Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg 4 stars

Hirschgasse 3, Neuenheim, 69120 Heidelberg, Germany

#8 of 66 hotels in Heidelberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 191 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Salon Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit off the city center.

    Super comfortable room. Overall style of the hotel is great. Plus some “mini” things like putting your last name next to the bell near your door. Could be great for romantic stay as well. Close to the Philosophenweg.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet connection was awful, I couldn't connect to wifi and staff couldn't solve that problem. I spend 2 hours in my car just in fornt of the hotel to check my mails.

    cleanliness, staff, design, atmosphere was amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator was a bit slow but in this hotel it aded to the releaxed atmosphere.

    A delightful breakfast with tasty bites and every item very well prepared, all personally served to the guest.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't get a table in the restaurant for the Saturday night because we left it too late and understandably it was booked out. Our fault not theirs but disappointing.

    Had dinner in the restaurant on the Thursday night and it was an excellent meal.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owner imparts her true passion on the property and every detail shows it. Each suite is painstakingly crafted into a unique retreat. This is a must when in Heidelberg

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Salon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a little on the hard side.

    Details. This says it all. When you stay somewhere and they make you feel special at every turn, it is worth enjoying this beautiful appointed property.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For this price and services, I would expect at least the availability to make a tea or a coffee directly on the room.

    This hotel is very nice and located in an green area close to the old town bridge. Breakfast is expensive but at the same time absolutely delicious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Bedroom Salon Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The king bed wasn't comfortable enough.

    The location is a perfect, calm and peaceful area. The accommodation is an old heritage building more than 400 years, and you would indeed enjoy the simplicity and yet how beautiful it's.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2-Bedroom Salon Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were charged for the optional breakfast €25 per person even though we didn't stay at the hotel for the whole duration of our stay.

    It was comfortable and quiet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super friendly owners. So many wonderful details. The beds were amazing ! Breakfast was a real treat with homemade yoghurt and regional items. A truly special Inn.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are in DESPERATE need of updating. Our room smelled like a damp library book... maybe mold? There is NO excuse for them charging that price for a room like that. Please rip out that horrible Laura Ashley décor and modernize. There was literally an insect cocoon on the bathroom curtain... not well cleaned at all. The breakfast (at 26 euro a head) was pushed too hard, and wasn't worth the price.

    The young man who checked us in was very friendly, as was the British woman serving breakfast. The restaurant was beautiful. The beds were sagging, but comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little to comment on

    On Arrival a Lovely welcome with refreshments. Introduction to the history of the place. Very good eye for (subtle) details. We just loved it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent. Wine on arrival from own Wineyard and a goodnight treat as a surprise. Amazing. Forgot my sun glasses in the safe and they contacted us and they arrange to have them send to Denmark. What a service!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Bedroom Salon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning or ceiling fans or floor fans. Very uncomfotable room and building during hot weather (30 degrees C). Don't stay here when its hot!

    Staff very attentive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedrooms a tad on the small side. Poor shower above bathtub in my room - no screen or shower curtain. These little things aside, it is a fabulous hotel.

    Amazing warm knowledgeable staff. Possibly the best breakfast in my life - a real event. Excellent starred restaurant. cosy rooms. Great walking / hiking trails from the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Salon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the bath room's water quality is not good, maybe the reason of tube?

    The staff of the hotel is so good, especially the owner of the hotel, we arrived at 6pm on Sunday, he waiting for us and share the snacks and sparkling wine, also take around 30mins introduce the Heidelburg city and hotel to us, and due to the hotel restaurant is not open on Sunday and Monday, he also suggest different kinds of good restaurants to us. The breakfast is fantastic, everyone should taste by themselves(but it's not buffet). The position is also good, around 400m to the old city center. Last point, the bath supplies are all from Asprey, the quality is so good. Thank you for giving the nice memory to our family.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Salon Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Corridors could have been cleaner, however I think some redecoration is taking place. Dog charge was more expensive than most hotels and he was not made to feel very welcome, e.g. I was asked to leave dining room at breakfast time when I have only stopped on the way through to speak to another guest. There was also no doggie extras included in the charge. For example, some hotels provide dog beds, waste bags and doggie snacks. Wifi didn't work at all in my room.

    It was nice to stay is a family run hotel with character. The owners are very friendly and so are the staff. The food is excellent. The breakfast is fantastic and whilst its more expensive than most its worth it. This is the best breakfast i've had for a very long time. And, its not a buffet, Yay! The evening food in the bar is very good and the gourmet restaurant deserves its Michelin star.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower had a curtain instead of glass. It was spotless, but I prefer glass. Seriously folks that's all I could come up with.

    This is a family friendly boutique hotel. They have all the class and elegance you might expect from such a wonderful old property without any of the pretense. The location is a short walk from downtown Heidelberg and quiet enough to really relax in the evening and getting started in the morning.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a great experience for my wife and I. The hotel staff is extremely personable and really go above and beyond to make your stay amazing. The hotel is full of history and great charm. Highly recommend it! Will hopefully be back someday.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners of this hotel have done everything possible to ensure that their guests feel welcome and are happy and comfortable- and they have succeeded!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Salon Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No airconditioning so room was very warm.

    Lovely hotel with great history. Food was excellent and imaginative. Short walk into the Old Town. Easy access to the Philosopher's Walk path overlooking Heidelberg. Heidelberg itself is lovely with a nice vibe

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning that I could find so I would not consider staying in the summer. Also would have loved to be able to have a cup of tea when desired and not have to wait until the dining area was open .

    Rich with history, this hotel gave us a wonderful start to our Germany vacation. I loved learning about the students who dueled there and the fact that Mark Twain stayed there and actually included the place in a story. The restaurant was also exceptional and many of the historical antiques are still on display.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was all delightful and I would come back in a heartbeat.

    This is a wonderful family run hotel that offers a unique accomodation experience. It is nestled in a verdant enclave just metres away from the river and a serene 10 minute riverside walk from the old town. The view from my window was like peering into the pages of a fairytale, rippling fir trees, traditional red tiled roofs and spires. The rooms are all individually decorated and extremely comforting and welcoming with lovely touches like a name plate on your door and a plethora of toiletries, gift of wine and magazines. The best part though is the staff and their professional courteous approach. They make you feel like visiting royalty and treat you with immense respect and kindness. Having travelled from Australia, this was so welcoming. The food is exquisite and of the highest local quality, each item served with reverence. Quite a memorable experience! Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In an ideal world air con as it was so very warm. Understand that due to the age of the building that this may not be practical.

    Great attention to detail and really felt looked after by the staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning although the blurb said there was climate control. Charged for parking which we thought was excessive given the cost of staying in this hotel.

    Good quiet location and a historic property. Very attentive staff. Access to city near old bridge easy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our (bath)room needed a bit of an update, but was yet very comfortable

    Great hospitality and we enjoyed the historical atmosphere. Very good diner and exceptional breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2-Bedroom Salon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was extremely helpful. They called to make sure we were still coming. We didn't arrive until 15 minutes before the dining room closed and they didn't blink an eye. Very accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2-Bedroom Salon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historic hotel with amazing breakfast, wonderful service, friendly and professional staff, delicious food (dinner on rose terrace) very comfortable and attractive rooms.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming well appointed small luxury hotel. Great receptionist introduced us to the history of the building, the hotel and our room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is the best hotel I have been. The staff is great, the room is big and comfortable, and the breakfast is a must!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Salon Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was wonderful

    It was wonderful to stay in a building that has a lot of history

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, exquisite breakfast (and also dinner at their restaurant). Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay ten euros to park car in difficult tight space.

    Excellent suite. Excellent breakfast. Good staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Salon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is ideally located, is beyond quaint, has friendly and helpful staff and great food!grat experience across the board!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service Breakfast Atmosphere Bed Silence Parking Dinner

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    It was all wonderful. A great place to stay in Heidelberg. Near the Philosophers Way walking path. So much history.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked all of it.

    The way history is acknowledged and preserved is a truely unique asset of this beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor Wi-Fi. But hotel built more then 500 years ago ...

    Great Mini Hotel. Lux quality. Ancient building (1475 y.) and history.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Salon Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    absolutely nothing

    fabulous, charming and a little expensive

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking is a bit tight

    arrival is warm and welcoming

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wheather was bad

    The dinner has been excellent, service was great

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very personal and warmhearted reception- quite room yet central

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced menu. Having to pay for guest parking.

    The welcome. History of property. Uniqueness of it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms are in need of repair and renovation

    food was excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing not to like. It was one of the nicest place we have stayed. I will most definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2-Bedroom Salon Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Both restaurants were closed on Sunday and Monday.

    The location is perfect, only a few minutes walking distance from the old city.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent staff, best restaurant in Germany. Nice room, good beds, great shower, WiFi, the best breakfast, good hospitality.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Possibly tea/kettle in the room

    Exceptional restaurant and delightfully furnished room; very warm in cold weather.pleasant walk to the old town. On site parking.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Took a long time for the water to run hot in the rooms but that was a small price to pay considering other aspects of the property.

    Hotel managed by the owners who were ready to talk about the area and give advice and explain the historical significance of the building. Easy walking distance from the Old Town and the Old Town train station and just a short step away from the famous Philosopher's Way. Lovely breakfast in rooms full of the student duelling history of Heidelberg.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room rate is a little expensive, but it's really valuable once we reach the hotel. However, it could be better if the price include breakfast.

    Room of hotel is soooo romantic, strongly recommend it especially for honeymoon or young couple trip. Reception gal is very friendly, with a warm welcome and introduce sight point of Heidelberg, she also help me send my postcard on the last day because we din't find postbox. Hotel location is good, one of reason we chose it is free parking, though it is not at the center of city but still within walking distance to philosopher way, old bridge, old town and tram station of castle.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cost per night was expensive and did not include breakfast, which though lovely was also expensive.

    Good location within walking distance of the town centre. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Comfortable room, but furnishing and decoration needs some updating. The restaurant serves delicious food!!

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing history. Beautiful decor, furnishings, food, flowers, comfort - everything. Wonderful staff - particularly Marcella the Asst. Manager, who took GREAT care of us when we arrived late - helping us with directions, parking, luggage and with so much enthusiasm and appreciation for our visit and for Hirschgasse. Both dining rooms were also fantastic in every aspect - decor, details, service and absolutely magnificent food - beautifully served and truly delicious! The "Butler Breakfast" was "over the top", too! Being there was a phenomenal treat for all of our senses!

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Completely outdated furniture, moss-grown, rock hard mattress, clogged drain in bathroom, hair dryer damaged, copletely overpriced

    Nice traditional hous, Restaurant, very good qualité

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room is very traditional, and it gives a feeling of back home. It is great for car parking, also it is not far away from city centre either by foot or by bus, very convienent.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For 280 EURO per night, our Junior Suite was very dated and stuffy (early 80's chintz). No tea/coffee facility in room.

    Short walk along river to the old town. Staff welcoming. Comfortable bedding.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bed is too soft.

    A lovely house which has more than 600 years' history. This house itself is a very famous place in Heidelberg with a good restaurant in it. The decoration is in an beautiful old fashion way which makes you feel like in a "knight & princess" era, very interesting experiences. Free parking lots. Nice reception. Each room has its own name and style, the surname of the guests will be shown beside the door, and a small bottle wine as a welcome gift, very thoughtful.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast is quite OK but it is not served as a buffet and it is a big minus. We did not need or liked some of the staff brought to out table. We would prefer to select ourselves food what we like. No vegetables offered at all.

    In particular very nice bed for a good rest and silent nights.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Awful service level: we were treated like hooligans- a lady from the staff yelled very aggressively at us just because we hold the elevator for 1 minute! For the first time in my life I felt really not welcome as a Customer and I never ever saw before someone behaving like this towards a Customer especially when spending 1350 euro for 3 nights! She really frightened my daughter too. On top of this, the pictures of the website are very very different from reality!

    Location close to the river and the city centre

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Duvet to warm, hindered sleep, to cold off and to hot on, but I was offered sheets and blankets but it was the day if my departure.

    Lovely staff, excellent hotel, great food, lovely situation, and a hotel full of history

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor heating, cold toilet room, monotonous breakfasts

    Nice hotel on the outskirts of the town(10 minutes walk to the old part) Friendly staff, own parking, good breakfasts.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very comfortable and the staff went out of their way to be welcoming and helpful. Outstanding food in the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice location, gorgeous junior suite, walking distance to Old Town Heidelberg attractions

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Way too expensive.

    We booked this hotel considering tradition, and that is what we found. Both restaurants are fabulous.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    In summer there is no air conditioning. The building is hot.

    It is a beauty of a building built in 1492.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi

    Foods & accommodate

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast arrangement. It was not buffet but just served some set which is not my choice.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not good parking.

    The room, the decor and the nearness to downtown.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Guests also reviewed these properties: