Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of City Hotel Dortmund This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Grafenhof 6, Dortmund City Centre, 44137 Dortmund, Germany

#21 of 49 hotels in Dortmund

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 446 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior is outdated but well maintained, bed covers were having pellets so have to be better cleaned or replaced

    Breakfast is very good, close to the city center, parking available

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold! There was a heater in the room but it wasnt working!

    The location of the hotel is great! Overall you will have a pleasant stay there! Value for money i would say!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in our room was not that comfortable; the mattress should be harder. For the rest it is absolutely fine knowing that it’s not neither a 4 or a 5 star.

    The stuff very friendly, very good breakfast. Great location perfect for shopping

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager increased the price of money during our second day in the hotel as we were three people instead of two. The previous night, the employee when asked if there is any probelm with the fact that we were 3 instead of 2, said there would be no increase in money because the third pearson would just sleep on the sofa-bed and everything are absolutely fine.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roads very noisy in the early morning. After a long day driving I had to spend time looking for a safe car park, as I found the ramp in the hotel carpark too steep and scary. At the end I found a secure car park locked overnight only 4 minutes walk away for 7€ a day. I thought staff could have given me some advise about the numerous local car parks, but not such luck.

    Very close to shops and town centre, reception and bar opened 24h.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was out of order and there were no porters to help carry the luggage up 3 floors. Should at least have someone to help. The hotel was next to a construction site and you can hear works being done. Noisy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi is very disappointing, slow and unstable

    Excellent location and car parking locked at night next door. Very friendly and helpful personnel. Standard but good quality breakfast. Value for money!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really loud , I had to keep my windows open because it was really hot and there was no air conditioner or ventilator , so I could not sleep well. The bed was ok but the pillow was uncomfortable. The wifi connection was terrible, and I have to login every time I turn a device on. The bathroom was quite smalll ,without space for placing my personal stuff . The room did not look like the pictures, at least mine .

    The Staff was very friendly, Location is very good, in the city centre and easy to access with car .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could not use the wi-fi in my room, because the signal strength was very bad. I had to go outside the room near the elevator in order to use the wi-fi.

    Location is great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No electricity sockets next to the bed. Hotel is located near a main ring road, quite a bit of traffic noise in the morning.

    Location is walking distance from the train station and right next to shopping street and mall. Very friendly lady at reception when we checked in, and friendly other staff later on. Nice room and good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find the offered free wifi, no sanitary accessories in the bath like a shower cap or cotton buds.

    We liked the little printed guide in the room and the location of the hotel - in the heart of the shopping area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I believe that people had been smoking in the room even though it was a designated non smoking room. There had been a make over of the room but the carpet and curtains had not been changed, they where so impregnated with smells it was impossible to ignore. This was the hardest bed I have ever slept on, every time you moved it squeaked and groaned, very cheap poor quality bed.

    Great location for down town activities, pleasant staff who where very understanding and helpful when we had a problem with our room filling with cigarette smoke. Our room was directly over the entrance where people butted out or stood and smoked. Upon complaint, we where moved to a better room the next day Get in early if you want a car park, it is up a very steep ramp, I believe it is locked at night. The highlight was the great reception staff and heartily breakfast served by lovely local ladies

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room is stuffed with unnecessary furniture.

    Inner city walking district starts from hotel location - this is best possible location. Breakfast with a lot of variety. Popular street beer booth is just few blocks away (no problem with noise).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing : the curtains are very bad. Daylight easily shines trough it. New curtains are necessary, i slept less than average.

    Internet very good. Breakfast : excellent. Friendly staff. Free lugage storage.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked two rooms, both smelled heavily of smoke. We were able to exchange one but not the other because the hotel was full. Very basic 3* accommodation 1970's style including pink bathroom suite Noisy plumbing Intermittent wifi Staff friendly, in a nightclub bouncer kind of way.

    Location in city centre (but not a a lively district) Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The free wifi is almost non-existent, very very weak. The TV in the room had zero English language or even French language stations, they were all German stations.

    The staff were kind and helpful, the room was a decent size for a single person, and it's well located, a few steps from a huge mall and a main street with many restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    pillows were a little flat, could of done with a few extra ones but that's just me being picky. The hotel was lovely :)

    The male and female staff members at reception were very friendly and extremely helpful. Very clean, comfortable and cosy hotel. Will definitely come back and will recommend to others. Located right in the city centre which was so handy! :)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a seedy 70's vibe, which could be a good thing or a bad thing. Some guy knocked my door at 06:00am holding a 1ltr bottle of Desperado and looking optimistic. I think he was partying close by as there was a load of cigarette smoke coming under my door. I think it's that sort of hotel.

    I stayed in this hotel purely based on price and proximity to where I was working. It's a place to shower and rest your head. I wouldn't advise to stay here for a holiday or anything like that. The internet worked well.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not good at all. Room was small, but that was not a problem for 2 days stay. It was practical to be organized.

    Staff and location were very good. Services such as taxis and information too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a central but quiet location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comments

    Top location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Normal type of breakfast for europe. Nice clean average size room, excellent location in Dortmund town center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, great breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff, nice room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dusty Room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Average breakfast, great location in city centre. 24hr hotel bar

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, helpfull staff. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room its to cold

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn’t like your parking system

    I really loved your breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff, great breakfast and very centrally located

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wi fi was bad

    breakfast, location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the Christmas market

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park was full had to park on the street. Disabled people would struggle at this hotel due to very small lift

    Excellent staff and breakfast a bonus

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    location was great. also was very friendly stuff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff don't speak good English but they are ok...

    Great location, 100m from main street, Great rooms, big, great bathroom, Great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was too coomplicated

    people service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Certain areas were a little bit worn but that's it.

    Staff were brilliant and extremely helpful no matter what you wanted.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Notging. Everything was good!

    Everything was good!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect for our short stay. Breakfast good, beds super, rooms are big, very friendly staff. Very close to the city center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater wasn't good

    You need to change door locks to modern hotel keys

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Internet.

    The location,the amability of the staff,the breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A nice selection at breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not fast enough.

    Near Shopping Area and not to far from the Stations

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, staff polite, great location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Value for money, a bit pricey

    Breakfast was nice and the service of the staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Paid over the odds due to being in town to watch Dortmund play Liverpool.'Normal' prices would have represented value for money but not the near on 100% hike which was a lot for a very basic single room!

    Excellent location,just a few minutes walk from the main train station.Also just 30 seconds from the big indoor shopping centre and a few minutes from the main centre and shops.A decent hotel although I would suggest booking one of the double rooms and not the single which was small and very basic.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Facilities a bit dated but overall satisfactory and have no short coming.

    This hotel is next to the pedestrian area of the city so it offers a fantastic convenience to see Dortmund for the new visitors.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the room is so small than picture but for one night it was ok, just had to spend one more night in dortmund, the place is good, close to the shops.

    i like the staff they are friendly specially the one who sing always, beautiful voice.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    when we booked in, told receptionist I was coeliac (gluten intolerant), for breakfast I was given gluten free bread, most of the buffet breakfast was suitable for me to eat. Nothing too much trouble for the staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The "free" internet did not work in my room. Worked fine in the bar and breakfast room. The staff were helpful and gave me a free beer.

    Amusing room - the Dortmund football club room - synthetic grass for the carpet!

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The towels didn't get changed much . Oh and the bog roll was like sandpaper!

    The free orange juice. Absolutely got my money's worth! Also we were allowed to play our music while drinking...

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sometimes whistling of air flow probably through some narrow gaps around door, but that was rarely and weak. The manual for operating the safe box should be installed directly on safebox, not on the wall. Customer need not notice befor he make that mistake as me: to rotate the button of safe box befor setting the code.

    Very kind staff, possibility to leav or come anytime, rich and tasty breakfast, quiet room during day as well as during night, hyper- convenient bed, nice and clean bathroom with hairdryer, one fixed and one movable mirror, and also funny towel hingers :-), shower operates well. Small desk suitable for notebook or some papers included, contains electrical drawers, one seat to desk without backrest, but convenient, and one comfortable armchair included. Tv included, but I didn't use it. Free wi-fi connection, it's necessary to register via e-mail immediately before use - no problem. Many variants how to light up the room - one big chandeller, two little lamps on walls, hyper-little intim flexible desk lamp. Battle of watter gratis, small watter boiler for preparing coffee or tea, cup, doses of coffee and tea included. Nice environment, simple, nice, functional and furniture making no creak. Well situated in city centre. Shopping centre near about 100 meters from hotel. Payment by card without any problems, good price. I was excited! I reccomend.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smallish room, noisy neighbours.

    Handy location

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Old and smell on carpet

    location

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi signal was poor in our room

    Good size room, lovely bathroom, very friendly staff, nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing at all

    Breakfast was very good & the beds nice. The location was well within walking distance of both railway & shops etc

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very helpful staff. Excellent facilities for a budget hotel.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast wasn't the best

    Beds were comfy, very clean, value for money.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Small-ish bathroom.

    Location for central Dortmund. Very friendly staff. Clean room and bathroom. Good value for group room.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Group

    Getting beat by Dortmund 3-0

    Perfect location

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Friendly peoples, comfortable bads, very clean room and breakfast..

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Nice hotel for a overnight stay

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    good bed

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    unexpectedly good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nice people, delisious breakfast, very good location,

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    my bed was old and bent. the room had a scent of old things

    the location is at the city center

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    room area was tight.

    Breakfast was good. friendly staff. great location, in the heart of the shopping area.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Tiny bathroom, bad parking situation and additional City tax, even for business traveller.

    Breakfast was good.

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Guests also reviewed these properties: