Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of City Hotel Essen This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Viehofer Platz 5, Stadtkern, 45127 Essen, Germany

#43 of 68 hotels in Essen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 613 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    고맙습니다 Another great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed here a few times, the room refurbs are brilliant, the beds comfortable and the wifi reliable. Always a great stay here, good breakfast too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Would stay here again next time we are back in Essen.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a limited tv channels, none English speaking.

    Room was spacious, bathroom and toilet were modern and clean, breakfast was very nice and a bonus with the free city hotel public transport ticket.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Highly recommended for a short stay in Essen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lift was a bit slow and for only one flight up I could not access stairs which would have been faster and more convenient for me.

    The breakfast was adequete, room was perfect for space and comfort and cleanliness.What was excellent was the public transport ticket for use on all trains busses etc: Was a real bonus for us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was decent, room was enormous, toilet and shower...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting in the rooms was pretty terrible. It was windy, and in some rooms on higher floors the wind can be very loud.

    Breakfast was decent, room was enormous, toilet and shower were in separate rooms which was ideal. Sauna was also nice. Staff super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.7
    Very specious and clean room, big and clean bathroom,...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic breakfast with the worst boiled eggs I’ve ever eaten, uncomfortable beds with too soft mattresses, only a few parking places for guests, wifi didn’t work.

    Very specious and clean room, big and clean bathroom, 24/7 accomodation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.8
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were great I would say the only down side is there was no stairs to the lobby being sacred of lifts made it very awkward for me but they were very obliging to to

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive to the level of hotel. It probably was due to a week all hotels 'full booked' in the region.

    Excellent location. Close to downtown an main tram line

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.0
    Will only return in an emergency
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses were lumpy, while the bed frame was so old we threw the mattresses on the floor for some support. The curtains only covered half the windows, and the only lamps were near the bed causing half the room to be dark. There’s no coffee/tea facilities and there were indeterminate stains on the chairs. Dust was gathering on some of the shelves and most storage space was so high up you’d need a step ladder to reach it.

    The bathroom was fine, and very recently updated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.2
    The rooms were rather large and the minibar was free of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A plug socket was broken (don't mind) and the hotel was a bit aged (not too bad). The elevator was really slow and the coffee could have been better.

    The rooms were rather large and the minibar was free of charge. Parking lot was on-site and for free, only a bit limited. Nice staff, good breakfast and bars and restaurants are just around the corner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    5.4
    All type of transportes on the area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To sleep on that mattress was a nightmare. I had to lie down on the floor. Just kebab restaurantes on the area

    All type of transportes on the area. Great . Private parking

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.1
    The strict minimum of comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't receive any info regarding free wifi. There was no vanity set or any commodity for our convenience; I had forgotten my comb, and couldn't find any solution. It was too hot in the room.

    Breakfast was just OK.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.2
    Excellent value for money hotel for Essen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Main reception area needs updating.

    On-site free parking. Convenient to U-bahn station. Excellent breakfast including some hot scrambled eggs and sausages. Mini bar in room. Spacious room. Comfortable bed. Spotless bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.1
    A good time, just a bit short of room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not sure of the area after dark. The bar area was a bit small, and there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. It was a bit small in the public areas.

    The closest to the main shopping areas, and the nice big room with a fridge. Also the free travel card was a bonus. The staff were always helpful and pleasant. The bed was comfortable and the room was very warm, being on the 6th floor.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    3.3
    Worst hotel I ever stayed in Germany
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel would be great is price was around 40€ Per night , not 180€!!!Rooms seem to be like 70's. Carpet was dirty . Rooms accommodation broken . Heater was not working first night and I had to complain and Get a small portable electric heater! Room service was smoking on the corridors of second floor and the smell of cigarets was spread all over !!!

    Breakfast, parking , friendly and smiling staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    6.3
    Basic but good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi was slow and I was constantly losing signal, of course I was in room 404 so this may not be surprising.

    Tram station immediately outside the door connecting to the Hauptbahnhof via Berlinerplatz. Lots of places selling food nearby. Helpful staff. Room was spartan but very large.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.8
    Nice rooms and staff. Poor Wi-fi connection though...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad Wi-fi connection in the rooms, limited to the reception desk. Okey breakfast, nothing exceptional!

    Free minibar. Free travelcoupon for the buss and subway. Location very central. Very helpful staff. Very big, beautiful room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.9
    Good
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Internet connections from Room No *** was very bad , then they change the room .... we have had a better signal..... all ok, they where helpfull. Thanks ..

    The brekfast was good, clean ....and the staff where very kind.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.2
    Room was nice, staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi in the room barely worked on my laptop. Every time try I'd try to reconnect, within a minute it'd have issues. It was an unsecured connection, and I kept getting an alert about the host address changing.

    Room was nice, staff was friendly. Complimentary breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Kind staff.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kind staff. Good-size room and bathroom. Free parking. Good simple breakfast but not that good coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    4.6
    too expensive for what you get
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noise

    clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No non dairy alternatives.

    Good range of breakfast choice. Fresh fruit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Big room, nice breakfast, close to the center, great service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Big room, nice breakfast, close to the center, great service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Good value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast. Comfor table bed. Good wi-first. No problems at all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Great place and so convenient for all of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place and so convenient for all of the city

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    close to venue so a short walk back late at night, friendly and nice room even if a bit basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    no kettle in room for a cup of tea before bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    excellent stay and look forward to come back again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Overall ambiance and comfort

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location for our purposes
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    eggs were overcooked, wasn't much left by the time i arrived. Poor quality.

    not a lot

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great for me. Many will find it dated.

    Well located. Staff super friendly and helpful. This is low key comfort and convenience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.7
    Location at edge of city center, friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All looks a bit old

    Location at edge of city center, friendly staff. Fair price

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    5.0
    the breakfast was ok, enough and good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the smoking room - this is not from this time anymore...

    the breakfast was ok, enough and good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.3
    De ligging in centrum.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    De ligging in centrum.top

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.7
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioned room

    Spacious and comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.5
    relatively cheap, with ok breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    district and a lot of traffic, no tea cattle in the rooms, noisy

    relatively cheap, with ok breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.2
    good value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast and quiet, comfortable rooms

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.8
    fair prices in a comfortable city hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    *enough free parking lots in front of Hotel * big room with nice view *very good breakfast * Sauna in the basement

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    9.6
    Very good comfort and value for the money in centre of the town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Aged bathroom, access to reception and main entrance only via (slow) elevator.

    Minibar free of charge, breakfast included

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free and close parking, great location and a friendly welcome.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    5.4
    Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very slow elevator (~ > 4 mins waiting time)

    Breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    5.4
    Good location, but horrible beds, outdated and broken bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Broken sink. Horrible beds!! No lamps, not enough sockets. Noisy fridge.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    3.3
    OLD, DARK & IN A SEEDY NEIGHBORHOOD
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, heater was broken, dark & dreary room.

    The Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    5.8
    Public transport ticket
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/ coffee making facility in the room.

    Public transport ticket

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    10
    Ideal Hotel for Essen Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The standard of the room, breakfast, wi-fi and free travel card

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.2
    Rooms are large
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are large

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    8.3
    Good location, nice stuff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Too noisy outside, can't keep window open at night. Room was smelling a little bit when we arrived.

    Good location, nice stuff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    9.6
    Responsive, good-humoured staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Once I came to breakfast in the middle of breakfast-time, and the variety of meat was much less than usually. There was no cheese. I had to ask for them.

    Responsive, good-humoured staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    7.1
    Friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bad Wi-Fi connection, if you need it for work, don't take connectivity as granted. The room was cold and the heating did not work in the first day. I received an electric heater from reception.

    Friendly staff. Good thing about the "flat rate" meaning that you can take water from the fridge for free. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    3.3
    Kind and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Run-down hotel in need of serious refurbishment. Very poor facilities. If you sleep at back of hotel with window open, keep in mind that 2 loud guard-dogs on a nearby property will keep you awake all night. We slept 2 hours only!!!!

    Kind and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    8.3
    Good standard of hotel handily near one of the U-Bahn stops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Matress was a little spongy which is unusual for Germany. Lift has to be used to get to reception oddly. Minor points, otherwise fine.

    Good standard of hotel handily near one of the U-Bahn stops. Friendly and helpful staff, good standard of breakfast. Spacious room for the money and overall good value for what you get.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    7.5
    Good breakfast buffet included in price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel and room feels a bit old. Located in a busy traffic corner. Windows must be closed but windows well insulated. Bad light in the room.

    Good breakfast buffet included in price. Friendly staff. Good service. Free WiFi.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    9.6
    Secure car park, free WiFi across the hotel easy access to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms don't have any hot drink facilities.

    Secure car park, free WiFi across the hotel easy access to the Metro and very close to the Christmas Market.

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    7.1
    The room was very spacious and the staff very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Hotel was old fashioned and did not look at all new and modern like the photo. Dissapointing.

    The room was very spacious and the staff very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    9.6
    Good value, location & I was upgraded on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel is clean, but furnishings a little tired and needing some upgrading.

    Good value, location & I was upgraded on arrival. Staff extremely friendly and spoke English well.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    8.3
    I accidentally booked for the night before I arrived.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Interior old.

    I accidentally booked for the night before I arrived. Instead of charging me for the missed night, the clerk kindly just charge me for the night I actually stayed. Although I paid for a single-sized room, the clerk also gave a double-sized room. Breakfast OK. Hotel right across the street from the University. Hotel quiet. I would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    9.2
    On site parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No tea/coffee in room. Reception/breakfast looks a little tired.

    On site parking. Close to underground. Breakfast OK. Valuables safe in room. Fridge in room. Big TV.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    9.2
    The hotel is nicely located;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I did not need a water bed… and why would you go to Essen anyway?

    The hotel is nicely located; just out of the entry door is a subway station and you face the "altstadt". Good is that everything is included (wifi, minibar, etc) and you dont pay extras. I found the staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    8.8
    On-site parking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No tea/coffee facility in room. Reception/breakfast area looking a little tired/dated.

    On-site parking. Nice buffet breakfast. Large, comfortable room. Spotless bathroom. Mini-bar. Friendly staff. Convenient to underground station. Good value.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    9.6
    I have not one negative thing to say because the staff are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It isn't possible to use the stairs and so sometimes the wait for the lift is a bit long to go down to the exit. But actually it has no bearing on the quality of this wonderful hotel..

    I have not one negative thing to say because the staff are incredibly friendly, helpful and informative. The breakfast table was always well stocked, fresh with ample coffee. Once again the staff were friendly and always gave a warm welcome. The room was quiet, warm and perfectly clean and fresh. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    9.2
    Good parking and free public transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good parking and free public transport

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    2.5
    attitude towards guests
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    attitude towards guests

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    5.0
    Staff and breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    6.3
    Staff helpful re wifi problems, conversation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    inconvenient electric outlets, sort of dark and dingy,

    Staff helpful re wifi problems, conversation. Breakfast ample. Bed good.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    8.3
    spacey and functional room, nice breakfast buffet, parking...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    spacey and functional room, nice breakfast buffet, parking facilities in front of the Hotel itself, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    9.2
    breakfast staff were very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    everything was ok

    breakfast staff were very friendly

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    7.1
    Comfy bed and bed linen.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very dated.

    Comfy bed and bed linen. Soft towels. Powerful Shower. Spacious room.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    7.9
    Location is perfect to visit the Christmas market.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location is perfect to visit the Christmas market. Breakfast is very good.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    7.5
    Bad Internet conection, every few minutes conection was lost
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bad Internet conection, every few minutes conection was lost

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    9.6
    Free on-site parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Free on-site parking. Close to underground station. Close to GOP theatre. Spotless bathroom. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay and were happy that the hotel was next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We enjoyed our stay and were happy that the hotel was next to the concert venue Turock where we went to see a show.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    9.6
    Location, mini bar, size of room, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, mini bar, size of room, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    8.8
    The Breakfast, for this price, is outstanding good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Breakfast, for this price, is outstanding good. Free parking

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.1
    Internet sucks
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Internet sucks

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    8.8
    Very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    Car park on site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Car park on site. Adjacent to underground station. Clean room and bathroom. Nice breakfast included in price. Comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    10
    The staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    9.2
    Very good price/benefit for a business travel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very good price/benefit for a business travel. Public transportation ticket included.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: