Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Europäischer Hof Heidelberg This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Friedrich-Ebert-Anlage 1, Altstadt, 69117 Heidelberg, Germany

#9 of 66 hotels in Heidelberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 464 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Very nice stay thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cost of drinks in the bar - sadly only had one as they were three times the price of the bar just outside the gates. Also breakfast at 28 euros - not really realistic.

    The Spa and pool were excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Elegant luxury hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Elegant 5 star hotel in center of Heidelberg, within walking distance to all major sites. Staff were exceedingly helpful and made us feel welcome. Our room was large, clean, quiet and comfortable, and overlooked the fountains. We enjoyed a lovely dinner in the garden. This was our third stay here-we will definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent family run hotel of the highest standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints.We use this hotel at least once a year and it is consistently of the highest standard.

    Quiet,well appointed rooms kept spotlessly clean.Main dining room food is of the highest standard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Classy, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insufficient bed accessories: 1 large, square, very thin pillow and 1 tiny pillow. I would prefer 2-3 memory Foam pillows. Thin blanket; I would prefer a thicker duvet even in the summer. Old style keys that you have to give to and collect from reception. Dated bathroom: The shower is an old bathtub with a partial screen, so some water gets splashed on the ground. Staff mentioned the remaining older rooms like the one in which I stayed were going to be modernized at some point.

    Good location. Tasty breakfast. Classic Styling.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    The Breakfast was amazing with plenty of choices of hot and...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I prefer a shower stall vs tub/shower combination but this wouldn't effect my decision as the bathrooms were very large

    The Breakfast was amazing with plenty of choices of hot and cold food as well as fresh baked breads / pastries. The room was very comfortable and quiet, although I would prefer a king bed. The location was walkable to most destinations. The staff was amazing and really got to know their guests. They have the best bartender in Germany!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    3.8
    Far bellow expectations
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture Smilly rooms Not much facilities avaliable in the room no coffe machines Over priced Over rated Review of the star rating should be revisited comparing to other hotels in the city I rate it 3 stars or less

    Nothing much Close to shopping area far from the river

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room key is conventional kay not a cardkey T.V has no movies channel The bed not a king size

    Location is good Staff is very nice Bathroom is parfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Superb stay in Heidelberg
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was even a pleasure to optimize the 'Aperol Spritz' cocktail.

    Everything +++. Thank you for the hospitality of the staff. Sylvia, thank you for the attention we received.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    We’d always want to come back and spend more time in this beautiful hotel.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only flaw was the whirlpool bathtub in the room was probably not used for a while so after turning them on the water got a bit dirty with small flakes.

    We spent our wedding night in this hotel and it was just romantic and we had such a great service. Everything was even better than expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Lived the fairytale.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing. We loved it.

    Beautiful 'Old Town' luxury hotel. Loved the decor, especially the fresh flowers in the room and throughout the hotel. Wonderful attentive staff. Good size and very comfortable room. Lots of areas to sit with friends for a drink. Unfortunately we didn't have the time to experience the restaurant but it looked gorgeous. We felt very much at home. Great location for exploring the Old Town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Beautiful clean hotel , friendly helpful staff .Great location close to old town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very beautiful historical hotel , very nice ,friendly , helpfull staff, Great facilities . Fantastic food , good breakfast . The location very close to shopping area and old town. I will recommend this hotel to my family and friends .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Good location, but if you drive a car, the way to the hotel...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing

    Good location, but if you drive a car, the way to the hotel is a bit tricky. Service is great, perfect breakfast. There is a swimmingpool and sauna in the hotel. Staff is always friendly and ready to help.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.5
    First class hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast 1stk class and the service there very good. Very friendly staff and helpful. The location of the hotel is also very good in a walking distance from the center and the castle. The hotel is not cheap but it is worth it :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.1
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charged extra for everything No air conditioning necessitated leaving windows and drapes open for circulation and outside night lights were bright

    location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Traditional hotel. Excellent service. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Perfect :)

    What a lovely find. A very traditional hotel but with very modern levels of service. Superb breakfast choices. Loved the whiskey bar. Super staff. Thank you !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel even if a little expensive, but terrible wi-fi speed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their wi-fi was horrible. It was impossible at times to do anything on it. Had to leave and go elsewhere to work, which defeated the whole point of booking this hotel for a business stay.

    Hotel rooms had rich furnishings. Lots of closets, mirrors, lights, etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    It was a very clean and charming place for stay with nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of some facilities was sensible. For instance there wasn't a simple coffee machine or boiler in the room. The breakfast menu was also so simple.

    It was a very clean and charming place for stay with nice staff. The location was also great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was dated! The shower head was too low. Instead of water hitting your head it reached only your waist and I'm not a tall person. Also the bathroom fixtures were dated. Parking was extremely expensive

    Excellent service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Elegant hotel with outstanding service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I must mention how lovely all the staff were. We spent one night as part of a 3 week driving tour in continental Europe. The personnel in this hotel were by far the most welcoming, friendly and helpful of everywhere we stayed. In particular the concierge who welcomed us, the barman, and the spa/pool receptionist. The hotel is privately owned by a family who still run it. All the staff seem genuinely very happy which is wonderful to see. Beyond that, the hotel was beautiful, rooms extremely spacious and quite. Breakfast choices great. Pool facilities very clean and well appointed. Very highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is pretty old. like the airconditon controller. And the bathroom can have a renovation to look fancier. The bed could be softer.

    The room was pretty good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel with excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toiletries were generous but it's fragrance was unappealing and disappointing.

    Comfy beds, gorgeous fragrance in the lobby, old world feel. Loved the turn-down service. We felt very spoiled.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    4.2
    really not a 5 star property
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very out dated- bath very old and water drops every where- cleaning standard was very poor in the room - no AC ETC - didn't even have brown toast for breakfast etc... shortage of staff at breakfast... had to wait 5 minutes until we got a seat, when actually just two tables were occupied and it was not busy... TV in the room was not working properly...

    Nothing just that the hotel is central and staff as a hole very friendly.... that's really it

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    10
    Well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel. Owners down to staff made us feel so welcome. Food excellent, facilities superb. Ideally located for the town. Cannot wait to return.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.2
    Well done!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was very pricy (423euros for the night), but it was New Years Eve and the town was sold out.

    Very luxurious, we had a wonderful time. Location is great! Staff is wonderful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    4.2
    Wouldn't stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money was horrible. Ancient room with modern prices. Uncomfortable beds and pillows. Bad wifi range (wouldn't reach bed). TV remote had low batteries. Heaters weren't turned on in room (-2 C outside) Shower was too low, had to bend to get under the water (I'm 179cm).

    Had a nice vibe like from the film the Shining

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.6
    Great location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately no coffee maker / water kettle in the room!

    Great location; very comfortable mattress. Staff was truly helpful: when my suitcase broke they came up with some duck tape for a last minute repair.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    6.3
    If I stayed in Heidelberg again, would look elsewhere...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were completely unhelpful in securing a taxi on departure - there was a wedding that day and their sole focus was on that group.

    Well maintained, but outdated. Restaurant was not as good as we expected given ratings and the chef. It was ok, but should have been excellent. Sadly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    10
    Perfect location and hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No separate shower. Shower over the bath.

    Everything. The room was huge with a large balcony overlooking the garden.The furnishings were top class and in good condition. The bathroom was very large with double sink. The bed and pillows were very comfy. Location is great ,on the edge of the old town. Terrific breakfast. Can highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    9.6
    Elegance and comfort in s terrific location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is simply lovely. The decor is beautiful; the staff is extremely professional and friendly and the location is very convenient for tourist activity.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    7.5
    One night stopover in Heidelberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found it a bit pretentious. We only stayed one night and there were 2 x functions on which meant we didn't have access to the normal bars as well as having to dodge wedding guests in full canape in hand mode, to get to our room - couldn't have been much fun for them either. Had the feel of a bygone age. Felt over formal and just trying too hard. Expensive.

    Comfortable room and bed.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    5.0
    Bad Experience
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good afternoon , I would like to share my experience with the hotel for the 5 nights that I stayed there . Upon arrival they gave me a room , which I had to change the room next day as of the bad air-condition they have ! After that they downgraded me into an old room for another night which I was pissed off . At the 3rd night they gave me a junior suite just to satisfy me , it was okay but my main concern was regarding the climate inside the hotel rooms ! Unfortunately they didn't mention that my room was included breakfast & they charged me for the parking for 5 days without notifying my that it's not free of charge ! Staff were friendly but lack of them ! At night I can only identify one ! And in the weekends we couldn't sleep until 01:30 in the morning because of the party that the hotel was having !

    I liked the location of the Hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent. I will come back again next time I am in Heidelberg.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    small room
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Elegant and large old world room with modern amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elegant and large old world room with modern amenities. The best of both worlds. Excellent staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.3
    at breakfast there was no menu of omlets / coffee you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    at breakfast there was no menu of omlets / coffee you can order

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    everything was perfect !
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything was perfect !!!! ( include the owner !!!!)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Excellent stay
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs more development

    The history of the hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Very helpful stuff and managment
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility needs development

    Excellent experience and realy best location in the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    It was truly a lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was truly a lovely stay. Everyone was beyond helpful and friendly. The lobby was the most warm and I citing with a beautiful playing pianist.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel. ⭐️💚⭐️💚

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towel rack heater never work even though I required to fix it twice.

    Breakfast is good. Very clean. Service is good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    This hotel really nice and i just love it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel really nice and i just love it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    Great hotel with great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A well positioned hotel with attentive friendly staff. Made us feel wet welcome and ensured we were looked after

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    It was very comfortable
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Thing Tt

    Good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location. Excellent breakfast. Parking close to the hotel. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Almost perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wedding party in hotel lasted until 4 am

    Perfect room, great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    Great!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I don't like

    Excellent service ! The room is big and clean, nice breakfast and hospitality staffs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.7
    I didn't like it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service closed at 11 pm

    Hotel Decorating

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    5.0
    Outside garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building and the smell

    Outside garden

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.7
    Not honest about their facilities - gave us room with defective air conditioning which they knew of
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service / air conditioning did not work

    Close to centre Great bartending and drinks

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    We enjoyed our brief stay. The bar/lounge area is very comfortable and the service is impeccable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very pricey.

    Luxury accommodation and service, including dining. Dinner was truly excellent, as was lunch in the beautiful courtyard.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.3
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities in room

    Swimming pool and area around

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Looking for Ccassic pampered stay...here it is'
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very professional well trained staff. All were in such a great mood. Shows good management to me ;)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    beautiful room, excellent friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food prices were expensive

    beautiful room, excellent friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.6
    For you, if you like a old-fashioned hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old traditional room keys with heavy key ring

    Breakfast buffet

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable and luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little further from the castle than we wanted to be with children, but worth the walk.

    Very comfortable and luxurious. Amazing amenities

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.6
    We were charged five dollars for room service for a bucket...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were charged five dollars for room service for a bucket of ice. This was the first time anywhere that that is ever happened

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    excellent service and good willing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    great service great location staff was very helpfull

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    Most comfortable, elegant place to stay in HD.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing could have been better. :-)

    Everything!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    Excellent !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exquisite historic grand hotel in a great location with helpful and courteous staff -wonderful !

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    7.5
    Staff were incredibly attentive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is dated and is looking grubby round the edges

    Staff were incredibly attentive

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    9.2
    Nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No walk-in shower

    Nice staff. Sufficiently large junior suite.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    8.3
    Good choice if you want a hotel in downtown Heidelberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old room amenities and room dining was that good.

    Spacious rooms and good location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    10
    Beautiful hotel,wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful hotel,wonderful staff. Loved our room -so comfortable with lovely bathroom. Really enjoyed our early morning swim and the sun terrace with fantastic view of Heidelberg.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    5.4
    Location, location and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The smell of cigarette was all over the corridor and inside the room. The safe box did not work. It literally came off in my hand when I tried to use it!! The radio in the night stand also came off the same way! I took a shower and the water stopped mid-way! I had to leave the shower immediately!

    Location, location and location.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Price is not justified. Not different to a Hilton or Sheraton, but old building and old-fashioned rooms which need some renovation work. Service okay, but not what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Beauty treatment was disappointing and complicated.

    Great location Overall good service

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    10
    Outstanding Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smoke from their 'isolated' smoking room clobbered the entire bar area making it rather unpleasant for a non-smoker.

    Outstanding Staff. Great décor. Fantastic room. A true 5-Star experience!

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    10
    Excellent hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints

    Excellent hotel in good location. Easy walk to the Alt stad. Efficient and friendly staff provided outstanding service with old world charm.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    6.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room, had a lovely firm bed, but nonexistent "pillows". I used a chair cushion. Lights as part of the bed headboard, were so uncomfortable, I couldn`t sit up without banging into one. The clutter of too many lights and furniture for comfort. Having to step into a bath to shower, totally acceptable and dangerous. While advised in the bedroom, to turn off the lighting to save energy, the bar area, had so much lighting switched on, it was painful. We sat in, what could have been a comfortable bar area, but were blinded by a plethora of lamps, spot lights and chandeliers, with no concern for energy saving and this appeared to be the case, throughout the hotel. We had to book different flights, due to the Lufthansa strike, reception staff were helpful, but just, to a point. This hotel seems to confuse bling with comfort and customer service.We chose this hotel having read great reviews and were sadly disappointed.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    Lovely hotel, with reassuringly old fashioned service levels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Maybe tone down the lights in the bar a little to match the lovely piano music

    Lovely hotel, with reassuringly old fashioned service levels. Everybody smiled! Great location, breakfast, pool - we'll be back

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.3
    Location, friendliness, helpfulness, cuisine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. The lovely restaurant requires a maître: current female staff found it impossible to handle a situation in which a guest with a loud iPhone behaved appallingly. 2. At this level of five-star hotel one shouldn't have to be required to pay extra for the pool. 3. Having guests pray loudly outside the hotel or in the corridors is not a memory we shall cherish.

    Location, friendliness, helpfulness, cuisine.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    6.7
    staff were very professional, motivated,dedicated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning in all 3 rooms I tried over the course of 7 nights under performed,no ventilation in bathroom so shower steam had nowhere to go. Room windows do not open. Blinds in two rooms that I tried did not work properly so couldn't sleep past sunrise. Safety deposit hoxes did not work in two rooms. Door keys fail occasionally so staff must be called to use master key for entry. Doors stick. The staff seemed accustomed to all these problems and did their best to help. Otherwise it is a beautiful,grand old hotel with charm

    staff were very professional, motivated,dedicated...a real pleasure.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    6.7
    The staff is very professional - truly five star attitude!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The building needs attention. I have been in 3 rooms so far and each had problems: saftey deposit boxes failed to work in two rooms,door keys did not work several times,the blinds do not work in my current room.the windows do not open in some rooms...air conditioning did not work in two rooms, etc and none of this is the fault of the very attentive staff. It is more a fault of the owners.Very good breakfast.

    The staff is very professional - truly five star attitude! The hotel has an interesting history,is in the style of the old grand hotels of Europe, and has great character.

There are also 57 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: