Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel de France - Centre Français de Berlin This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Müllerstr. 74, Mitte, 13349 Berlin, Germany

#322 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 501 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was perfect. Room was very clean, spacious and meticulous. Staff at the reception were very sweet and helpful. I bought the tickets to all public transport at the counter. Metro was close by. Lots of restaurants near-by.Loved it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Great place at a very reasonable price. Not huge but clean and close to Berlin Tegal Airport.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no air conditioning so I imagine sometimes it might get hot but I had the windows open so I was comfortable.

    I just needed a place to put my stuff and sleep for one night. The room had a large bed and a clean bathroom. Plus with the giant Eiffel Tower in front of the hotel it was easy to find. A grocery store and several restaurants as well as public transportation were all a short walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, conveniently located and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The windows are not really soundproof and if people are being loud in other rooms on the same floor you can hear them a little bit.

    The hotel is located right next to a subway station, the staff was really friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and clean and we were offered champagne for NYE! I'd recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Convenient. Clean. Friendly.s
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I was initially given a room facing a busy street since they were all booked, and it was quite noisy with constant traffic. But when I had asked to switch when other rooms became vacant, there was no problem doing so and got a room in the back of the building which was more peaceful. I slept without needing earplugs afterwards.

    Great, friendly service. Clean rooms daily. Close to public transit and places to eat.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly staff, nice breakfast Rom , good breakfast, I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old b uilding in need of renovation, especially the windows

    Very friendly staff, nice breakfast Rom , good breakfast, I liked the fact that everyone spoke french Good prices!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.5
    Very basic hotel close to TXL Airport. Best for one-night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic facilities. Do not expect anything remotely fancy, but close to the airport so great for a one-night stay if you're leaving/arriving from TXL.

    Comfy beds, quiet room, clean enough.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    efficient elevator, wish we had booked more nights at Hotel de France
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel staff sell U Bahn and S Bahn tickets, also arranged train tickets online, subway access half a block away, laundromat on corner, French restaurant next door

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.3
    Only overnighted and all good except internet BAD!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Internet REALLY needs a revamp!! It barely worked and was only good for email coming in. I could not get email to send and could not access websites on the internet. VERY BAD since they advertise free internet!!!! This is my ONLY complaint and it is a serious one for travelers!!

    It is a nice place with friendly staff and easy access to public transportation which can get you anywhere in a reasonable amount of time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Ironically we were too busy to actually be that long in a very relaxing place.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Moving Tegel Airport a little further away (but wax earplugs work when the flights are overhead and they are quiet enough between 23.00 and 5.00. And it would be better not to have a room on Mullerstrasse.

    The staff were so welcoming and conscientious (we only met 3 receptionists and the cleaner of our room No. 505). We found the rooms big and clean and better than many London hotels at double the price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    The Hotel worthy your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel's location is excellent. To take subway #6, you can easily access almost anywhere in the central Berlin. Berlin's public transportation is extremely convenient. The hotel is also situated in a very quite neighbourhood. It is good for a rest. If you walk a few blocks, you can access many local small restaurants, bakeries, other commercial stores. Also the restaurant affiliated with hotel provide an excellent French foods. The price of hotel is very reasonable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    Great value in an airport hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The morning coffee was not the worst, but could be improved. This can be said of most hotels though....

    Good breakfast buffet, including flaky croissants. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.1
    Extremely friendly and cooperative staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The Wifi was down and they were repairing it the whole time I stayed there -six days-. Unlucky. The bathroom was clean but old and cheap. Something you would see in a two star hotel. The breakfast is a bit expensive at 12 euros per day. I mean I could have a hearty breakfast at one of the cafes 3 minutes away outside for 4 euros.

    I made a mistake and booked a single room instead of a double room. I called immediately to see what we can do about that. The staff was extremely nice and friendly. They even gave me a double room for the single room price that I paid! The hotel is located very near to the U-Bahn station. There are several cafes and small restaurants nearby. The garden of the hotel is cute and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.1
    Great for a tight budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the room

    The local area was very suburban Berlin, with cafes and bars close to hotel. Very close to rehberge U-Bahn station which we made great use of

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    10
    Highly recommended for anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was just great

    I haven't taken the breakfast, so I cannot tell anything. I stayed only 1 night and liked everything. Atmosphere, design, location, staff - everything was great. Next time I will stay in this hotel with no doubts.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Very close to Berlin U-bahn (Rehberge)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very close to Berlin U-bahn (Rehberge) In general, a cozy hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Convenient hotel, not fancy, good for one night if you're ok with a small bed.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small single bed.

    Good location, about €15,00 taxi drive to Tegel. Very friendly staff. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location. Comfy bed. Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double rm a little small with the extra bed for the kid.

    Underground station close by

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    Great opportunity for low money
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fair price and really friendly staff. - It was really kind to get my coffee at 5:00am in the morning!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    Love it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    NIL

    The room is spacious and the staff is very friendly and helpful. They speak good English too!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly, flexible, helpful staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly, flexible, helpful staff! That was the big plus in this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    We went to hotel because it was close to airport and we left...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We went to hotel because it was close to airport and we left very early. The staff was very accommodating, even had coffee for me.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.3
    Satisfying service.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn’t function all the time.

    Location near to university. Friendly staff. Clean room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice clean rooms, excellent staff, helpful friendly and understanding.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good.

    The staff were very helpful, also very understanding when I had to check out early.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Close, cheap, and good quality for my money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect!

    Clean, cheap, close to Tegel airport.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    Great stay at Hotel France in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff and a good location. 24 hour reception. Nice rooms ; great value for the Money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    8.3
    We both enjoy our stay and the beds were good and rooms a good size and the breakfeast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no WFi in the room we had (maybe that's a good thing)

    We had a good experience with the staff and it is ideal location to the Airport

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel for people who need to go to the Tegel airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Плохой интернет. Bad Internet connection.

    Good hotel for people who need to go to the Tegel airport.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    7.1
    WI-Fi in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WI-Fi in room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    5.8
    Friendly Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi defect😭

    👍Friendly Staff👏👏👏👍👍👍👍👍

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    9.6
    Services from staff on reception are pretty well provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Services from staff on reception are pretty well provided. Thank you

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    8.3
    The room is spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The kitchen has no coffee packets etc. The fact that it's near the airport and busy street means noise constantly.

    The room is spacious. The area is convenient for food and strolling. the parking is great.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    7.9
    Great service very friendly people
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They key system is weird and complicated, the elevator is old and feels unsafe. They are located very near a subway station but the area around it is not very nice.

    Great service very friendly people

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    7.9
    Large bedroom, cheery and helpful staff, great free wi-fi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If the U-bahn was closed it was difficult to get back late at night.

    Large bedroom, cheery and helpful staff, great free wi-fi. Easy access to the centre of Berlin via a 20 minute U-bahn ride.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    7.5
    Structure close to the Metro stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant has a different management and this year continental breakfast at 7 € is no longer available, but only the 12 € (too expensive, but plenty and probably you could skip lunch)

    Structure close to the Metro stop. Clean and quiet, except for the noise from the nearby airport (little actually). Staff helpful and polite, 24-hour reception with check-in at any time. On the second floor wi-fi comes powerful, otherwise you can stay near the front desk.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    8.3
    Comfortable, clean room, staff extremely friendly
    • Couple

    Noise from aircraft was quite loud, but you would expect that in a hotel near an airport. No coffee or tea making facilities in the room.

    Comfortable, clean room, staff extremely friendly

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    6.7
    - Spacious Rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well its not a major issue and again not the fault of the hotel staff.. but the hotel is located a bit of a distance from the city center although the metro system is well connected.. still traveling to any prominent location would cost you time..

    - Spacious Rooms - Friendly Staff - Well maintained - Walking distance from Rehberge U bahn station on U6

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    7.9
    The staff were very welcoming and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing to dislike.

    The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Good breakfast, mix of continental and English, for a very reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    2.5
    Wifi doesn't work , bad location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi doesn't work , bad location

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    7.9
    Receptionists really nice, room clean and quite
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Receptionists really nice, room clean and quite

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.9
    Average hotel, average equipment, friendly staff, really...
    • Solo traveller

    Average hotel, average equipment, friendly staff, really helpful. Good choice for the price.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    7.9
    The staff is amazing, so welcome and so helping and so nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wi-fi is disaster, don't live here if wi-fi is important for you.

    The staff is amazing, so welcome and so helping and so nice.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    9.6
    Slightly difficult to find;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slightly difficult to find; signage could be improved.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    8.8
    Staff at the hotel was very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was WiFi connection with password but my computer could not connect for unknown reason.

    Staff at the hotel was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    9.6
    Very quiet and light-proof curtains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not so cozy, especially the breakfast restaurant.

    Very quiet and light-proof curtains.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    7.9
    The way they took care of me
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The way they took care of me

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    7.5
    location close to the airport and to wedding district
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location close to the airport and to wedding district

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    8.3
    Good positiom - Metro (U-bahn) station is near.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good positiom - Metro (U-bahn) station is near. Nearly is very nice Steak Restoran - Mullerstrase 85 (if I remember correct)

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: