Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of City Pension Berlin This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Stuttgarter Platz 9, Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf, 10627 Berlin, Germany

#385 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 543 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Good accommodation for a short stay (close to Charlottenburg palace)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy as it is an old building and you can hear noise from neighbors. Having a shower cabin directly in your room is a bit weird, but it's also convenient as it is a private shower.

    Perfect location: near metro, S-bahn and bus station. Wonderful breakfast. Friendly staff and 24 hour reception. Good accommodation if you plan to visit Charlottenburg castle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Typical German Pension, good value, location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room on 1st floor facing street and train station. Tried to keep windows open as room was warm but was quite noisy.

    Staff friendly and competent. Bed was comfortable. Decent breakfast. Good location across from S-Bahn station, lots of restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.3
    Basic hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were terrible, basically nothing to them, we had to use cushions from the couch. The bathroom could use a clean, the shower head was covered in something and there were brown rust marks over the sink. It was also very clammy, air con would be a plus although it is an old hotel so didn't expect it.

    The location is great, right opposite the train station so very easy to get around Berlin. Also lots of cafes and restaurants nearby. The hotel was basic, but mostly clean and the room was spacious. The breakfast was as expected, cheese, meats, bread and yogurts etc, no complaints there at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.8
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall, it was not clean. Old building with main entrance being a bit dirty. I would not recommend this for someone specially for summer as it does not have aircondition and inside room gets much warmer than outside.

    The location was good. Breakfast was ok and has longer operating hours.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Good breakfast, friendly staff with 24/7h presence, so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked 2 rooms - one with only shower in it, and the second one with both shower and toilet. The room without toilet was rather small and the shower was a small box placed directly in the room. Toilet was outside the room in the corridor, nice and clean, but I am not sure how many rooms share it. I recommend to pay a bit more for the room with own toilet - it was bigger and more comfortable to stay.

    Good breakfast, friendly staff with 24/7h presence, so late arrival or very early departure is not problem. S-bahn+U-bahn directly in front of the hotel. The hotel is in a worn old building, but the owners keep it clean and comfortable. Parking is possible in the yard (12 Eur/day) or on the street (5 Eur/day) but there it is hard to find a place usually.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    Well located with great staff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shared bathrooms could be cleaned more often.

    Really kind and available staff. Pet-friendly hotel, well located with direct access to the subway and the S-bahn train. Backyard parking available for 12euros, or a daypass to park on the street for 5euros. More than decent breakfast for the price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    great area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no shower jel and no shampoo

    a very old hotel . no elevator . the location is very good . all the trains are near by. a lot of big shops and restaurants are just few min. walk . very near to the airport. the owner were very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.8
    The room was more spacious than I thought, and I got a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room smelled of cigarettes. It was also right next to the door to enter the hotel which buzzed loudly whenever someone came in, often waking me up. The breakfast was pretty basic. The staff weren't particularly friend although this improved after speaking to them in their native Russian.

    The room was more spacious than I thought, and I got a double bed despite booking a single. It was pretty clean. Great location in terms of transport links.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant Echoes of the past
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As an English woman I would have liked a kettle in the room to make early morning tea !!! But when in Germany ...........

    My room was warm, quiet and very clean , as was the bathroom . Bed comfortable, breakfast plentiful and staff kind and always available. Has an old fashioned feel but great internet connection and fantastic value for price. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just in front of the S-Bahn. Quite. Clean. Friendly. For the price you cannot wait more. The hotel looks not really nice but it is clean and all were really friendly. I can really recommended if you need just a place to sleep. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Outstanding service. Great location. Cosy old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If I am being picky, I would say that perhaps the hotel ought to put additional lighting in the bathroom of room 12. The one light over the sink does not do enough to light up the area around the toilet. Also, the door to the bathroom only opens enough for you to squeeze through the gap as the bedside cabinet obstructs the door opening any further. ...and perhaps access to the radiator in the room could be made easier. Upon check in, the room was stiflingly hot where the radiator had been left on. I had to get the receptionist to come to the room to open up the vents and reach in to switch the heating off as the radiator is concealed behind false wall.

    This was my second stay at this hotel. It is perfectly located for connections to the rest of Berlin and the wider area by public transport. Charlottenburg railway station is opposite the hotel, which is on the main east-west S-Bahn line through the city; you can also be in Potsdam in 15 minutes from here by regional train. Direct connections to both Berlin airports are at your doorstep; regional and S-Bahn trains serve Schönefeld airport from Charlottenburg station, while bus number 109 serves Tegel airport from around the corner. On this trip I stayed in room 12 on the first floor. It is a single room with private bathroom, though the bed is closer to being the size of a double bed, which was nice and cosy. In an improvement on my last stay at the hotel, the staff were able to provide me with firm rectangular pillows instead of the German square pillows, which I find particularly uncomfortable. This made for a exceptionally restful night's sleep in a comfortable bed. The room itself is located on a corridor which contains only two other rooms, so it was nice and quiet with no regular passing of traffic from other guests. Also, the router for the broadband is on the wall directly outside the room, so the wifi speed and strength of its connection were excellent. ...but the greatest praise I have for the hotel on this particular trip is the way in which the receptionist handled my need to extend my stay after the cancellation of my flight home. Due to snowfall at Heathrow airport, British Airways had cancelled a number of flights in and out of its hub in London, including my flight from TXL. I was notified by BA on the evening of my last night's stay at the City Pension Berlin. The receptionist went out of her way to rearrange the allocation of rooms to other guests so that I could remain in room 12 for the additional two nights without the need to check out and check back in again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    A convenient place for a quick Berlin tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet, cosy place to spend a night. Not a fancy 5 star hotel but good enough to rest after a concert. Proper breakfast (bread, rolls, ham, sausage, various jams, cheese, milk, cornflakes, etc.). Nice staff, however just basic English in use.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.0
    Convenient location, affordable, but in need of upgrading
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place needs to be revamped, very run down, no toiletries in bathroom, carpets stained and in need of replacement or at least washed, more suited for low budget travellers, booked based on reviews, which are very generous, given the state the place is in. Would not return and would not recommend.

    Location is good, easy to reach by metro, lots of places to eat in the area, affordable price

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.9
    Happy with what I got for my money. But a sachet of shampoo would have been nice. (Please)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a tiny tablet of soap in the shower room. Bring your own shampoo.

    Location. Quite room. Great shower. Well heated. 24 hour reception. Good wi fi. Business like staff. I would be happy to stay there again. Good value. Breakfast was ok but not great. Train and underground stations very close by.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.5
    May well use again next spring, when prices can be even cheaper !
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The sink in my room made strange gurgling noises at times, sometimes accompanied by bad smells!

    Good bed, soft pillow, quiet rear facing room, breakfast ok. I stay in this area as the U-bahn/S-bahn transport system is 2 minutes walk away for central Berlin, as are many bus stops, plus close by shops, restaurants, take-aways, etc.. Good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.7
    The breakfast is basic but good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Relation price-quality van be better: I mean 42 euro's per night for a room with shower cabine in the room (no bathroom) and shared toilet is in my opinion too much. Old building. No elevator.

    The breakfast is basic but good.. The Staff is OK. The location is fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.1
    Located great place where you can reach S and U bahn ( metro...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs to be refurbished completely. There is another lady at reception who looks like very angry always. May smile sometimes.

    Located great place where you can reach S and U bahn ( metro and rail ) in 2 minutes. There are markets, cafes and tk maxx around. Breakfast is good enough. Young boy at the reception is very helpfull. Benefit/cost is good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    8.3
    For this money, really nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no hair dryer in my room. I survived without, but that's almost standard in hotels, so i don't carry my own with me.

    For this money, really nice hotel. Friendly staff and perfect location (just next to the U- and S-Bahn). Room was quiet and clean. Would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast absolutely loads of choice, comfiest bed we have ever slept in abroad, great heating/not too warm. Staff friendly and helpful as can be considering language barrier

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    7.9
    Nice for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed had some hard springs and the pillow was really thin and uncomfortable.

    Breakfast had a variety of choices. The location was near a lot of restaurants and public transportation. The whole hotel had a good heating system for the winter.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    7.9
    Directly opposite metro/train station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wifi came and went, I had to change the access point several times. Shower cabin was faulty, water all over the bathroom after showering. I hope they will fix that (I told them when I left).

    Very nice staff. Directly opposite Charlottenburg station, still quiet. Good breakfast. Very efficient heating (it was very cold when I was in Berlin...)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    8.3
    Lovely, homely stay in Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sleeping pillow was very uncomfortable.

    Nice breakfast, comfortable rooms and super friendly staff! Across the road from the S-Bahn and a block from the U-Bahn. Very convenient.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    7.1
    The location of the hotel is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room (Room 30) was very cramped. Barely room to swing a cat. Not all the rooms are like this though, as I was able to look into the doorways of a number of the other rooms as the chambermaid had left them wide open to clean the rooms. The bed in Room 30 is paricularly uncomfortable. The pillows are just awful. Pillows seem to be a common problem in Germany. Absolutely no firmness about them at all. They fall as flat as a pancake as soon as you rest your head on them. This resulted in my getting neck ache aftet having slept in the bed. Also, the shower in the room needs some urgent maintainence. At maximum power the water dribbles out of the shower head in one slow & narrow stream; the hot water turns to tepid water at best after a few minutes.

    The location of the hotel is excellent. Direct bus service to Tegel airport (Bus 109) departs every ten minutes just around the corner. Charlottenburg S-Bahn station is directly opposite the hotel. Wilmersdorfer Straße U-Bahn station is a 3-minute walk away. Wilmersdorfer Straße itself is one of Berlin's major shopping streets; many popular German "High Street" chains are to be found here as well as an assortment of eateries and cafés. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The reception is manned 24 hours a day. The entrance to the hotel is locked 24/7 and you are required to buzz the reception to gain access to the property. The shared toilet is kept clean and well stocked with hand soap and toilet paper. All in all, I would stay here again on the basis of cost, but perhaps I would request an alternative room to Room 30, as some of the other rooms were far superior.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    7.9
    Good price for services
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel would need to be repaired slightly.

    Great place, close to shopping street, public transportation. Breakfast also is quite rich. Price is reasonable for services.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    10
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been helpful if there was a lift. Also a grab rail in the shower. Apart from that nothing

    Lovely twin ensuite room very quiet and on the first floor. The staff were great nothing was too much trouble. Very central location across the road from the S bahn and bus stops. With a €7 ticket you can travel all day on the public transport

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    7.5
    Very will connected to the SBahn and UBahn, short distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is old and the room needs refurbishment.

    Very will connected to the SBahn and UBahn, short distance to the station. If you arrive late, you can have a beer from the reception desk (available all night). The triple room was spacious. Free wi-fi.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    10
    Excellent, will be staying again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent independent hotel, all the staff I saw were very friendly, the location is great as you are very close to a well connected train station. The décor is a little dated but this gives the hotel a lot of character.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    7.1
    Perfect Location - Room is Good Enough!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staffs are helpful except the one lady assigned during our checked out(around 10AM - 13 Nov 2016). She helped us but she appeared to be rude in her tone of voice. I also notice that most of the staffs do not understand and speak better English but that is not a problem to me just as long as they keep being polite and helpful.

    The room is clean and decent. Breakfast is bonus. The location is perfect and pretty close to the city center!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    6.7
    OK. Everything works.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a very old building and deserves a better care. The hotel has not universal accessibility - the only entrance has stairs (about 22 steps). Although the shower is inside the room the toillet is shared. Under the showerbox bowl there is an eletric pump (to deplete bath water) which is against ecological expectations: using electrical energy when gravity could be enough (even though at those conditions there was not water flow off). But everything works at this hotel.

    Great staff! Pretty nice persons who dedicate attention to the guest! Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    4.6
    Budget bed without any comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room where I was staying had shower in at the end of the bed. There was no extra ventilation and the shower steam stayed in room making it hard to stay in. Room smelled bad and I was a bit sick when I left. I think there might be a possible beginning of a water damage due to the position of the shower and the lack of air conditioning.

    Breakfast was ok, however the quality of coffee changed a lot.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.8
    Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very close to pedestrian zone (many shops, cafes, restaurants and Mall) of Wilmersdorfer strasse and next to U-Bahn and S-Bahn network. The room was convenient, spacious and clean. Helpful staff and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.6
    Comfortable and a great value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One light bulb burned out in ceiling light... really nothing I didn't like.

    Breakfast was a nice continental breakfast. Wifi worked well. Beds were comfortable. Good value.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    3.8
    Worst hotel in West Berlin so far.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely noisy. Although there is not a sound from outside, every step from the other guests awoke me at night. In the room next to me two girls had a farewell party at 1 am. The next morning they were checked out friendly. I was checked out professionally.

    24 hour reception

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Worth my money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky floor

    Good location. Nice and friendly staff. Spacious room. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.3
    very uncomfortable beds and very noisy
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very uncomfortable beds and very noisy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good accommodation indeed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    Convenient location and breakfast. The hotel however need to improve the interior of the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room should have been better.

    Yes breakfast was fine. Location is perfect. The room however was not up to standards.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Staff are kind and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are kind and friendly. Location great. Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    5.8
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just ok

    The place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.8
    The breakfast is good, the location is nearby S-bahn as well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s an old building with old decoration and furnitures.

    The breakfast is good, the location is nearby S-bahn as well as it is a value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building, separate toilet

    Location, good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    For this price this is perfect. The breakfast was absolutely good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the smoke.

    In the room there was too smoke smell.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.9
    Recommended for a few days in Berlin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows could be more confortable

    Reception staff was friendly and helpful, location is just amazing and breakfast is average for the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Good location and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location and price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Next time I am yours!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was exellent!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.6
    Nice district, easy to reach public transport, a lot of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice district, easy to reach public transport, a lot of attractions

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.9
    Good location and price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location and price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.9
    Connectivity of this hotel with metros SBahn, Tube are very good. Lots of eateries are near by.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Connectivity of trains metros

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.8
    Very good location - right opposite Charlottenburg railway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location - right opposite Charlottenburg railway station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.8
    The best you can get for a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the design is rather obsolete

    Premium transport connection to the Tegel airport and city centre very good breakfast very clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money- Nice breakfast
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value for money in the center of Charlottenburg. Supermarkets and shops nearby. Nice neighborhood

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.1
    Reasonable price, 2 min walk to under ground, plenty of...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very simple facility, Very old facility,

    Reasonable price, 2 min walk to under ground, plenty of restaurant nearby, grocery shop just down the stair.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy from street.

    Very nice staff. Good location. Hotel is clean and friendly for children.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    Great stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent position, staff, cleanliness, breakfast, public transport connections and WiFi. I hope to come back for more days. Thank you!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.5
    One night in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room need renovation. Everything in the room need improve.

    Walking distance to public transport and shopping place Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.5
    Decent budget option
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was one lady at the reception desk that would always give me a nasty look.

    The buffet breakfast was the best.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    6.3
    Nothing really - price only
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old russian style facilities. Morning coffee.

    Nothing really - price only

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    7.1
    Very comfortable bed and pillow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    should redecorate living room / looks old

    Very comfortable bed and pillow. clean room. pleasant staff. perfect location, near metro and train.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    9.6
    great staff, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    great staff, very clean. good location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.9
    Good budget hotel very close to railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Décor is a little dated, pillows are horrendous

    Location, excellent breakfast, friendly staff, price.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    8.3
    I liked the neighbourhood, the staff, the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room faced the street and the train station, which made it very noisy.

    I liked the neighbourhood, the staff, the breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    8.8
    All you can eat breakfast, nice staff, superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All you can eat breakfast, nice staff, superb location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    8.3
    It's right by the S Bahn and U Bahn and close to shops...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room smelled smokey and the shared toilet was also smelly - even though I saw them cleaning it myself.

    It's right by the S Bahn and U Bahn and close to shops and restaurants. The room was a decent size. The breakfast was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    7.1
    The price is fair and the breaksfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is not the best, however there is a train and metro stations just in front, that works until very late. So it's ok. Don't expect luxury, its simple.

    The price is fair and the breaksfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    8.8
    all very nice, all of them very kind,no toiller but they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    a little little cold room but put the hit to full and this is fixed,

    all very nice, all of them very kind,no toiller but they tell you that nosecrets in price, the rooms look like puctures, english , german and russians are spoken .

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    8.3
    Loved the friendly staff and concern over their guest.
    • Solo traveller

    A shelve in the shower would be nice..as it is one must put the soap, shampoo etc..on the shower floor and that is very annoying. Also what is important to most people are WASHCLOTHS.. It would not cost the hotel much to provide one along with the two towels..The towels are a bit hard so maybe some water softner would be helpful?

    Loved the friendly staff and concern over their guest. Especially appreciated the offer of water when I arrived and was not feeling well and allowing me to sit in the dining area after check out, to wait for a friend.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    9.2
    Excellent value for money with a spacious and quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This was not important to me, but as there is no lift and even the reception is upstairs it would not be so good for less able people or those with very heavy luggage.

    Excellent value for money with a spacious and quiet room. Good traditional German breakfast. Convenient location for arriving from Tegel airport.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.9
    Convenient Location near Charlottenburg Station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldn't get wifi to work on three different devices we tried.

    Convenient Location near Charlottenburg Station. Good example of a Berlin 'Altbau'.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    8.8
    We were absolutely satisfied with the location, cleanness of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Time to time we had some troubles with wifi access, which was free of charge however a signal was too weak in our room.

    We were absolutely satisfied with the location, cleanness of the property and approach of staff. Breakfast was included in the price and was really generous.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    8.3
    the staff was very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bed was not comfortable. It was difficult to locate the hotel at the first time.

    the staff was very nice and helpful. They allowed early check in. Breakfast was nice. Bathroom was good and room was big enough. The best thing is S bahn and U bahn are only 2 min walk giving you the full connectivity to berlin. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.9
    The breakfast was very nice :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The place was old fashioned, which effects the hygiene indeed.

    The breakfast was very nice :) Wifi was good. The locaiton was good because it was very near to both u-bahn ans s-bahn.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    8.3
    Booked a single room but was given a double on 2nd floor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Found it tricky to find as there's no front lobby downstairs, just a doorway between shops. Floors obviously old and creaky, wouldn't have liked to be underneath!

    Booked a single room but was given a double on 2nd floor with the highest ceiling I've ever seen. Lovely pre-war feel with modern comforts, long dark corridors adding atmosphere. Very courteous and helpful staff and excellent breakfast. Good location opposite station but quiet when both sets of probably original shutters closed. Great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    8.8
    The room is clean and staff is friendly and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The facility shows age of time, but it is generally accepted since Berlin is an old city.

    The room is clean and staff is friendly and helpful (sometimes English becomes a barrier), convenient location, easy access to bus, S-Bahn and shopping centers.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    5.8
    The price was good and the free wifi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The toilet was not comfortable. The room was small. Also, there is too much noise from the others rooms during the night.

    The price was good and the free wifi. Good location

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    9.2
    wonderful staff, very friendly and forthcoming;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    wonderful staff, very friendly and forthcoming; excellent breakfast

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse City Pension Berlin traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: