Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Deutsches Theater This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Landwehrstrasse 18, Ludwigsvorstadt, 80336 Munich, Germany

#320 of 349 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1665 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.4
    It was very old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very old. The duvets were not clean on the inside, having weird red spots. The hotel was central but in a street full of bars. The windows are not sound isolating and I could hear the music all night since I was just above the bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    A nice stay :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is comfortable and nice-looking, with a view on the red roof of a beautiful traditional building, reminding you of the location at central old city of Munich. I like the red color of the furniture -- in my understanding it's from the traditional part of Bavaria state. The staff at the reception desk is very nice and helpful. The lady who received me when I checked in on Aug 11 made great efforts to find a battery recharger for me, when no adaptor was available. This saved me great deal of power from my laptop hence allowed me more time to work on my documents, as without this I would have had to recharge my phone on the laptop ... I don't know her name, but I really want to express my thankfulness here again. The breakfast is nice, too, with many different types of bread, cheese and sausages, as well as eggs, bacon, fruits, yogurt and cereal; and the coffee is good! Last but not least, the rate is really reasonable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.3
    Nice enough, close to everything, but a little bit run-down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea/coffee making facilities, no fridge, and it's a bit run-down (we think the last update was in the 1980s).

    The hotel was clean and most of the staff were nice, although one man was quite unpleasant. There was a communications mix-up and the manager gave us a free breakfast to apologise. The area is a little dodgy but the hotel is part of a beautiful historical theatre complex. It is very close to the station, the trams, and the pedestrian zones (shopping and the old city).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.3
    Pricy for what it is offered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet didn't flush correctly, no AC system (very hot in summer nights), old and dirty-looking furniture, no fridge, phone didn't work, a bit pricy given the previous problems.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.3
    Perfectly fine for a night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a little difficult to find - walked straight past it, there is another similarly named hotel nearby (across an adjoining courtyard) No air conditioning, fan provided. The courtyard was also noisy, echoing up to my third floor room.

    En-suite bathroom was large and very well serviced with fast, hot water. Helpful, friendly staff, easy check-in after a tiring journey.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.0
    Convenient location between the main train station and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really shabby, nicks and holes in the walls, broken electrical outlets, etc. After I checked in to my room, (apparently) housekeeping tried to access my room with their own keys and, when realised I was already in there, ran away laughing.

    Convenient location between the main train station and the old town

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.2
    Only staff very nice people :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    would never recommend living in it or in any hotel adjacent to it. The main problem in the whole area is full of shops that are not suitable for families. Throughout the evening, bad people are present and fill the streets with promises and most of them are drunk. If you are an Arab and want to visit Arab shops and restaurants, it is best to stay outside this area and visit it from morning until the fourth or the fifth evening maximum in the summer Hotel is clean but everything is very old :(

    Only staff very nice people :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Over priced and a bit old fashioned, the furniture is old and worn out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pillows on the beds were very unusual, I would have preferred a more standard UK type of pillow.

    The location is close to the Railway Station and only about 15 minutes walk to the tourist areas including Kennedy's the Irish pub. The rooms were cleaned daily and the shower had plenty of hot water. All of the reception staff spoke good English and were helpful, polite, friendly and very informative about the area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    4.6
    It was good location to travel places
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area was very dodgy, didn’t feel safe at all. Couldn’t go out at night as we were fearful of coming home in the dark. Do not recommend this hotel to others based on that.

    It was good location to travel places

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    The location is good but if your plan is the old town for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s safe there but there are many hookah stores there, so that lots of people drink and smoke at night, not very quite. The facility is kind of old and the room is small. Sound proof is not that good as well.

    The location is good but if your plan is the old town for most of the time, you can choose hotels more closed to that. Cuz this one is convenient but still need to walk for 15 mins.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great, about 10 mins to the main train station and 15 mins away from the main square of munich. We had an enjoyable stay, the staff are very friendly and the breakfast was superb!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Meets expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There appear to be 2 hotels with the same name close by which was confusing

    The property was fine. Was concerned about the average reviews but for a group of 7 men this was fine. The property was very clean. The receptionists were friendly and were happy to speak German or English. Location was ok with good links to centre (10 mins).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    2.9
    Really bad i didnt sleep for 2 nights. Thought I would get bugs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. They should close down. The building is so old and dirty. The elevator sounds like its about to break. The doors and buttons are not realiable. The beds are so uncomfortable the pillow is barely a pillow. Stains on beds and carpets. Pass throùgh rough area getting there. I wanted to leave immediately.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.1
    Very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The area is full of (night) clubs and adult stores, so at night one can get (as a single female) an uncomfortable feeling. I arrived very late at night, but I have to say that I did not feel threatened by anyone. There are many hotels in that area (many having 4 or 5 stars), so it is not smth I would holds against HDT in particular, but thought of sharing my experience nevertheless.

    Very central. Great value for money. My room did not have a mini-bar, but one can buy from downstairs all the drinks and snacks one can wish for. Friendly, polite staff. Towels were clean and changed daily.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.7
    The hotel was very clean & comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very clean & comfortable. The staff were incredibly helpful and attentive to our needs. The room was very dated and the furnishings tired. The shower head was broken, both my partner and I tried to set the shower to stand under it and we both got hit on the head by the shower. Also the lack of refreshments in the room was very disappointing. Just being able to get up and make a cup of coffee whilst you plan your day is pretty important for us. Also the area of town the hotel is situated in was a little unnerving.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    3.3
    Did not feel safe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dodgy area. Very loud at night because of sex bars in area. Run down facilities- beds were pretty much on the ground they were so old. Pillows had no feathers left and guy on front counter was rude!! Rude to my Mum when she asked him about the area and about the staff when I asked him for an extra towel because they forgot it. It’s like, don’t blame your staff - you’re in charge!

    The location has halfway from the station to old town, but everywhere between it and old town is dodgy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.0
    It was ok for one night, but you can find better for the same money. not recommended to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The photo on the booking doesn't reflect reality! Very old furniture and shower. The carpet way too old and because of this looks dirty.

    hot shower and clean bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.0
    Nice city amazing multicoloured buildings and clean most of the areas. Good public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water or tea and coffee facilities; not much English. Poor language to communicate. Waiting area is small. Old receptionist gentleman can not cope if you talk two sentences together or two job at the same time. No porter or boys to do any service. I ended up carrying ironing board and iron from the ground floor to 3rd floor. Can you imagine I am as short as ironing board🙄

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Very nice and helpful staff, clean rooms, convenient...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Furniture is old, so some of it is not in the best condition (the beds are good though).

    Very nice and helpful staff, clean rooms, convenient location, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable and central
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area was abit dodgy/seedy and probly not ideal for young girls they also said the breakfast could of been better.

    I booked this for my dad and his friend they was very pleased with it and said the room was clean comfortable and the location was central. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.0
    We have stay there for 2 nights and sorry but we only liked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not clean! It has really bad smell...

    We have stay there for 2 nights and sorry but we only liked their smiling ladies who were staff and the location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    6.3
    Hotel was clean and ok but a bit old-fashioned.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location has a number of sex clubs around - with all that that brings. There were a few people sleeping rough in doorways. The street noise at weekend was quite disruptive and made it difficult to sleep - although after Saturday night was considerably improved.

    Generally the hotel was quite good although a little old-fashioned and in need of updating. The room was clean and reasonably comfortable. The staff were helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    In the centre of the city, close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I don't think that we disliked anything, but for your info. the hotel is showing signs of age, but is clean and in good working order.

    The hotel is located 600 meters from Munich's main train station, which is a 45 minute trip from the airport. It is in easy walking distance of the two main shopping streets as well as a number of restaurants. Additionally you have the choice of the S suburban trains, the Uban underground trains as well as the trams and buses all located close by. The hotel has a 24 hour reception who met all of our needs and speak good English. The breakfast was plentiful and varied and very fresh. An overall enjoyable experience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    3.8
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most terrible hotel I have ever stay around the world. Almost Everything was bad, old or broken: WiFi, hotel staff, room facilities and clearness, clean schedule. Think twice before decide to stay. It's bad I can't share the video I made about my room.

    better than in a street, location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    6.3
    Basic accommodation but an ok price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been cleaner. Upgrades are needed as there are many stains/scratches/marks that make the room look dirtier than it is.

    The room was large.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    5.4
    Despite the state of the room, dirty carpet and terrible odour, the staff were understanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the carpet was filthy and there was an unfortunate odour when we entered the room. The bed had a protruding spring and the window wouldn't close the first night so we were cold and uncomfortable.

    The position was good. but a second rate hotel unfortunately.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    4.6
    the hotel was the worst part of our jurney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    "classic design" is not synonymous of old dirty or slapdash..look at the photo! it was horrible to sleep in that bed, feeling really bad. Please notice that we reserved for a "king size extralarge bed" and we found two single beds. the guy told us "somebody changed the bed". unbelievable.. no any comfort being there.

    good located, close to central station and the best part of the centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Accommodation fine.
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Train station. Dodgy

    Accommodation fine. Price great for a crash of in Munich. Most places walkable from here. Just be wary at night near the train station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.1
    not worth the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom should be cleaned properly. Found some hairs on the toilet also on the floor in the bathroom. Additonal price for breakfast.

    The Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.8
    Good place to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is nice and clean, not too big and located in a 7 min walk to the metro. you can find a lot of arab shops in its streets and lots of restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    5.8
    Awful late night revellers within the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful late night revellers within the hotel. They made noise until 4am and even after being asked twice they would not stop. Basic bad manners. Shockingly bad value until you asked for the rooms to be changed..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    3.3
    Very disappointing. Do not stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise all night long from theater courtyard made sleeping impossible. We tried to cancel our remaining four night reservations due to a change of plans, and the staff refused. We asked for at least one night’s credit and they refused.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    5.0
    Bed bases were stained and frayed, mattresses very poor and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed bases were stained and frayed, mattresses very poor and carpet stained. While the room had been cleaned and sheets were fresh, everything looked very worn-out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Staff was very friendly and helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms need some updating, but for the current price, it's a good return of investment.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful Breakfast is quite diverse and have plenty to choose from. Close to Marienplantz and easy access to SBahn

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    6.7
    Сlose to the city centre and to the the railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old furniture, no refrigerator, water temperature regulation is very bad.

    Сlose to the city centre and to the the railway station. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.1
    5 minutes on foot to subway and Marienplatz, nice personnel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old furniture, they don't have bath robes and slippers.

    5 minutes on foot to subway and Marienplatz, nice personnel. The hotel is okay just to sleep over and leave. Free WiFi in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    Good location, ok hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a bit outdated and could use some renovation, especially the carpeting on the floors...

    The location is good, short walk from the train station and to the old town. The rooms are spacious and clean. We had a room to the courtyard and it was really quiet. The breakfast is good for 9 €.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.3
    Best location but scary neighbor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was fine but the area was kinda scary a bit. My friend saw a guy almost grabbed a girl’s bag near the area. You need to watch out all the time and do not walk around too late. And the elevator of the hotel was old and scary as well. I was getting used to it during the stay tho.

    Staff were so nice and helpful. Location was nice to look around the city. You can walk to the new city hall area and central station. Also, if you’d like to visit Alianz arena, you don’t need to change subway. There is subway station close to the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    5.4
    Convenient location, but not a place to spend time. A bit grungy and not friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Courtyard side room was hot and noisy (voices echoed as people walked through at all hours) staff was unsympathetic to request to change to street side, or for a fan to cool off. Breakfast was adequate, not worth 9 euro, but convenient to have in-house.

    Location to train station and central Munich.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    2.9
    We booked a room with 2 single beds, but got 1 double bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a room with 2 single beds, but got 1 double bed. The excuse was very evasive and the hotel blamed it on Booking.com who advertises the rooms wrongly. Strange situation. Very noisy rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.4
    soso
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift is old and dangerous! We got stock inside... Quite scary... The water in the shower is difficult to control the temperature, either you burn your self or you freeze!

    even it is old, it is friendly and clean. It is not far from center, you can walk there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.1
    Located close to transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel doesn't have air-conditioning, so the rooms were warm in the height of summer.

    The hotel is centrally located within 10 minutes walk of the main railway station. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean. Breakfast was good value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    4.6
    Not much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor maintenance. Noisy street. Booking was for three adults, but third bed was for a child. I think this is partly Booking.com's fault, not having clear categories for beds. Hotel staff could not help with this. Bathroom ventilation broken, room windows latches not functioning properly, washbasin old an cracked, bath marked by repeated falling of shower head.

    Not much. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.3
    Well-kept historical hotel in an area that is no longer safe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is no longer a safe are in Munich - if you want to experience Munich what it was like 2 years ago, you will need a hotel in the very inner centre. As a woman I had to cover my legs just stepping outside the hotel as it did not feel safe. On the hotel itself - the staff was TERRIBLY UNFRIENDLY, especially an older man with French accent who was drunk on the job (smelled of alcohol terribly) and even worse than unhelpful. He should not be working in hospitality!

    The room was spacious and nice, with large windows, the beds comfortable. It is an old hotel but well kept, it has its charm.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.4
    Some staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No aircon, and the room was really hot. We had a pedestal fan, but needed to leave the windows open as well. The street outside was noisy all night until around 5am.

    Some staff were very friendly and helpful. Distance to public transport was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    4.2
    I would not stay here again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The neighborhood was not nice. It was very loud at night. My room faced the street and I was awoken each night with drunken screams and singing. There are several strip clubs near by and the location clearly is a hot spot for the drinking crowd. As a single woman, I felt uncomfortable walking around at night as there were few women around. The hotel is also in need of serious upgrades and cleaning. The water temperature in the shower would fluctuate often between very hot and very cold. I would not recommend this place for single women.

    The room was large for a single person, so I had plenty of room to spread out. It was very close to the main train station and public transport and easy to find. Within walking distance to the old town and restaurants. A laundry facility was about 4 blocks away with plenty of washer and dryers. The bed was comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.3
    The hotel is not far from the railway station and the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sometimes there was too much noise outside and I had sleepless nights.

    The hotel is not far from the railway station and the city center (Marienplatz) which was very comfortable during my staying in Munich. The hotel staff was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    5.8
    - friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - lively neighbourhood, with boom cars, people shouting late in the night, cars horning etc. - hot room when hot weather, no airco but a noisy fan - toilet didn't flush good, very annoying - some power outlets didn't work - no mixer cranes but seperate cold and warm cranes in the bathroom, which is very old - no free bottle of water - no fridge

    - friendly staff - close to the railway station if you need it - some turkish restaurants and shops nearby, as well as a fine indian restaurant, lidl and aldi

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    4.6
    horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One of the staff members (older guy with French accent) was the most unfriendly hotel employee I've seen in my life... He made me feel really uncomfortable and on my first night I actually went and looked for a different place to stay...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    The bed was comfortable and room was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault this property

    The bed was comfortable and room was lovely. Weather was really hot and I was supplied with a fan for the room upon check in

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.7
    easy accessible budget hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a bit noisy at night. No air condition in room, but you can not leave windows open at night due to noise. so had to use ear plug to get a sleep.

    easy to access, center of the city. plenty of restaurant near by.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.9
    Staff was very accomodating, i was allowed a very early...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Even with windows open it was too hot in the room. Street noise- it is a low building and with windows open it was difficult to sleep.

    Staff was very accomodating, i was allowed a very early check-in. It was very clean in the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Location, Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Although I understand that there will be a certain amount of noise at night if one is located in the City Centre, the noise from the bars located next to the Hotel was annoying, especially as the lack of air con meant that we couldn't close windows.

    The room was spacious and very comfortable. The toilet and shower were both clean, hot water all the time. The Hotel is perfectly located, with easy walking distance to any public transport and any sites worth visiting. The staff was most helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    5.0
    Was just about ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area was rough , lap dancing clubs lots of men sat on streets drunk bed was very uncomfortable and it was so so hot no air con no fans and if you opened window it was on a loud street people shouting car horns

    Location was really close to town centre and train station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.1
    Affordable but modest hotel in a lively neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The street below was very noisy. We wanted to keep the window open because there was no air conditioning. In the morning I had to compete for hot water with other hotel guests so I mostly had a cold shower. Also the breakfast area was so full that we had to wait for a free table for 10 minutes. The breakfast service was clearly understaffed and again you had to wait for plates, for clean coffee mugs, for coffee itself and lots of other products were finished by 9 when we arrived.

    The staff was very friendly. The old style of the hotel is nice and the location near the railway station is handy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.1
    Our room was ready before our check-in time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we were there in summer and there is no AC in the hotel, we had to have open windows and there was big noise from outside. The Fine Print section in hotel description is not updated: deposit of EUR 200 wasn't required and the credit card wasn't charged 24 hours before check-in -> we had to pay during check-out

    Our room was ready before our check-in time. There was quite big bathroom and comfy beds. Lot of Shisha bars and Kebabs in that street. The price is corresponding with the equipment

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.9
    Attention of the staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Chaos handling the reservations. Noisy neighbourhood. Lack of A/C (not much of an issue in Germany, though...)

    Attention of the staff. Near two stations. Breakfast OK.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    5.8
    I wouldn't stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a horrible neighborhood. There was an all-night Hooka Lounge next door. We could hear people talking loudly and laughing all night long. We couldn't shut the windows to escape the street noise because there was no air conditioning and the heat in our top floor room was unbearable. The room key was still an actual key that you are asked to return when you go out. The door to the hotel is left open on warm days and anyone could walk in and grab a key. Plus, there were no safety locks that could be engaged from inside the room other than the door lock. Breakfast was an additional cost so we didn't try it. The furnishings and carpeting were extremely worn and outdated. If I had not already been charged for the room, I would have left after the first night.

    The location was central.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.3
    Great value hotel apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had large dark stain on carpet by door. Bed and couch not the most comfortable but ok. Would have loved a fan in room :) The theater is right behind hotel so open windows mean noises. No A/C or fan, so they need to be open. Slept fine though, just a heads up.

    Great apartment like room. The bathroom had large bathtub that was nice to use. When wifi didn't work we told front desk and used it in lobby. It was fixed within 2 hours in the room (reset wasn't enough, so had to call someone over). So it worked great rest of stay :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    5.0
    Vintage hotel, needing restructuring
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel needs serious restructuring. There is no air conditioning and the rooms can get really hot. The hotel is located near several strip bars. On weekends it's noisy at night

    Proximity to downtown, the central station and public transportation

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    4.6
    I will not come back to this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no channey on the tv was with clear image the Wifi connection was very poor and many times non existent the water in bathroom was cold, there was a little hot water coming but as soon you opened the cold to mix it, there was only very cold water.... no showering was possible

    Front desk person in the morning was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.2
    Boutique gem in busy street
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room faced the street and on the Saturday night I was there there was a lot of 'atmospheric' street noise. If this would bother you, ask for a room that doesn't face the street. The street itself is busy with a lot of people puffing on water hookahs and a sort of market feel - though all very quiet on Sunday! Atmosphere changes quickly within streets in this area so don't be put off by the busyness here.

    This is a gem of an old-style hotel in a busy part of the city and priced incredibly reasonably. It is within easy walking distance of the main railway station and airport bus. The staff I met, Manu and Patrick were very friendly and helpful. Patrick recommended a wonderful restaurant close by in a quiet street that I would never have found on my own. The room was basic but clean and as a technophobe the TV remote was the simplest I have ever encountered. Bonus points for that! Wished I could have checked out the old theatre itself - next time maybe!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    6.7
    Classic hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room on 5th floor did not have enough hot water and the shower stopped suddenly,

    Location near main train station. Clean and cosy, good breakfast, specious room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    5.8
    The hotel is recommended but not for families with children
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I do not recommend the hotel for families with children. The hotel is located inside a not appropriate suburb for families. The neighborhood is covered with not appropriate photos for children. The hotel was old.

    We liked the breakfast that included everything and was so cheap. It was walking distance to trains. One of the receptionists, the girl, was so helpful. The basics were available.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    3.8
    Take wet wipes if you want to stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water out of the hot water tap for the 3 days we were there, it would start and then no water at all. Everyone on the 5 th floor was the same. Reported on the first day of trip and everyday after. Luckily had friends at other hotel and used their bathroom. All the staff would say we will look into it. When it came to check out reported it again all for the staff offered was to take the bottle of water of my bill and offer me a Crossiant. I will never go back and would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    5.0
    Patrick at the front desk was incredibly rude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Patrick at the front desk was incredibly rude. I usually never take the time to write reviews, but I felt it necessary this time. He nearly had an aneurysm when I asked him to print a ticket out even though he said the staff would be happy to. He isn't very adept with computers.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.1
    Good quality price for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The neighborhood is a little bit noisy. However, from the room we didn't hear anything and rested well.

    Comfortable room with nice bed. Bathroom ok. Easy to reach from Munich main central station. Good option for a short stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    6.7
    A bit of a sketchy part of town but for the price it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know is a street and it got very hot in there in the night and there was no air conditioning.

    A bit of a sketchy part of town but for the price it was good because I was only sleeping there. Being from Florida I certainly wish they had some air conditioning. But otherwise decent place for the price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    4.2
    It could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pillows could have been harder. The flush of the toilet didn't work well. The hot water wasn't very hot either sometimes. The mattress needs to improve. The carpet was very old. The socket didn't fit my continental adaptor. All of this is not worth the money I paid for the room.

    The hotel was quiet. No noise could be heard from the streets.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    4.6
    not recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - people at reception: had always to ask for them, never on the desk. - most of power sockets were NOT working. - double bed with SINGLE duvet - 1 pillow only - no baggage place in the room - delayed cleaning - tv very old and small - shower very old and small: water was going hot and cold by itself - be careful from the people in the area

    next to the theatre

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    7.5
    Hotel Deutsches Theater - short review
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is clear that the hotel is not new, however it perfectly fits for a short stay.

    The location of the hotel is really good with easy access from the central station and to the city main attractions. Moreover, the neighbouring area was not so noisy as I was expecting by the comments I've read. The 24h reception is a plus and the staff was really helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    4.6
    Just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby hotel to say the least! Not for couples! Cold water in shower, nail clippings on carpet!! Real disappointment. Don't bother, there are much nicer places in Munich.

    The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    5.0
    Ok for one night only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very soft and bowing in the middle. The room was at the front of the building and the road was very noisy all night. The electrics were not that safe, with loose light switches.

    The size and layout of the room was good and it was clean. The reception staff were very helpful and nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    6.7
    Location was near the station and the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff was unacceptable upon arrival, after filling some complaints through booking.com I received an offer for free breakfast on the last day. Definitely not going to stay again here

    Location was near the station and the city centre

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    3.8
    not recommended for stay,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms could have been maintained better .The breakfast could have better spread.

    The rooms are not maintained at all . All the bathroom fittings are bad . the bed is absolutely no comfort . the lifts are worst.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Deutsches Theater traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: