Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Das Gästehaus der Elb Lounge 3 stars

Manteuffelstr. 39, Blankenese, 22587 Hamburg, Germany

#106 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 650 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were good, but they had a wooden edge, when you go to bed, be careful not to rub along with your leg. That's it.

    We first booked for one night to see Hamburg before traveling back home. We soon discovered this wasn't enough, so we booked a second night there. Kind staff, that was no problem. We had a nice room on the 1st floor. Nice room with spacious bathroom. Breakfast was nice, everything was there. Also the underground parking lot was nice and included in the room rate! Overall good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The design of the inside is purely functional, it feels at times like sleeping in an infirmary.

    Location is good, in a nice suburb of Hamburg. Underground garage.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Good little buffet breakfast with good choice. Particularly like the fact that each floor has a counter with hot water for tea, coffee, chocolate and also a bowl of apples. Bottled water is also there to help one self to a glass full.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    our room was not made up or cleaned the first day. even tough we had tea facilities to make tea and offer free water breakfast tea was not avilable and no milk this would have made this facility perfect we went out and bought milk and borrowd tea bags from a freind no information about breakfast times or where the breakfast facilites were with out asking the information

    love view from the balcony in the room situation for the area we were staying, good tea facilities even though there was some negatives we would use the guest house again

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    close proximity to the Hirsch-Park and the Elbe river, great walks with the dog there. Friendly staff (little dog treat and a bowl in the suite that I had). Nice breakfast. Beautiful building.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The room was comfortable and clean. Simply decorated but very practical. Good wifi connection. Extra fruit, coffee and tea available in common area of floor. Simple but good value for money breakfast. Easy Parking available.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was extremely helpful with my arrival - I was due to arrive late at night and they made special arrangements for me to receive my key. The location is beautiful and the breakfast was excellent. The room was comfortable and stylish.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If relying on public transport to get into the center, the hotel is some distance from the S-bahn.

    Lovely hotel in Hamburg's suburbia. Great breakfast, clean rooms. Staff was kind, but a little grumpy :-( Nice walking to the Treppenviertel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The desk is not staffed full time. We forgot to pay and it was really difficult to reach someone the next day in order to settle our account.

    The property is in a quiet, residential neighborhood. The room was clean and larger than most European rooms. They had some nice amenities like fresh fruit and a parking garage.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior design of the guesthouse was not cozy, even if I like modern design. Breakfast was not included to the price, so you needed to pay extra.

    The bed was good and the room was clean. Very good for basic overnight stay. Excellent hairdryer in the bathroom. Wonderful coffee mashine in the breakfast room and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms too small. No space to get into the bed on one side. Would have liked the coffee all day if we could have paid.

    Nice location! Free Coffee after 1 pm.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not most ideal location

    Nice area, good bed and clean room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast Service was amazing. The Hotel staff was super friendly and helpful. I can only recommend this property.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really.

    Great room and very friendly staff who were always willing to help.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact there was no lunch and supper.

    Yes

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Quiet location. Staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nice breafast. Free tee, water and fruits.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    thin walls, breakfast room without windows

    Close to S-Bahn, quiet street

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No proper workdesk in suite, very bad smell from sinks in shower, missing equipment in kitchen. No lift. No table/bar to eat food. Strange lamp at bed in middle, hard to reach switch.

    Nice lady at the reception. Communal areas with free tea and coffee.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    young receptionist professional but icy, glacial the hotel could be "de charme" if the interiors design was made more in accordance with the external old building style

    location, old villa with garden in a very quiet and tidy green area with very nice buildings, near lovely, beautiful Blankenese village

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Very basic (if stylish) furniture in very small rooms. (With a double there was not enough space to get into bed from both sides.) TV fixed to the wardrobe, pointing away from the bed.

    Nice bathroom even if the colours are a little off.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff at reception are very arrogant. The room is very smoll for the Price. Even many guest had Reservation ,we had to wait so long time. Aircontion made wet in the room, no apologize

    the view from Terrace

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The tranquility in a beautiful part of the city, and the ease with which we accessed the city via public transport, also the ease of access to the airport

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    be aware location is not Hamburg, to the next metro station is quite a walk => come by car, parking is no problem; Pricing fits into the Hamburg price landscape, nevertheless it's not a bargain...

    simple, modern, clean, comfortable guest house, perfect for a autonomous stay without frills; good rooms & beds, not large and luxurious, but silent and we slept very well; Free and fast WiFi; the village Blankenese is beautiful and it's a few minutes walk down to the Elbe river

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No services, help only available from around 8am to 8pm. Had no hot water for 3 days. Room for only a bed, with a hard mattress and no shape pillows, a desk (piece of wood) attached to wall with a brace and a small plastic chair. Request for pillows took 3 hrs. Only other light was a goose neck lamp attached to the middle of the bed which hung down at night and would hit you in the head.

    Beautiful old home

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A bit expensive for level of services

    Charming place with very friendly staff!

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Solo traveller

    comfy bed, great location , quiet

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The beautiful and quiet surroundings and the way the house is kept. It has style and we felt comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Perfect or families

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing staff!! Very helpful and friendly!!

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Public transport at the door, quiet and beautiful neighbourhood and lovely facilities with helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room.

    Location and breakfast, friendly front desk.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The size of room is awful.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Browse Das Gästehaus der Elb Lounge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: