.3
    LOVED KOLN
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    LIFT BROKEN. BOOKED A DOUBLE AND A TWIN GOT TWO TWINS ! ONE OF WHICH WAS VERY SMALL. GOT WOKEN UP BY HOUSEKEEPING ENTERING THE ROOM !!! VERY EXPENSIVE BAR.

    LOCATION GREAT AND IDEAL VIEW OF CITY.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.3
    The Receptioner tried to relocate us, motivating the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Receptioner tried to relocate us, motivating the hotel was fully booked, although the accommodation card was completed with my name and the room was allocated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable hotel with great location and nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some minor facilities are deficient in the room : mainly tea/coffee maker. other minor things: carrier for bags, bathroom facilities as (hair cap and shampoo), also clean matrix for shoes

    location is great, very nice view , very comfortable room with seating area, cleanliness, walking distance to all what i need or want to go ( Train station, rhine, shops, restaurants, Dom, Aldt Stdt)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.3
    Location was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We took our car to the parking and the hotel said if they stamp it it’s €10. The next day they said the parking wasn’t in collaboration with them and it was another parking so we had to pay double.

    Location was amazing! Room was nice. Got an amazing room with a view of the Christmas market

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.5
    This hotel is in a great location, a short walk from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room and after a cold day exploring there’s nothing better than a hot cup of tea. Of course you can get one at the bar but after paying so much for your room a free cup of tea shouldn’t be too much to ask.

    This hotel is in a great location, a short walk from the train station and Christmas markets literally at your front door! Highly recommend for anyone going to Cologne for the Christmas Markets. The bed was also very comfortable (firm mattress, soft pillows).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    6.7
    Good location that comes with a price.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price-quality did not live up to our expectations. It’ s clear that you pay a lot, just for the location. Reception personell was not quite attentive and pro-active. They let us find out ourselves that the elevator only moves when you scan your roomcard in it. Only after asking we were told that we could get a discount when they would validate a parking ticket of a certaing car park. The room was overlooking a scruffy inner place. Cleaning personell was lacking basic hygiene, causing a penetrating odour on our corridor lasting for quite some time.

    Situated in the inner city of Cologne, very close to the Dom. Also conveniently close to the Christmas Markets. Very nice beds as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could have been better. Better selection some days than others.

    Excellent location for shopping and Christmas markets. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    Went for Christmas markets and this location is directly across the street. Can’t beat it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are Some steep stairs to get into hotel. Not easy with luggge!!

    The location is why you need to stay here. Decent hotel. No frills in the room but I didn’t stay there much just used it to store luggage while I explored the city!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location, basic hotel but not sure sure 4 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The bed wasn’t very comfortable and the pillows were too thin. There was no tea or coffee facilities in the room or water offered. Location was excellent. Staff friendly and the breakfast was good. Individual soaps and shampoo and conditioner should be available at this hotel being rated 4 star. The hotel served its purpose but I’m not sure it should classified as 4 star.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.4
    Double check bills and keep receipts!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We find the senior positioned staff extremely rude & unhelpful. Everything seems tobe when they want to serve you and not when your ready to be served. The lady trying to sort out my booking that they had mixed up started answering the telephone and serving other customers although I had been stood trying to sort my problem out with her for 15 mins. Bar service is VERY slow and can easily take 10 mins for drink to be made that’s after youbhave waited 10mins to be served. We had to pay £28 per night for a 5 year old! Apparently it should of been £44 but of course I had a moan about that right from the moment we checked in and she told us. The bed was literally a sofa bed with a sheet! We watched the same two plates that had a half eaten apple and grapes on it for 4 days in the corridor. It was still there when we left but in fact there was now 3 plates! Crazy! The hotel are constantly trying to charge you extra for everything so double check bills and keep receipts even for a week or two when you get home!!

    Hotel Has Great Location And Is Clean To A Degree.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    The location was perfect for Christmas markets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom floor is very cold as was the bathroom until you heated it up with an overhead heater.

    The location was perfect for Christmas markets. Whilst not luxurious the hotel answered our needs for a one night stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location, clean hotel, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very difficult to get service in the bar/restaurant area. I stood at the bar waiting to be served, I was just looked at and ignored then advised that they would come to the table for orders then the next night they said the opposite (trivial I know but that irritates me)

    Perfect location, it was close to all areas of interest. Had a magnificent view of the cathedral from the hotel. It was kept clean and tidy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    8.3
    Can’t beat the location for the Christmas markets
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room - I would have liked to have been able to make a tea and boil water for the baby’s bottle. However the staff downstairs were really good and it was no problem for them to fill it.

    The location was excellent, we travelled here for the Christmas markets and the location couldn’t have been better. We also travelled with a 9 month old, and a travel cot was provided - the room was large enough to fit us all in. We didn’t eat at the hotel but the dining area (can be seen from reception) was nicely decorated for Christmas.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.3
    I'd stay there again if I was visiting Cologne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tea/coffee facilities in room. The lift broke leaving my husband who struggles with stairs stranded in our room. The staff did not seem overly concerned and implied this was a regular occurrence which is "normally fixed within an hour"

    Great location, and good value for money. Breakfast (at extra cost) very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel, great location, Breakfast expensive for what it is. Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you like your pillows thin and do not hold their shape or fluffiness then great. We had to ask for two extra pillows for us to be able to sleep properly.

    Initial thoughts: Hotel is lovely! Seems to have just had a makeover as the reception/bar/restaurant (all as one) are all spotlessly clean, fresh and modern. Rooms were clean and tidy with a small fridge. Bathroom clean with soap/showergel/shampoo included. Room: Double room was 2 single pushed together with 2 quilts. Quilts are lovely and fluffy and warm. Pillows were not to our liking at all so asked for another 2 to make sleeping that more comfortable. Wardrobe with shelves and coat hangers for clothes to be put in was provided. Room had a small fridge with 2x 0.7l carbonated bottles of water (FoC). Bathroom was spacious with a shower, all clean and perfectly acceptable. Beds are soft but comfy. Not what we prefer but had no issue with them being comfortable enough for sleeping. Bar/Restaurant: The bar/restaurant area partly looks over one of (two) smaller (and newer) Christmas markets directly opposite the hotel, lovely for an evening beer. Only had breakfast the once on checkout day but it was the usuall hotel breakfast affair. Pricey and really not worth it in our minds. Friendly waiters with table service too. Hotel in General: Excellent location to two christmas markets (one directly opposite and another directly left out of the front door. A short walk to another christmas market (out the door, right, right again). Lifts were clean yet a bit slow in changing floors. Corridors etc were all clean. No complaints. Hotel location is excellent as outlined above. Transport links are easy with Koeln Train Station a 5 minute walk away (across the road, around the museum to the right and around the cathedral, also right side, station directly in front of you). Fare is E5.60 for 2 adults from Airport (Flughafen) to Koeln Train Station). Some of the Xmas markets close earlier (9pm) midweek compared to 10pm on Fri-Sun. Bare this in mind if going for the markets. They close on the dot! Hotel breakfasts are always the usual affair.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Christmas Market Visit
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only niggle and it’s only a slight niggle there wasn’t a kettle in the room. Always like a cup of tea in the morning. Never mind as Starbucks was 2min walk away

    Excellent location. Directly opposite the cathedral. Perfect for us as visiting for the Christmas Markets and could see it from our room. Lovely hotel. Great room. Bed was very comfortable, shower was good. Room had a safe (bonus). No noice and staff were lovely. Really enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.9
    Good option in Koln for couples and families
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed with 2 single matresses, what creates a hole between them. Staff could be more friendly.

    Cosy room and hotel very close to train station and all touristic attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Had a pleasant stay . Hotel very central near to everything shops river restaurant train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows not very comfortable they were too soft but this is only a minor problem. asked for 2 more pillows which were supplied in time for night time.

    Nice comfortable clean hotel. Breakfast had a good choice. Staff helpful and friendly. Nice comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    6.3
    location: short way from the airport and walking distance to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - single room is quite small (very basic) - not enough hot water in the shower - no water to drink, no mini-bar or anything like that in the room available (all in all, this hotel does not fulfill the requirements of a 4-star hotel...)

    location: short way from the airport and walking distance to the main station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    A fantastic place to stay in Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location. Close to main central train station and basically right beside the cathedral. Room was clean, staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the morning was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff and centrally located!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dull. Needed more lighting. Bed wasn’t a double- was two singles joined together pretty badly, hence uncomfortable.

    Friendly staff and centrally located!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    For the money a terrific stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room, a little cramped. Bath was also small.

    Location was great: just across the plaza from the cathedral. Good breakfast. Good bed. Everything was clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.6
    Superb location and walking distance to all attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe can provide water kettle to boil water.

    Very convenient location, near all the attractions and train station. Breakfast is also got many variety and nice as well. Fresh bacon, ham, cheese, veggie etc. Worth to visit again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There should maybe be a larger choice of food for vegetarians. The pillows are not very comfortable.

    Very nice hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is perfect, very central and near the train station that goes directly to the airport in just 20min. The breakfast is very good. The room 311 was spacious and quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.1
    Hotel Location is ok but the room is too small for a family.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.Don’t have stroller way to get into the hotel (only stair in front of the entrance) 2. We expect to pay in cash at the hotel but it was charge via credit card before we had arrived.

    Location near the central train station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.9
    Staff was very helpful and very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaint I had was the bed. I suggest you bring your own pillows.

    The location is wonderful smack-dab view of the cathedral. Service was very nice and very helpful. If you would like to stay someplace that you can walk right to the cathedral and have many bars and restaurants in center of cologne this is the place to stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    Walk from train station!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non smokers who like to sleep with window open, ask for room high enough above smokers below at entrance.

    Location, convenience, breakfast, staff all very good. Great bed and shower. Strong WiFi. Can walk from train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable and welcoming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very convenient for the station. Good location for the river and bars and restaurants. We returned to a lovely jazz bar very near to the hotel. We would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Good hotel for a good price at top location! Very friendly staff!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly reception, personal approach upon arrival, great breakfast, excellent coffee, top location (in view of Dom Cathedral), parking available. Walking distance from famous bridge and chocolate museum. Excellent shopping nearby! I'd certainly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Best location in front of DOM but price is reasonable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception area is not well organized and noisy sometimes. If it becomes calm enough in the evening, it becomes nice bar over watching Sports TV.

    Room was up front of the Dom. Room number was 402. if you may be able to point out this for booking beforehand, you may enjoy beautiful night sight from the window.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    I would certainly recommend this hotel to my friends.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was in the same hall as the main staircase so I could hear through the door when people were coming or going at night.

    Perfect location - ideal for those who want to do shopping in old town, see the Kölner Dom or other sites. Very close to the train station, so it only took about 15 min to get to the Köln Messe. Room and bathroom were very clean. Loved the complimentary snack.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    Pretty average.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows very poor quality. Noisy and inconsiderate other guests making noise at all hours of the night (not the hotels fault to an extent). Showers old and not fixed in stable positions. People smoking right outside the entrance.

    Great location. Friendly staff. Good quality breakfast. Nice bar area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice solid hotel at the heart of cologne
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to step 5 big stairs with the luggage in the entry to the hotel. Can't see handicapped people do it.

    Great location in the heart of cologne. Comfortable rooms, enough room for 2 people with luggage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall very little to complain. The shower head could do with replacing in room 402 as it was leaking very badly where the hose joined the shower head. But that is all.

    Beds comfortable, room reasonably clean, breakfast was very good, especially the herings in the cream-sauce. Nice croissants, nice fresh bread rolls and very good selection of cold meats, cheeses, and the little frikadellen were yummy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfast was really good. Hotel is next to the Cathedral. Great starting point for the Köln visit. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.5
    Standard hotel close to the Dom in city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room and bed was very small, on the scale of a Tokyo pod hotel.

    Rooms decently appointed and close to the city center and public transportation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable indeed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the staff a bit surly and arrogant, although he did what we asked. It would have been nice to have a kettle and tea making facilities in the room. We could have had still as well as sparkling water in the fridge.

    Excellent breakfast, helpful staff (for the most part), generally good facilities and absolutely marvellous location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    5.8
    Location wise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at the reception did not help us with the luggage. Upon elevator exit going to our room, we have to pass by 2 more doors along the hallway. I don't get the point of having these doors when it's not even there for security. It's not even locked that we have to tap our cards to go thru. It just makes it hard for us guests to walk with our huge luggages during check in and out 'coz you have to open and hold the door while getting your luggage to the other side.

    location is very near the Cologne Cathedral and there are many shops nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in a perfect location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff was excellent and gave us perfect indications. We were also very pleased, since we got a very quiet room, and this in so close distance to the cathedral.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: