Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Steigenberger Hotel Köln This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Habsburgerring 9-13, Neustadt Süd, 50674 Cologne, Germany

#24 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2290 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast expensive, autopark too expensive. it should be special prices for hotel guests

    stayed many times when it was Barcelo Hotel. well decorated now and in very good conditions right now. perfect location .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Towels were really thin, pillows were not very comfortable, large gap below en-suite bathroom door so a fair bit of light leakage if anyone was in the bathroom at night. Decor a bit dated. A bit noisy on Saturday night.

    Nice room, good location, coffee maker in room, free wifi, near tram stop.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some stuff seems very helpful but some just not. I had a problem connected to the wifi on the first day. That receptionist she help me out but unpleasantly. It was like she was pissed off that I can't figure it out by myself. I felt like she's a bit look down on me maybe because I'm Asian. But another stuff help me out when I had a problem checking-in for my flight before I flew back.

    The room is so clean and super nice together with the view. I like when the floor supervisor come in and check if we need anything. I'll definitely stay at this hotel chain again when I visit Germany next time. Nice and safe location. Stuffs are quite helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Dom View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very clean room, only on the light carpets you could see that someone had spilled something that was later washed away, leaving whiter spots on the carpet. I always wonder why hotels decorate with light coloured rugs as they are so easily stained and not cleaned so easily...

    A great hotel with fresh new look. Friendly staff, easy check-in and check-out. We staid in the Deluxe Room which had a great view over the city (10th floor) and lots of space. Price-quality ratio was great. A couple of nice restaurants just around the corner in walking distance. Breakfast was delicious with varied options. All in all a very pleasant stay, would definitely book again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    would have liked to be more clear communication when staff knocks on your door: it looked like another hotel guest instead of someone from staff. It would have helped if he would have worn a name tag or told me immediately who he was.

    the beds were fine and the room was clean. Great view of the city from our room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am a regular visitor. Never experienced a smooth check in nor check out. Agents get telephonecalls they process in full length in your presence without any discretion ... resulting in long frustrating waiting time. Check out equaly disasterous: why would one mention a company address at check in ... to do nothing ? And loose time at check out?

    Recent renovated hotel with parking in underground

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were terrible, very soft and offering no support whatever so we both slept badly and had stiff necks. For three days running the tea and coffee and mini bar were not replenished/restocked. There was an electrical issue and the shutters kept closing at random points without us touching any buttons. We were surprised it didn’t have even a small gym, and I didn’t notice when I booked so my husband wasn’t happy!!

    The hotel was in a brilliant location and was beautifully designed - contemporary and stylish. Bathrooms were fab. Reception staff were great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    empty bottle of water in fridge on arrival -although this was promptly resolved once I reported it to reception . Great toiletries in bathroom but these were not replaced for our second day stay ? also complimentary water on first night was not replenished on second day of stay

    modern , clean, all mod cons and good atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Plus Double with Dom View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit dirty windows

    My big family (8 adults + a kid) stayed at the hotel in 4 rooms for 4 days. We all were very satisfied - everything was excellent: excellent location, space rooms, beautiful Cathedral view, comfortable beds, nice bathroom, excellent breakfast, friendy staff. Many thanks to the young man on the reception desk, who welcomed us on 25th Apr 2018 ar. 20h00 - nice person and good professional! We would definitely recommend the hotel to everybody - either for a business trip or for a trip for tourism purposes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location, facilities, breakfast, internet, cleaness, staff, cofortable beds, billows and covers. Antony n the front desk s a perfect representative to the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were under the impression that there were gym and spa facilities in the hotel but in fact they are in partnership with a spa located 20km away

    Location is fantastic. Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was very professional and courteous. They made it a point to cater to the well being of each customer. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a delightful stay in cologne

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was first check in to room 220. It was a bit dull. After my forth day stay ,I have to ask the house keeping to change my pillow cases and duvet. The cleaner made a lot of noise every morning on the second floor.

    The hotel is in great location. Breakfast is good with lots of selection. But sadly it is all the same everyday. They need to change the food at breakfast weekly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suffers a little from street noise. Breakfast is expensive, but excellent places nearby.

    Excellent large bedrooms. Very friendly staff. Central location with great access to public transport. Approx 30mins from airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have been a bit cleaner, found some hairs between the bedsheets.

    Excellent location, between the Belgian Quarter and the shopping high-street. The building looks oldish from outside, but it has been nicely refurbished to modern standards. Friendly staff. We stayed for Easter and they gave us chocolate bunnies at check-out!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very close to the lifts and it was a little noisy at certain times of the day!

    Very friendly staff and we even got an umbrella as it was a very rainy day!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can hear people talking and walking through the corridor in front of my room. In tissue box only one piece of tissue ( i guess the housekeeping forget to check it ) The towels are rough ( not soft at your skin anymore because i think it is old already )

    Close to the centrum with the car or tram. A lot of choices of restaurants and bars arround the hotel area. Business room is quite big. Bed is comfort. A lot of choices for breakfast. A modern hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location, near everything. For a hotel with that level, the amenities were very poor. Never .replace or clean the glasses and cups in the room for the whole stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Plus Twin with Dom View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a perfectly fine and serviceable hotel blessed by its good location. The front desk staff can be slow and unhelpful and we found the room service staff to be obtrusive on both occasions we encountered them. That said, rooms are comfortable and the lobby bar is open late :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very noisy, we woke up form the noise from the room nextdoor, it was early in the morning. Als so the noice on the hall. The price for Beakfirst for 25 euro p.p. The lady at check-out did not asked at all about or stay, so we could not tell about the noise.

    Location is good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lack of a gym. this was a mega-bummer for me as i really look for a good workout in a business hotel. it is so easy to add a few runners a bike and weights -- they will lose a lot of business with out that. some more vegetables at breakfast would have been good too, but otherwise the F&B manager is a star. i would appreciate as well if they could at least offer discounted parking for guests. why should i pay the full rate that anyone off the street pays?

    great breakfast, great room and bedding. very comfortable and quiet for sleeping. stylish lobby and super location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleanliness was not good... there were traces of coffee on the bed table and also crumbs on the pillow... I think it’s the receptionist job to give information, like how to get to your room and when and where you can get the breakfast... however I had to ask all the informations and get e very short answer! During the breakfast other guests get served drinks, I had to serve myself... so if you serve one client you have to do the same for everyone....

    The breakfast was very good and there was a lot of choice. Beautiful designed room with enough space. Great bathroom with floor heating.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An intense pipe smell is coming from the bathroom. It is so powerful that is comes into the room and makes the stay very unpleasant.

    The position of the hotel is very convenient and the bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at the lody bar restaurant is terrible the least I can say. Menu extremely limited. You need to wait 40 minutes for a sandwich if you manage first to get the attention of the waitresss. Kitchen is closed for many hours so be aware that sometimes you cannot get even the small menu. Checking out they were asking me if I had paid already a part of my accommodation and other unprofessional questions. Eventually they let me go without a bill since they couldn't manage and they will send me the bill by email. Seemed to me that most emlyees were totally inexperienced and under training.

    Room is good as well as the breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is not knowledgeable/helpful with regard to recommending restaurants. Staffing also seemed too limited. Always a wait to get to someone. Practically no customer service in lobby for food/drinks.

    Nice property

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to look at on the rear side of the building, and not a bath in the ensuite but I probably should have noticed that when booking!

    Great location and a very comfortable bed. A great place to use as a base to take in the Christmas markets.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is very expensive, had to pay 72 euro for 3 days. There should be a better rate for hotel guests. The staff didn’t know much about festivities or restaurants in the area.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As with all Swiss and German hotels in which we have stayed, the pillows were very soft and squishy - a minor problem in an other wise excellent hotel.

    The Steigenberger is a modern hotel very well situated in Cologne to explore the Christmas markets, the cathedral and other tourist attractions. It is a tall building with the name emblazoned along the top which makes it very easy to find when returning from an exploratory trip! It is decorated in a modern style, is very comfortable and the rooms are spacious. We were fortunate enough to have a room on the 8th floor with excellent views. There was a good sized bath with excellent over bath shower in the bathroom. The staff were all very friendly with excellent English and the breakfast buffet was one of the best & most extensive I have experienced. There is a car park below the hotel for which you have to pay, but the maximum payment is €20.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Plus Double with Dom View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Visited for the Christmas markets and the hotel is perfectly located for all of them. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Room was excellent, bed was so comfy, breakfast was really good also.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small. There was no shelves, drawers or space to put clothes except on hangars. Crazy. We had to use the desk. The price of drinks at the bar was extortionate.

    The breakfast was lovely. The room was lovely but small, and that was a superior business room. Really nice hotel though with friendly service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i had no idea how to work the air conditioning / heating - it seemed unnecessearily unintuitive. the result was my room was like a sauna. pillows were huge. very incomfortable which resulted in a sore neck and poor night's sleep. the schnitzel i ate in the restaurant was slightly burned.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of something, sorry :)

    It was our second stay at the Steinberger Hotel Köln, and for us it's the perfect hotel in this city, Easy to reach with a perfect ratio edge of the city/city center. It's located near the best shopping street in Köln. And a short walk from one of the best local restaurants in town, The staff is always very helpful, hotel is very clean, the top floors have a great look over the city, and rooms are very spacious. I can very mush recommend this hotel to everyone planning a business trip or short city trip!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were terrible!

    Great location beside plenty of public transport links but still walking distance to the main cathedral and all the christmas markets. Great SHower!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really to mention. The only comment I would have is that I dont really understand that there is a price difference for the bed type (king vs. twin). I understand that there might be more demand for twin bedded rooms but that should be a problem of the hotel to solve and not for a guest to pay as the hotel cannot accommodate the demand of twin rooms.

    Always a pleasure to stay in this hotel. Now during Xmas season overlooking the Christmas Market. The hotel offers a nice local amenity and that was really appreciated. The hotel staff was as always very polite and we could get a room as early arrival at a surcharge as our booked room category was not ready yet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Plus Double with Dom View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Short staffed at reception. The receptionist had to answer the phone twice during our check-in. He spent at least 8 minutes in the phone while we were waiting in limbo. There was also a long queue during check out.

    Beautiful decor. Newly decorated spacious rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location near nice restaurants and not too far from the main train station. Very friendly staff. The rooms are clean and have a 'business' look. There are coffee and tea facilities on the rooms, which is always a good thing. The beds are really comfy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible cleaning and house keeping service: We found pieces of broken glass all over the room, small enough to be stepped on and big enough to get serious cuts! We were given a new room, referred to as an “upgrade“, which looked exactly the same. Apart from this extreme experience, the overall cleanliness could be a bit higher at this price range, e.g. white stains on the walls and furniture. On the next day, we found a key card on the floor in our room, which the cleaners must have dropped/lost.

    Good location in walking distance from the city centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Strange shower logistic, you risk to flood the room if you don't pay attention. Reception staff seems not very friendly, at least not as it should.

    NIce hotel, good facilities, very clean room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have requested deluxe room dom wiev, they gave us room at2nd floor. Although we paid with dom wiev we have seen only street and cars from 2nd floor

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The window was broken and we couldn't close. Shower water pressure was weak and water tempreture was too low (couldn't turn up). We stayed 2 nights and informed above mentioned problems to the reception at the first night. Unfortunately, it was ignored.

    room size, espresso machine, cleanness

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found leftovers from previous guest, fruitsalad and ROTTEN yoghurt ,we told the reception about it, I've send someone up to fix it, not a word of apology when check-out

    Location location location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Plus Double with Dom View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price we paid (>200€ !) one would expect some luxury.. like a bathrobe, fluffy towels, slippers, conditioner, complimentary coffee/croissant. None of this. Steigenberger is a very basic average business hotel.

    Good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only area of sincere concern is the front office staff (at check in) The staff is not up to the job and is lacking basic customer service attitude. It needs serious training and coaching. After our conversation with the GM the check-in staff was even 'beleidigt' and did not talk or greet us ever again throughout our stay - that underlines the incompetence of the initial check-in lady. Reading some of the TripAdvisor comments it seems a general problem with that department and not only a one time issue we experienced. The only friendly lady we met at this department was the lady at check-out on Sunday morning. She was friendly had a smile on her face and displayed a wonderful customer minded attitude. A bit more storage space would be good, especially if you stay for 4 nights or longer

    Perfect location, close to shopping, dining, entertainment, public transportation and sightseeing. We've stayed in several hotels in Cologne over the last couple of years. This is by far the best location and a overall great value for money. Breakfast and housekeeping staff was very friendly and eager to treat the customers as welcomed guests. The General Manager, Mr. Mikkelsen is absolutely wonderful and made us feel welcome again. He handled the initial complaint we had during check-in very well and reacted in a calm and professional manner. If only for him, we would come back and enjoy the central location and the overall service. But please work on the attitude of the reception staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was not clean when I entered it, I had to ask the reception to make my bed again. There was somebody lying in my bed before I got in. Not a really warm welcome.

    Breakfast and location. Staff was very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Dom View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pay Euro 2,000 for three nights - understand that the costs are high because of a big food exhibition - but for this price I expect to have HOT WATER when I shower regardless of the time and or how full the hotel is. Disgraceful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    spacious room, clean, not too far from shopping area. the breakfast is superb, with many many choices even you can order yr own eggs and omlette. Also fresh honey from the honey comb direct. u can squeeze yr own orange juice with the machine there. it is the best breakfast i have in Germany so far.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were toooooooo soft! They should offer different kinds of pillows.

    Fantastic place! What a wonderful hotel! Lovely staff! Great value for money!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    got room number 107...the aircon wasn't working. 2Nights sleeping without aircon it was like a sauna but they changed my room on the 3rd night...

    direct on the S-Bahn station... close to everywhere... the staffs were really helpful and nice!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This time I got a room assigned with a connecting door to another room. We could hear the 'neighbors' conversations so will make sure we will get another room next time as they are not soundproof.

    Another great stay at the Steigenberger during a high demand period with an excellent service. Every time I come back the hotel surprises me with improvements on service level. This time we traveled by car and from the garage there is a hotel elevator directly to the reception.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much information on things to do in the area.

    Room was spacious and clean , service was top notch, central location was good. overall a general good experience. Will recommend to others

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud, windows old, could hear the street from the fourth floor. Heating control in the room a disaster. Slept very little. Staff at reception asked the standard questions but didn't wait for a reply. No honest interest in us.

    Shower was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During my booking, I requested an early check in and a crib in my room. When we wanted to check in, the receptionist told me they did not receive my message. But, they prepared the crib right away. There was no towel for the bathroom floor.

    The room is spacious. The bed was really comfortable. The location is very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -no wifi available in hotel at all on 2 days during our stay as should have been - rather annoying as we would not have chosen a hotel without wifi. Having to use our own connections abroad caused us a lot of extra expense. -several bathroom/tea-making amenities lacking or not refilled - irritatingly we had to request specific items every day. -no parking places specific for hotel in underground public car park caused some difficulty in finding a space; expensive.

    -Recently renovated interior - nice foyer + room -clean + tastefully decorated room -ok location with tram stop by hotel, 1-2 stops to centre or 15-20 minutes walk -staff generally pleasant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is heritage listed 60's architecture and looks old from the outside, but is completely renovated and modern inside. Travelled to Cologne for the Karneval and this was an excellent location. Close to all the parties and nightlife, but still quiet in the immediate surroundings. Taxi was 35Euro from airport.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Plus Double with Dom View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed pillows were a bit soft but I prefer firmer ones.

    Very clean hotel. Nice welcoming lobby. Restaurant was very good, much better than most hotel restaurants. Room was clean and very comfortable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We traveled during Carnival where I wasn't aware of. On the day of my departure I couldn't get a cap to the station because of a march taking place that particular area has been blocked and car traffic could not get there. I had to take public transport that was super crowded and only cached my train because the train was delayed. An information on the hotels website or during check-in would be advisable.

    The hotels location is great and right in the center of Cologne. The hotels staff has been very kind to us during our stay and has been very flexible with our late-check out request we had for Sunday afternoon.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a very modern hotel, room is big and clean, room facilities are new and comfortable, good service provided by hotel staff, geographically close to train and tram station

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Dom View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is large and the bed is very comfortable. There are three sofas in the room. Two are in front of the window, and one is stay with a small table. There's a big carpet beside the bed. And you can see the top of the Cologne Cathedral. Through the window you can see a great scenery. Easily accessible. About 15-20mins from the railway station to the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was rather boring, lacked any character and the pillows on the bed were quite uncomfortable. Poor ventilation in the room and difficult to open windows meant it was hot and stuffy at night!

    Good quality breakfast with wide range of choices (both hot and cold)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough amenities like slippers toothbrush cotton sticks bathrobe, light switches not near closet, cleaner did not clean room, no free water provided

    Good room design, good view, good mattress, comfortable, location, anti fog mirror

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem with the opening of the door utility technician came in 5 minutes to solve the issue. Pipe in shower to be changed as there was almost no water pressure

    Nice location,proximity of public transport, staff really friendly and helpful, modern and comfortable rooms, really huge and delightful bed, excellent view and quiet hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the fact that dogs were allowed in the hotel And we're shocked that there was no mention of this fact in the information We would certainly NOT have booked had we known And are unlikely to revisit on our next visit to Cologne

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi could have been a bit stronger

    Staff was fantastic & everyone we encountered was helpful; rooms were great size and comfortable; hotel common areas were well maintained and spacious; wonderful central location right by Rudolfplatz.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location to explore old town Cologne and surroundings. Extremely professional, courteous and helpful staff. One of the best hotels we have stayed ever worldwide.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room service/house keeping has failed at a critical point with not providing agreed service in timely manner and not providing follow up on missed service which is crucial for business travellers

    Location of the hotel is good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was amazing. After being upgraded for free. The bed was huge, with a comfy mattered, luxurious pillow and duvet. The bathroom was lovely, clean and a great shower facility. The staff were friendly and get helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we had 3 rooms. check-in was quick and the rooms were available although we were early. The rooms are very nice refurbished and very clean. We had rooms with a spectacular view of the Dom and the Christmas market. Parking your car is easy in the parking garage underneath the Hotel. There is an elevator that goes directly in to the hotel. The second day 1 of the rooms was not cleaned by housekeeping we left the hotel at 11 in the morning and returned at 5 in the afternoon. I went to the reception and asked if she could arrange something so our room would be cleaned. We went to the bar to have a drink. An hour later we went upstairs and still our room was dirty. I went back to the lady at the reception and she asked me the same questions again room number, wat was wrong. I told my story again and she would notify housekeeping again. When I got back to the room I saw the lady who was in charge of checking the rooms after cleaning. So I told my story again. She also asked if we had the do not disturb sing on our door. I said yes this morning but when we left at 11 o’clock I took it of the door and put it in our room. So that should not been the problem. But she immediately asked the 2 guys who were still cleaning other rooms to do ours. Problem solved. But the fact that we were out of the hotel all day and our room wasn’t cleaned wonders me. The service at the lobby bar around 5/6 o’clock in the evening was very poor. We had to wait for a very long time before we could order and we were not the only ones that needed to wait. 1 time after 15min waiting we asked at the reception if there was someone who could help us. When the lady finally arrived we asked for 4 glasses of dry white wine. The lady did not know what we were asking. We pointed out the bottle in the glass cabinet. You want a whole bottle? she asked. That was fine with us. But when she brought our drinks we only got 3 glasses.

    the breakfast was perfect. The room had a great view on the Dom en the Christmas market.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cost of breakfast at 25euros each. Even wit a 20% discount, to pay 40euros was a bit costly

    A very comfortable bed to get a good nights sleep. The location very good for shopping. Less than 2 minutes walk to the tram and bus networks that were very cheap to use.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff very rude and check in was slow and long winded

    The room was small but lovely with a huge walk in wardrobe. Breakfast was amazing with huge choice (chicken wings anyone?)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Expected a better service, specially housekeeping. Free wi-fi was 1Mbit. Only upon check-out I was told that there was paid wi-fi available, with a 500Mbits

    Brand new re-opening

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the gym/spa is not opened yet... i can't wait to see it in 2017!

    the delicious breakfast, very nice and helpful receptionnists, the room, the location of the hotel, perfect!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the whole room should be carpeted rather than just a square. The basin tap in bathroom did not run hot enough! I thought branding was confusing.

    Loved the new look. The reception area is much more welcoming and homely. The room was perfect and I particularly the USB sockets which were scattered around the room, made charging my devices so much easier without the need for a universal plug! Great future focussed thinking in this IT world. The view to the Dom was amazing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating system needs improvement.

    Good quality, spotlessly clean, when i complained about lack of proper heating in the room the satff immediately provided electric heater

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, though professional, are cool. There is parking, but it is not cheap, and as a guest, you have no discount. You can not come and go at a fixed daily price, but must check in and out each time as though you were parking for the first time.

    Every detail of the room and facilities reached perfection. We loved the sunny room with its brilliant layout, which is horizontal to the windows instead of being long and dark like most hotels. Even the closet area is more accessible and next to the window so you can actually see everything clearly. Also liked the perfect details in the bathroom, the cleanliness, and the comfortable bed. Wifi was free and worked everywhere in the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Free Wi-Fi was super slow, premium Wi-Fi was expensive and didn't work and breakfast was way too expensive at 25 euro per day

    Comfortable, good location

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Steigenberger Hotel Köln traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: