Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pension Classic This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Wittenbergplatz 5 - 6, Tempelhof-Schöneberg, 10789 Berlin, Germany

#11 of 107 B&Bs and Inns in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1190 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Great place to stay in Berlin, would definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didnt understand the parking rules, but in the end we parked next to the Ibis hotel. I hope it was alright, but it was just a little inconvenient because of the language barrier.

    Location was amazing, right across the metro. Breakfast was good, there was always enough, even if you got there 1 minute before the end of the buffet. Very nice staff as well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We have stayed at this hotel twice and now the decor looks like it could do with a bit of a freshen up, it is a very minor point as the hotel is great value for being right in the centre of Berlin.

    The hotel in perfectly located for a visit to Berlin, just a short walk across the square from the Wittenbergplatz U Bahn station, the entrance is grand and the staff are very helpful and is great value for the money for being centrally located.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    The location was very nice to go around - easy access to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location was very nice to go around - easy access to public transportation, nearby stores, restaurants and more. Our room was quite smaller than I thought, but the comfortable bed was good enough for the deep sleep :) Breakfast was nice, too. (We didn't skip it for 5 days.) The staff members at the hotel were so helpful and cheerful!! (thanks for the scale, Maria~ )

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, easy access to the public transportation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi was not stable and had frequent connection drops, which made it actually useless. No elevator.

    Excellent location, easy access to the public transportation, very polite staff, nice neighborhood, a supermarket just beside the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    The breakfast was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was delicious. The pension is just in front of Kaufhaus des Westens, in the very center of Berlin. Couldn't recommend any other place to stay at. Great for all solo travelers, couples and friends.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.8
    Recommend warmly this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second floor could be difficuld without an elevator for someone. Heat in summertime without AC might be a problem, but there was a fan and it helped.

    Exellent location! Shopping area, cafees, terraces and U-bahn just outside the door.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    Generally very satisfactory in respect of location, facilities , cleanliness, and efficiency
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Receptionist spoke little or no English and that caused difficulties but they were resolved by the intervention of the manager,

    Well located, clean and efficient

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There Was nothing we didn't like

    Great location with bars and restaurants on the door step. And right next to train station into Berlin city. Would definitely return. Lovely clean room and breakfast included which was ample yo start the day

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.0
    Due to traffic conditions, we did not get there in time to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to traffic conditions, we did not get there in time to check in...they were closed so we had to find another place to stay. Therefore...could not give a proper review.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    Valued stay in Berlin
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No air conditioner.

    Every staff were very kind. Housekeeping was always excellent. Breakfast was good enough everyday. A supermarket is located nearby so very convenient. I will stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is at the second floor and there is no lift which could be a bit difficult with luggage. But walking up/down those beautiful staircase everyday is real pleasure.

    Nice people, big and beautiful rooms, Nice breakfast. Beautiful and convenient location Plenty of shops, restaurants, supermarkets, snacks...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Excellent Pension. Very private and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All good

    Very cmfortable beds, good breakfast, efficient friendly staff, beautiful building, clean rooms. Room was very cool. Nice windows on to the main street but not noisy either. Restaurants and public transport just outside. The U-bahn goes to the airport without much hassle, 2 changes, inc 1 short bus ride.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didnt work. There is no staff after 8 pm, so if needed there is nothing you can really do apart from calling them.

    Great location, nice staff. The rooms were big and clean, it was nice that they had a mini fridge in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Really good location, near a grocery store and nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is really slow, sometimes not really working at all. If you have big luggage, there is no lift to the first floor so it can be kind of tiresome.

    Really good location, near a grocery store and nice restaurants. Although not everyone in the staff speaks english or another language they tried to communicate and were really nice. Really clean and spacious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    really great people running this hotel and it really feels that they care about your stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel really lived out for our expectations, the people in the reception are very nice and friendly and it feels like they are trying their best to make you feel the most comfortable as it gets. the people in the reception really helped us when we didn't know how to move around the city and when we searched for places to go to they recommended us on places to go to. the crew in hotel speaks English, German and Russian fluently overall the hotel crew is very friendly. the hotel is located in perfect spot, near a ubahn station and only one stop away from the center of the city in zoologischer garten. overall its a very good hotel that located right in the center of berlin, the hotels crew are very friendly and you really get your moneys worth.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect short stay in the heart of Berlin‘s City West
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All fine!

    Don‘t understand some ratings here. For sure it is not Ritz Carlton but for this price we had a really perfect and recommendable stay. Comfortable matrass, all clean, friendly staff, perfect location City West and adequate breakfast. Excellent value!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    The location was exceptional very near the metro station, ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely unfriendly staff. We had difficulty communicating in English but we managed somehow

    The location was exceptional very near the metro station, breakfast had good variety and great quality, room was clean and quiet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, friendly staff, room nice view and spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was ok but lacking a bit variety, however all the standard breakfast things were there. The bed for a couple was comfy, however, we wished for it to be one "whole" bed and not two separate beds put together.

    The room is very spacious, the location is perfect, the staff was really friendly and helpful (although lacking a bit language skills), late check-ins were organized perfectly well. Overall a pleasant experience!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    We had a lovely time learning about Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Several problems with windows and rolladens.

    Pension is located conveniently across from the Ubahn station, great places to eat close by. The staff was helpful, the breakfast was substantial European style. Comfortable bed and room. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, good price/quality balance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better way to get suitcases to/from parking garage

    Great location, nice breakfast, nice rooms with great view, very friendly and service oriented personnel, tons of restaurants nearby, can only recommend

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel for a city trip to Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very nice location with easy access to public transport and more than sufficient places to park your car. Breakfast included and very friendly welcome!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Would stay here again if we come back to Berlin. There's just so much to see and do!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No issues.

    Location was great directly opposite an Underground Station and there were plenty of restaurants in the area. The Italian very close to the Pension was excellent with friendly staff. We don't speak German and it wasn't a problem - very friendly people.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Very great location of the accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very great location of the accommodation. Just next to U-bahn station. Good breakfast, nice room with quite clean bathroom. Very good accommodation for its price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice big room with good view over Wittenberg Play and...
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room rather small and buffet a bit crowded at breakfast time, but not really a problem.

    Nice big room with good view over Wittenberg Play and friendly, helpful personnel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.9
    everything okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One chair was broken. no elevator. breakfast rather boring.

    easy check in and check out, very friendly owner. big and quiet room, but it is a pension and not a Romantik Hotel. Fridge and safe in the room, shampoo and shower gel in the shower. The shower btw worked perfectly. Perfect location in Berlin.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay for 2 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems with heating first night (fixed for second). Pension located on 2nd floor, so several steps required. Personal onsite speaking German only, but lady on the phone speaking English well. Only one set of keys for 4 people.

    Self-checking possible after 20:00 (but you need to ask the reception in advance). Good location, Ubahn few steps across the square. Quite family room located at the end of the floor. Nice breakfast and city tax included.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.5
    Room a tad small but alright, especially if you just need it...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not bad but somewhat dull TV?? Properly need a PHD to work it out. But there was a cable on the TV, 2 actually.

    Room a tad small but alright, especially if you just need it to sleep in it. It even had two fridges. LOCATION!!!! Smack in the centre of West Berlin.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    Regular tidying, lovely variety at breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Vacuuming could have helped not to have hair on the floor. Loud, stressed conversation of the staff early in the morning one day.

    Regular tidying, lovely variety at breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    Staff is extremely, extremely friendly and accommodating,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lacks elevator (which makes transporting bags difficult), internet access was very erratic and poor in quality. A permanent bathmat would be good, since there wasn't a barrier to the shower and I slipped once due to a wet floor.

    Staff is extremely, extremely friendly and accommodating, although it's a small operation. It's quite clean and comfortable, and the location is unbeatable, particularly for the low price, with an Edeka supermarket open until midnight next door. As well, the refrigerator in the room is convenient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location so close to Wittenbergplatz station, supermarket, shopping & cafes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A jug for tea and coffee in the rooms would have been good but not a big deal not having one.

    Great breakfast, comfortable beds, friendly helpful staff, always warm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.2
    Convenient place to stay in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My TV didn't work most of the time of my 3-day stay so I could not enjoy Christmas TV programmes (and the staff was away for Xmas); there were also interruptions with wifi.. otherwise, everything was ok

    The location was really very convenient, the owner Eugenij was usually very helpful and gave good advise - his suggestion on getting to Tegel airport was more practical than the one received from Rom2Rio:-) Hot water and tea with honey were always available and this makes you feel at home.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.1
    Correct price/quality ratio near Ku'damm
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - the room where the breakfast is served was rather small given the amount of guests staying at the hotel during our stay - the personnel doesn't give a lot of information - double bed with 2 separate mattresses and duvets (but some people might like this)

    - clean and renovated room - close to underground - a lot of choice for the breakfast, although no variation - we stayed 5 nights and every day it was identically. - calm area

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.1
    overall good loved Berlin but the staff need some charisma.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are not overly friendly and unable to communicate with guests other than German.

    The breakfast and cleanliness was good but extremely dated but only slept there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location, very clean, spacious and quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is a little poor and coffee really needs to be upgraded. Wifi in the room was disappointingly slow.

    Excellent location, very clean, spacious and quiet room. Staff really helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location, based between all the main areas, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist tried to be helpful but spoke very little English, so wasn't able to advise on Christmas market locations etc.

    Excellent location, based between all the main areas, and very close to the Metro. Lovely old building that's been converted.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    It leaves us with great memories.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The people who run the Pension are really kind and welcoming. The place is clean, our room was large and pleasant. Breakfast is good and more than sufficient. We had a really good time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    The staff is very kind an helpful;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very kind an helpful; we arrived at the hotel 9:30 am, and were able to check in so early, and were also proviveded with breakfast that morning. The location is excellent; restaurants, shops, underground, all nearby. Would definately stay at the hotel again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Good location, nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been good to have also kettle in the room to be able to make some tea.

    Location of the hotel is rather good. Room was nice and had everything basic in it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable and cozy place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It´s a shame it doesnt have elevator, you have to go up the stairs like two floors, otherwise would be wonderful

    Very beautiful pension and nice and kind staff, with the train station in front of it, that is very comfortable and convenient. Nice breakfast. internet works well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Excellent budget accommodation in Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent budget accommodation in Berlin, very helpful staff, great location, good breakfast, close to metro, clean room, small refrigerator. Very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice relaxed atmosphere in a traditional hotel with good staff in a great location for a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels small. No bath. Breakfast a bit limited in choice. These are minor things though

    Helpful receptionist. Good sized room. Clean. Location. Freedom to come and go. Breakfast included

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Lovely Hotel, staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    The Pension Classic is such a lovely hotel, staff are very friendly. The breakfast was excellent well stocked all the time, rooms cleaned daily. Staff were helpful when needed, would recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    Great value/location for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing bad worth mentioning for this kind of 2 star hotel and/or price range.

    Large rooms, very clean, nice staff ( knows German, Russian and some English)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Interesting location near the KDW. Very good with U-Bahn station on the square plus buses. Try the one to Kreuzberg! The square is very noisy at most times, but the windows when shut keep the noise out excellently. Nice high ceiling and good bathroom. If you want smaller restaurants we recommend the area round Nollendorfplatz.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Will go again and warmly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very polite. Very clean. Good breakfast. Very good location. The Ubahn at Wienerberplatz is 30seconds walking. Walking to the Zoo. Walking through the street with brand stores.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    Due to the location it was a great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs. There were 50 steps to climb each time, elevator was not allowed to be used by Pension Classic and parking garage was about a block and a half away.

    Room was very small but adequate, shower very small could not wash my feet but overall a good experience. The location was awesome. Breakfast was very good. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    everything is good - I really recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there isn't any lift and that day I brought 1 big baggage

    I like the location near the city center and shopping center - the employee are also really nice - the breakfast is so so but it is still good :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    wonderful few days in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i suppose the one downside it the 3 flights of stairs to climb to access the property. you need to be aware of this when booking the property.

    fabulous facilities. the rooms were very comfortable, safe and secure. the location was brillant, so close to the U-Bhan and Berlin Zoo. Great selection of fruits breads and juices and cold cuts for breakfast. It was a delight to find a property that suited our sightseeing and budget so well. close to restaurants and shops. we all loved it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Everything was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good. The reception were very efficient with checking in and instructions on our late arrival and what to do. Great Turkish-style buffet breakfast which also included a selection of cereals, tea & coffee and (would you believe?) a toaster! Comfy beds and spacious room. No complaints from us. Only a few minutes walk from the underground train station too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    Pension Classic is in a very good location and is a great place to stay for a few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The complimentary tea bags were stale.

    The lovely gentleman at reception who carried my bag downstairs. The fabulous market in the square each morning has lovely fresh produce-great place to pick up lunch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.6
    This was a great value for money, and I would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With my heavy luggage and jet lag, I would have been grateful for an elevator instead of 2 flights of stairs!

    The room was spacious, quiet, and clean -- just lovely for recovering from a long flight. Staff were helpful and considerate. Pension Classic was better than the other "4-star" hotels I visited on this trip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    When LOCATION is the king
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you have a fragile sleep, take an ear plugs (pharmacy is around the corner!)- the rooms facing the street side might be very noisy. We were lucky as wheather was quite cold - can't imagine how it would feel there on hot summer days without a A/C in the room.

    Nice family style pension. Size of the room was a great surprise. Bed was very comfortable, strong WiFi signal, everything was clean and tidy. Good breakfast. Location is FANTASTIC if you want to stay in the very center of Berlin.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel, excellent location, good value for money and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not anything that would prevent me from booking again. The hotel was very good value for money and I would recommend it to others. The only things I would suggest that could possibly improve an already excellent hotel would be some kind of access to hot beverages and a fan in each room. There is no beverage tray in the room which isn't in itself a problem as there are options close by to get a drink (cafes etc) however arriving late at night or through the night when you may not be able to access somewhere to purchase a drink it would be nice to be able to have something available at the hotel (even a small beverage station or vending machine would be sufficient). There is also no air conditioning in the rooms... so the addition of an electric fan would be a good idea. These recommendations are in no way meant to detract from the lovely hotel but would enhance your visit. There was a slight issue of a funny smell in the bathroom at times.... it appeared to be coming from the drains and was not there all the time and quickly disappeared but it is something that may need investigating.

    The location was excellent and easy to find even late at night (I arrived at almost midnight). The building that the hotel is located in is secure and beautiful. The room I booked was a good size and very clean. The room was cleaned every day and the staff were lovely. There was excellent wifi signal at all times. Breakfast was good, hot and cold beverages, bread, rolls, cheese and meat, cereal, boiled eggs and plenty of jams, marmalade, peanut butter, butter etc. There was a fridge in the room and a safe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.9
    A great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift access to the hotel.

    This hotel has the best location in Berlin. It's right outside the Wittenbergplatz station which has 3 train lines and is also surrounded by good shops and Kadewe mall. Loads of places to eat and drink. Perfect

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    Super good value for the money! Take it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing I didn't like that much was that the rooms were not soundproofed at all. You could hear everything from outside and inside the pension. Anyhow, at night it's not such a problem, but as soon as it gets lighter outside you will start hearing people, cars, etc. A bit annoying, but not such a big problem.

    It is located in a super nice quarter, full of shops and places to eat ( I recommend the restaurants downstairs for some super nice quality food). KaDeWe is only 1 minute walking away and the metro is also 1 minute away. The room was spacious with big windows and a clean bathroom. Super big pillows, which I totally loved, but might be uncomfortable for others. The breakfast is good and it gets you enough for a morning meal. People were friendly and we never had an issue during the entire time of our stay. I recommend it. A cheap (compared to other places) pension with good breakfast and situated very nicely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Very comfortable stay with good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not much but the room can have an electric kettle maybe.

    We stayed in Comfort double room which was very spacy. They made an extra bed for our daughter so we could sleep very comfortably. The hotel staffs don't speak English but they were always helpful when we asked something. Location was perfect with a supermarket, cafe, big drugstore, shopping mall, delicious Curry wurst stand as long as metro station and bus stop near around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.5
    Great place if you just need a bed in a very central area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet was not working inside our room, which was really annoying. They did not change our bedsheets nor towels during 3 nights stay. No air-condition nor fans. There are no common areas, where you could sit or do anything for a while - except some seats in the corridors, but those are dark (no windows) and empty. And light is automatic, so if you just sit it will turn off in about 30 seconds.

    Awesome, very central location. Beautiful building and specially the entrance. Easy access to metro and transport. People (staff) were nice and welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.6
    Great Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location in a big square right opposite the underground went round all four sides before we found it more detail needed.

    Delicious breakfasts, very quiet, helpful reception

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    5.8
    Would not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower was poor and water pipes got extremely hot that you would get burned. I washed a few 'smalls" and whilst we were out, we were left a notice on the table threatening us with a EURO 100 as washing was apparently forbidden. They did not mention this in any of the paperwork or when we checked in - I would not have stayed here if I knew I could not wash some underwear during our three day stay. From then on, we felt like we were being watched and it spoilt our time in Berlin.

    The location was great - easy to get to public transport and lots of reasonable eateries nearby. Supermarket was right next door. The young lady who assisted us upon arrival was very pleasant and very helpful. The family room itself was quite large and looked like the pictures.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Big appartement on Wittenbergplatz
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very nice property, right on the Wittenbergplatz. Very easy to park around the property (Parking on Sundays and holidays is gratis). Very friendly stuff, always trying to help, and find the cheapest/easiest solution for you. Rich breakfast. Excellent choice!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    7.9
    Great location, next to Wittenberg Platz - easy...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception available from 8-20 only, paid parking 10 EUR/day, very small breakfast - nothing warm to eat except coffee, no elevator available, kind of old building.

    Great location, next to Wittenberg Platz - easy communication with the rest of the city by U-Bahn, close to the ZOO Banhoff. Very friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    7.5
    Nice centrally located, comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's on the second floor of the building it's in, with no lift access, which might be a bit of a climb to people with limited mobility.

    A nice quiet, comfortable, hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, and it was easy to get to and from the hotel on public transport. There's a mini market and restaurant less than a minute's walk from the front door, with plenty more in the surrounding area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    9.2
    Great location! I'd definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no kettle or anything in the rooms, bit annoying. There is also no step free access from the entrance, three flights of stairs, this was fine for me but people with arthritis or the elderly etc might find it a bit difficult, especially bringing up heavy cases.

    Wifi was really good! Location is brilliant right opposite KaDeWe, just around the corner from the zoo and aquarium. But it's super easy to reach anywhere from here with buses and trains right outside. Breakfast is good, staff very friendly and understanding even with language barriers! More then happy to try and help with directions, public transport and book airport taxies etc. The showers are really nice too. There is a 24hr supermarket just next door with some nice looking salads and things you could use as packed lunches. There is also a market in the square out the front a few days a week, which is quite interesting to look around, some very cool vegetables!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    8.8
    A great place to stay and a warm welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I have to mention any negatives it would be that the shower room was a little small and could be updated but it was clean and functional.

    The young lady at reception was brilliant, very helpful and spoke perfect English. The location is excellent directly opposite the U Bahn.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    5.8
    Easy access from Tegel airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a shabbyand stale place, lack of English speaking personnel, saw one "insect" in our suitcase...

    Easy access from Tegel airport. Close to U-bahn. Simple but proper breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    9.6
    Great location, good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff doesnt speak good English, but then again this hotel is in Berlin, so I don't think we should expect everyone to speak English!

    Location is excellent with easy and quick public transportation all around the city and shopping opportunities very close. Room is clean, spacious and has a fridge, which is a big plus for me! Bed is good and WiFi works well. Breakfast is included in price and is very good, which is also a fact why I chose to visit this hotel for second time and this is definitely my first choice hotel in Berlin! No complaints!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    9.2
    Great choice for our 5 night City Break in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was fine for us!! The key is to go for a Comfort Room overlooking the square. Overall experience may not have been as good in a room at the rear of the hotel. Hotel is on the 2nd floor of the building with 42 stairs up to the entrance. This could cause a problem for people with mobility issues.

    We had a comfort room - lovely view over Wittenbergplatz Square. High ceilings, really strong power shower and a proper hair dryer. Great choice for breakfast. Kept our luggage till the afternoon on the day we checked out. Really handy to U Bahn and shops - Kadewe - plus a supermarket next door.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    7.9
    Can't fault it for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was basic bread, ham and cheese. Would have been nice if there had been some pastries available. Bathroom smelled musty most likely because there was no windows to open an air freshener or some form is needed.

    The bed was very comfortable and the staff were lovely. Location is excellent just off the main shopping street and across the road from the KaDeWe, underground station only minutes away. Plenty of supermarkets, restaurants etc close by.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    6.7
    location best one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the breakfast should be more creative and also to put some cakes. at night there is not always a recpetion. samething should be put in the rooms to prepair a tea or cofe since there is no way to have it at night or in weekends.

    the location perfect. staff all kind and ready to help.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    7.9
    great location, value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old pluming system- we were asked not to throw toilet paper into the toilet

    satisfying breakfast included on the room price welcoming crew fantastic location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    8.3
    CENTRAL FRIENDLY HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything OK.

    Very efficient and friendly staff. Across the road from an underground station and busses. Our flight time of departure changed which meant that we were going to miss breakfast but they laid it on early for the eight of us - well done!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    Best value and centrally located - wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same good breakfast every morning. Comprehensive for all tastes and very good.

    Extraordinary assistance which went above and beyond what one would normally expect from the staff at an hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    great stay in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travelled as a group 3 to a room and had large rooms with everything we could possibly want. Location was fantastic!!!! walking distance from Main Street And just across the road from the bus stop. Couldn't reccomend it enough. Really enjoyed the stay

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No stairs to the reception.

    The reception lady who was waiting for my arrival was so friendly and helpful. Even though I booked a single bed room, my room was upgraded to a double bed room somehow. It was really comfortable staying at the hotel. There is a supermarket next to the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    6.3
    Great value for money, rooms dated but comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I booked I wasn't aware of the lift to reach the second floor location. My husband won't go in them and it was difficult to explain this to the receptionist as she spoke no english. She wasn't very helpful.

    The location is suberb, opposite is Ka De We and bus number 100 takes you to all the places on the tourist trail. This is a short walk from the accomodation

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Pension Classic traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: