Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Der Achtermann 4 stars

Rosentorstr. 20, 38640 Goslar, Germany

#14 of 17 hotels in Goslar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1422 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good meal in the Stube if a little expensive

    There was a building site out side our bedroom window that started at 06:30 in the morning. The hotel knew this but didnt say anythibg before we booked. Also the bedrooms were very warm in the evening making sleeping uncomfortalbe.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No house shoes and bathrobe in room but was delivered to the room after asking staff. No toothbrush and toothpaste in the room available.

    Helpful staff and big room with nice view outside. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing wrong with this hotel. I would definitely recommend it

    The setup for the pool and saunas(3 different types) was the best I have ever experienced at a hotel) and they are still trying to improve it. The reception staff were very efficient and friendly. the room was lovely and clean and the minibar was well stocked and reasonably priced

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room so, so...., same with breakfast. Lift should be repkaced. Slow service at breakfast & refill when things run out. Staff also needed reminding. Reception staff could be more helpful. Would not put freezer elements in freezer for us because of company policy even when we explained it was important to keep medication cold for our continued car journey to stop it going off... We have never come accross this before nor since...

    Nice bathroom, minibar, nice town & good location near shops & restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All could be better

    I liked nothing. Could not buy water at 12:00 am. Mattress was awful. Lamp switches next to my pillow, I switched them a few times during night. Bathroom is small and for a 4* hotel, we had all purpose soap only, unlucky enough, it was empty and they didn't react to fill it up at 7:00 am, good we brought shampoo. I do not recommend it to anyone!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No aircon.

    The hotel itself is nice, but lacking an impotant thing: AIRCON. Too hot in the summernight, not possible to have the window open due to noise from people outside. The best thing about the hotel is the pool and sauna area, and the underground parking. You drive really to the door, it`s a door there leading you right to the reception.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything about this place!! I have nothing to complain about!

    Staff was very friendly and helpful at all times, facilities were clean and modern and the breakfast was lovely. We enjoyed our stay!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked the hotel based on info, that there are facilities for disabled guests. Unfortunately, the hotel is not prepared for disabled guest (wheelchair) and we had some challenges using the stairs and entering the hotel through restaurant, what was really inconvenient.

    Perfect location, close to the central station and good wellness area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staffs were unfriendly and not helpful, all looking extremely busy infront of their computers !!! When asked about touristic information when checkin we was asked to look at the flyers ourselves ...not acceptable for a 4 star hotel !!

    Cleanliness, good location and good breakfast speead.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Absolute downer towards the end: we were promised a discount on all dinners enjoyed at the hotel. However, at the end it turned out that discount would only have been granted if we'd shown the voucher prior to dining, each evening. The staff at the reception could easily have fixed this (those dinners were charged to the rooms), but refused to do so. Very disappointing, very customer unfriendly.

    Location is great, you can explore Goslar's historic centre on foot directly from the hotel, but it's also easy to take the car and go to other towns in the vicinity.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed on the fourth floor and it looked a bit old. However, they kept it quite clean. The walls were a bit thin but it didn't bother me.

    The building itself is super impressive. The staff were friendly and really warm. They were helpful, quick, and efficient! Great location especially if you're taking a train. You're less than a 5 minute walk from the main train station and less than 10 minutes from Goslar's old city center

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They forgot to put towels in the room. Bathroom and shower a bit cramped. No heat in room when arrived.Would have thought they could include breakfast for the price I paid.

    Convenient to both the town and the station

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have preferred the option for a later check out time. I did I quite for an additional hour the day before. I was flatly refused. It made check out a tedious process because so many people were trying to get out at the same time. It took nearly half an hour to get sorted anyway. Which would have made no significant impact in turnover. But perhaps I'm being to...dare I say, American.

    The hotel has plenty of facilities to keep you entertained, but the real gem is stepping out of the door and walking around such a charming city as Goslar. The beautiful and unique houses and the availability of so much to do makes it well worth the visit.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra fee for the parking. No condicioner in the room. Impossible to be in the hotel during summer time. Bed for two people is two small beds with gap between them.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist on check-in was rude and unhelpful. The trains are quite noisy. Décor isn't great. No tea/coffee facilities in the room. The 'vibe' in the hotel wasn't good.

    The sauna was good and the receptionist on check-out was friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our second stay in 12 months during which time it needs decorating and smartening up in many areas. Staff in some areas would benefit from some training For example I was charged differing prices for a gin and tonic three times and had issues over charging for car park. On last day of (3 day) stay there was a weekend convention which filled the hotel. This resulting in breakfast room being overwhelmed, staff working hard to cope, trying their best, no sign of management.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed was hard, great if you've got back problems. no air conditioning which meant you have to sleep with the window open, unfortunately as you are near the center you hear all the drunks. maybe me being picky but there was no tea and coffee facilities in the rooms, or complimentary bottle of water. Now this is not a big thing just a warning to others to prepare.

    the hotel was right next to a multi story car park, so parking was no problem. location couldn't be better, 1 minute walk and your in the center. staff were great, friendly and helpful. The city itself was fantastic and would recommend it to anyone. The staff as i say were great and hard working, nothing was a bother and always had a smile. The breakfast wasn't a mass of choice but enough to fill you for the day. The food was quickly replenished so there was no waiting for eggs or bread, ect. The hotel was clean with a small patio and enough room to sit when using the bar or for those quiet moments.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no iron , additional 10 EUR if you want to stay 1 h longer after 11:00

    swimmingpool, sauna, parking near by

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Aircondition in rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel, idealy located. Would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very busy breakfast hall

    Very nice staff and also really close to station and city center

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    near the train station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like a coffee pot in the room.

    Breakfast was excellent!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool was out of service and it was only in the text after completing the non-refundable booking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kettle in my room to make cup of tea in morning. Best thing in life

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff. NOT Very frindly

    The food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Woderful view from the room, very spacious, nice leisure facilities (pool).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We planned to stay five nights We stayed only two nights

    Nothing The hotel charged us 70% for the three nights even though we left the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Luxurious rooms and breakfast. Nice spa-area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No such thing

    Simply old German restaurant @ hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot tub was a little too cold.

    3 different saunas. Swimming pool. Breakfast. Old and beautiful building. Close to train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room 324 really bad

    Kaisersuite was exellent, but very expensive.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    air in wellness area breakfast room looked very "cold"

    wellness area

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location! Nice town

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room carpets didn't smell so good. Should plan to clean the carpets more frequently.

    Bed was super comfy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rundherum alles gut.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff ,that worked in the restaurant that belongs to the hotel,was not very customer focus

    The hotel is very good,good breakfast,good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast a bit too expensive.

    Clean, quiet, very close to the town centre, three types of saunas,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    a handle on the wall in the shower nitche would make the shower more safe when it is slippery where you are standing

    everything perfect

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    our room was excellent. Comfortable bed and very clean. Also liked the location of property.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are not long enough

    View, quietness

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast room was extremely crowded causing lack of food and a stressful atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Almost impossible for the Price of the room but aircon would be amazing.

    I very much liked the facilities e.g. Sauna and pool.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not well functioned wifi

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    MC parking breakfurst near to city

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator to enter the hotel. Very difficult for older people traveling with luggage

    Central location, nice room, good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location, friendly staff, good wellness area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had a discussion at the reception on a missing discount on my restaurant bill. The receptionist was NOT very serviceminded, and there-by Achertermann has now lost a long time customer

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Poor service in the restaurant, and problems when we did not want to pay Cash (they asked for 'bar Geld', and we were not familiar with that Word.

    Breakfast & Location

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Weak WiFi signal. No kettle. Room was uncomfortably warm even with the heating off.

    Excellent location: very close to the train station, only about a ten minute walk from the Marktplatz and very quiet area. Friendly staff. Comfortable and clean room. One power socket on each side of the bed. Bathrobe and slippers provided along with towels. The overall atmosphere was of sober elegance.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rather plain room, slightly dated public areas

    Large (deluxe) room with view over a church and park, quiet location and convenient car parking - car park connected to the hotel via a walkway. The Christmas market in Goslar was exceptionally pretty, and we have visited many in Germany.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Slow wi-fi, nothing else to complain about.

    Friendly, helpful staff, excellent breakfast, perfect location on edge of old town but close to town exit and train station.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is a very basic hotel, no frills defniatley not a 4 star hotel, little old , one small lift, no toiletries in bathroom, only liquid soap and I had to ask for that to be filled.

    Location was good , clean, ok

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nice area, lovely city, great hotel

    It is located in an excellent walks around, fond pleasant city. The hotel is accessible from the center and walk everywhere. We loved the trips we made the recommendation by the tourism office.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Be aware in the restaurant. What you think is one glass of wine, is actually charged as two glasses. This is not evidend from the Wein Karte

    The room was palacial. For the price paid, we got a vey big room, almost a suite. Terrific value

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unusually the Bar was not open on the Sunday or the Bank Holiday Monday so no chance to relax in the Hotel but plenty of places nearby. Biggest let down for us again was the Restaurant which refused to serve food even though we requested it before last orders! Once this goes back to the quality of service is used to be this will be a Hotel that should be on anyone's must stay list.

    Staff are always helpful and well trained. Suite was nice and big and Hotel is always very clean. Spa area was clean and is good. We have posted some negative feedback on the Restaurant but there are plenty of good places to eat in the wonderful old town. We are back in July again for a stay in the Kaiser Suite and looking forward it!

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only negative was that the tv in our room kept switching itself on, but the very helpful receptionist soon dealt with that for us

    Friendly and helpful staff Lovely, comfortable room Perfect location

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a bit small, the bathroom too. I would have expected a bit more from a 4-star hotel, regarding the rooms.

    The staff was very polite, the Wellness-zone was perfect. Also comfortable beds and nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On our last visit we were disappointed that the Restaurant Staff were rude and failed to accomodate a simple request, but more disappointingly that the food offering had significantly dropped to a very poor standard. Luckily there are enough good local restaurants to not to let it affect your stay in this excellent Hotel and gives a further reason to enjoy more of the beautiful town of Goslar.

    We look forward to every visit to Goslar and this Hotel!! The Hotel Staff are always excellent and they helped with a dental emergency without any hesitation. The Hotel is managed professionally with full consideration of the Guests and is always clean and well maintained. Spa facilities are very good and are usually quiet. Breakfast can get to be a bit busy at peak and restocking of popular items sometimes takes a gentle prompt to the polite staff but is always good.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No morning coffee available in bar area. Having to get special help to get luggage in.

    Close to old town. Nice accommodations-good beds!

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Tower rooms are small and yet more expensive

    Very good breakfast, clean rooms, sauna, free apples at reception :)

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good location, not bad price during hannover messe.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing left!

    Location and stuff

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Family with older children

    Employees are good They welcoming Smiling all times

    Nothing Furnatuers are old style And tite rooms Stairs at the enterance

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Personale ved morgenmad

    PerSonale i reserption

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Arrogant unhelpful staff

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Too noisy traffik, nothing for children, hotel was full of old people

    Good position, close to centrum, nice hotel.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not much choice of fruit. Fruit salad not fresh.

    All ok as a hotel should be. Reception very friendly. Central location. Easy lift access.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could have used air conditioning

    Location fantastic

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Service, the food, the overall positive feel Felt really welcome

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Close to old town

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very convenient for the town and rail station. Pool facilities and breakfast was excellent. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reception, elevator, bathroom, shower

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was too hot in the room . Outside was +30C

    Location is very good

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was nog very good in rooms. We were in room 417. Facilities are nog very wheel chair friendly.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Der Achtermann traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: