Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel CityInn This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Appellhofplatz 9, Altstadt-Nord, 50667 Cologne, Germany

Review score

Based on 2289 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6

  • Comfort

    5.6

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    5.5

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    Located beside a very noisy city bypass road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located beside a very noisy city bypass road. Room was very small and stuffy. Had to keep windows open due to lack of air but had to put up with noise of traffic. Although very centrally located the area itself was a a bit seedy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.3
    Overpriced for a tiny room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I went during the week of the Gamescom event so was charged what I’d normally pay for a decent double for a tiny single the size of a cell with only a tiny window high up in the wall that you couldn’t see out of but wasn’t covered so you couldn’t block the daylight :(

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    2.5
    Watch out!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Watch out! Vorsicht! They up their prices 3-4 weeks before the Messe. Up to 325 Euro a night. Usual rate is much lower. A complete rip-of. Horrible beds!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.4
    Good location but hotel needs updating
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I checked in late and the process was difficult in the dark. Luckily, I had a colleague with me, otherwise I would have felt scared. When I got to my room, there was no pillowcase on my pillow - too late to find anyone to sort this out so I had to sleep with it like that - not nice. On the second day there was no hot water for my shower. There was damp in the bathroom.

    The hotel had everything I needed in terms of a desk, power, good wifi and the breakfast was cheap and decent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Staffs were gentle and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like the room and bed. I booked the room with a baby of three years. But they put 2 twin beds which was very uncomfortable for us. One side of the bed(The rack over the head) was broken and the towels were very old.

    Staffs were gentle and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.0
    Only if nothing else is available
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attitude is neither particularly polite, nor friendly.the hotel is somewhat rundown and a bit on the sinister side, which, obviously does not warrant the arrogant reception manners

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    3.8
    only location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    super dirty room and unsanitary. dark room towel was totaly wet Water accumulated and does not flow under the shower When you flash toilet the water is comes up under the shower they change room twice in three days

    only location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.8
    The breakfast was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived at 2pm was given the keys to my room which hadn’t even been serviced. The cleaner hurriedly changed the bed linen and towels but didn’t clean the room or bathroom. The bathroom floor was still wet from the previous tenant’s shower. There were some seriously unpleasant stains on the wall by the bed. All the other walls were stained and dirty, it wouldn’t take more than an hour to repaint all of the walls. Floor was also dirty. Cash only when paying for your stay - no cards accepted. Ok it’s a budget hotel but I still expect basic cleanliness. It’s a shame because the room was modern and well built.

    The breakfast was very good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    2.9
    Unclean room, major security violation; rude staff; awful place. Never stay here.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room door left WIDE OPEN by staff with no one to be seen. I do not know how long my room was left wide open and vulnerable to theft. Manager didn't care when I told him. Incredible. Towels smelled of mildew. Room not cleaned in the three days of my stay. Bins not emptied. Wifi did not work. Staff were rude. Never stay here. Awful place.

    The location was useful. I liked nothing else about this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.1
    Could do a bit better
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their cleaning, and laundry practices should undergo a total overhaul. Linens, towels, and curtains stink.

    Restaurants, a grocery, and a mall, and shops are located nearby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities. Only two electrical sockets in the room. One in bedroom and one in bathroom. Lights at bedside did not work.

    Beds were very comfortable and the hotel is in a great location for everything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    4.6
    not so great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had the topfloor of the hotel in a separate building just on the other side of block. When we were here it was very hot and no facilities on the room to make it more comfortable (no airco or not even a fan). Size of the room was good with 3 adults and 2 kids. The bed was terrible, very soft and hollow and turning around made me bouncing in the bed. Breakfast was okay for 6,50, but not great, and recommended for this price. in the neighborhood bakeries are more expensive.

    Location of the hotel is 2 min walking from the first shopping street, with another 5~10 min and you're at the Dom. that's it!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.3
    Not the best place if you want to go out in the night
    • Group
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not in the main building but in the second building. In the night we could not open the door, the reception was closed and we could not reach anyone by phone. Luckily other guests heard us and came to open the door from inside otherwise we would have to stay outside the whole night! Terrible. We spent 1 hour oitside the door...

    Very central location

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.0
    It is apparently a cash only place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is apparently a cash only place. We had 8 hours journey to reach the hotel and I didnt have cash, I requested them if I can check-in, keep my bags in the room and go search for an atm. They said NO, receptionist wasnt friendly. I finally went, got the cash, paid and the receptionist didnt even have change in cash to pay me back and said that he will pay me tomorrow. Strange to not have cash change in a cash-only place who are so adamant about guests paying strictly before check-in. The room was very very old and smelly. Its an old construction. Our room was basically the attic of that building. Breakfast was good. Train station is 4 min walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    4.6
    Location perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reception at night the main door not open we stay in street more than 90 min i it is around 1 am And cologen cold We r so upset from hotel and staff

    Location perfect

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.5
    not too bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it was very very noisy and not only from the nearby consturction site; the walls and doors are probably very thin and neigbouring apartment and noise from the corridor was like it was in my room. in one of the mornings they decided to repair the next door room and the noise was terrible and even after my remark they continued to bother me (and probably everybody else in the building).

    location is good; the room is big enough.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    The staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no free parking around the hotel. You have no view whatsoever just buildings surrounding you. These things won’t matter if you’re staying for one night though.

    The staff were friendly. The room was super clean as well as the bathroom. Breakfast was good with little variety of food. It’s good for low budget travelers. Neighborhood is save.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    About 8 mins walk from main train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    About 8 mins walk from main train station. Breakfast was really nice and plenty of variety. Rooms and bathroom were clean looks like we're recently refurbished.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Close and affordable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is made up of several buildings and so to go to breakfast you might have to go outside to enter the main building. I had a lower room and the window didn't have dark curtains. The window was shaded, but still a person could look in if the wanted to.

    Just on the edge of the old city, Altstad. 10 minute walk from the Dom. Quiet location, close to the shopping district and parking. The breakfast was very good and the price of my room fit my budget.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    4.6
    substandard accommodation, would not expect such a slum in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    substandard accommodation, would not expect such a slum in the center of Cologne, next to WDR headquarters and historical center. on a positive side is location, staff and breakfast, for a little effort and some money this accommodation could be restored but as it is now it is not suitable for hotel habitation really

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    A good price for a good stay in the hearth of the city. Prima breakfast as well! <3
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to walk around the building for going to the servive or having breakfast. We had good weather, but when it s raining it s ofcourse a less oke experience.

    We liked the place, comfortable, kind staff, good service, clean, good breakfast, in the hearth of the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location & saving on staff hours
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had late arrival (after midnight), there was lack of communication options. As the early train leaved before 7.00, even at 6.30 there was nobody to negotiate about coffee. I had breakfast booked, but it started at 7.00 - so it went wasted. Strange, but door to the street was open, not shore that the key was working to close it properly.

    Location near to the central train station and Dome church in comparison with actual price for it still is the bestseller moment.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    We want to go back already!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little confusing getting to our room, because we had to exit lobby back on street, go around the corner and into the building. But we figured it out.

    Family apartment on top floor was amazing. 2 rooms. One with two single beds, and one big bed. View from room was fun. Breakfast in the morning was excellent. Modern bathroom. Very close to big Church. Great location! I would stay here again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Location and price commend this hotel, perfectly adequate for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were given a room on the fifth (top) floor in the annexe around the corner, there are only single rooms in the main building. Fortunately there is a lift... Our room in the building eaves was extremely warm (it was a very hot weekend), and there is no air conditioning. Again, fortunately, the large Velux window left open all night made things a little cooler. The absence of any lighting in the hall on the fifth floor landing was a bit disconcerting, but that was due to the absence of any light bulbs in the fittings. Shower was a little slow to drain, and the curtain had seen better days, although it more than fulfilled the purpose. One important tip, if you want to have a shower, do it late at night, there's plenty of hot water. Not so much in the morning.

    The two adjoining beds put together to make a very large double were extremely comfortable. Hotel CityInn is centrally located, and particularly close to the U-Bahn Appeldorf Station, making travel across Cologne very easy. Breakfast offered the usual standard buffet selection of cereals, yogurt, cold meats and cheese, and scrambled eggs. Very pleased to see black rye bread on offer. Stairs down to breakfast room in the basement were a little uneven, and a bit steep, but negotiable. We had a train delay within the UK which left us unable to arrive for a further 12 hours., but we received a very positive and helpful response to our telephone call explaining the situation, and confirming our room would be held over to the next day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.0
    3 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-conditioning, couldn't have the window open as was on the ground floor. Toiletries were not replaced. Toilet did not flush that well. Breakfast were standard continental breakfast. No safe in room. Room was not soundproof as could hear the people next door. Room was dusty. Room was cleaned very late in the day. No tea making facilities. Hotel layout was weird as had to go outside of hotel and round the corner and in the other side of hotel for breakfast. Very few electrical sockets.

    When asked for help in the room, the issue was dealt with very fast. Breakfast was included. Two single duvets. Staff very friendly and helpful. Location was very good. Price very good. Would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location, budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The soundproof in the room is really bad,you can hear every sound come from the corridor The shampoo they gave is too limited as we have 3pax in the room

    Really great location, Can get all the groceries and shopping in around 3mins walking distance 10mins walk from Train Station Room is spacious and the bed is cozy Breakfast is great for the price you paid

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice stay, Good size room for 1 person, Decent bathroom, Good Breakfast..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing specific. As its summer, a Fan would have been made the stay more comfortable.

    The Stay was good, Good sized rooms for 1 person. Good Facilities (Especially late hours check-in)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.8
    Not for a business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luck of shower gel and a big towel. I received a one 10ml sachet all in one (shower gel and shampoo) for 3 night stay. I had also only once the big towel. Hotel is cheap therefore stripped from all additional stuff, however if you are missing basics they are noticble and making the stay quite uncomftable. No an iron to borrow from reception, one hanger in a room. Not for business travellers! No elevator! My room had no access to elevator a big problem when you posses a big luggage. No help from personel 😑 I had leave it in a lobby.

    Location. Room was quite clean Basic breakfast with cold eggs but it is nice that it exists.(should be in no plus, no minus section)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.8
    Well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Young female Receptioniste could have chosen another job to be honest (not at all smiling, no idea about the places of interest nor the local food, how could her “show” the map if she just hided hehind the front-desk...); the towel is quite yellow

    Well located

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    location is right at the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived at midnight and no instructions were given to us prior to arrival with regard to reception being closed. It was a whole lot of trouble I dont even know where to begin.

    location is right at the heart of the city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    3.3
    NOTHING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The recption guy didnt wanted to accept payment with card!? he wanted cash payment!?? Dodgy... The facilities are VERY VERY poor! For sure not to repeat!

    NOTHING!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    Goos, Could be improved by allowing more items to use the food stored in the refrigerator.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More coat hangers, Possibility of boiling water for Tea. Some utensil for food kept in refrigerator! Having a kitchenette was great but we could not use it!!

    location, attitude of staff. Possibility of leaving lugged at hotel after checkout hours. Use of toilet at lobby. Large Closet for clothing, Not enough coat hangers! A kettle to warm water at the stove or electric would have made the stay GREAT!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    It’s all wet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower curtain is too short which makes the shower / toilet all wet and messy. No air-condition, thank god its spring season. The bed mattress is a little old,bent down. Can’t sleep properly for 2 nights. No one came to clean the room.

    The price for its location and accessibility is a good deal. Nice breakfast until 10:00AM. Checking in and out is easy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    4.6
    The rooms were totally dirty.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The rooms were totally dirty. There was blood on the shower area from the previous users. It was not cleaned properly. Then I changed the room . In the second room I entered the bed sheet was used. Definietly the room was not cleaned. The room is like a box. I don't recommend this hotel. Just the location is ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.1
    Bathroom very smelly, open pipes to the drains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very smelly, open pipes to the drains.Shower tray had gaps, shower leaked water onto floor. Bathroom ceiling discoloured with mould. Bathroom needs a complete refit

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice and budget place to stay in the center of Köln
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect, nearby the Cathedral and railway station. Inside it was very warm, new type tv with some interesting channels, clean and big room and bathroom. Nice and helpful reception people. Breakfast was really perfect! We were very satisfied .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    The room rate was cheap and the location was perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The blond hair German guy is very rough. He insisted on cash money during the check out. He said "please cash sir !..." loudly. However , I have not seen such a cash payment obligation when I book the hotel via booking. com. that guy what would he do , if I had no cash money. I don't like his behaviour

    The room rate was cheap and the location was perfect. Breakfast is really nice. There was plenty of choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.0
    Unexpected hotel condition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double room with a queen bed, however we got a twin bedding. The receptionist didn't do and couldnt do anything about it, since the hotel was overbooked. The receptionist showed his reservation statement for a double room and tried to convince us that a double room means for 2 people independently of the bedding type. Which is true, but the info in booking website was stated differently. We told the receptionist that this is not our fault that there's a lack of information on the booking website, but he completely ignored our feedback, and didnt even care when we showed the proof of what is written on their booking page. The rest of the things that weren't pleasant were hair in a bathroom, lamps that didn't work, bad sound isolation, somebody's else t-shirt forgotten in a wardrobe, kitchen that is out of service, breakfast where you couldn't find any plates and spoons to eat.

    Amazing location, very close to the main station, comfortable bed, big breakfast variety.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable stay at a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls are a bit thin and you can hear if someone talks a bit louder in the neighboring room.

    Kind and helpful staff, delicious breakfast, clean and cozy room. Just 5-6 minutes walk from the famous cathedral of Cologne.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    6.0
    Ok....just barely OK
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A working lift would have been a help....had to climb 5 sets of stairs after a long day travelling...old and antiquated...shower was difficult to control, although there was loads of hot water...the place would be described as a "doss house" in my country! Could be so much better with a bit of investment. A "hotel" in Germany can mean many things!!

    Location.....easy for the metro...close to the central station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    4.2
    Location is great but the place is very tired
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom extractor didn't work, neither the light above the hand basin and the showerhead was loose resulting in it falling off when used. The bathroom door had a broken lock and the shower curtain didn't cover the area of the shower resulting in water spraying all over the bathroom floor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    The beds and the variety of breakfasts are very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No charging points in the room only in washroom

    The beds and the variety of breakfasts are very good. Location is also near in the metro station very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.1
    The room was very affordable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not fancy, although it was very affordable as well. We had to pay cash, i.e. we could not pay with my credit card.

    The room was very affordable. The breakfast was nice as well. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Cologne cathedral.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.1
    A good deal for students.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even after we phoned to ask whether we could bring an extra person, the hotel denied that wish even though there was more than enough room. Also one person had a really bad bed and suffered from it.

    The location and breakfast were even better than expected!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.9
    very good location, bed could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was not very comfortable and it could be cleaner

    The location was perfect, very close to the Cathedral. Also the breakfast was very good. A lot of things. Room was big enough and bathroom too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.0
    the staff member that checked us in was extremely rude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff, kettle/drinks making facilities.

    the staff member that checked us in was extremely rude. it was a quick booking as we were due to fly back at 6am, so needed somewhere to stay for a couple of hours. We go there unaware we were unable to pay by card and the man was very rude and even had an argument with my family over it. Unsure about breakfast as we left before hand, no kettle in rooms or glasses. Became poorly overnight and needed a glass or cup to drink from. there was a 'kitchen but nothing within. wouldn't stay again purely based on staff members. still waiting for the money they took off my card to go back in after paying in cash like they demand.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    4.2
    The location was very easy. But beds very poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bothroom faciilities and beds

    Beds be clean, and comfort beds abd mattress were very poor and uncomfotabke. The both twells were very dirty abd unhealthy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location, and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The chairs in the room and in the restaurant are dirty (very visible). There was even spider webs on the restaurant walls. And the bathroom was awful, there is no bathtub so the floor got all wet with one shower.

    Perfect location, spacious room, there is a lift.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.3
    Great location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and the chairs (in the room and in the restaurant) very dirty. There was even spider webs in the restaurant. The bathroom is too small for shower, there is no bathtub and the floor got all wet.

    Perfect location, spacious room, very good breakfast. There is a lift.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    4.6
    In need of repair and updating
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was only one plug in the room which was lose. TV, wi-fi and phone did not work and staff were unhelpful and unfriendly. Breakfast was very poor. Room was dirty and dusty and the furniture is very old and damaged.

    Location was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    Simple and efficient at a good price.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower box is narrow and slippery.

    Central. Very easy walking access to the most important places. The hotel is simple but comfortable at an relatively quiet street. Good breakfast and gentle assistants in hotel reception.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    4.6
    Not pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great. Coffee was not nice. Breakfast wasn’t either. Staff were not helpful. No tea or coffee in the room. Heater wasn’t working all the time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    2.9
    Won't re-book here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Matresses were soiled and stained. Looked like bed bugs were along the ridges of the mattress. Pillow case had a blood stain on it. Shower was plugged.

    Location was good if you want to be within walking distance to the Christmas markets.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    6.3
    Stay here if you want to save up and don't mind living in poor conditions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny room, one towel, holes in walls, poor wi-fi (I had to seat by the room's door to get a good connection).

    Everything is within walking distance. Two major tourist streets are just around the corner. You get a place to sleep for a very low price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    4.6
    Well located, overpriced for its standard
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old facilities and not very well maintained. Bathroom was poorly ventilated. Some members of the staff were not friendly and welcoming. Definitely overpriced for its standards.

    Very well located and the rooms are very big

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    4.6
    Well located, high priced low standard
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building and the facilities are very old and not well maintained (Dec 2017). In particular, all the bathrooms were not ventilated properly in all rooms we booked (3). Breakfast was very basic if not quite scarce. Overall the hotel was totally overpriced in our opinion.

    The hotel is very well located, only 7 minutes walking from the cathedral and the rooms were very large.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    5.0
    Well situated but not on par with other hotels we’ve stayed in whilst visiting cologne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was old and small, the bedroom needed a revamp and new flooring.

    Anticipated a better choice at breakfast. Disappointed there was a limited choice of cooked food.s

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    5.8
    I would not reccomend this room - only if must with decent breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in room nr 7 which is kind of room in basement (and it was none of rooms showed in pictures when booking!!!). Beds are old and mattress has a hole in middle. Very noisy in the morning and also next to street with window just above your head - if you are sensible you will not sleep good.

    Provided breakfast was fair and had a several different dishes to choose from. Location is very close to main train station (Hauptbahnhof - HBF) which is reachable in close walking distance - so for my job location was perfect.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    4.2
    The staff were helpful and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole place smelled dirty and looked shabby. I moved room 3 times in the first hour of my stay. Wifi didn't work and neither did most of the fixtures. There was dog vomit on the floor in reception.

    The staff were helpful and friendly. Wifi was not available in most rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    4.2
    Extremely excessive price for a very modest tatty hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very old, furniture was broken, not comfortable bed, dirty tiny bathroom, slow running drains, worn out pillows and towels. very basic breakfast

    Extremely excessive price for a very modest tatty hotel. Paid €550 for four days because of the Anuga fair. it should be no more than €20 per night max. This was more of a hostel if anything! the web photos deceptive, very tatty and old with very poor breakfast. The staff were nice and helpful though!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    As just for one night it was really good choice, possibility...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As just for one night it was really good choice, possibility to arrive later than 10 P.M. was really helpful and the hotel is really close to the train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    Great location, good customer service.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could have been improved and water temperature keeping changing during shower.

    Good breakfas. Close to the shopping centre and and stations, Would recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't see so much bad things like in the reviews.. it was very nice considering the price, and for 2 Stars hotel it's got everything

    We found this place really nice with good staff, the breakfast was great and location very center but quiet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Decent, quiet hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hot water was unstable. Not enough shower gel provided. Wifi did not work at all.

    Spacious room, toilet fitted with a shower and room came with a kitchen including a fridge. The hotel (flats) is sited in a quiet area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    It could be cheaper than it is for what they offer, best thing? it's super central.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the second room (S 20) the internet doesn't arrive, and the kitchen doesn't work... the two reasons why we dicided to extend our stay, and the personal doesn't do anything to help us with it; that's why we are very discontend right now with this hotel. We paid for things that we don't have.

    The breakfast is good, and the mattresses are very soft (too maybe), we stayed in a room first (room K 2) and everything was ok, the only thing is that you don't have cooking pots on the kitchen, but it's very big and nice, the problem came when we extended our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.7
    Quiet neighbourhood.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better bring your own towel and toothpast, shower gel, shampoo. No remote for TV. I can hear the noise from next room. and ppl walking at the stairs.

    15mins+ walking from central station, quiet neighbourhood. Rooms and reception are in different building. WIFI is working fine, just need to try a couple of times to connect. No AC, probably will be hot in summer time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    Value for money. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got a room for four people and they gave us the one on the top floor which seamed a bit makeshift, like the rearranged the attic into a room. The arrangement was not comfy cause the two bedrooms were separated by the bathroom and the curtains did not cover the windows efficiently.

    The location of the hotel is ideal, right in the middle of the city so you don't have to take any transportation for moving around in the city. The prices are below average for this area and that's the reason why we have chosen to stay in this hotel for the second time now.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    Great value for money hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet was very poor in the room.

    The receptionist who was on during the day was a wonderful, helpful person and I can not recommend her enough. The breakfast was great. The rooms were good value for the money but

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.0
    there is a subway/metro route underneath the building -...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is a subway/metro route underneath the building - noise evenings and part of night; wasnt possible to close window fully so noise from the street went in; broken hose for the shower, lock in the door was not working properly - locked so as unlocked only after several tries

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.0
    If the hotel is well maintain then it will one of the good hotel for the traveller.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facility inside the room is really old. honestly speaking they are not well maintained. Very difficult to get the wifi inside the room. The bed mattress are really worn out and become too soft. We are staying in the attic floor. The access is only by staircase and at the end of the door directly the door of our room. Really dangerous when get out from the room if we have forgotten that it is directly the staircase.

    Only location. Very close to the train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.3
    it is really central, which made it very comfortable. But it is old
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is old, the room, the furniture and it had also a room with a kitchen, which was dirty and not to be used.

    the breakfast was really good and the location is very central

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.4
    very friendly staff and centrally located.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the owners of the hotel should definitively start fixing damages and painting the walls, It's sad to see that there is little/no investments on maintaining the facilities

    very friendly staff and centrally located. Perfect spot to start discovering the city centre. It was really quiet (staying on the 1st. floor with window to the street)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.3
    Location is good, near heart of downtown and the Rhine river.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's very expensive for what it is. The bed was not comfortable at all, and the cleaness was not that great. It feels like a hospital room but the price of the staying wasn't for free!

    Location is good, near heart of downtown and the Rhine river. Subway station right next door. Breakfast is very complete and good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    3.3
    The staff was the worst i have ever met.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was the worst i have ever met. Even the Italian lady at the Reception was completely impolite literally said "what are you expecting when you book only one night".

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.3
    A delightful room but more hostel-like than hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price we paid we expected a 24/7 reception but it closed at 10pm. There was however a 24/7 emergency number. We had to go round the corner to another doorway and enter with a key as the door locked at 10pm. There was a notice on the wall stating the lift didn't work after 10pm and we were on the 5th floor. This caused anxiety which you don't want on holiday as we came in after 10pm but the lift did work after 10pm so in the end it was ok.

    The evening receptionist was very helpful and answered all our questions and tried to help as much as possible. The breakfast was fine and the lady serving us was very pleasant. The room (at the top) was very comfortable and airy with a velux window which opened and a lovely tree outside which was a bonus in the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel CityInn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: