Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Consul This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Oxfordstraße 12-16, Nordstadt, 53111 Bonn, Germany

#35 of 69 hotels in Bonn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 291 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in an inner courtyard where people from the nearby betting club/casino hang out. Most of those people were not looking friendly at all. The hotel is out-dated. The pillows are too soft.

    The reception staff are very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our stay was rather disrupted by circumstances outside the hotel's control. I don't have any major complaints; we walked from the station and had we been frail / had a lot of luggage, that would have been a problem, but you could easily get a taxi or probably public transport. Despite that, it's still close to the city centre for sightseeing - very near to Beethoven-Haus, for example. It was very hot when we visited, and we couldn't get the aircon to work, but due to my health problems didn't get a chance to discuss that with reception - I'm sure they would have sorted it.

    The stand out point of this hotel is the staff, who were amazing. I had a serious problem with hayfever and other allergies, and my breathing got difficult enough to call for an ambulance. Within a couple of minutes of us reporting it, reception had a first aider with me who was very calm and helpful, and he then helped explain what was going on to the paramedics (who did speak English, but probably not quite as well). Although I escaped from hospital the same night, we had to cut our stay short, and even though we had prepaid and wouldn't necessarily have expected to get a full refund for either or both of the unused nights, they offered us one without us even asking for it. The room itself was a very good size, and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, very friendly and helpful staff, big room, parking lot in front of hotel or parking garage, strong shower, electric plug beside the bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty expensive but I believe that was because of some city event at time of my stay so OKish:)

    Very kind staff, overal cleanness of the hotel and quiet room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had need water mid night and I called to reception. they replied to me that they have no room service facilities. it's really unexpectabl.

    Bonn city

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only issues were room was a little warm and some odd noises from the heating/water system in the middle of the night

    Perfectly pleasant and fair value for money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall, the decor of the hotel is rather dated, though that's a minor concern as everything is clean and in working order. The single rooms are rather small, but as Bonn hotel prices have shot up recently, value-for-money here is still better than in many other places.

    Really friendly and helpful staff, comfortable room with all the necessary amenities for a short business trip and a good breakfast selection. Strong wifi. Hotel Consul is in under 5 min walking distance of the 66 tram which connects to the UN Campus (where my work-related meetings took place). The hotel is also in 5 minute walking distance of Bonn city centre, which has plenty of shops, restaurants and services. Happy to recommend this stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    none

    The breakfast was excellent. There's a quiet good selections of spread. The staff are so friendly and very helpful. The room is comfy and so homely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was not stable. The bathroom was small compared to the room. Room was fine, but bathroom needs Upgrade first. It was difficult to understand that the hotel had their own parking on groundlevel (there was some signs in german in the parkinghouse, but I didnt understand) so I had to carry my luggage up the stairs and walk a bit to get to the hotel. There is a big road next to the hotel, so to cross, you need to walk for a while to get over it. (To get to the old centrum) If you walk on the backside of the hotel, it doesnt feel very safe in the later hours.

    I hit the jackpot With this booking, since I got a cozy suite all by myself! The receptionstaff was very welcoming, and informing. The reception area was warm, but the room had Nice airconditioning. The size of the room was great, minibar (empty) big Television, big romantic bed, working table, short way from reception. I got memories from my childhood, visiting hotels in Germany in the 90ths because of the Nice gesture of placing Haribo-bears (candy) at the bed pillows. (The interior was also 90ths, but I do like that cosy style! The Beethoven house was near.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather dated. Room was a bit smelly. Noise from the car park at 6am as some homeless folks had a nice chat over a beer.

    It was available when other hotels were not. Price was OK given the booking situation. Walk to the train station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would appreciate a kettle in the room to be able to make coffee or tea but otherwise, I was very satisfied with my stay there.

    The staff was very helpful and friendly, the breakfast rich and tasty.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel really(!) needs a renovation - equipment is very old and worn out. Cleaning requires lot of improvement. Hotel management should also understand that you cannot wash the same towels indefinitely - they got worn out too and they require replacement from time to time.

    Staff at the reception was very kind and co-operative. Location is good - quite in a center.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a bed for one of the people staying who has walking difficulties and we're given a room a very long walk from the lift which was a struggle for them to reach each time. The person had a hard time getting there and we were very angry we were placed so far from the lift.

    Good room with good location and nice staff. One person needed special assistance and we got the appropriate bathroom, however...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kettle in the room to make a hot drink. It was an old hotel and not updated, with the name 'Consul' suspect it used to be some kind of consulate in the pat when Bonn was Germany's capital

    Location was excellent for this hotel. Clean bed and good spacious room that was pleasant to stay in.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great localization in city center and Bethoveen's house.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful staff, good location in the city center

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was tiny.

    The staff were amazing. So friendly and willing to help out despite it sometimes being out of their normal remit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there were some very hilarious staff who made guests feel most welcome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I quite old, and poorly maintained. The price does not reflect the quality of the Hotel.

    The people are nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entire hotel is quite old and appears a little outdated.

    Very friendly and nice personnel, very nice breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from courtyard cars engine running in the morning

    Location and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit difficult to find on the car navigation system

    Location. Friendly and efficient staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit tired and dated. If you are looking for a place just to sleep then there should be no worries.

    Very central, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Stayed here a few times already, always coming back gladly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WIFI was extra and I couldn't find the password.

    The breakfast bar was very good and included traditional German and American items.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Interior design could use an upgrade

    Good location, tasty breakfast, clean rooms.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is amazing! Almost in front of The Bethoven House

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place, great staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in bad condition. Breakfast not included. Sad Hotel overall.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow was too soft. Double bed was two single beds.

    Good breakfast and good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Vanessa, the front desk lady is great !

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just that the wifi reception in my room was terrible.

    Wonderful staff - so helpful !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smelt unclean/stale.

    Good variety and choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It might need a bit of renovation

    Very friendly staff, helpful. Clean and spacious room. Overall I was happy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    tea making cattle in each room

    location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outdated decoration

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good :)

    + Staff was VERY helpful and friendly + Very comfortable beds + Good location + Clean + Very good wifi

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms a bit small, but clean

    Super helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was really uncomfortable and there was a strange smell in the bathroom.

    Location was very good.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The 1st room given to me was extremelt small and not very well lit, but they upgraded me to a bigger room a few days later

    the staff are extremely nice and efficient, location just few meters away from downtown

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    not very nice outside hotel. As a single female traveller it is a little intimidating walking down a side passage passed some very dodgy characters to the hotel entrance. no bath only a shower. no kettle in room.

    I only needed to stay one night stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. great location, easy to find, easy to park.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    n/a

    courteous staff / breakfast buffet

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I loved the breakfast and the clearness of the establishment which should be rated as a 4 star hotel

    I liked the friendliness of the staff

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very good value for money, friendly staff, great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi was not great, but it was free.

    All the staff were really friendly.

There are also 39 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: