Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Daun This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Bochumerstr. 266, 44575 Castrop-Rauxel, Germany

#5 of 7 hotels in Castrop-Rauxel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 217 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 11

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    Generally very pleased with Hotel Daun and would definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Being situated on a very busy main road, it was a bit noisy in the early morning hours and so I decided to wear earplugs for the night as I am a very light sleeper. The other improvement would be to install a lift. Our room was on the 2nd floor and I felt so out of breath climbing the stairs due to my chesty cold.

    Lots of tasty choice at the breakfast bar. Did not like the first bedroom offered, as it would have meant that one of us would have had to climb over the other sleeper in order to get out in the night, as one side of the bed was fitted against the wall. However, we then were offered the suite, one double bed and one extra room with one single bed. This was brilliant, as I had a cold and coughed a lot in the night. My husband slept in the separate room and had a good sleep being undisturbed by my coughing. Also, hotel was easy to locate and is not far from a couple of motorways, so we could easily visit other places. Also the hotel has a lovely outside garden area for meeting friends etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was very nice!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower didnt work properly, switched between cold and hot

    Breakfast was very nice!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    Great breakfast, clean rooms , nice shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was a bit small

    Great breakfast, clean rooms , nice shower

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    We liked polite staff, meals and quietness.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs to beds and stairs to wardrobe.

    We liked polite staff, meals and quietness.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    very good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.8
    A good break very relaxing moment on our long journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendly Ness of the place Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    4.2
    Not worth the price
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unpleasant, condescending receptionist. Hard to communicate in English. Cold and too strait room.

    Free parking.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    5.0
    food was good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the guy was nice, was OK but the room was small, the shower was small, no elevator so had to walk 3 floors with luggage. its just a lot of money for the low value. for a cheaper price it would have been a great stay.

    food was good

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    4.6
    Room was small but as expected for a single room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The male receptionist on the day I arrived was a miserable man. He could hardly be bothered and refused to speak any English despite it obvious I didn't speak German. For somebody in the hospitality business, this is not credible. If I had met him before I went, I wouldn't have gone. I stayed here because Dortmund was full.

    Room was small but as expected for a single room. The en suite was functional and clean. The breakfast was adequate.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    9.6
    The Restaurant food is very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Restaurant food is very good.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    7.5
    Real good restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms too small (single room)

    Real good restaurant. Good Breakfast

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 11

Browse Hotel Daun traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: