Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of City Hotel Hannover This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Limburgstr. 3, Mitte, 30159 Hannover, Germany

#60 of 119 hotels in Hannover

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 310 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Definitely will stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are rock solid hard. But somehow they are also very magically comfy.

    This hotel is a five minute walk from the main train station in Hannover. We stayed in their biggest room, and it was really nice. Breakfast was great and always had a very relaxed atmosphere. When my husband's luggage got stuck in Chicago and had to be sent to the hotel, the staff was awesome at handling that situation and made sure we got his luggage!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Simple but comfy hotel in the heart of Hannover
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is just awesome: it takes you like 5 minutes to reach Neues Rathaus, Maschsee as well as Hauptbahnhof. There are a lot of cozy places to eat and to drink around. Plus a lot of shops if you' feel like buying some stuff. What's especially great, is the public transport ticket that they give you at check-in. So literally you travel around the city for free as long as you stay at the City Hotel Hannover! I didn't know this when I was chosing the hotel so that was a special surprise to me :) Breakfast is fine by the way. There are also some vending machines and a coffee machine for the rest of the day. The room was rather small but I didn't need much: I travelled alone so the only thing I needed was a good comfy bed which I got.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    just perfect, nice and comfortable for shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lack of bakeries and grocery markets around

    very friendly, nice and helpful staff, they are hosting people with hearts :) location are awesome, minutes away from all the shops and public transportation

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    5.4
    Worse experience EVER! Please take time to read not to experience this yourself!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a room in this hotel with almost one month in advance. I was supposed to arrive in Hannover at 5:40 p.m. from Amsterdam and about 7:00 p.m. in the hotel. Due to a computer failure, there was a disturbance and flights in Amsterdam were delayed or cancelled so my flight was cancelled and I was rebooked to another flight which took off at 11:00 p.m. At 9:00 p.m I called the hotel from Amsterdam airport and announced the delay and the person on duty at the hotel assured me that there will be a system at the entrance, I will have to type my surname and I'll get the keys. I arrived at the hotel arround 12:50 a.m., tried few times to type my name but it wasn't recognized. As there were some instructions on the door, following the instructions I went then to the night entrance, pressed the ringer button but no answer, then called the hotel telephone number. A very nice lady answered, saying that she's home but she will call a colleague who's on duty. But the colleague didn't answer. In the meanwhile, a gentleman (another hotel guest) came in and let me enter so I spent some time inside, calling again and again the same lady. She kept saying that shețs trying to call her colleague. After waiting 30 min for her to find a colleague to wake up, she told me to go back at the front entrance where I should find a ticket with my name. I told her there is no ticket, but I went back at the front entrance, looked to no end for an unexisting ticket and tried again to type my surname. All in all I spent one hour around the hotel. I was permanently in touch with the very polite lady who advise me to take a taxi and try to find another hotel _AT 2:00 a.m !!!!!!_ and come back in the morning. I asked her at least to help with a reccommendation as I'm for the very first time in Hannover but she couldn't help. After another 40 min journey in a taxi asking in many hotels for free rooms, in the night, I finnaly found a room in Andor Plaza Hotel.

    Locatia

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Great Hotelll !!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini fridge

    Great location, you can walk anywhere Helpfull staff, when you ask something they answer your question and explain further in detail. We came 4 hours before our check-in time and our room was ready, they asked no extra charge and at check-out they've let our bagages stay in the hotel Great breakfast, for a 3 star hotel, they have a full breakfast option Small but functional room (bonus: at 4th floor they have a good city view, great at sunset) For its price, best you can find :D

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.1
    Hanover YMCA
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old-ish place lacking charm. Basic simple hotel. Breakfast room is window-less. Not exactly what the reviews and photos led us to expect. Wifi speed is slow (no streaming).

    Friendly staff, subsidized parking in parking garage 100m away. No car noise as it's in pedestrian zone.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    5.0
    Never go back again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff forget to clean properly. So we need to ask new towel, shampoo another day, or even remove some garbage. Internet and Wifi was disaster.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    10
    Excellent value for money. Clean, friendly and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the lady on reception especially helpful with suggestions for restaurants, places to visit and the discounted travel card. This hotel is great value for money situated in the heart of the old city.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    8.8
    Very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a hot spell in Hannover, and in the absence of AC or a fan, it was pretty hot in the room.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast solid and good. Great value for the money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location and staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    Staff are nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is small

    Staff are nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.9
    Hotel is heart of the city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not heated well and poor breakfast (not a big deal)

    Hotel is heart of the city... Location is great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small

    Convenience, staff friendliness

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.5
    De kamer was klein en vol.
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    De kamer was klein en vol.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.1
    Great Front Clerk.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is a little bit too small..

    Great Front Clerk. They are so kind and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.8
    Accommodation was well priced and convenient to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was rather plain and austere.

    Very nice breakfast. Great location to get to the main train station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    3.3
    Really small room, a joke
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really small room, a joke

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Why not to visit once again, if visiting Hannover that is beautiful good peaceful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was very good. Personnel was very kind. Hotel was rather silent, at least in the 3rd floor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    Staff was so helpful and positive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet could be better

    Staff was so helpful and positive. The hotel is in the city center so it was easy to reach shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.7
    lady on desk at night had no record of my booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    lady on desk at night had no record of my booking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.9
    Great location,friendly staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet conection was sooo slow.

    Great location,friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    7.9
    parking in nearby multi-storey carpark
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    windows without noise insulation

    parking in nearby multi-storey carpark

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.2
    Good hotel in Hannover
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    quiet, free card for the public transport.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    good hotel in the heart of Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    travel ticket, ease of access

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    5.8
    OK if you only want a bed for the night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Insufficient replacement of food when low had to keep asking

    Reception Staff very helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.6
    Very nice was to have mineral water, coffee and tea in the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice was to have mineral water, coffee and tea in the room, and it was free.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    4.6
    Clean, tidy ,expensive style hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor , breakfast.

    Was like a trendy hostel from the early 70s. Really clean tho and well situated. I wouldn't recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    9.2
    Lovely little hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very friendly and efficient staff. Room small but had everything you need. Bonus was a balcony overlooking the city.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    8.3
    Excellent staff made for a splendid stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely helpful and accomadating. They went the extra mile to make us comfortable after the airlines lost our bags.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    7.1
    Location is just great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room was extremely small. But if you go to Hannover to be out of the room all day long, does not really matter.

    Location is just great. Very close to the main station and subway, you can practically be anywhere around Hannover in 20 min. I also received a public transport voucher from Reception. Very useful if you find yourself lost with all the public transport companies.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    3.3
    Location was near to Kropcke (subway train station) and many...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Bed was very uncomfortable. Two small single beds were joined to make double bed. Single small blanket instead of double blanket. Tea kettle was very old & dirty. Furniture was old. Hotel needs renovation. Limited variety in breakfast.

    Location was near to Kropcke (subway train station) and many Halal Restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    7.1
    - Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - Volume control of TV was artificially limited; when someone talked outside the room it was actually hard to understand the TV. - Rooms have no a/c. - Hotel cannot be reached via car, public car park needs to be used, hotel offers a discount though.

    - Very friendly and helpful staff. - Despite its location in the middle of the busy city the rooms are actually very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    5.8
    Good location - very close to subway.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Several issues. First, payment is a total mess! Make sure you bring with you the printed Booking.com confirmation - they first tried to charge me more money until I showed them the Booking.com's email. I heard another guest having the same argument with them a few days later, so obviously mine wasn't an isolated case. Also 3 weeks before my arrival they charged my credit card, although Booking.com said I would pay at arrival. Then, rather than refunding, they tried charging my credit card once again for the same amount! I had to change my credit card number to prevent them from taking money! It was all sorted out eventually but took several phone calls to them and to my bank. The second issue is the location - too many beggars around, too many drunk people yelling all night. Also street cleaning is too noisy at nights. Impossible to sleep with open windows and sometimes even with closed ones. The room was too small, and it was a lot of effort to enter the shower cabin. The room was too cold - the radiator wasn't enough to warm it up at 10 c outside, I can imagine what a freezing cold it is when it's 0 C. This hotel worths 50 eur per night, no more, so if you pay this, it's worth it. But I was there during CeBIT so I paid 215 eur per night! But that's Hannover during CeBIT - rip the foreigners off :)

    Good location - very close to subway. Bed was comfortable. Room was clean. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    7.1
    Central location,10 minutes walk to nearest metro rail...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was opened by house-cleaning staff with their key while it was occupied by me during morning hours-there is no latch/bolt inside room door to prevent unauthorized entry-they expect guests to hang "busy" door-holders outside the gate to prevent this. Room & Toilet were too small,breakfast is too basic-not even bread toaster,not meant for vegetarians.Hot Coffee vending machine- need to pay Euro1 to buy a cappuccino.

    Central location,10 minutes walk to nearest metro rail station Kropcker,helpful staff,many cafe,stores located within 5 minutes walking distance,15-20 minutes walk to Hannover Main Rail station.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    6.7
    very close to the shopping centers, coffee shops and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I think I got the worst room in the hotel as there was no desk to work on, window blankets were not blocking the sun light. No coffee/tea compliment table. Asked to change the room and they informed all the rooms are the same, however by chance another room was open and I could see the desk, Sofa and balcony. Generally, I don't think I will go there again and I think it's very much over priced.

    very close to the shopping centers, coffee shops and restaurants. Also it's a short walking distance to the main train station as well as Kropcke under ground. The free ticket to both trains and the underground was good and useful. Staff was very friendly especially the nice lady in the reception who got my bulbs repaired.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    7.9
    communication problems with some staff members (poor...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    communication problems with some staff members (poor knowledge of English)

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    10
    Friendly small hotel, peaceful, no noise at all.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly small hotel, peaceful, no noise at all.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    8.8
    All staff were very friendly,location is close to HBF,bar...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Narrow bed

    All staff were very friendly,location is close to HBF,bar,shops,is perfect!

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    8.8
    Location, Staff response & Public transport pass to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    room service not available. & reception will be closed by 11pm

    Location, Staff response & Public transport pass to travel in tramp & bus.

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    8.3
    Friendly, easy, central and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed's comfort level was a challenge, but not enough to disrupt my stay.

    Friendly, easy, central and clean

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    10
    travel pass
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    travel pass

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    9.6
    Very central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very central location. Lovely staff. Room was really spacious. Nearby parking also very reasonably priced.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    8.8
    There is a construction going on outside, so starting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is a construction going on outside, so starting shortly after 5am it's impossible to sleep, even with your window closed. (Room 352)

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    7.5
    PROXIMITY TO THE EXIBIITION CENTRE.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    NO ENGLISH TEA.

    PROXIMITY TO THE EXIBIITION CENTRE. AIRPORT ONLY 25 MINS BY TAXI. STAFFS HELPFUL.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    8.8
    The room was just as on the photo.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was just as on the photo. Clean, warm, not so comfortable but just enough space for one person.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    9.6
    Staff speak English very well and quite nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast can be more variety.

    Staff speak English very well and quite nice.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    7.5
    The staff bery frindly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed not so comfortable

    The staff bery frindly

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    9.2
    situation - downtown, close to the shops and historical...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    situation - downtown, close to the shops and historical buildings staff very kind perfect breakfast

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Browse City Hotel Hannover traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: