Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Detmolder Hof This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Lange Str. 19, 32756 Detmold, Germany

#4 of 20 hotels in Detmold

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 195 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...all exceptional!

    After traveling for two weeks, this was the best hotel we stayed at...location, room amenities, quiet, friendly staff, and much more. Awesome dinner and breakfast. Would definitely stay here again...wish we stayed more than one night!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small things that undercut the otherwise superb presentation of this hotel: thin towels, cheap facial tissues, cheap soap in the bathroom

    This is a great hotel in an unbeatable location. The double room I had was huge -- large entry hall with closets, huge bathroom with state-of-the-art shower and tub, large bedroom with a very comfortable king bed, first-class furnishings and high ceilings throughout. A great value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were obviously bothering the staff as they could hardly be bothered to either listen, lots of wrong orders at Breakfast. Given poor information about parking before and when we got there. The worst was a waitress who was making comments about us because we weren't speaking German, very uncomfortable.

    Fantastic meal real gourmet dining and great room but with the exception of the waiter on the night service was shockingly bad.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing parking, but the city park house is not far.

    Centrally located hotel, combining grown history with modern comfort. Also one of the best restaurants in Detmold the only noisy passers-by disturbing your tranquility are - birds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was disappointing and way below the German standard. We had requested a parking space but upon arrival none was available. The toilet door is made of glass (yes really)

    Spacious room and bathroom. Hotel located right in the historical town center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - breakfast. I would recommend to add some croissants. As for hot dishes you make ask for - parking is a little bit an issue. But it's 200 m far the parking you may leave car.

    - hotel is amazing with its own history - staff is friendly. They made a birthday cake for my husband, it's nice and tasty

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was warm, and had no air con(that I could find) and difficult to open windows because of the luxurious blinds. I love fresh air so this was a bit inconvenient for me. However, this was bearable for us in late September, but not I imagine in the height of summer. The bathroom was very "high end" lots of marble and well thought out fittings, but the towels were a bit of a let down and bathrobes were only available on request, I really couldn't be bothered with the hassle. Perhaps robes could be placed in the room? The breakfast was adequate, but laid out in a separate room which was unusual, not too much choice but passable.

    A comfortable Hotel, full of old world charm in the heart of Detmold. The room was very large, the bathroom luxurious with separate shower, toilet and sink. All the fittings were of a high standard.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast basic. No tea coffee facilities in the room. No hot water had to call reception who then informed us there was a fault but no apology or discount. No lounge area to have a coffee.

    Room was wonderful lovel bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no conditioned air in the room, but outside was fresh and we opened our old window above the city roofs...

    beautiful old stile hotel, wonderful room and bathroom very comfortable, perfectly clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    We liked the friendlyness of staff and all the surroundings could have not been bettter coming back to a town and meeting up with old friends after 36years it was brill

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    really nothing was disappointing, but 4 tips for the hotel staff: getting breakfast by passing the reception was a bit awkward, the room to 'collect' your breakfast was a bit too dark, fresh juice would be better than the juice offered and puttin a hair dryer standard in the room is better than asking for it at the reception.

    Very spacious and luxury (bath)room (2 person room), fridge (mini bar) available in the room to put your own drinks in, free safe in the room, just 100 meters from parking garage (Parkhaus Detmold, Hornsche Str. 22) for only 7,50 euro per day, breakfast was ok with freshly made eggs the way you want it, good wifi, make use of touristic bus 792 (starting every hour from 09:00 - 19:00, saturday and sunday only) to travel to Hermannsdenkmal (15 minutes - 2,60 euro one way) or Externsteine (30 minutes - 4,80 euro one way). Closest busstop from the hotel is 'Allee' in the Hornerstrasse. The walk between Externsteine and Hermannsdenkmal is 10 km through hilly forests and is a very beautiful walk. The town itself is nice to walk around with lots of old painted buildings. Good restaurants are fewer but we liked the Brauhaus State. Very good point for breakfast or lunch is Wortmann. Detmold is a good place for 2-3 nights.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel next to the old center of Detmold. Great, spacious, quiet room and bathroom. Very good bed. Friendly, helpfull staff. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast fresh fruit and vegetable offerings could be of a better quality and selection. Mornings in the halls are quite loud. Since old buildings like these do not have the best sound proofing, the heavy snorer that stayed next to me for two days actually awoke me. Note that the vacuum cleaning, and heavy footsteps from the room above sometimes prevented me from that little extra late morning sleep.

    The hotel is smaller and has very elegant rooms that take you back in history when drapery, wall coverings and seats all were matching. Their beds are firm and you can have relaxing sleeps in their lovely lightweight goose down duvet and pillows. On the flip side their bathrooms are large and modern. You can enjoy a comfortable bath or a rainhead shower that is in a separate stall, as is the toilet. They provided toiletries which I also appreciated. There is also a great deal of cupboard space which is often not the case in smaller hotels. The staff in the restaurant quickly figure out their guests morning breakfast habits, and by day two deliver to your table without your even asking. When you step out of the hotel you are in the centre of everything Detmold has to offer. Nearby, there are farmer's markets three days a week and some small clothing and household items can also be found. People here are genuinely lovely and most welcoming. Culture and history are rich here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a beautiful hotel! Amazing, nice antique design and furniture, marble floor with a very high-tech bathroom. So pleasantly surprised. For sure we will return.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet very slow

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I will come back for sure

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Everything was wonderful, especially the staff and the three course surprise dinner!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast. The cold shower.

    The location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All is good

    Great place , you feel home

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    Location. Close to Herman Memorial and Externstein. Detmold has lovely Tuesday markets.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very old fashioned

    location and size of room. good bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort & Facilities

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Broken shower for the duration of my stay. It wouldn't work at all. I did report it but it wasn't repaired. There was a shower over the bath to use. Only offered cooked breakfast on one day. (Sunday) Only continental breakfast on the Monday. Parking. There isn't any!!!

    Everything. Almost!

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our German was basic and staff all tried to speak English, even when we ventured to speak German. Restaurant staff very helpful. Quality of food and presentation excellent.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was free but a bit slow

    Clean, kind and friendly staff. Excellent food in hotel and hotel right on pedestrian mall with shops and restaurants galore. Very clean and picturesque city

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    service in restaurant slow

    good location, nice room including bathroom, clean

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Liked everything from the minute we arrived. The room was excellent and very good service for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Couple

    Hotel rooms and staff also location of hotel food very good

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was very warm in the room and difficult to air.

    Fabulous location and gorgeous hotel, excellent service

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all.

    Fantastic top floor room. Brilliant breakfast. A lovely small town hotel with a very friendly welcome.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedroom suite

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    breakfast, room

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Browse Hotel Detmolder Hof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: