Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel de Charme 'zum Schiff'

Hauptstr. 60, 76473 Iffezheim, Germany

#1 of 1 hotels in Iffezheim

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 202 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Hotel de Charme "zum Schiff" is a gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small town, main street location, no-AC/open windows, meant for traffic noise.

    A quaint, small bed-and-breakfast inn, for which one would pay a fortune in the U.S. Here the charm was included in a timber, former-farm house with an inviting courtyard. The owner-operator lives on-premise, greeted me warmly, and proudly escorted me to my room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.1
    Easy to find;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bridal Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shampoo and shower gel in the hotel was quite disappointing cause we didn't take them either for a weekend trip. Not easy to find parking

    Easy to find; fast reaction of staff to all requests

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Romantic Weekend Getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise carries easily from the outside hallways. No toiletries at all.

    The owners are very friendly and accommodating. We weren't sure what time we would be checking in because of my husband's work schedule, but when I called last minute to see if we could check in early, they were happy to oblige. Absolutely charming hotel. Gorgeous decor. Beautiful private bathroom. Grounds are beautiful and well taken care of. Great for our first child-free weekend in a long time. Take the owner's suggestion of eating at L'Agneau restaurant right across the border - it's wonderful! The town itself is just ok, but lots of attractions within a 30-45 minute drive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.1
    Charming.....3.5 star hotel in the country....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are nice, but a bit to simple..needs some upgrading to make It a really 4 star accommodation. The Potential is there !

    The atrium and the entrance are wonderful. The personality of the owner and the staff are very inviting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bridal Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are quite thin so the noise carried quite a bit. We did not notice it from others but we were afraid to disturb other guests when our baby cried.

    This hotel looks like a dream! We only stayed here for 1 night but would have loved to stay longer. The room and garden were very pretty and romantic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    An excellent olde world hotel beautifully restored to include modern facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No evening meal

    The staff were very good, the food and room very good. Due to traffic problems I was late arriving and they had phoned my wife in England to check that I was okay and would be arriving.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.9
    A "Hotel de Charme", which fully justifies this claim
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located right on the main road of this little village close to the French boarder and there is surprisingly heavy traffic, even during the night. A tip: bring your own shower gel and shampoo. There is none available in the room, neither on demand.

    It is described as "Hotel de Charme" and, in deed, once you pass the main gate to the inner court, there is plenty of Charme. If you were to fancy high tech amenities and contemporary design, you wouldn't look at a Hotel de Charme, right? Just to mention: the Wifi is superfast, therefore the Hotel Schiff is suitable for a business trip as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    8.8
    If you like old buildings, this is for you
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no glasses in the room, but we were able to get them from downstairs

    This is an hotel for people who like old and charming buildings, old wooden beams, floors which are not totally flat, odd corners etc. Our room had a very comfortable bed and some nice old furniture. We have a very friendly welcome

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.5
    Definitely a no-go: Having to pay in advance on arrival...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Definitely a no-go: Having to pay in advance on arrival because we did not want breakfast the next morning, and the way I was asked to pay in advance. The staff clearly is not very well-trained or polite.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    good overnight b & b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    difficult to find anywhere to eat in evening without using the car

    Traditional old building with nice atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Delightful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely people and delightful residence. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Very charming renovated old guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very charming renovated old guesthouse. I can highly recommend it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    We had a lovely time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service, delicious breakfasts, beautiful old buildings

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.3
    Nice place for people who travel to France, good breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice place for people who travel to France, good breakfast, nice lady who work in property, very quite and peaceful place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful little hotel full of charme
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confortable nice Little hotel in a great region

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    Travel in time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    can't think of anything

    very pretty, old fashioned house with many original details, I love the style!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    7.5
    Great welcoming house
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When only guest a bit difficult to arrange breakfast timing

    Great welcoming house

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    9.6
    Beautifully furnished hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic breakfast with delicious French cheese. Very quiet hotel with free parking at front of hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    10
    Friendly staff, beautiful boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, beautiful boutique hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    4.6
    We booked and payed for a Bride Room, but only got a double...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked and payed for a Bride Room, but only got a double room. No apology from the hotel. We booked the bride room one week before. On the day we arrived, we were asked to pay the 108 Euro for the bride room first. Then we were led to a room with two single beds and no romantic atmosphere. When the reception lady left, we took out our iPad and confirmed that it was a double room, not what we have booked and paid. Next, we went to the reception, the reception lady argued it was Easter and the price could be higher. She told us they only have two bride rooms, both were occupied. One from two days ago, and the other from one day ago. Later she showed us another two double rooms. One is even worse, and the other was better. She asked whether we would change to the better one, and we said yes. She offered us a red wine Asa gift. During the whole procedure, she only spoke to us in German even though she does speak a little English. Our German level is only A22. So the conversation was not long. One thing for sure is that I have not heard any words of apology, no Entschuldigung or Verzeihung. She used the word of Geschenk (gift in English). She did know the hotel has no bride room available at that time, but did not inform us at the very beginning of check-in. Now my vacation is finished, I would like to stand up for my rights and psychological loss. I am not a Christian and I do not celebrate the Easter. But this should not be the reason I lost my romantic room on a beautiful sunny Saturday. This hotel is totally dishonest, by trying to hide its mistake, and did not say any single word of apology.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    7.5
    Beautifully decorated rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No shampoo/body wash, only a hand soap (not liquid). Limited timeframe given on checking in and out (In 17:00 - 19:00 & Out 10:00 - 11:00). Noone at the hotel upon arrival (had to call them). No reception/staff during check out. A situation occured and could not find them on any given communication number/cellphone/email for 3 hours.

    Beautifully decorated rooms. Vintage style with the bathtub inside the bedroom, nice comfortable bed, clean rooms, romantic atmosphere. Offered us free local wine to have on our rooms. Located on a quite village, nice place to relax.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    10
    Staff was great she walked us to eating place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff was great she walked us to eating place. Showed us around. Perfect picture of local staying in countryside property outside maintained with flower gardens.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    10
    This small cozy hotel is a jewel in between those bleak...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This small cozy hotel is a jewel in between those bleak skiing hotels or boring well known hotel chains. It's like spending time in your family house - the owner is very solicitous and friendly. I will definitely return back :)

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    9.2
    Beautifully renovated farmhouse with perfectly chosen...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautifully renovated farmhouse with perfectly chosen antique furniture. Breakfast was delicious with a great range of French cheese. Showering/bathing was a unique experience without shower curtain, but the whole experience made it the prefect place to stay for a few days. The garden is also very picturesque.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    7.1
    Charming old hotel with many character features.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was impossible to have a shower and we were unable to stand in the bathroom due to the low ceiling. No water glasses were provided. We had to leave at 6 am and The water was cold. No plug in the sink. All little things but disappointing none the less at the price.

    Charming old hotel with many character features. Our room had a copper feature bath which was interesting. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    Excellent Hotel with a very nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent Hotel with a very nice room. Great Breakfast and in a nice small village just off the main routes.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    5.0
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reception was more than impolite. Room floor was dangerous with nails and sharp corners. Bad Value for money.

    Very clean. Nice design.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    9.6
    very nice interior design
    • Business trip
    • Group

    no thing

    very nice interior design

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    9.2
    Staff very helpful and friendly, room very charming!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lacking facilities.

    Staff very helpful and friendly, room very charming! Good WiFi.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    8.3
    Very cosy when cold outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very cosy when cold outside. Felt like a lovely house, not a standard hotel. Nice wood furniture and décor everywhere.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    8.8
    french breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    noisy old floor

    french breakfast

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    9.2
    Charming hotel on the French German border perfect for a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No breakfast available on my stay. The shower was a bit ropey.

    Charming hotel on the French German border perfect for a night stop.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    10
    this is a very nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    this is a very nice place. The best we found in Baden-Baden!

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Browse Hotel de Charme 'zum Schiff' traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: