Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Design-Hotel Zur Abtei

Napoleonsberg 132, 52076 Aachen, Germany

#31 of 41 hotels in Aachen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 136 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 12

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is lovely and we did enjoy our stay a lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place is nice, but very old and the rooms could need some love.

    The hotel is lovely and we did enjoy our stay a lot. The rooms are comfortable and cosy, the staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful and the location is great to. I booked a budget room first, but once we arrived we asked to change to a normal double room and the staff moved us into a new room immediately. I appreciated that a lot.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    Clean, spacious rooms, comfortable bed, nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom at the top floor, shower without half of one door so water splashed out, getting the water temperature right was impossible - either super hot or cold.

    Clean, spacious rooms, comfortable bed, nice breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    It was a nice night, the staffs are very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room facilities are super old, some of the furnitures are broken, but most of them are functional.

    The staffs are super nice and friendly. I forgot my laptop in my room, the staffs help me find it back. The room is quite big, with a bathroom and a tiny toilet in it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was great. Very clean and comfortable. Just the right size. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a pleasant surprise, great variety and set us up for the day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.1
    Friendly staff. Not happy with room & bathroom!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a dark room at the back of the building with a spa bath & no proper shower. Later we discovered rooms better outfitted than ours.Friendly staff. Not happy with room.

    Good breakfast. Friendly people.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.8
    If you just need to sleep a good stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In fact hotel direct in busy road, and abby on other side road. Also hotel was in renovation and restaurant closed.

    I needed to be in area and booking showed idyllic hotel. Room clean and basic in the rooftop.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    6.3
    Enough for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    - It is located 25min by car from the center of AACHEN - there were not curtains or shutters in our bedroom - the bathroom wasn't absolutly clean (some hair found in the bath and on the towels)

    - Welcoming personnel, - large and spacious bedroom, well decorated! - the view - the parking in front

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    8.3
    Nice and very practical place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decoration is a bit surprising sometimes, but this is a matter of personal feeling.

    - Very quiet room at the back - large bath in the bathroom - very confortable bed - breakfast buffet is OK

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.1
    Very stylish, good breakfast, staff very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very stylish, good breakfast, staff very friendly and attentive

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    Start of a fact finding trip with brothers culminating in Leipzig Bach Festival
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the upstairs rooms with luggage is to be expected

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    Rooms very comfortable and meals excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rooms very comfortable and meals excellent

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    5.8
    Its a bit different
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No Elevator, avoid the upper stories if you have luggage. No tv in the room. Noisy people in the attic.

    Its a bit different

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 12

Guests also reviewed these properties: