Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Courtyard by Marriott Bochum Stadtpark This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Klinikstrasse 43-45, 44791 Bochum, Germany

#5 of 39 hotels in Bochum

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1345 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    5.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No free Wifi! It is a shame that a 4 stars hotel does only have paid wifi. For slow internet you have to pay 2.5€, for faster one 9.5€ - per day! In some rooms you hear the whole night long the door of the garage chattering. Breakfast costs 20€ per person.

    Frendly stuff, free parking in the near of the hotel. Clean and nice rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A really well located property in the park and beside the zoo. Room was clean, comfy and very well ventilated. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will be back for sure.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No free wifi in room.(Had to go lobby for free wifi)

    Large and comfortable rooms also bathroom with bath was big ,bed was very comfortable.Very pleasant was a free sauna which I enjoyed very much.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    No free WiFi in the rooms; they charge 2,50 for WiFi access. Considering the room pricing, WiFi should be included, charging extra seems stupid from a psychological point of view. Also the phone line to reception did not work, and the room had not been properly cleaned: It still had an old newspaper from the previous guest, as well as their room key card holder with their name on it. We stayed over the weekend and had to go elswhere for breakfast because the Hotel did not wish us to bring even one friend for breakfast! (We would of course have been willing to pay for the additional breakfast.) Instead we went to Café Ferdinand near the Central Station, which was very good.

    Very quiet rooms, beautiful view of the park. We got an upgrade from studio to suite (free of charge). Quality of the interior was good, though maybe a bit old-fashioned.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I wanted to use my apple TV for the first time. I had problem with connection to WiFi and asking the staff for help, unfortunately got not satisfactory support. This I recommend to improve for the future.

    I always stay at this hotel while traveling to Germany. For business purposes everything for me is just perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice staff and great location for our trip. We could walk to the centre of town and leave the car behind or if needed take the car for a day trip.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast at 19 euros is priced 50% over its true value. But the issue is not just price: the chef favors quantity and variety over quality. food was low grade, unworthy of a 4-5 star hotel. Restaurant menu is uninspired.

    Best location in Bochum, just next to a magnificent park and the Zoo. Hotel is well managed and innovative, as for example replacing minibar stock with central stock of snacks and beverages just opposite the cash desk in reception. One exception, the bottle of good Spanish Red in the room for merciful 8,50 euros.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel's standard is good but the atmosphere is not what I hoped for. It is a very quiet residential neighborhood. I was surprised by the size of this hotel in this area. The staff is professional. If you look for something quiet then this might be a good fit. I missed a vibe. Don't expect too much from the hotel bar. The restaurant next door is nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced snacks and drinks at the mini bar in Reception. Buy these items outside the hotel to avoid being ripped off.

    Very comfortable stay. Bed was very big and had great nights sleep. Breakfast was very large and diverse with high quality produce. The food in the restaurant was wonderful (not that cheap, but well worth it). Staff are very hospitable and helpful throughout. Highly recommend and bonus is being located in a beautiful park with lovely green

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel I really like. Rooms are comfortable. Breakfast is an advantage by starting a day in a good condition. If you like to start your day with some kind of training the fitness center is a place to be recommended. By good weather you've got a wonderful park in front of the hotel, so you can run or walk. WIFI connection is perfect.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - No flexible cancelation policy - Expensive for a city like Bochum - Small Rooms - Internet should be free in 2017 - Horrendous Breakfast Prices - No Complementary Water or Snacks - Was asked to pay upfront - I cannot recommend this hotel at all and was highly disappointed - Telephone Cable was disconnected upon arrival - Rooms were old and a bit run down

    - Bed was comfortable - AC worked

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lot of "extra" costs. 1- WIFI is only free is public area, lobby & restaurant. Otherwise it is 2.50EUR per 24hrs. 2- Car parking 10EUR per day 3- Breakfast is 19EUR a head. We knew he had not booked a room with breakfast so did expect to pay, however 19EUR is a bit extortionate for a mediocre buffet breakfast. 10EUR would be much more appropriate. 4- We ordered a glass of "house" red wine at the bar. They gave us the wine and said it was 9.20EUR.. when we said, Pardon? the waitress said "I don't make the prices" and took our money. (You can buy a full bottle in your room for 8.20EUR) Slightly shocked we took the glass and tried to savour every drop. When we looked at the bar menu later on we noticed there were several "House red's". The most basic being 2.50-4EURO. Unbelievable.

    Bed was comfortable and room clean. Hotel was situated in a good location, a nice stroll through the park into town.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no soap in my room when I arrived and none again the next day. Apparently the hotel had placed an order for soap (/shampoo/gel) which was late arriving, and so these amenities were not provided to the guests! There was a kettle for hot water in the room, but instant coffee was available in my room only the first two days of my five day stay. Although this is a nice hotel, I wouldn't stay there again because of these annoying little détails.

    Great staff, good restaurant, quiet location next to a large park with nearby subway station.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no facility to have coffee and a roll for breakfast unless one partakes of the full buffet, which I never would. I normally just have coffee and a roll or toast. There was no room service, which a hotel which claims to be 4 star, should provide. I was disgusted by the feeding station for dogs in the main lobby. It would not be allowed under Irish hygiene laws and I don't believe it should.

    The room and bed were extremely comfortable and the shower operated well

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the night ther were outside the hotel loud noises like shooting. We were frightened. Later we heard it was a wedding party

    The situation in the park, close to the city center

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The extra bed we had for an adult was too short and meant for a child....

    Really friendly staff helping us out! Nice range of snacks and beer to a VERY reasonable price! Very quite and peaceful place! Close to the Bochum stadium :-), and a reasonable walk to the trainstation / short ride with at taxi (10€...)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very clean, spacious and lovely and cool during very hot weather. The staff were very professional, friendly and efficient. Breakfast was excellent and constantly filled up again. I would always come back. Thank you for a lovely time!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location for our purpose, inside a nice park and a 10 minute walk from the centre. Secure car park. Very friendly and helpful staff. Large comfy room, with tea/coffee facilities. Very good breakfast buffet. Free wifi. Efficient aircon, which was very welcome in the 30 degree heat. Able to buy drinks and snacks after the bar had closed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything making you happy and c omfortable..reception...clean..quite..metro station is just near about one station by metro you will be in the centre...musical hall walking distance..

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staffeli and very clean and pleasant Rom, perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NO free Wi-Fi in the rooms, terribly disappointing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed here 10 years ago and I think some aspects of the fit out are looking tired/dated.

    Good quality for the location I needed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    As usually very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit dated, workout is limited, no weights

    The staff takes care you feel at home...!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They overcharged me for room

    It’s fine

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bathtub no free wifi in the room(only available at lobby)

    Kindest staffs and confortable room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no room service, food quality, staff professionalism, internet

    location, clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet. A little bit far from the main train station

    Nice and cozy suit. Comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy and covered parking, next to zoo, quite but centrally located.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no room service

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I strongly recommend to stay at this hotel. All is great.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wifi

    friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing really.

    Location for families was optimal with surrounding park and zoo.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited restaurant menu if you don't eat meat

    Service very pleasant

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charged internet in rooms, high parking charges.

    Spacious room, perfect location, sumptuous breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi is free only in the lobby!

    Location and the atmosphere

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lage Top !

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one bed blanket, bad WiFi, breakfast 19€ per person

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better tv channel selection.

    Friendly bar and restaurant staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor lamp can't be turned off, hair drier did not work

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should be some variety of vegetate in breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None of the sockets in the room would hold a (standard German) plug. They were so well used that the plugs kept dropping out onto the floor. A minor thing - until you can't use your phone the next morning.

    Good food and helpful staff, happy to speak English to us. Our room had a beautiful view of the park. The neighborhood was quiet and architecturally interesting, a very nice place for a morning run or walk.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet. First day it wasn't working at all. Next day it was fixed, but still very slow...

    King size bed, nice balcony and friendly staff!! Beautiful park just other side of the street. Perfect with a dogs.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Poor free wifi.

    The room was very big and spacious. I liked the breakfast. Finelly the good amount of fruit for a vegan. Could be more vegetables. But in general I liked it very much.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Little bit too far away from restaurants etc. especially in winter time.

    Great place to stay with private parking in the basement, good gym and sauna. Great rooms and a good restaurant/breakfast and bar. Surrounded by a park for working/running.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was lovely and the staff were all so friendly and helpful. The food was so good! The breakfast buffet was yum and the restaurant on site had super tasty dishes too!

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Comfortable & immaculately clean hotel with very helpful & friendly staff who all spoke excellent English - good location about 15 minutes walk from city centre. Hotel in lovely setting above park & art gallery / museum, I enjoyed beautiful stroll to & from city in sunny frosty weather - Recommended!

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Having to pay for high-speed Wi-Fi. surely these days this should be included in the price of the hotel

    Friendly helpful staff, spotlessly clean hotel overlooking the park

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Different rate for weekend because they have conference. Thought if you book longer than a weekend it shouldn't matter as you're staying on the same room with same amenities.

    Rooms are well presented, comfy beds and polite staff

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Arrived late and left early however the greeting by staff and room were perfect with everything that could be required.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Drain of hand washbasin blocked, flooded the Bathroom. Changed room and found used shampoo tube on top of towels.

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Peaceful, quiet, excellent beds! Though the aging hotel facilities need a facelift soon.

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    TV didnt work (IBAN) Shampoo is like in a Motel The whole Hotel a bit "lived down"

    Staff very friendly Breakfast ok

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Empty minibar. Slow wifi.

    Nothing special, ok for one night.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Courteous, clean, parking, location

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    in general is fine

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing!

    For a large hotel which is part of a large chain, the staff are still friendly and helpful. I will very likely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful Park setting, super friendly staff and a fabulous breakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor free WiFi and poor payment WiFi!

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the beautiful adjacent park; big enough for a really good run or walk; some spectacular trees and bushes

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Absence of a second bedding. Bath tub was too small.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    dinner-quality poor

    staff; service; breakfast; location;

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    You should not have to pay Wi-Fi.

    The straff was very helpfull.

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Guests also reviewed these properties: