Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Columbia This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Dudenstraße 4, Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg, 10965 Berlin, Germany

#566 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 779 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    5.6

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    5.7

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    Very clean hotel given age and size
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every time we left hotel wifi needed to be reconnected via a new username and password obtained from front desk which got tiresome given we were coming and going.

    Very clean hotel given age and size Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Clean, cheap and safe for Single Female
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheap, clean, safe and helpful staff. It was v hot weather and the room hot but staff provided a fan and were v helpful with bags etc too. Recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.4
    Hotel room was south facing which meant the sun was on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room was south facing which meant the sun was on the rooms all day. no AC meant rooms were red hot. Opened windows but it’s near a main road so was really noisy which meant no sleep. Towels and quilts were awful. Towel barely a loin cloth!!! Great location for Columbiahalle though!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.5
    Good place for a budget traveler
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like most old hotels, it was a bit noisy if your neighbors were talking loud in the hall or in room next to yours.

    It was affordable and near train stop with a good breakfast included. The room was small but clean.. Free parking and wifi was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    A berfect choice to sleep well and get easy and fast to the Citycenter or overall for a fair prise
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - the Elivater shakes while braking. - the stairwell smells like a kitchen "BUT NOT THE room" - the sink would float fast - the room was a little bit dark and one of the bed-lights was defect

    - The Location; 30 meters to a Busstop and about 3 min. to the Train-Stop (U-Bahn 6). - Free parking - Free Internet - The Staff is very frendly, I met at least 5 of them over 3 days they were all very freandly and helpful - there was a Waterboiler in the room and Coffee, Tee and Suger, witch were supplied dayly - Non-Smoking Hotel with a smokerszone that dosen't smell to the outside - the windows were isolated very good so that the room was quiet. - the Temperatur in the room was perfect and we still had the appurtiunity to optimize it. - the worm water

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    4.2
    Noisy, uncomfortable, but ok location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You could hear everything from the corridor and from the other rooms. The carpet on the corridor was really squeaky, almost comically noisy. The cleaner's vacuum cleaner woke us up every morning. The air in the room was so bad, that even if you opened the window, after few minutes the air was again bad. The towels in the bathroom were old and not comfortable. The elevator was just old.

    It was near to a metro station. There was a taxi point nearby. There was a good döner place across the street, maybe 300 meters south-west from the hotel. They sold alcohol at the reception. The room wasn't too hot or cold. The taxi from hotel to Tegel took less than 30minutes and was about 33 euros.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    2.9
    Horrible experience - unsafe place to stay
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - the place was not safe : a group of russian guys started banging at our door and tried to break in at 6AM. Once they left and it seemed safe to leave the room, we went to the reception and the personal first did not understand english, and secondly, did not seem interested at all (they did not know if the hotel doors were open all night for anyone to enter from the street - even though there is supposed to be a 24h front desk, did not want to look at the camera surveillance, etc). We left directly and requested a full refund (which was not provided, neither did anyone aplogize or tried to explain what happened). - the offer was really poor for 75EUR per night : old facilities, not renovated, no security, not very clean. Berlin is a great city to visit, I would just recommand a different hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.4
    This is a fine hotel, quiet and generally ok in a good location but not great value.
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's too expensive for what it is. The sink was broken and wasn't fixed. The cleaning was substandard. Saying this, it was quiet and a good location, not too hot/cold, the wifi worked fine and it was comfortable enough. However, I would not stay there again.

    The breakfast was terrible. The cleaning the first day was terrible. Otherwise, this is a quiet hotel in a good area and I had no problems.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    5.0
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location was good. Rooom space was very small, especially for 3 ppl. Flickering lights. Unattended to complaints. Wifi signal on our floor was very weak. Old style German commond that compelled the user to wash the commode! Felt it was more of a "student" hotel than a place for fmailies.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.1
    Old hotel in the heart of Kreuzberg with TINY rooms but BIG and tasty breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are tiny and I mean TINY. Bathroom and shower are also small. Hallways leading up to the rooms are dark.

    Location was unbeatable, with a bus stop 10 steps away from hotel entrance and access to the U-Bahn station across the street from hotel. There's also a brazilian cafe and a restaurant next to the hotel. The best part about our stay was breakfast, a variety of breads, cheese, meats, cereals, eggs, sausages and more things along with juice, milk and they even serve you coffee however you want it! (latte, machiatto, capuccino, etc)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.0
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is definitely old-fashioned, not modern at all...and if you get a "double room" be advised that it's NOT a single queen bed, they put two twin beds together to make a bigger bed. The maid didn't clean up the room very good either, she/he pretty much changed out the towels and left. And the elevators were a little rusty and scary but they work!

    The hotel is in great location to Columbiahalle and other clubs/venues so if you're a party or concertgoer then it's perfect location wise. The free breakfast was good, and the subway station is literally across the street from the hotel so you don't have to take an uber or taxi everywhere!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    2.5
    Not worth to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was dirty, room full of dust and staff was not helpful at all. Really bad experience.

    There was nothing to like at this hotel, everything was dirty and for the same amount of money it is possible to get better place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    3.3
    We wouldn't stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor location. Room was too hot, and when the window was open to let air in, the noise from the road kept us awake all night. Location wasn't what we had hoped for. car park was not signposted well enough, which meant we had to find parking elsewhere first to then walk to the hotel and ask where the car park was. Very small room for the price paid. Reception staff were not 'un-friendly', but could have been more welcoming and helpful.

    the sweets on the reception desk were nice!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The corridors inside are quite dark. The traffic outside is noisy, especially the emergency cars in the early morning.

    The best thing is the location - the hotel is easily accessible by car and you can park just behind the hotel gratis. The u-bahn and bus station is just across the street. There are some restaurants and snacks nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    6.7
    Conveniently located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room, not really enough space for 2 people, no fridge. GDR flair, needs a bit of renovating.

    Good location opposite the underground station. Although directly at the main road, quiet as noise tight windows. Free parking behind hotel, breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    5.4
    Basic Eastern European hotel
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The windows face east which can make the room stifling in the mornings with sun. No additional fan in the room to alleviate the heat. The intersection that the rooms face is noisy. Also, the cafe/restaurant/bar below the windows can be quite loud on the weekends.

    The rooms are small, efficient, reminding me of a dorm room. If you don't plan to spend time in your room beyond sleeping, you're fine. The bathroom is small but clean and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could use some new furniture and updating. The floor in the corridor was a bit creaky and the walls are too thin if there are noisy people in other rooms but these are minor issues.

    Nice hotel in a convenient location with bus and Ubahn stops nearby. Very nice and friendly staff. The room was clean, fully equipped and the bed was very comfortable. Free bottle of water, tea set and shower gel were a nice bonus

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    6.7
    Excellent breakfast, friendly staff, shower was good and hot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Size of room was very small, just about fit a double bed in there. Bed not very comfy. Traffic noise most of the time as the hotel is situated on the main road, so could never open the window for some fresh air.

    Excellent breakfast, friendly staff, shower was good and hot, and the location for me was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    6.7
    its a clean shelter.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    this hotel is way too outdated. No way is a 3 star hotel as rated. for me barely makes 2 stars.

    location is central and well positioned closed to the U-bahn just across the street in front of the hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    2.9
    Terrible unless you want a true DDR experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wouldn't open the door we had to ring the bell and were waiting 20 mins after banging on the door for someone to let us in. The hotel hasn't changed since the DDR. Hotel room was grubby and unhygienic. Was so bad didn't stay the second night. I would never stay there ever again.

    Upon arrival staff was friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    5.4
    It's a really cheap place for a really high price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a really cheap place for a really high price. Im guessing it was because I stayed there for new years eve but it was not worth the money at all for what you get.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    10
    Very nice location with clean adequate rooms, breakfast is...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice location with clean adequate rooms, breakfast is great from 6 am to 10 am but when we told them that we are leaving at 5 am the breakfast was ready at 5.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.1
    Comfortable & affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Daytime reception staff unfriendly & dismissive! Night time staff were nicer! Bedrooms could do with a little updating Property undergoing window refit, so scaffolding all around building, can't complain about that!

    The bed was very comfortable with nice pillows Bathroom clean & shower good Hair drier & shampoo, coffee, bottled water are nice extras! Much appreciated! Breakfast good & included in price

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    5.8
    Not as good as we had hoped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room allocated on arrival was a twin not double as booked - sorted out somewhat reluctantly. Hotel was entirely clad in scaffolding as building being refurbished. Hotel is next to a very busy intersection which means it is very noisy at night - had to have window open as there is no A/C, and room faced SW so gets full afternoon sun.

    Good location for easy access to centre.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    4.6
    OK location, but old facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception person speaked only German. The hotel facade was under construction, so noise around also on Saturday morning. In general the hotel needs renovation, really depreciated bathrooms, corridors etc. Considering that it was marathon weekend, the price was ok, as most of hotels were fully booked.

    Location near underground, so easy to connect to main viewpoints in the city. Couple of streets away different restaurants. We tested Little Tibet, which had really good food and another evening some Mexican place, also very nice, good service and good drinks.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.1
    Nice stay if you're not to picky
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The builders outside the windows (on the fifth floor) woke me up too early.

    Very kind man working the night shift who checked me in and took the time to chat a bit about Berlin!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    3.3
    Do not advise you to use this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived one hour after check in time on a hot summer day and room still not ready. Whole of outside of hotel covered with scaffolding - it is a building site. Large window in room was broken and could not be locked. Any guest in hotel or someone climbing scaffold could enter my room. NOT SAFE. No WIFI in room. No reception on TV. Kettle broken. At breakfast asked for coffee which was never brought. When I complained was laughed at. They took payment from my card without authorisation - I would have refused to pay full price. You have been warned!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    2.9
    What a dump!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What a dump! *The room reeked of stale cigarette smoke. *I tried to open the windows, but the latches were broken. *The shower drain was very slow, and it nearly overflowed. *The one chair in the room was broken. *The door would only latch if locked it with a key. *The breakfast was vile -- stale bread, meat and fruit that has been out forever, and oddly grey scrambled eggs. How do you make eggs grey? *I raised the first two issues to the front desk receptionist, and she was indifferent. This is probably the worst hotel I've ever stayed in.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Close to Columbia Halle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning.

    Close to Columbia Halle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.8
    The hotel is near Columbia Halle.
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive. Poor breakfast.

    The hotel is near Columbia Halle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.4
    Ok place to stay if you need a bed for the night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit dated and needs some refurbishing

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.1
    Room furnishing could be better.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Asked for double bed (hotel provided option to shoose), got twin very uncomfortable bed...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    It's location,friendly staff,breakfast and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was a little dated

    It's location,friendly staff,breakfast and price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.3
    was clean and near to where we wanted to go
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very out dated and breakfast was poor.

    was clean and near to where we wanted to go

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.8
    Just fair with the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet connection at the room The reception staff couldn’t find my confirmed booking and their responses with the customer are bad

    The price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.5
    it was good for the price i paid
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water in the shower could have been a bit warmer.

    Breakfast was more than good! A lot more than expected.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    5.0
    Bed bugs!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed bugs!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.3
    Value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not able to connect to Wifi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.1
    Basic and simple
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Basic and simple

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    2.9
    Breakfast is worst.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is not clean and very small even for two. The corridor is worst.

    Breakfast is worst. No crossaints.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.9
    Great location. Very close to underground, staff very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a bit of dust in the room, could be a little bit more clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.7
    The pilow for sleep wasn`t very good and space was so small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pilow for sleep wasn`t very good and space was so small

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    4.6
    wi-fi not reaching the 5th floor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wi-fi not reaching the 5th floor owner very arrogant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.5
    Clean good hotel with a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean good hotel with a good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.3
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was small and not in good condition The hall was gloomy and stuffy

    Staff were very helpful Breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    4.6
    The TV was out of service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The TV was out of service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Most awesome breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most awesome breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    3.8
    Of the worst I've been in the last few years
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Al lado metro

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    10
    Great value and location in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice location near the metro station just 50 meters. Very nice and polite staff. Breakfast is great and the wifi is good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    5.4
    Very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction. Staff not friendly.

    Very good breakfast. Close to good ubahn station

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.1
    construction noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exterior of building scaffold ed with workers hammering on walls at 7:30 a.m.

    Clean small room recently remodeled.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    3.3
    Noise and smalls room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise and smalls room. And Not very clean. Not suggest.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    6.3
    Berlin hotel from '80
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the breakfast one of the eggs was rotten, there was not hot water in the shower

    Close to underground

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    5.8
    Under Construction ... About to impove
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy and Hot. Openings Windows increases the pain only..

    There is a good Chance for Better. ..

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    7.9
    the breakfast was surprisely good, big parking, elevator,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    traffic and noises outside the window

    the breakfast was surprisely good, big parking, elevator, tee/coffe set in a rom, towels and soap, everything you need for a short trip. Good location, very close to Columbiahalle. I also liked the DDR style

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    6.7
    My partner and I were attending two concerts at Columbia...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hot water in the shower was a bit on and off, but it was mainly fine. Breakfast is very basic but overall good value for money.

    My partner and I were attending two concerts at Columbia Hall and the location of this hotel was fantastic - across the road from the underground and a few minutes walk to Columbia Hall which made getting to and from the concert very easy!

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    5.0
    Cooked food at blast well over cooked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cooked food at blast well over cooked. Bed not comfy. Wifi sucked and need to get a password every 12 hours per device. Police station around the corner was annoying as the syrons kept waking me in the night

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    2.9
    One of the worth hotels I've ever seen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    One of the worth hotels I've ever seen. I wonder how it's a triple stars. Looks more like a hostel.There was not an active Internet connection. Facilities were old and no daily cleaning on my room.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    5.0
    Near the U6 Ubahn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very noisy as it is on a main intersection and the windows do not keep the noise out. You are given 1 3in1 coffee and 1 tea bag on arrival. Thereafter nothing. Between us we had a random selection of tea - Earl Grey, peppermint and Green tea.We did ask for tea and coffee and we're told it is for the arrival day only. Mugs were not removed or washed for 4 days. My shower could only be used as a hand shower and only after I took a photo was an attempt made to sort it out - unsuccessfully. Breakfast was very basic and boring. There were no changes offered in the 4 days we were there. This is supposed to be a non smoking hotel but people were smoking. Reception was a haze of smoke because"they were having a party."

    Near the U6 Ubahn.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    6.7
    Breakfast is OK.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed is not super comfortable and at least my room picked up quite some noise from outside and from the radiador (constant driping sound).

    Breakfast is OK. Staff is helpful. Shower is nice.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    6.7
    Free parking, free WLAN, good accessibility by public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rather noisy due to location - would urgently need new, noise-insulated windows!

    Free parking, free WLAN, good accessibility by public transport, fair pricing. Room was recently newly furnished.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    6.7
    It was next to Tempelhof airfield which was the location of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathroom was dirty and shower was pathetic trickle. Tiles were cracked and the room was dusty. Few towels and water provided for number of people.

    It was next to Tempelhof airfield which was the location of the festival. We could hear the music from the room! Also next to lots of u bahn and roads. For us it was fine a place to rest your head but facilities were not luxurious.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    2.5
    The breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The establishment per se, the facilities including the room were not taking care of properly.

    The breakfast. Other than that, the hotel was very blunt and with no personality or proper hospitality service.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    7.5
    no wi-fi connection in our room.
    • Couple

    no wi-fi connection in our room. (we got (very poor) signal only if standing right by the door. even that was not enough to check mail box without signal being lost.)

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    6.3
    Location was great, hotel is opposite the tube station,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    When checked in been given a room set up for 1 person, when it was clearly two of us, also room smelled of cigarettes, especially bathroom. Asked to change our room and after big struggle and hesitation they've given us another room, way better. Breakfast is okay, internet kept cutting off during last night and shower had great pressure but holes for water was tiny so it made it feel like little needles, could take a shower when pressure is put to a bare minimum.

    Location was great, hotel is opposite the tube station, easy to get from/to Tegel Airport

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    5.0
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Comfort double room. Hmmm. If your idea of comfort is having to close a window every time you want to get into your side of the bed, then great. Not so much mine. No air con, had to ask for a fan, so having a window open was a necessity. Tiny room for two. Breakfast average, learn how to boil an egg!! Wifi intermittent at best. Way overpriced.

    Great location. That's about it.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    7.5
    Satisfying breakfast with both sweet and salty food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very noisy due to location at a big intersection, difficult to sleep

    Satisfying breakfast with both sweet and salty food Staff was nice Good location, right in front of the underground The room was clean and nice

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.2
    The hotel was right on both the bus and subway lines yet not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is a bit tired and worn.

    The hotel was right on both the bus and subway lines yet not in a busy area. Perfect for my needs. Most of the staff were super friendly.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    5.8
    Location is great, it is cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi password needs to be entred every 12 hours for each wifi device. Example I had Ipad and Iphone I needed 2 passwords every 12 hours from front desk. There is no hot water, it was just warm!

    Location is great, it is cheap.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    7.5
    Location was good in terms of short distance from Metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    One evening internet wi-fi did not work. Moreover, I had to remind room service to upgrade toiletries.

    Location was good in terms of short distance from Metro. Breakfast was good as well. Staff was helpful.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    7.1
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was no aircon in our room and the outside air temperature was hot. We are none smokers and asthmatic and were put in a room next to smokers. The shower was temperamental with heat and pressure.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect. The bed was really comfortable and the room was clean.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    7.5
    This is my regular hotel in Berlin and I am satisfied there...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had 2 different bookings, for last night other room. Although I had asked well in advance (in the 2nd booking) to combine them so I would stay in one room, this was not delt with properly. In both rooms the shower could not hang well at the wall and were calcified, in one the window couldn't stay open properly at night. Some maintenance is needed.

    This is my regular hotel in Berlin and I am satisfied there - good wifi, close to metro and several busstops, workdesk, nice staff. Supermarket, nightshop, bank, snackbar, pubs and a huge park Airport Tempelhof nearby. Good breakfast buffet but I rarely take that...

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    5.4
    The staff was friendly and the hotels is clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The food was often burned and seemed to be left over from the previous day. The building is very dated.

    The staff was friendly and the hotels is clean.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    9.2
    The hotel is close to the subway stop, and it is located in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast area is small and can be really crowded. Sometimes in the night you have to wait for the receptionist to open the main door, oe the door from the parking.

    The hotel is close to the subway stop, and it is located in a nice neighbourhood. Madame tee serves a nice variety of tee, Bergmanstraße has plenty of restaurant options. I recommend marheineke markthalle where you can buy fresh groceries and taste some of the food they cook there. There are couple nice bars on mehringdamm street, like melitta sundstrom, etc. The room was clean, the bed was ok. On each floor there's a wifi router, so you have free internet connection. The staff was nice, for example we asked for hot milk for our coffee and they remembered our habbits and they served it also the next morning, without our asking. I find this very thoughtful.

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Columbia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: