Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Der Seehof This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Lüneburger Damm 1-3, 23909 Ratzeburg, Germany

#2 of 4 hotels in Ratzeburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 586 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel, with super clean rooms and welcoming...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant served us two quite dissapointing steaks. Breakfast was good though 😊

    Nice hotel, with super clean rooms and welcoming receptionist, who showed us to park our motorbikes right next to the front door. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not notice on booking that there was no air conditioning in the room and weather was very hot. Ground floor room with other guests walking in front of the window, day and night. Location very popular around the hotel, so difficult to find parking on arrival.

    Location next to lake.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Defenitely worth coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The traffic outside was disturbing during the night. Air condition would be nice, then you could sleep with closed window and probably less noisy.

    The location of the hotel is great between the lakes Kûchensee and Ratzeburger See. Real friendly and service minded staff. Very generous room, clean and fresh. Breakfast really good and the same goes for the restaurant which served us a delicious dinner. We were very satisfied with this visit. Possibility to go for a swim in the lakes.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.9
    The hotel room is large, pretty and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air-conditioning in the hotel. As we arrived on a very warm day, it was really warm in the hotel room, even during the night...

    The hotel room is large, pretty and very clean. The restaurant serves good dinner with a good view besides the lake. The staffs are very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    Not truly fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) when you pay this amount of money for a standard room, nothing major should be an issue. We stayed in a room with front to the road. At 6 am we woke up by a massive noise from a big car outside delievering stuff to the hotel. Very critical! 2) we had booked a table, and when the staff looked it up, they couldnt find us. They afsked if we were sure which I find disrespectful and rude. It turned out, that they had spelled our name wrong. Well, that is not our problem! 3) The food at the restaurant was alright, but I guess I had expexted a bit more from the kitchen.

    The location is stunning

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice Lakeside Hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking can be an "issue" here with space for very few cars outside the hotel. We were not warned of this. Customers who cannot find a space directly outside the hotel have to park a little distance opposite in a Public Car Park costing 4 Euros per day between 10am and 6pm - not quite what you might expect from what is a fairly erxpensive hotel ? As there was a wedding taking place we had to enter our rooms (with luggage - several trips because of distance) at a side door some 30 metres from Reception. We had to use two flights of stairs as lift not available - difficult for "older" people. Some staff not very efficient and we had trouble finalising our bill

    We very much enjoyed the setting of this hotel right next to a large lake. Our room had a wonderful view of this lake with a Rowing and Canoe Club next door. The room also had a nice balcony for viewing the lake activities. The room was large and bathroom very clean and useful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent overnight stop when exploring the country.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It had a lovely position on the lake which the terrace and restaurant overlooked. The food was excellent - we would thoroughly recommend dinner there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.0
    Relaxed getaway directly at one of the nicest lake areas in Northern Germany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our room faced the street and the noise was rather annoying, I cannot sleep without having the window open at night so earplugs are a musthave when booking that room.

    Super nice and fresh breakfast, good beds, in general very modern and clean rooms, very friendly and professional staff, lovely location directly by the lake including a wonderful lakeview restaurant and terrace with amazing service. And: mosquito-nets on the windows! Finally a smart hotel manager who thought about this important detail! :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    The view from the restaurant was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The standard room did not have a bath tube as described, however we got the upgrade to the comfort room for free.

    The view from the restaurant was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The disabled parking space was not wide enough. The ramp to the room was difficult for a wheelchair to negotiate. The holiday seemed to suggest that there was a wellness centre. This wasn't well advertised or explained. The evening menu was limited and not changed very often.

    The beds were very comfortable, the bathroom was lovely. The staff were all very helpful. The views were amazing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea coffee in room but they did provide a electric kettle when asked. Our room was in an area of the hotel with no lift to the room. We were very surprised that there was no offer of help. Our friends were in a different part of the hotel with a lift and they had to walk through the dinning room to get to reception.

    Everything was clean and tidy.beds very comfortable large bedroom and shower area.good storage. Lovely views over the lake a good outside sitting and eating area. Easy walk into village and great walks round the lakes. Good transport rail and bus networks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Couple
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great time here. The hotel is very nice, the location is wonderful with view to the lake. Rooms are very comfortable. The restaurant was a great choice. Food was excellent. We were very happy about staying at this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    6.3
    Stuffy "double" room - too small for two people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked and paid for a "double comfort" room but that is not what we got. The bed was very small, very narrow and with one mattress, which is unusual in Germany. Putting two duvets on a bed doesn't turn it into a "comfort" double bed! I took a photo of the bed - which was shoved up under a sloping roof, because I could not believe that they expected two adults to sleep in it. My husband had to climb over me to get out of bed. Unfortunately for us the hotel was full and they could not give us another room. The room itself was on the top floor, under the eaves and reached by an unpainted staircase - like going up into an attic. It was extremely warm and there was no a/c. I feel that Booking.com misled me. This was NOT a "comfort" room and should NEVER be sold as a "double" room.

    The hotel is in a lovely location with a dining terrace overlooking a lake.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.2
    Really nice place to stay for a couple of days to explore Ratzeburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were asked not to open the windows at night due to the insects. We would suggest to put a mosquito net in the windows instead

    Close to historic center of town as well as close to both the lake and local fish restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    room was a bit cold on first night no spare blankets no english instructions in the room so I did not know how to cll reception

    charming staff, ultra-relaxed

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    6.7
    Nice location with nice view and terrace.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor cleanliness, slapdash cleaned, I found empty shampoo and soap bottles in the shower after previous guests !

    Nice location with nice view and terrace.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Love it ! Very nice weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place for family!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Gem by the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great, friendly staff, nice spacious rooms, delicious breakfast. Loved it!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.8
    Excellent very relaxing
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is not pfactical for clients with a disability

    The stunning views from our balcony!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.8
    Would return if in the area
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    Very good one-night stay. Good meal in restaurant. Dog-friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    5.8
    Not impressive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff speaks poor English, the wifi was not working in certain rooms,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Gourgeous Place Right outside Luebeck and Travemünde
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location right between the lake and the river. Beautiful terrace overlooking the water.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    7.1
    Location and view from restaurant
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking.

    Location and view from restaurant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    Everything about this hotel was excellent.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report

    Everything about this hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    2.9
    -nice and cosy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -not enough parking -quite expensive

    -nice and cosy

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    We loved it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved it all

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    9.2
    The staff managed to change our bookings that I had stuffed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff managed to change our bookings that I had stuffed up myself. We even got the hot deal in the middle of the end-of-year season AND got upgraded to a superior room at no extra cost! Staff and food were just excellent.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.9
    friendly staff, good view onto the lake, mostly new...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    cakes where a bit stale and the dining room smelled a bit of something like wet, old, carpet

    friendly staff, good view onto the lake, mostly new refurbisehd

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    3.8
    Nice location/nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Confusion regarding reservation. Made a remark in connection with the reservation that we brought our small do with us. This was noted. Paid 20 EUR for the dog which is ok but we could not bring our dog to the restaurant. This should be mentioned in the description of the hotel. Very bad service. Very dissapointing all in all. We had the bride suite - there were two separate mattresses. Bad breakfast. Not worth the money nor the 4 stars.

    Nice location/nature.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    10
    The beautiful view over the lake is fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In warm weather it is difficult to keep the room cool, there is no air-conditioning.

    The beautiful view over the lake is fabulous! Swimming in the lake before a great breakfast wonderful. The service is of high quality.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    8.8
    Very warm and easy reception upon arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Noice from the road especially a problem in the evening and early morning with open window.

    Very warm and easy reception upon arrival. Good service in the restaurant. Highly appreciated that we could have a late checik out.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    7.5
    Guests friendlier than most staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking not available at the hotel and had to be paid for extra. We nearly got a fine because we forgot to get a ticket on the 2nd day. Could easily have happened. Not helpful for a relaxed stay.

    Guests friendlier than most staff!

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    9.6
    Really nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have bin nice to be able to make a cup of coffee in the room.

    Really nice view. Did not regret booking a juniorsuite.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    8.8
    clean room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    clean room. nice breakfast, beautiful view

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    9.6
    Very comfortable and pleasant hotel
    • Couple

    nothing, actually

    Very comfortable and pleasant hotel

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    9.6
    One was able to swim there direct in front of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The noise of trafffic at night especially if the window was open

    One was able to swim there direct in front of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    All perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    All perfect. Lovely staff, food, comfort. Lake view. Lake lovely to sit by and for swimming.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    7.9
    Friendly and helpful hotel staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly and helpful hotel staff.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: