Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Der Kleine Prinz This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Lichtentaler Str. 36, 76530 Baden-Baden, Germany

#13 of 51 hotels in Baden-Baden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 390 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel did not honor reservation category. Was given small room in attic instead of deluxe double as reserved without any explanation or apology.

    The departure

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was unable to turn on the jets in the bath. Unfortunately I only discovered this when I was already in situ.

    The bedroom was like stepping back into the regal splendour of the late 19th Century yet adorned with plenty of the conveniences of today. The dinner that night was outstanding - Michelin Star Quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs are very polite, attentive, professional with well spoken English. They serve quality food. Although building is old but overall are well maintained and decorated very classic. Disadvantage is without the spa (sauna or steam bath) facilities within the building. Nevertheless this is a nice place to stay for relaxation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was superb

    Really friendly staff, clean, smart design, great bed, very comfortable .. they offered free tea & pastries in the afternoon and the location was also excellent .. really can't fault it would highly recommend

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit pricey, but worth it.

    We stayed for 4 nights. It is really great hotel, good location, helpful staff. Enjoyed the vacation a lot, in regards to this hotel. Perfect breakfast. Defiantly recommended! Thanks!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    I liked everything about the hotel. All the staff are friendly and very helpful Room was good size,the food was great. Overall stay was excellent 100% go back again And recommend to everyone.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden area was good but would do better with a bit of shade from the rain sometimes and the chairs need to be changed or redone.

    The classy room look was a good reception for the guests and the little balcony type was an added bonus. It felt very comfy and easy to use from all levels.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms could use a bit of updating. The furnishings, carpet, and decor seemed a bit past it's prime.

    The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast offerings were very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was great the we stay in the penthouse the decoration of the place was Gorgeous the bed was very comfertable al rooms is very clean and big the breakfast restaurant is very quiet and romantic

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some aging symptoms in the room. Sliding door to the bathroom was off track and needed to be handled. A curtain rod was falling off the window. Otherwise, these were minor in comparison to the pros of the place.

    The buffet breakfast was fantastic and the restaurant is a very quaint experience. The staff were exceptionally friendly. When I told the young man at the front desk that we had an early departure the next morning (4:30 am) he coordinated for the night staff to have coffee ready when we departed. Much appreciated at that hour! The TV had great satellite channels so we could watch a US football game at 3:30 am!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are not comfortable. Prefer a shower vs bath tub, food was just adequate.

    The location for shopping is ideal. Parking is easy and hotel staff is helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't expect four beds with one bedroom, on living room , i expect four beds with tow bedrooms because we were four adults with two children

    The location , the staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, we loved it all.

    We loved this little gem in Baden Baden so much. The look of the rooms and the level of comfort was outstanding. The decor in the bedrooms is so tasteful and done with so much thought and care. The bed was super comfy and so was the extra bed provided. The washing products were excellent and of a very high quality too. Everything is just right. We had lovely breakfasts and were always made to feel welcome by the super friendly staff. We ate dinner one night and it was delicious. Easy parking and easy walk to the town centre. Just spot on!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of steps before reaching lift so not ideal for person with walking difficulty . Sadly a group was there too with noisy children !

    Very nice welcome and car parked for us .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room design is so classic for the people whom like the classic they will love this hotel. The location is excellent 3 minutes to the restaurants, coffee shops, shopping area and walking park. You don't need to drive in this city if you stay in this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staffs behaviour... When we asked for Bread toast he was bit troubled, I don't know why

    Sweet little place... We stayed in pent house... Very value for money for 4 people travelling... Better than hire 2 rooms

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No bar!!!

    The room was amazing and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful room. Easily big enough for the 4 of us. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom wasn't enough clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was perfection

    Loved everything about hotel. It’s clean, the rooms are so beautiful and charming. Food is great😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was wonderful and it is a very atmospheric hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The property’s is very well kept. Employees are very courteous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, extremely clean, comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfest. Very helpful stuff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic room for the money- my neighboring room was lovely, mine was dated and old fashioned.

    Helpful staff Great food but expensive!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Antiquated rooms and bathrooms, breakfast very poor,

    Location, smartness and attitude of staff, convenient

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Das Abendessen war total lecker!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A nice small hotel with good breakfast. close to the main attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator

    The view from the room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms, location and the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower in the room, just a tub with a spray nozzle.

    Close to city center and shopping.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Every things 👍🏻

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    elevators are very small.

    very friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Penthouse Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No climate control device

    View

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    O

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was gorgeous, comfortable, and extremely charming. The staff made us feel at home!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff and location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    n/a

    The hotel was delightful. Staff was helpful. Rome was large and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean.. design... bfast n service

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Only had breakfast but it was excellent European buffet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt very welcome in this baroque cosy hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel theme Location Staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room and bathroom size...rather small

    The staff is absolutely Outstanding. The Hotel is cute, clean and functional

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast

    Helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good location, helpful staff, clean and very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful room , staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfectly located in the city center, friendly staff with good English, nicely decorated rooms. All in all a very pleasant stay and we will come again

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    The staff were excellent, very friendly and accomodating. The location was just a short stroll to all the major attractions. Our room was very spacious and had great views across the city to the mountains. The breakfast and afternoon tea were delicious. My children loved the little prince art and details around the hotel which just added to the fairytale feel of our stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant is terrible! Dinner was disappointing, expensive is very bad. The breakfast, was even more disappointing, lacked bread ... imagine a restaurant with this daily, lacking bread, when asked, after 10 minutes, came a warm bread, but internally frozen. Hotel is beautiful, but the cost benefit is very low.

    Decoration is soo Beatiful!

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - Nothing in particular. It is a small hotel so it might be lacking some of the features bigger structures have such as a bar or a parking on site, but the service and professionality of the staff, joint to a distinct flair of the place quickly make up for the difference.

    - Location is good, just a few steps from the centre and maybe 10/15 minutes on foot from the thermal baths - Staff has been very professional throughout the stay - Room decorations seem to have a taste for the details.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is a perfect combination of charming inn and sophisticated hotel. The staff are cordial and welcoming. The restaurant is outstanding. The rooms range from cozy single (efficient!) and roomy with an open fireplace.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast buffet a little limited in comparison with other Baden establishments I've stayed in, but very adequate.

    Hotel in very good decorative condition, very obviously a family owned establishment with a good underground car park nearby.Very friendly and efficient staff. Good cuisine.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived late, and were quickly helped to our rooms. We then had our dinner in the dining room - it was absolutely excellent. This is a great place, with great staff. Try it, you'll like it.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fairly well done hotel and quite well located. Younger staff was willing to please but the seniors had a stuck up attitude. They did everything seemingly willingly but eventually one felt they were only doing you a favour. They tried to give us a smaller room than what we had paid for. After we went up to the room we objected and they they offered an upgrade at a small extra cost which we took. A senior suggested a few restaurants for dinner. When I later asked them to make a reservation I was told they do not make reservations!! How silly is that? Probably because they thought this would force us to eat at their own restaurant. Which we certainly did not. Breakfast much written about but quite ordinary really. Nice, but the least one could expect from a hotel that charges these rates and actually not as nice as others we have come across on this trip. Overall a tight and pokey feeling to the property.

    location.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Family with young children

    It seems that the Hotel has problems with staff - there are many boys who are very kind but are not professional at all, or guy at the reception who should study how to welcome guests. No hospitality. The rooms don't have devices to make tea/coffee which promise the site. The space of the rooms is not what is declared.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioning but fan provided once requested.

    Old fashioned quality service where nothing was too much trouble. Nice touches like complementary tea and cakes and excellent selection for breakfast. Great location from which to explore Baden-Baden, visit Spas etc. Convenient parking.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very poor air conditioning while it was very hot that week. Should at least invest in fans for each room

    Excellent location, very clean rooms, great staff

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bad location Bad facilities Poor breakfast The gave us a rooms in the roof it was like staying in a jungle And it was too expensive compari g with facilities The stairs like climping a mountain

    Nothing Everything was bad

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    need more non-pork verities in the breakfast

    Every thing in this hotel is great from the beautiful design to the wonderful small garden to the very convenient location but all of that is nothing compared to the wonderful staff who made us feel at home and always smiling even with my two little noisy kids a big thanks to all who is working there i wish you all the best

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The mattress was a bit soft. The bathrooms in the penthouse suite were a bit of a challenge - very small. During breakfast they only had one brezel, no "normal" brötchen, only ones with seeds.

    The staff was very nice. During check-in we got offered the penthouse suite instead of two junior suites. We also didn't realize that the room rate not only included breakfast, but also coffee and cake in the afternoon, which was a pleasant surprise. Everything in Baden-Baden was walking distance from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast lack variety

    Everything I was upgraded from Jounior Suit to the penthouse 2 bedrooms ... its one of the best places i ever stayed in with my family ... very special. highly recommended

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A beautiful hotel well-situated to everything in Baden-Baden. Service from hotel staff was generous and impeccable. Breakfast and tea were lovely. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a terrible negative, but some of the amenities listed for the hotel, such as robes and a coffee pot in the room were nowhere to be found. Parking for our car very expensive.

    Location and overall quality of the hotel comes with high marks from reviewers and travel books alike. We found most of them to be on target. We especially liked that the reception desk offered us a choice of 3 rooms when we first arrived, all quite different from each other. It was early May, and the hotel was quiet at the time. There is not a large reception and lounge area and only 1 tiny elevator, but nevertheless the hotel exudes a quiet charm. The hotel has a reputation for fine food and the daily morning breakfast proved to be excellent. Our room was large with a very nice updated bathroom. Some of the furnishings were beginning to show their age and the bed was not comfortable, at least for us, but all in all, I'd say you can be assured of a pleasant stay at this hotel. Don't miss Baden Baden on your tour of Germany. It is much much more than a spa town with a glorious park for strolling, excellent museum, great culture, fantastic restaurants - be sure to try "Rizzi" on the park and "Amadeus" for lunch ( in one of the main plazas.) Of course, the shopping - or maybe just window shopping, isn't to be missed either.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Incredibly professional and helpful staff - Good breakfast spread - Perfect location to town - restaurants, shopping, spas, etc. - Rooms are quaint and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The floors squeaked like crazy, but we found that rather charming. Older hotels do that.

    Fantastic location - close to the downtown area. Walking distance to a lot of great things.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were not helpful in loading our luggage into the car.

    The hotel had a sophisticated and classy feel about it. Everything was lovely and the location was excellent. We had a lovely room and the afternoon tea was a nice addition.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Welcomed by staff Bags carried upstairs Choice of rooms Car parked Comfortable room Good restaurant, helpful staff Good location near centre and easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is a couple of minutes from the town but in a quiet street. The decor is traditional, the staff are very helpful and the dining room is a joy to eat in.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great room, very helpful and pleasant staff. Convenient location. Wonderful breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good location, good breakfeast, it worths

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the upgrade to a junior suite.

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: