Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Darmstadt City This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Kasinostr. 6, 64293 Darmstadt, Germany

#16 of 33 hotels in Darmstadt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 450 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.7
    It's Ibis = small and boring, but clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There's this weird annoying system of logging into hotel Wi-Fi, similar to airport Wi-Fis, Telekom hotspots, etc. But it mostly works, no breathtaking speeds, but just fine. The working "desk" is rather tiny and the wooden chair is uncomfortable, so spending one workday in the hotel was not exactly comfy. The room is really small, fine for having a place to stay overnight, but nothing more. The breakfast is way too expensive, didn't take it.

    It's an Ibis, don't expect miracles. But you do get a tiny, but clean room with clean bathroom. Location is a bit crappy, on a noisy street with a lot of car traffic. On the other hand, tram stop is within a short distance and getting to the city center or to the main railway station is fairly easy. A few weird restaurants around the hotel, can't really recommend any, maybe just the Theke - an oldskool pub with old guys drinking beer and watching young bartending girls... Fine place for an evening beer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Good location to walk almost everywhere
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly.Only one lady with dark hair was friendly.Pity can't remember her name.Felt like they were doing for me a favour.

    Assorted salami and assorted bread

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Our stay was comfortable and very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking garage was tight. Do not bring a standard US SUV there at all. It will not fit. it is built for European cars with a low ceiling. They do have outdoor parking that is pay during the day

    The staff was great, especially with us leaving coats in the room to say they have them and I will be picking them up Thursday. The breakfast was so good. Nothing better than a make your own waffle :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.7
    Short 2 day stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better markings going into the garage as the entrance is quite narrow, wife nearly scratched the new car. Lesson, do not let the wife drive into a narrow opening with your new car.

    Nice clean accommodation about 15 minutes walk from city centre. Good location for getting around as on a main road junction. Aussie bar on street level, not attached to hotel, good food and wine. One asks why go to an Aussie Bar when there are good local bars nearby ????

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    Good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you have a big car, you can have troubles to park in the underground garage.

    Good value for the money. Although the window faced the street, we didn´t hear any noise.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.8
    Worth the stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There underground parking wasn't available due to recent fire, but staff pointed me to a nearby secure parking area.

    Great location and staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    7.5
    Couldn't use parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was completely closed due to construction. Garage was the reason why I opbooked here, so it is disappointing. But, I could easily find parking space close to hotel.

    Normal average ibis. That's all.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    9.2
    comfortable short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    limited dining options in immediate surrounding

    within walking distance of both main station and city centre (10-15 minutes walk); also tram station around the corner

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    8.8
    Great if you just want the basics
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints, just don't expect anything other than the bare necessities!

    Staff were helpful and friendly 5-10 minutes from the town centre Room was clean and comfortable Free WiFi

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    5.8
    Clean room and nice breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no refligerators. The staff refused keeping bags in my last day. He said there were no rooms to keep. That is very poor survice.

    Clean room and nice breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    6.7
    Good price and location, but comfort can be much improve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -there is no safety deposit box. I think it is very important to have one inside the room. -My room was near the elevator, during the night it is very diffullt to get to sleep. i m disturb every time when someone took elevator, especially after midnight.

    Good location and Good price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.6
    Great Location and Comfortable Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect and I guess it won't kill anyone to walk 10 minutes to Luisienplatz or to the main station. It's a safe and lively street. There are pubs and restaurants around. The room was comfortable and clean. The air conditioning in my room on the 4th floor was working well. Yannick at the reception was very helpful and patient with all my questions.He had a big smile all the time I was there. I didn't have breakfast at the Hotel so I can't say anything about that. I could stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    6.7
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel didn't provide kettle. When I need a glass of HOT WATER, I had to pay!!! OMG

    Location near the tram & bus station. Near middle class restaurant

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    7.9
    Central location, ok price but only bare necessities included
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are really no amentities in the room. No fridge or iron and minimal bathroom extras. The curtains had holes and the room was fairly light in the morning making it hard for me to sleep in.

    There was a free WiFi option which was handy. The location is very central.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel for a few nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable room. Staff wete friendly upon check in. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bathroom complimentary as body lotion.

    Great location. Amazing choice on breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    The location was good.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.5
    Breakfast with assorted choices 😊
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I complained before about staff I found unfriendly but abit of improvement now.

    Accessibility to train station & city centre.Perfect location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was perfect
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are cleans but should be refurbished

    Breakfast was perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    2.9
    Right place and value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good , wi fi working good , Room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    6.3
    The facility matches the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facility matches the price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    Good located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear everything from others rooms and also from the hall

    Confortable bed and great breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    4.6
    Noisy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.1
    Basic comfortable place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room - that would have been nice.

    Basic comfortable place to stay

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.8
    Always ibis
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, very good

    Always ibis, always value for money!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    8.3
    Nice clean room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a little unconfortable - would like to have had softer pillows.

    Nice clean room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    7.5
    walking distance to all important places
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no com.

    toilet and shower

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    8.8
    Easy to reach by bus
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to reach by bus

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    5.4
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom

    Breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.1
    Good option for staying near the center of Darmstadt
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite expensive Wifi could be better

    Breakfast was good Rooms were decent and clean Walking distance from station and city center Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    6.7
    good location clean and quite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    good location clean and quite

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    7.9
    Overall the stay was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking and AC didn't work.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    5.8
    Location was fine, close to the citycenter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    streetnoise

    Location was fine, close to the citycenter

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.2
    Free parking was nice and the staff were welcoming.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free parking was nice and the staff were welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    9.2
    Clean room, friendly staff, various tv channels
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No safty box, more than 10 min. walk from HBF.

    Clean room, friendly staff, various tv channels

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    8.3
    - the staff helped me with my taxi request
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - no boiler in the room - i asked to buy a water bottle and a tea for my room and paid 6 euros, a bit too much

    - the staff helped me with my taxi request - room was clean and comfy - breakfast is basic but ok - wifi was good

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    8.3
    very clean, friendly staff, quiet rooms, comfy bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast a bit expensive for what it was, likewise the vending machine for water etc

    very clean, friendly staff, quiet rooms, comfy bed. good location halfway between train station and town centre, free wifi and printing in foyer which was handy for boarding cards etc.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    5.4
    The hotel was very convenient from downtown convention...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The air conditioner was not working so we were forced to open the window to a very loud and busy street. The staff was not very helpful in fixing the situation, and not interested in compensation for our troubles.

    The hotel was very convenient from downtown convention center.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    9.6
    Breakfast buffet was good.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The free WIFI could have been better, but many hotels have this issue.

    Breakfast buffet was good. Room was clean and comfortable, with everything I needed.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    6.3
    Private parking, bed confortable, near to higway but...
    • Solo traveller

    A lot sound from staff who cleaning the rooms in the morning Drinks and food very expensive

    Private parking, bed confortable, near to higway but attention a lot speed control in the street to and from hotel Frankfurt town in 20 min by car

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    9.2
    There was someone at reception at all hours and courteous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is no fridge in the room.

    There was someone at reception at all hours and courteous and helpful always. Breakfast was available until 10 am (11 am on holidays) and I liked the quality of the bread and yogurt. Coffee and drinks were available even outside breakfast time. In the room the WI-FI signal was quite good and the room itself was quiet.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    7.1
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I don't remember anything negative.. beside of, probably, that when I spilled out the coffee in my room, I had to buy a new one, instead of getting another one for free.

    Good value for money. Like the Ibis rooms in general, although the materials aren't of the highest quality, the room felt "warm" and spacious (for that price class).

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    6.3
    We did not have warm water one day and the personnel was not...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    We did not have warm water one day and the personnel was not conforting at all. In the end we have got the warm water the next day, but this was not even excused by personnel.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    5.4
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff is really stupid.They make so much fault but not do any apologies. 1. I order 2 nights but was locked out! 2. Towers are not provided!

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    6.3
    This Ibis is relatively new and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clerk at front desk was cool at best and rude at worst. Be sure to book thru Accor rather than Booking.com if you want membership credit for your stay. Breakfast is ridiculously expensive compared to the cost of the room so we ate elsewhere.

    This Ibis is relatively new and clean.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    7.9
    Quite well situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Initial greeting from one member of staff was not very helpful but others were much more welcoming. Wifi was intermittent.

    Quite well situated. Breakfasts were good. Rooms small but reasonable value for money overall.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.2
    Everything was good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We met at the desk a woman with 2 flags: English and German. I asked her if she spoke English and she said "just a little bit". Why do you have an English flag?

    Everything was good! Free parking for customers.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    6.7
    My thumb goes up only for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi was not there. I have stayed in other hotels across Germany, coffee is usually complimentary at least. Even coffee was charged here. The Bed was a little uncomfortable. My toothbrush was thrown near the toilet basin after cleaning, which actually annoyed me. I did expect a bath tub after my long journey, but was disappointed not to find it.

    My thumb goes up only for the location

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    5.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reception is poorly staffed and mostly unattended. Terrible breakfast and no one attends to replenish buffet items.

    Location. Clean and cozy. Value for money.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    7.9
    Convenient for centre of town, technical company office area...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Convenient for centre of town, technical company office area and main railway station with good direct A/C bus service to Frankfurt airport. A room at the back of the hotel is quiet and preferable - hotel on busy street.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    5.0
    Air condition was not working properly in the entire hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Air condition was not working properly in the entire hotel. Was too hot. And staff is not very friendly nor respectful.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    10
    Good location, comfortable rooms.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends

    Good location, comfortable rooms...

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    convenient, close to tram line , easy access to Darmstadt
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    convenient, close to tram line , easy access to Darmstadt

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    5.4
    Too expensive for what it is
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Too expensive for what it is

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    Super comfy bed, quiet rooms, 24 hour reception, clean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Super comfy bed, quiet rooms, 24 hour reception, clean, great location, great and fair prices.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hallway noise - entry door doesn't provide very good sound separation from people arriving late.

    Excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    8.3
    clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    soulless

    clean

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    7.1
    everything was good, or not bad let's say
    • Family with older children

    only one towel for two persons also no drying towel for food.

    everything was good, or not bad let's say

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    6.7
    Because of Frankfurt messe,the price is high during this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Because of Frankfurt messe,the price is high during this time. The reception people are nice, room is tidy, all in all, not bad.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    6.7
    The location is close to the central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We wanted to use a tea pot in the room.

    The location is close to the central.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    7.1
    Good location, good bed and free parking.
    • Couple

    Very overpriced breakfast! 11€ p.p/n for almost nothing. Not even bacon or fruits.

    Good location, good bed and free parking.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    7.5
    Good location, quiet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good location, quiet

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    8.3
    the wifi service is not somewhat convoluted for Apple devices
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the wifi service is not somewhat convoluted for Apple devices

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    7.9
    Location, staff and cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast had to be paid for separately!

    Location, staff and cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    9.6
    Friendly staff, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Best to ask for room on quiet side of hotel if you like to sleep with the window open

    Friendly staff, comfortable room. Large shower

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    9.2
    The bed is big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Labatory, i smell something not good

    The bed is big.. Not so expensive

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    5.4
    location, facilities are modern
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    towels and bed sheets are smelly and disgusting.

    location, facilities are modern

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    6.7
    Nothing to say some thing great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to say some thing great!! I would rate it as average!!

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast 11 € is too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast 11 € is too expensive

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.8
    Location is perfect
    • Solo traveller

    Almost everything

    Location is perfect

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    7.9
    Middle between train station and city center, at ca.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Middle between train station and city center, at ca. 10 min. walk from either; basic breakfast, but good enough.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    Friendly welcome, clean, tidy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly welcome, clean, tidy room. Perfectly adequate for 1 night stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    Location, quietness and a very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    almost 3 euro for a cup of coffee in the morning

    Location, quietness and a very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.5
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea making facilities

    The location

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: