Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Diamanthotel Handelshof This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Tiefensteiner Straße 235, 55743 Idar-Oberstein, Germany

#9 of 17 hotels in Idar-Oberstein

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 166 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 14

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Recommend for families with little child, and Rally spectators
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We used here for base for 2018 Rallye Deutschland. Idar-oberstein is very close from stage "Panzerplatte", you can reach to each parkings around 25 minute. During Rally event, breakfast will be served from 6:30 in weekend for Rally spectators. This hotel has very nice "biergarten", you can take nice lunch and dinner at there. Also there is big garden that little children can play. I would like to recommend this hotel for families with little child. Breakfast is Germany hotel classical but enough. You can order tasty egg dish.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    A good sleap and eat along the road
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Charging 1.50 for a coffee or a tea and 2 euro something for a water in the room is greedy. Either you make coffee/tea/bottle of water free or increase the price for the room accordingly. The hotel is close to a road so if you are sensible to sounds from the road remember to bring your ear plugs. The breakfast was correct, but the coffee was very weak, and the choice could have been more inspiring. Even if the food at the restaurant was good I felt overwhelmed because the portions were so large. Half the portion would have been enough for me. If you are local you can take a doggy bag, but not as a tourist.

    The owner and the staff were very friendly and you could see that they put a lot of efforts in keeping the hotel up and running and clean. I liked the atmosphere at the hotel, even if the hotel was somehow old-fashioned and has seen its best days. We felt welcome and at our ease. The food at the restaurant was good, so do not be afraid to have a meal here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Welcomed feeling and a nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain.

    There was a familiar feeling in the hotel. The staff were very friendly and relaxed. They made efforts to make us feel welcome at all times. The room was spacious and nice. The breakfast was fine and warm dish could be ordered. We had dinner one evening and the food was tasty. The portion was so big that it was hard to eat it all. A privat parking was available for hotel and restaurant guests. The wi-fi worked very well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice people and good breakfast service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv was not receiving channels clear, Internet was not working very good. Asking E 1,50 for a sacket of instant coffee or tea is not realistic and not from this time. Should be free. I bought a packet of 20 sackets for E 1,30 in the supermarket.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    charmant hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    miscommunication with lady in restaurant, when we went for diner the restaurant was full, so make sure to make a reservation first :-)

    staff, big rooms, cosy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant hotel for a short visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Steak from restaurant was not tender nor tasty but was pricey.

    Owner was very friendly and very helpful. Other staff also friendly. Pleasant small hotel with nice beer garden. Close to lovely forest walks.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Great Hotel Fab Food.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We stayed here in particular as they have one the best BBQ. I know it was April and had been snowing the week before but they BBQ 365. Locals travel to eat here. They are in the process of upgrading their rooms, but still large comfortable, shower was hot and powerful. Overall enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.3
    Very good, caring welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good welcome. Very large room. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Staff were very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very friendly and helpful Large apartment

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    The proprietor was very helpful when our delayed luggage was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The proprietor was very helpful when our delayed luggage was delivered the day after we were there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Very nice people.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice people. Good food and good beer!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    9.6
    Very nice room, with large windows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice room, with large windows. Very romanticly decorated. Breakfast was very good, very cosy room. They spent a lot of time decorating all the rooms very nicely. Staff was very friendly

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    9.6
    Friendly staff members spoke excellent English and were very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not close to much else in town.

    Friendly staff members spoke excellent English and were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    Hotel was very clean and staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel was very clean and staff was friendly. The Beer Garden is a wonderful and relaxing benefit to staying at the Diamant.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 14

Browse Diamanthotel Handelshof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: