Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel de France 4 stars

Taunusstrasse 49, 65183 Wiesbaden, Germany

#30 of 48 hotels in Wiesbaden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1044 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking is a bit far away from the hotel. Restaurant hours should be expanded into lunchtime and evening hours.

    Rooms were comfortable and spacious. All amenities thought out well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms which face the street are in full sun in summer. Combine that with no air conditioning in the hotel, and these rooms get hot during the day. Rooms facing the back are cooler, along with being quiet and peaceful.

    Staff was fantastic. I was extremely impressed with the ladies working there; they went above and beyond. Also, the hotel is located within steps of the #1 bus line (~10 min from the train station).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The hotel sign indicates "Hotel and restaurant " Unfortunately there is no any restaurant, the hotel provides only with breakfasts. However it has tables outside, and despite the fact that there are cafes nearby, it would be so nice to have dinner in the evenings siting at these cozy tables of our "own" hotel.

    Actually we liked everything: it was very pleasant stay. The location is great - it is city center. Going up the street one finds himself in the park ( Nerotal), walking down the street one can get into two parks - Warmer Damm and Kurpark. It takes five minutes walking to reach the source of mineral water ( Kochbrunnen). A lot of boutiques, shops are located in the close vicinity, as well as a huge number of cafes and restaurants. The breakfast in the hotel is good: although there is the same set of food every morning, its variety is satisfactory enough and the quality is high. The Hotel personnel is extremely polite and helpful, they successfully fulfilled all our requests and gave as many useful advises. I appreciate all of them : Anastasiya, Klaudia, Nataly, as well as those,whose names I don't know. Our room was comfortable and cleaned every day. The beds were OK for quiet sleeping. My husband and I would be happy to stay again at this hotel someday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not all rooms are the same. Make sure you get the good one - number 301, for example

    Room was booked for my parents, and they were lucky to get a bigger room with the garden view. We were also glad to see a teapot and bathrobes in the room. Breakfasts are fine, and wifi works well. In 10 min you can find the central park and walking paths of the city. In front of the hotel there is a beer restaurant, and they offer some good food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The phone in the room didn't work - we wanted to call the reception, but we couldn't. At 10 am, there was super loud noise coming from the neighbor's room, which didn't allow us to rest properly and again, we couldn't call the reception to inform them. Around 11.30 am, the housekeeping ladies reached our floor and the noise was again very loud - they were speaking loudly around the rooms, banging the stuff. There's no AC and it was hot. The check-in staff didn't ask anything regarding our stay upon check-out.

    The bed was comfy and it gets you a good night's sleep. The location is nice, in a lovely neighborhood with restaurants, bars, shops around. Being weekend, we found parking on the street and didn't have to pay for it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing good about the hotel it was really noisy you here cars from street and other gusts from the hotel. Al night it was really cold heating didn’t work after 23:00 there was no one to ask for extra blanket!

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking around is impossible. Only solution is to go to a public parking located 1/2 km away! Breakfast starts at 7.00 am which is not convenient for business people. Overall “German” confort i.e functional but not cozy.

    Good location for touristes

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking facilities (despite what is mentioned in the description of the facilities). Parking is on-street (paid), and given the location it's impossible to find a free spot. Alternatively, you can park in a carpark half a kilometer away (€24 a night). Breakfast is way overpriced at €12. We didn't have breakfast, but asked if we could have just a cup of coffee. No problem, was the answer. Seeing one single cup of average coffee on the bill for €6 was a rude surprise. Next time we'll be staying elsewhere.

    Friendly personnel at the reception.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was really weak in the room, the hotel did not offer parking lot, the lift was really small, the room was also too small for two person, the sound of the street was annoying, last but not least the price was really high for this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a nightmare and car parking mentioned in the Booking.com hotel description was not offered, even when I said that I had eventually found a space in a 'Permit Required' space. Much of Wiesbaden seems to require a Permit, but there is no information on where or how one gets one.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Street parking only in very busy area. Room given initially was impossible to sleep in because of road-noise. Restaurant personell was very friendly with great service, reception was not customer serve oriented.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    T.V. is a bit outdated and the selection of channels was ridiculous. It seems the satellites for T.V. support the Arab, Persian, Turkish, etc.. Very little German and "NO" English news channels such as CNN or BBC. Don't need to watch T.V. but would be nice to have English News channels at the minimum. I believe the summer time it would be very warm in the room and very difficult to sleep.

    The room, bathroom, were great with the opportunity to open the windows since there's no A/C. Luckily it wasn't that warm and was able to cool off with the nightly breeze. Staff and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm despite the heat being turned off. And facing the street sleeping with the window open was not really an option.

    Great location and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi signal in the room was very weak.

    Very responsive personnell. Clean rooms. Kauffmann, a coffee shop which considered to be the best in the city is around the corner and it is really great! All in all undoubtedly will stay again if in Wiesbaden.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room seemed clean, but both my wife and I noticed itchy welts around our ankles as if we had been bitten by bugs during the night (yuck!). Ultra small elevator.

    Very nice, old hotel. Staff was very friendly and the room seemed to be clean. Very close to some great sightseeing and restaurants (recommend the Scotch and Soda restaurant not far away)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Noise from the street even when windows are closed. Poor wifi connection.

    Location. This is a nice small hotel close to the city center. Parking in the Casino is just 5 minutes walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tha mattress could have been a little more firm for my liking.

    The hotel is located on a very picturesque street and is walking distance to the shopping market, restaurants, and opera house. Event hough my room was facing the backlights of the hotel the view was still beautiful. I even liked the tiny 3 person elevator.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have rated this hotel as a four star hotel which it apparently is, however it had the facilities and feel of two star hotel. Our room was quite small with basic amenities and furnishings . The reception is not open 24 hours. On the whole I should have managed my expectations based on the room rate rather than hotel star rating.

    The room was clean, the hotel was in a good location and the room rate was quite cheap.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been great to have a spa...

    Great location in the upmarket part of Wiesbaden. Nice little park nearby and walkable to all restaurants/attractions.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to the old town centre, just few minutes to walk, close to parking place /14eur/day/night/, nice Quitepiecefull town, old hotel but clear

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have been charged for parking without being informed while I could have parked for free Do not accommodate me for my breakfast and end up leaving without breakfast Called reception for help but clearly they know nothing and do not make an effort In the morning, I had to wait for check out as nobody was at the reception

    I wish I had something to say but I left disgust

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WIFI usable, but the signal strength was a bit low in my room. In the lobby it was good.

    The breakfast was good and rooms were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Add a chair to double rooms so two people can sit down.

    Having only one chair in a double room was quite inconvenient. Also, I thought that the breakfast was quite over priced.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    would have preferred a double bed instead of two singles pushed together. there was no bar to sit and have a drink in the evening.

    the breakfasts were simple but effective. although overpriced

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Airconditioning. No receptionist at night. Small Room space. Towel was badly washed and I had to pick off fluff from my body. Lift on 4th Floor broke down and had to walk stairs in 30 degree heat.

    Cheap Price

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room faced the street with the sun shining on it. This made it very hot. A small fan was provided but did not provide much relief in such a huge room. They really need a good aircondioner. It's a shame as the hotel is very good. Ask for a room at the back if the weather is going to be sunny.

    Big room, lovely bathroom, very stylish.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room was extremely small and basic. For an extra €5 a night could have had double room but they were at front and therefore noisy.

    Friendly staff. Very clean and excellent location. Good breakfast if a little pricey.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lack of information about hotel facilities in room Lack of any information about how to use the TV Lack of programme information.

    Bed comfortable Breakfast nice though not outstanding

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    position of bed in the room - (101) person nearest the wall had no light to read by, so I ended up sleeping the other way round and still had difficulty getting a lamp near where my head was. Partner is disabled so needed the other side of the bed with the lamp.

    superb breakfast, coffee first class Efficient lift system, excellent help and advice from reception.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were only willing to speak German, so with our limited German capabilities the conversation was stinted. Room was quite hot during summer evening, windows open on relatively busy street (standing airco is included, but not ideal)

    Beds are quite comfortable. Rooms were neat and tidy. Great, central location. Parking is free for most of the weekend.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was extremely nice!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No do no disturb sign, television didn't work very well.

    The staff on reception were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    few foreign tv stations

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that there was no central place to meet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pipes are old and there is a strong algae smell from the bathroom.

    Fantastic location, very clean, and breakfast was tremendous.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking...the garage they use is quite a ways away from the hotel.

    Clean room, good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed and cleanliness

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet room, comfortable bed, friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, no parking abilities, the hotel room, ECT......

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee making facilities

    Nice helpful service, good location, good value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi in room was slow

    Simple, clean, friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Old fashioned elegance

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is not right it doesnt deserve a 4 star hotel

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No complimentary coffee/tea facility in room, staff unfriendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Location. Quiet and central

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom very small.

    Location. Cleanliness.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was nice but quite small, and very warm

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we had became very warm even though it wasn't that warm outside (maximum around 25 degrees).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Cleaning was the best

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not hold an internet connection on Wi-Fi.

    Great breakfast but we had to pay for it. Restaurants in walking distance and location was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was far too small

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful staff and service

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, good location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    old fashioned, but well organized/ managed

    very quit, no noises from outside

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    tv was not great

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was delicious. Nice location, close to city center.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No value for money ..

    Cleanliness, comfort, location, view from the room, staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was claustrophobic with no view, really small and cell like. Not at all what we expected from the photos or hotel description.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom, bathroom airflow not working

    Exzellent breakfast for that category

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decent breakfast, the classic room is a bit small due to the houses architecture but they made the most out of it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room i was in was a bit to small for 2 person

    breakfast is really good and fresh

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location,professional staff, fair price/value ratio

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Practically in the heart of the town.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nice staff and breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Greater frequency of the bus # 1

    Pleasant and professional staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no coffee making facilities in room (maybe normal in Germany don't know)

    good value and excellent very helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV is slightly outdated

    very clean, very friendly, very central old style hotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff could not speak english

    Location close to everything

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy and could not get tv to work. No front desk after 11pm.

    Breakfast was plentiful. Location ok. Spacious room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tree banging against window at night.

    Location, staff friendly although some could only speak German

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no air con no bar could not check out night before an early departure poor value for money

    location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff and friendly hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to reach. .. ...correct. in a nice part of the town near nice restaurants and Caffè.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is a bit pricey for what it is offered

    Very friendly and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

There are also 55 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel de France traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: