Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Coellner Hof

Hansaring 100, Neustadt Nord, 50670 Cologne, Germany

#70 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 257 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    Quiet and clean.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite far from the church and railway station! Room is quite small and irregular. And tooooo expensive comparing with the facilities and service.

    Quiet and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Very good except for the internet that did not work
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine except that the internet did not work. While I did connect to the wifi, there was no internet. Receptionist had no clue what to do.

    Convenient, clean and very good location. Close to many restaurants in the are.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.0
    Just one night, but slept very well and would recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Frustrated with trying to find understandable TV, probably my fault as I don't have a tv at home and was a bit stupid with the controls. Instructions would be helpful!

    beautiful presentation of breakfast! The most comfy duvet of my journey ( 10 nights in 7 places)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.0
    The room was clean and the bed comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very smiling ,single room at the 5th floor a bit small and with not much air. Small bed, close to the center but still at 1 km.

    The room was clean and the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is situated within walking distance from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was tragically uncomfortable and so was my pillow.

    The hotel is situated within walking distance from the cathedral, the Rhine bank (ideal for a nice walk on a warm day) and the main railway station. It is also located very close to a train stop where you can take the train to the airport. A taxi ride from the railway station is about EUR 8,5, while the taxi fare for a ride to the airport shouldn't exceed EUR 35.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    6.3
    Could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arriving we were advised we cannot check in until 2pm. Upon returning at 2pm we were given the key to our room. On entering the room it was clear it had been cleaned from the previous guest. Beds were messy, wrappers around the room, towels on the floor. We returned to reception and told them the condition of the room, the receptionist didnt contact the room cleaners, just asked us to wait an extra 30 mins. At 2.30 the receptionist went to check and our room still hadn't been cleaned. It was only then she contacted house keeping and they said they would contact reception when the room was ready. We finally managed to check in to our room at 3pm. Room waa ok, just unhappy with how it was dealt with.

    Location was perfect. Walking distance to old town and the centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location and a period hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Water pressure in the shower was low - adequate but only barely.

    Great location for restaurants and evening city life. Good restaurant and great breakfast. Nice period features but refurbished so comfortable as a hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable, great value close to city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems. Perfect for us.

    The room was very spacious with comfortable seating as well as a large and comfortable bed. There was plenty of storage and/or hanging space for clothes. Bathroom was large and had a great shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Would highly tecommend for travellers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little problem with double charge, but thanks to staff this problem was solved very quickly.

    Everything was very good: room, breakfast, staff, location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Great room and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very clean and within a mile walk of the Dom and river promenade. There were many restaurants right around the corner to choose from- the location is excellent. The restaurant staff were so accomodating and friendly (especially for us traveling with our 1 and 2 year old toddlers.) and the breakfast was excellent (the rolls were still hot!). the room was quite large for our family of 4 to be comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    7.5
    Good location and a clean spacious room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff not very helpful, they do what is asked and no more. Parking was not available, although I selected the hotel based on available parking. Around the hotel hardly any public spaces (max parking time is 4 hrs). Use of the small elevator requires patience.

    Good location and a clean spacious room. Interior outdated though, but enough comfort. Breakfast buffet was quite good. All in all: a good price for what you get. Next to the subway is convenient.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    7.1
    I'd ordered just a single room and was given a much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived at about 11.30 and my room had not yet been cleaned. The staff were very helpful and offered the option to leave my things in the room. However, I'd been up since 4am and just wanted a quick nap!

    I'd ordered just a single room and was given a much bigger room, which was great. The hotel was just ten minutes walk away from the cathedral, along quite a quiet street. This was a much welcome relief from the very over-crowded centre.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    2.5
    Not if you need wifi service in the room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    WiFi service in the room not available for 7 days !! notwithstanding daily claims and promises to fix it one day to another. Not even available any premium WiFi at charge !! No assistance at all. Travelling for business a nightmare day and night working only in the lobby ! Many customers faced same problem in different rooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    6.7
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff (all 3 I met) were unfriendly, a common issue in Germany. I was charged 5.95 € more than booked. I contacted the property via the booking.com system and received no answer.

    The location is great. Solid middle-class hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    7.9
    Good location nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel needs some updating (expected more for the price), but the staff and convenience more than make up for it.

    The staff couldn't be friendlier. Their breakfast buffet is very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    Friendly staff, good bed.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad Wi-Fi needed for our business trip. Breakfast was ok, but not great.

    Friendly staff, good bed. Clean rooms. Old inventory.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    Clean and comfortable accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Clean & comfortable accommodation,underground parking available.Hot & cold continental breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Location, Good early breakfast, large room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a little warm at night, no air co.

    Location, Good early breakfast, large room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    It was awesome; thank you 😀
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was very kind and helpfull!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Pleasant place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location, 15 min walk to the Cathedral. Very clean. Spacious room with a sofa and armchair. Modern bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    4.2
    1 night 155,60 Euro due to the Fastener fair in Düsseldorf
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small Room. Unfriendly people.it

    Breakfast not bad

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    6.3
    Nice breakfast albeit a bit pricy
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast albeit a bit pricy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel and services. Not expensive at all.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows. They are awful. Some smell of the rooms.

    Breakfast. Close to the Dom and Hansaring station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.5
    We use this hotel regularly, it’s always clean and comfortable and only a short stroll from the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 x Male member of breakfast staff, very rude and unhelpful - the remainder of all staff were polite and very helpful.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.2
    quiet and friendly stuff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    easy parking

    Nice location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.0
    Fair hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small elevator and no water provided in the room.

    Staffs at restaurant are friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    A cosy breakfast room.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A cosy breakfast room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    A short visit but I had everything I needed definitely coming back and I would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect and also the price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.2
    Great stay but breakfast is excluded...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was told to me at the entry that the breakfast was included and then it was charged extra...

    Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.1
    No foreign channels on tv.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No foreign channels on tv.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Worth Money Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent arrangement for everything.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to ad.

    Very confortable rest after few months backpacking in Asia. Very clean, quiet. Very tasty breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    It's always good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've been to this hotel about six times and i wouldn't look for any other hotel. You can get to the dom ect in 5 minutes.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    9.2
    Close to the town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good breakfast. Double bed room is ideal for a single person.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    Excellent, a short walk from the station, super breakfast, nice staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pigeons cooing outside the window early in the morning. Otherwise great.

    Bathtub!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.6
    Stylish and comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea/coffee making facility and small fridge in the room.

    Interesting artwork and Art-Deco furnishings

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    8.8
    recommended. great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and quiet. Courteous and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    9.2
    Very nice place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great breakfast, nice comfy room, wide tv programs selection.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    7.9
    It's actually a really nice hotel that makes you feel welcome and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The entrance area needs a bit of TLC.

    Food was superb from the bar.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.8
    3 days in Koeln
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    clean, tidy, good location lovely breakfast. Staff also helped me find a good train connection back to the airport.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    10
    The rooms were very spacious and incredibly clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms were very spacious and incredibly clean. The facilities were first class and the rooms well equipped. First time ever taking the car in a lift to access the car park, but staff were readily available to assist. The breakfast was exceptional in variety, quality, quantity and value for money. Staff were friendly and helpful. The evening meal we had was freshly prepared and good quality. The centre of Cologne was within an easy stroll so location was great. We would definitely return.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    8.3
    The staff was very friendly, the restaurant was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The pillows had no support and the wifi wouldn't comedy in the room.

    The staff was very friendly, the restaurant was good. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    7.1
    The breakfast was excellent and the dinner in the restaurant...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The organisation and rooms allocation. We had booked a double room with a large bed. Upon arrival we were told that the hotel was full and that we were being upgraded to the "suite". Unfortunately, the management of this hotel does not know the meaning of "upgrade" or "suite". The suite was in fact a two level apartment, with the entrance located on the basement level of the hotel, next to the bathrooms for restaurant clients, and the second floor (which had only the bed) of the suite being located on the ground floor of the hotel, next to a conference room. The emergency exit of the bedroom opened directly to the conference room and some evenings we can hear the conference going on next door. One night the staff was cleaning and talking and laughing after midnight, keeping us awake. While the size was decent, we had no windows, save for one on the ceiling of the bedroom, which was covered with filthy curtains. There were no other windows, so we cold not get fresh air, or any natural light. It was like being in a basement room, not "the best room" as we were informed. The wifi and telephone connection was horrible, since we were in the basement level, so we had to spend most of our time in the lobby when we needed internet or wanted to call our children. Definitely not a room for anyone with a hint of claustrophobia. Finally, there were many TV channels, but ALL in German!! Not a single channel in English, French, Italian or any other language. For an "international" hotel, which has guests arriving from all over, especially for the different conventions in Cologne, you would think that the hotel would be more accommodating. When we complained about the room, we were given a choice of another room, but with two single beds. This was not the type of room we had initially reserved and if the hotel had better organisation skills, they would not have overbooked.

    The breakfast was excellent and the dinner in the restaurant very good, as well. The location to the Cathedral was good, about 10-15 minutes walking

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    8.3
    Location - short walk to the centre - and availability of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Even without central heating on, room was hot (no a/c or fan). Traffic noise when window open. Lack of tea/coffee making facilities in room.

    Location - short walk to the centre - and availability of on site parking. Fantastic breakfast buffet. Cosy bar for after dinner drinks. The hotel was elegantly fitted out - beautiful dining room and entrance lobby.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    10
    short walk to Dom, through lovely area, surrounded by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Park up in front of hotel otherwise you end up driving around through back streets which are full of pedestrians

    short walk to Dom, through lovely area, surrounded by pedestrian zones. great value breakfast

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    5.4
    very nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    if you need wi-fi connection you should definitely not choose this hotel. first of all they gave me room on 5th floor then wi-fi connection was coming/going.. i asked to change my room with better wi-fi connection then they changed my room to 3th floor but nothing has changed. even in breakfast place (restaurant) there was no connection at all. they should definitely fix this problem.

    very nice breakfast. good location.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    9.6
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was no refrigerator in the room, but we didn't really need it, since it was December.

    Everything! Especially the breakfast and the atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    9.6
    Check in was very quick and early, staff at the reception...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed is too small, and the pillows are too soft. I used my rolled sweaters as a better substitute :D Would be nice if they can provide better pillows. Or perhaps they do.

    Check in was very quick and early, staff at the reception was very friendly, room is very very clean and spacious for a solo, traveller like me, the staff at the restaurant was also very helpful. Breakfast is also good. Hotel is located 5mins away from Hansaring S-bahn and 3 mins from U-bahn but I cannot remember the name of the station. Nice walking distance to the Dom also. Very reccommended.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    10
    its very nice n friendly hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group

    its very nice n friendly hotel

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    8.8
    Proximity to central station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Proximity to central station Room was very clean

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    10
    Beautiful room, dining room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful room, dining room Convenient parking Near to center of city

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    10
    quiet and clean room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    quiet and clean room

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    5.0
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Damp, stale and musty smells No air conditioning

    location

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.2
    The location was perfect and the breakfast buffet was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little street noise.

    The location was perfect and the breakfast buffet was outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    9.2
    Staff and facilities were fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi No water in room, No fridge...

    Staff and facilities were fine

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    7.5
    It was a clean and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just a little noisy from the street down below.

    It was a clean and comfortable room.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: