Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Alter Markt 55, Altstadt-Nord, 50667 Cologne, Germany

#11 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2999 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    8.3
    Stylish and modern accommodation, in the center of the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking facilities are a couple of streets away and difficult to find the one associated with the hotel. Expensive probably because it is in the center.

    Stylish and modern accommodation, in the center of the old town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    8.3
    Great location, good hotel, just small rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just small rooms but otherwise a very good hotel.

    Room was clean and but rather small. Staff was very friendly and helpful and the location was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    10
    Best value for money I've seen in Europe. Period.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could've been a bit better, but it was still quite good.

    The hotel wasn't just centrally located, it also managed to be very quiet, with very friendly staff who upgraded my family when they saw that we wouldn't fit comfortably into their smaller rooms (which are fine for one person). The breakfast was fine, but the best part of this place has to be the value. Unbeatable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    8.3
    Small, Clean very Central location just behind the Dom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    they only work together witj one Parkingloy. do u did nit get any discount.

    Small, Clean very Central location just behind the Dom. i did not have breaksfast. so ..but for the price and such a location..it is a vrry good place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    10
    This hotel was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel was perfect. It was located in an excellent location, beautiful rooms, efficient, good security for room access, Very pleasant staff and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    7.5
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was small as hardly there was any space around double bed. Toilet was small too but still OK but room could be bigger for the price paid. There was also no kettle in the room and on request no kettle was provided. In mini bar (the mini fridge) had only sparkling water bottles were provided and no still water given even on request.

    Hotel and room was clean and good location with good customer service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay, thank you CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Fantastic location which is unbeatable in Cologne. This hotel is very comfortable and although rooms are small they have everything they could want. A great and welcome touch is the free water! Breakfast has a great choice to suit everyone. I would definitely return here in the future. The Hotel staff were also very kind to my elderly parents which meant a lot to them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed the convenience and comfort of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Problems with the air conditioning control unit, but this was resolved by technician. This is our third stay at this hotel in different rooms, and on each occasion the shower door seal has leaked.

    Location is excellent, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    6.7
    The location was very close to main train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was to small for two people. Even for business travellers, no place to put lounge or then move around the room.

    The location was very close to main train station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    9.6
    Central, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are the smallest I have ever stayed in.

    The friendly welcome in this spotless hotel in a great location with comfortable beds wrapped in fine linen helped with the great nights sleep we had. Excellent value for money on the last minute Sunday rate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant hotel, conveniently situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in the room, especially since there is already a fridge.

    The location is very central, although that also means it can be noisy at night. However we found the windows to be extremely effective in shutting out noise when closed. The shower was good and the beds comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel and location Defently use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location, very clean and tidy. Rooms where smallish but had everything you needed perfect for a city break. Bathrooms loverly, only made better if had kettle in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    6.7
    Nice location hotel but very small rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Although I made my reservation months earlier, the room allocated to me was on the roof floor. For this reason it was a very small room and the walls were inclined due to the roof. So you can not walk without hitting your head. Also, the TV's position was such that it would not be possible to watch. Although the room was for double occupancy, there was only one chair in the room and you could not find a place to put it because of the smallness of the room. If you are considering staying at this hotel, I recommend that you should not accept a room from the roof floor.

    Hotel location was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location for tourist trip!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AC did not work. Room view was a wall in side the court yard 1,5m away. Some one had a party in the court yard 01:00 in the morning but due to the lack of AC could not close the window so "enjoyed" with them!

    Location! Clean!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    8.3
    Great location, good rooms, but nothing special
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are small - about 1 m on the three sides of the queen bed - barely enough room for a couple of carry on suitcases.

    The location is great, and the rooms have a simple pleasing decor and are quiet despite all the activity on the square below.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    8.3
    Clean hotel with excellent location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the rooms was too small. In the invoice there was a price for 2 dogs, instead of one... And the receptionist was sure that the mistake is in the calculation of Booking.com.

    Recently renovated. Our dog has received a bowl for water.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    8.8
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Public parking near the hotel. Need to unload luggage and then park the car and walk back to hotel (although it is very near). Room is very small but clean. Comfortable bed.

    Location is excellent. Walk to Cologne Cathedral and town centre (restaurants, bakery and souvenir stores). You can request for bedroom slippers and toothbrush which is really nice. Reception staff is polite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tea/Coffee making facilities in the room would have been nice. The toiletries in the bathroom were poor quality (only one combined shampoo/body wash etc).

    The location was great and very central (noisy in the evenings but that was expected). The room on the 5th floor had great views. The room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    9.2
    Nice weekend in Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was bit tiny. Nowhere to put luggage. During shower water was all over the floor.

    Good location. Around 5 min walk from station. Everything reachible by feet. Excellent breakfast. Clean room with great view to alter markt. Water for free and lovely welcome surprise in room. Was worth to stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect central hotel for a visit. All major sights within 5-15 mins easy walking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn't turn down heat so was very warm Could have done with better pillows had one large square one.

    Excellent location, delicious breakfast and very friendly, helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    7.9
    Incredible location, great staff, good standard but small rooms and too expensive
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is one of the smallest I've found in the whole Germany (like, 8sqm?), super tiny, although the standard was good. The price was incredibly high because of a fair happening in town, for this money I'd expect a more spectacular experience. The breakfast wasn't better than most 3* hotels I've stayed in, although it was fresh.

    Great location and superb staff, friendly and with a welcome basket upon arrival. The room is well-decorated and has all the stuff you need to feel invigorated. Breakfast is quite decent, I enjoyed it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    9.2
    Clean, centrally located and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no place to put our suitcases while we were unpacking and packing so we used the window sill! Also, I had trouble controlling the ventilation. The room seemed warm so I lowered the thermostat. Then I looked again later, and it had magically returned to the temperature it was originally programmed at. Then I turned it off and later it came back on!!

    The hotel has been newly remodeled. All the furniture and the bathroom configuration are new. It is organized very well. The hotel is really centrally located. We were able to drop in during the day because it is situated where we had easy access to it during our visit to see the interesting attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    8.8
    Great location with clean comfortable rooms and a filling breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast is better than the usual buffet selection and the waiters helpful and attentive. The bedrooms are not over large but the beds are comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedroom was quite small with not much space for your luggage. But ideal for a short break. The pillows were dreadful, we got extra ones but they weren’t much better. That is the only negative comment about the hotel.

    The location is excellent. It was very clean and tidy. The staff were very nice. Great sized bathroom with large walk in shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were driving and parking was a nightmare due to so many road closures (but that is probably not the hotels fault). Would have liked a kettle or coffee machine in room. Rooms were too hot and air con could not be set lower then 19. Yes, could open window but street was noisy (we were there on Easter weekend)

    Great location - very central in Old Town (very close to train station if that is how you are traveling).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    9.6
    Superb hotel with amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In my single room was very hot I believe they have central heating. Later I managed to turn on AC. So adjustable heating will be big plus.

    Good breakfast staff every morning asked me or everything is fine, clean room, free sparking water in the fridge, good WiFi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    4.2
    look for another hotel in Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    night staff was clueless. gave wrong directions to the parking lot. had attitude when we complained. Noisy street, windows don't block the street noise. Day staff better.

    ok breakfast spread

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    10
    Cologne is a great city. This hotel, the staff and view made it my best stay so far.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bin was a pedal bin, the pedal didn't work so I had to use my fingers to open it which meant I had to keep washing my hands. The heating kept coming back on after I had turned it off.

    From my attic room I had a great view. The free WiFi was the best I have ever had in a hotel. Didn't log me out when I closed my laptop and re-opened it. And was fast, I mean really fast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    9.6
    We had a lovely stay at the cityclass hotel. It is very central and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My friend had a single room and it was very small for the price.

    The breakfast was lovely, good variety of fruit, cereals etc as well as eggs, bacon, sausage and pudding. After breakfast we had a latte and some cake, delicious and included in the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    7.5
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No tea/coffee facilities in the room which was terrible considering it's a 4* hotel. The room was extremely hot and the heating/cooling controller wouldn't adjust correctly.

    Clean. Comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    8.8
    We had a good time in Cologne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was quite hot and we couldn’t figure out how to turn the temperature down! The room was very small.

    The location is excellent for sightseeing. The breakfast is very good, the staff are helpful and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel, very convenient location. Very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was on the firm side but that's personal preference

    Superb location in a quiet pedestrianised square. Close to main sights and rail station. Spacious room. Good hot and cold breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    5.0
    This was supposed to be a celebration weekend Which hotel knew! Awful experience!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check-in girl was unfriendly Tables were dirty at breakfast at weekend, as waiter trying to serve all tables which was impossible. Sunday there were 2 staff but still impossible to do all tables. Noted other residents cleaning there own tables. Was given a tray with old grapes fit for the dustbin with an apple as a welcome gift. No tea/coffee facilities in bedroom which I feel is unacceptable for a 4* Hotel Toiletries consisted of a liquid pump for hair, body and hands which was filled up for new guests opposed to nice individual toiletries Cleaner on Sunday morning was disgusting (I reported issue to reception and they quickly dealt with matter and were very apologetic) Had an attic room which caused problems as it was too hot, the coombed ceiling meant you had little room for walking around bed area/desk as ceiling sloped significantly and I hit my head several times. The windows were triple glazed but you could still hear the base music from the Irish bar next door til about 3am Sunday morning which kept me awake.

    Beds comfy Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    5.0
    Noisy location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room on the top floor(I requested the top floor to get away from the noise) 5th floor rooms have a slanted roof on them. Our room had two slants hence movement was very hard. We paid a belfry 270 euros for a small small room with even more smaller space due to the roof. Our bed linen was really small too. Two small duvets which we just managed to fit into. Pillows were very thin. Last but not the least was the street noise at night as people outside bars got louder and louder until the wee hours of the morning.

    The location was central. Room was clean. The breakfast spread was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    10
    Always good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, but this time the two rooms were a little bit too small...

    Many times stay here, the location is definitely the best, especially during the carnival period! Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.6
    Great location for this modern, clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are a bit small and if you are bringing more than carry-on sized luggage you may find yourself running out of floorspace. The rooms are also quite warm, the air-con would go no lower than 19C so we had to sleep with the window open, but this was not an issue.

    This recently refurbished hotel is located right in the heart of this great city. The hotel is spotlessly clean and everything works. The rooms are finished to a high standard and the beds are very comfortable. Some people have commented about the noise from the adjoining bars and restaurants, something we did not hear from room 501 which looks out at the back of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    7.1
    Cosy but good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a little small and didn’t care for the generic body wash dispenser in the shower.

    Room was very small but bed was comfy. Staff were lovely. Breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    10
    Great place which is both central and is totally great on all accounts
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bes was very comfortable, the locationb was extremely central and the breakfast was very very diverse and good and the service people made my coffee to order! Good wifi and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    8.3
    Nice and cozy
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price, during my stay, was ramped up by a "Möbel Messe", so this was the most expensive hotel I have been to on a business trip (almost 300 EUR). So my expectations about the room was not fulfilled ... it was nice, cozy and clean, but small and with a view to the skylight (inside of the building). However my fried were staying in a dormitory like place for 150 EUR, so ...

    Friendly staff, excellent breakfast, fast wifi. Free soda in the fridge and some complimentary fruit refreshments.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    7.5
    Nice location just a few minutes walk from the central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe the hotel is too new and there was a foreign smell in the room... The staff was quiet nice and helpful after I called the reception, she arranged one new room to me. Even trough there was still the smell but overall experience was nice.

    Nice location just a few minutes walk from the central station. And a big Christmas Market is just opposite the hotel, very convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    7.1
    We enjoyed our stay because of the location, but next year we would consider other hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room extremely small, much smaller than one we had last year during exactly the same period. There wasn't really room for both of us to move around at once. As we were out such a lot, this didn't really matter too much, but it wasn't a room for claustrophobics! The room wasn't good value as it had been last year. It was incredibly hot, 24 hours a day. There was a heat control in the room but it was not possible to make the room any cooler - it just kept turning itself up.

    Location suits us very well, so near to station, river, cathedral, concert hall and museums, and wonderful bars and restaurants. We also enjoyed the Epiphany market very much.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, right in the heart of the busy town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Despite putting in a request for a double bed, we ended up with two single beds to our dissappointment.

    The bed, the quilt cover and the pillows were amazingly comfy! The temperature of the room was always perfect, the shower was always nice and hot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    8.8
    Location, excellent breakfast, friendly staff and clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air conditioning wasn’t working properly so the room was slightly too warm during the night.

    Location, excellent breakfast, friendly staff and clean rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2017

    10
    All you need from a good quality city hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    All you need from a good quality city hotel: excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, modern, comfortable, clean room, great breakfast. All at a reasonable price. Could not ask for more.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2017

    10
    Stunning experience; cathedral and Christmas markets were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Whilst the breakfast situation at that time of the year was not wonderful; there was a great cafe with very friendly and helpful staff just across from the hotel which was great value for money!

    The location is perfect for access to the train station, the amazing cathedral and the oldest and in our humble opinion the best Christmas Markets of all the other cities we have visited. The reception staff and evening staff in the restaurant were excellent and looked after us with genuine concern for our every need.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were comfortable but small. The heating was theoretically adjustable but we couldn’t seem to make it turn down, so were very hot with the thick doonas.

    The location of the hotel next to one of the Christmas markets was great and double glazed windows meant it was very quiet if you were in your room. Best of both worlds. Ten minutes walk to the munster and a few minutes more to the station. Very manageable even with luggage.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful property in a PRIME location in the Alter Markt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were originally quite rude, and the room STUNK of weed (although my friends room did not)-we were determined that Snoop Dogg was hiding in the vents.

    Beautiful property in a PRIME location in the Alter Markt. The interior is breathtaking and the rooms are flawless. Although it overlooks the Christmas market and some pubs, there isn’t any noise from the streets overnight and they were more than happy for us to leave our bags there for a few hours after we checked out. More than value for money!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    9.6
    Superb - would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows were a little flat and not too comfortable - but staff happily provided more upon request.

    Great view from the window over the Christmas market, very good central location (only 5 minutes' walk to the main train station), and a delicious, plentiful breakfast for 11 Euros. Room was compact but cosy and had all we needed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    8.3
    If you want Cologne City Centre, then look no further!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Public Car Park (Hohe Strasse) is located about 200 m away, however, you can drop off and pick up luggage right outside the Hotel. The overnight parking charge of 10 Euro per night is also very reasonable :)

    The location for visiting the Christmas Market in the Altstadt, is absolutely perfect. The market takes place outside the front door. Location is fantastic for everything in the centre of Cologne is within easy walking distance. Wolters hop-on/off Train stops outside of the hotel. The staff are fantastic, we had a brilliant time! RECOMMENDED !!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    9.2
    Very good location to explore Cologne on foot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Mattress not so comfortable. Loud music late Friday night.

    Very good location to explore Cologne on foot. Room was clean and cozy. Free water in the fridge. Nice walk-in shower.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    10
    The look and feel of the hotel immediately made you feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like. As a suggestion a free complimentary drink on arrival would have been nice

    The look and feel of the hotel immediately made you feel right at home and the staff were fantastic

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    10
    Perfect, better standard, better location, a veiw and better local facilities than we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Coming home to the UK

    Location, walk out the door right into Xmas market ! :) Huge varied breakfast, ALL staff speak English and are very polite and helpful. Nice safe area, cosy local bars and restaurants within a few yards of the hotel. Hey guys, Germany is cheap to stay and eat, the trains are fantastic and cheap. All I can say is go there and see !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel in brilliant location - will definitely go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As a confirmed Brit, it would have been nice to have a kettle in the room.

    Brilliant location to enjoy Cologne's wonderful Christmas Markets. The hotel is immaculate and attractive inside. The staff could not have been more helpful. The breakfast buffet was extensive, delicious and plentiful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2017

    10
    Perfect for exploring the main attractions of Cologne. Would definitely stay here again if I return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a little bit noisy from the markets and Christmas celebrations going on around the area but nothing unpleasant and it’s all part of the atmosphere! That’s just what you get when you want a hotel so central, so we weren’t annoyed by it.

    The breakfast was lovely and had a really nice selection- never got bored of it for the duration of our stay. Couldn’t have been more central! We went to Cologne mainly for the Christmas markets and the location of the hotel was perfect. The entrance to one market was literally outside the hotel entrance, and another major market (in front of the cathedral) was less than 5 minutes to walk to. A very long street of shops was less than 10 minutes walk away so if you fancied a change from the markets then this was very close too! Lovely cosy room with a great shower! It’s a lovely looking hotel and was decorated with nice Christmas decorations. We had a couple of issues with key cards etc and the staff were nice and seemed happy to help us. Comfy beds and the windows had shutters as well as curtains, so there was literally no light coming in at night and made for a great night’s sleep.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel in the centre of Cologne, ideal for visiting Christmas market!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room smelt a bit and was a bit stuffy and warm. We kept the window open for fresh air, but then you do here a lot of noise on the street. The rooms are also on the small side.

    The hotel has the most ideal location and friendly staff. Breakfast was also nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2017

    5.4
    If you can't find anything better...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were not helpful and quite unfriendly (waitstaff who rolled their eyes). Rooms were utilitarian and small - not a good value for the $$. This hotel was the worst facility on our trip - will not stay at this chain again.

    The location to the Christmas Markets and Cathedral was the best amenity of this hotel. Easy access from the train station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    7.9
    Perfect location for walking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was quite hard to find Not easy walking to hotel with baggage ..some cobble stones Our room faced the street..we had to close the window at night because of the noise ..which made it sound proof

    The room was quite large ..even a sitting area ...shower had great water pressure The breakfast was very good ..great selection and very fresh ..good coffee The staff was very friendly and cheerful The location was great ...walking distance to everything!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    8.8
    Very good, would highly recommend !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    As in most European hotels, the pillows aren't great if you like a firmer pillow.

    We stayed for 5 days for the Christmas markets. The views from our room were amazing. it was very clean and tidy. The breakfast had so much choice (hot & cold) and was very good quality. And we were so close to the train/bus stations and there was a taxi rank just outside. The hotel is on the same street as so many lovely beer houses and Restaurants and just down the road from the shopping centre. Downstairs (where you eat breakfast) mid morning is a cafe/bar for hotel guests and the public, i would highly recommend taking time to try the patisserie chefs cakes (honestly were amazing and made daily in the hotel kitchens). And finally the bar staff, they were amazing, so friendly and helpful and i would highly recommend you take the time to sit at the bar!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    8.8
    Would stay here again ,good little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast area got very packed and one morning no seating but they did have a sign up saying peak times for breakfast.

    Great little hotel in an excellent position for Christmas markets . Very clean hotel .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    10
    Lovely, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only negative was that the room was a but small but the space was well utilised.

    Location of this hotel could not be better. Lovely to have the Christmas market outside the front of our room. Very comfortable and cosy. Will be coming back!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful location once you are here. Absolutely perfect for Xmas Market visits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Arriving here by car was a mini nightmare. You have to sort of drive through a pedestrian zone, one way streets and park on the sidewalk with your hazards on to unload bags and check in. This would be a non issue if you travel here via train. Also as we later found out during check in, all you have to do is go to the parking house they have a contract with and park like normal. At the end of your stay during checkout they punch a hole in the parking ticket which takes the price down to their daily rate they negotiated with the parking house. So the better solution would be to tell people driving here to go straight to the parking facility and drag your luggage 1 city block to the hotel rather than dealing with the one way streets and pedestrian zone situation. (Also note this was obviously extra hard due to Xmas Market visitors in the area during our arrival and departure). Once you are here though you have a great place with a wonderful location.

    We went to Cologne for the multiple Xmas Markets. One of the major 4 is right outside the front door of the Hotel. It is also a stop for the Bimmel Bahn - a tiny train that takes you to the other 3 major markets for just 10 Euro. Perfect place to stay for food, shopping etc. Even right next to subway station as well. Breakfast was only 11 Euro and it was called continental but included eggs, bacon, beans and sausage for the Americans and English customers. As well as the more traditional German pastries and cold cuts which I loved. Plus juices, teas, coffee, fruit, cereal, yogurt and more. Unlimited all you can eat as well. Which is great because every place we went water was more expensive than beer or wine and you paid by the glass. Making this unlimited buffet a real bargain to start the day off right!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    4.6
    Bad decision
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not clean ,problems with room card for 2 hours from arriving till 1:30 am, problem with room size not what booked and last the girl from staff tried to book a not registered taxi to bring me back to aeroport at check out !

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely break in Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent position ,near station and Cathedral . Plenty of eating places nearby . Lovely suite ,comfy beds . Good breakfast to suit all tastes . Staff very helpful and friendly . Would definitely book again .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2017

    8.8
    Good quality hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Late night reception/bar staff were very unprofessional and argued between themselves this carried over to the service they gave us at the bar this was not good

    Location is excellent hotel was very clean and good facilities

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2017

    9.6
    Great location in the center of city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The value for Money could be better. The restaurant had not the famous extra virgin olive oil -" 7 LENDAS" for dressing salads. It´s a pity!

    Great location in the center of city. Nice staff. Enough comfortable hotel but with some problems. We change room because the heating was not working. The staff was efficient to solve the problem, but, in fact, the problem was therel. Breakfast very good but we had to pay in addition (11 euros p. person)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2017

    8.0
    Breakfast was rich, helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had a Single room. The room was too small, packed and low value for 250 euro. he single bed was too short for me. A single bed should not be a short bed.

    Breakfast was rich, helpful staff. Location. The bathroom was spacious (unlike the room itself)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    6.7
    I wouldn't come back to this hotel. To expensive for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really small, the pillows were big but the moment you would put your head on the pillow it would melt as they were full of air (not very nice to sleep on). Also at the reception, there was one lady which wasn't very professional.

    The room was clean and quiet even if there was a big event going in the city and square where the hotel was (but that was because the room was at the back of the hotel and not facing towards the main street). Most of the staff was friendly and helpful with the exception of one lady at the reception.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    6.3
    Requested for a late check out as my flight wasn't till...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Requested for a late check out as my flight wasn't till 11pm that night got a confirmation email from the hotel to say that they would be happy to allow us a late check out with no extra charge .When I asked on the morning about the time of the late check out receptionist said that they never honoured this request I showed her the emails acknowledging it but she didn't want to know and told to basically get out of room .She was very ignorant and didn't want to know .This is very wrong that a hotel can do this and make you out to be a lier especially when there is proof that they were honoring this request but more then happy to take your money .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    10
    We would gladly stay in this hotel again, it was an excellent experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking a car was a bit tricky - the parking garage was difficult to find. Once found, it was easily accessible to the hotel.

    Excellent location, excellent accommodations.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    3.3
    Disappointing end to the trip. Awaiting contact in which o will be requesting a full discount.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Incredibly hot room Faulty electricity nearly electrocuting my partner Had to sleep with windows open Incredibly noisy as a result. Unable to sleep Attempts to escalate to management- no contact from them as yet Apparently the manager was celebrating his birthday so he wasn’t contactable. Took my details, have heard nothing. Offered a paltry 10% discount. Super unhappy. Wish to file a complaint

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    8.3
    Great location, bit small though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were on the small side so felt a bit cramped, also the aircon even on full still didn’t cool the room as it got very hot and stuffy even when it was 6 degrees outside, could only have the window open briefly due to the noise of the market square... uncomfortable and interrupted nights sleep because of this

    Hotel was in a great location and the rooms were nice and modern, views of cathedral. Bed and covers were very comfy and cosy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    10
    Everything was more that ok.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was more that ok. Starting with comfy beds, nice room and ending with a delicios breakfast :) The staff was really nice and helpful and room was clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was really hot & the thermostat to control the heating in room didn't work. This happened in 2 different rooms.

    Great little hotel in heart of cologne. Super handy location, short walk from train station. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    8.8
    Great location, maybe a little loud at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They had the heating on and we had warm weather so was quite stuffy in the room and with the windows open the noice was too loud to sleep from the cathedral and nightlife

    Great location. Rooms very clean and tidy and we had a great large room, but others that travelled with us had very small boxy so maybe request a large room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous location in picturesque old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Elevator requires card key to call or move.

    Very comfortable hotel in a fabulous location, 5-10 min walk from train station and right in the historic old town. The hotel is situated on the edge of a large open plaza filled with shops and restaurants. The Rhine riverfront with more shops/restaurants and parks is a couple short blocks away.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: