Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dietrich-Bonhoeffer-Hotel Berlin Mitte This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Ziegelstr. 30, Mitte, 10117 Berlin, Germany

#181 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 459 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cubicle was very small (even for me, and I am not large at all). Used the designated car parking and wasn’t aware it wasn’t included in the price. A bit of a surprise. The amount is not large but would have been a good idea to let me know.

    Clean and fresh. Everything functional. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are clean and large. The staff is especially kind and friendly. Breakfast was particularly good. It has a great position for visiting most of the attractions in berlin. Very satisfied with the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I guess it can get quite hot in the summer. It was 27 Celsius during the day and plus 20 at night and the room didn't have airconditioning. Luckily I can sleep anywhere, but I think some people might be unpleasantly surprised. Small tv, but I didn't use it.

    Loved the location, nice compact room and great view on the fifth floor. The breakfast was very good and had everything you's want (except kaiserbrötchen...). The hotel has a religious background, so you get some complimentary reading in your room as well as a fresh bible verse in the elevator daily weather report. I thought it was cute. Just like the free wifi called "Godspot", which was working fine. Free apples in the lobby!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WifI absolutely sucks, ended up using my 4G phone instead. Beds are hard, and the noice from the road and the parties in the neighborhood kept me up all night

    Not sure what i liked about the hotel. I guess the breakfast was ok, but besides this, 135 Euro for a Hostel Level hotel is not ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kettle and hot drinks, no toiletries (most hotels in Germany don't provide any which doesn't make sense, with luggage restrictions by airlines, it is great to no drags hips of bottles, a kettle, coffee, etc.) but what I disliked most are the stairs right by the entrance with no lift for luggage, so you have to hurl your luggage up stairs.

    Spacious room, sofa and desk

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The towels were not exchanged in time. The soap container for the bathroom sink was empty throughout our stay!

    The location is REALLY excellent. It was a pleasant surprise to find a Bible in the room!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is well positioned just off Friedrichstrasse and only a short walk from the train station. It is central to a lot of the tourist attractions and the Museum island is very close. The room was clean , tidy and a good size. The breakfast was good and set us up for a good day ahead sightseeing around this wonderful and interesting city. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything but would love at least one English speaking TV channel on the cable TV.

    This is an excellent 3 star hotel. Very helpful staff, centrally located, clean and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was charged for the beverage which I did not order.

    The room was nice and comfy with a separate bed for the child. Excellent location. Walking distance to Musuem Island.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great room with a comfortable modern design aesthetic. No huge frills, just a very solid room with everything just right and a very easy stay. Normally, it'd be out of my price range, but it was a holiday and I don't think they changed from their regular price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We opt for double bed because our litrle baby sleeps between us. I also wrote this on notes. However there was no double bed in the hotel. All rooms include twin beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only possible negative is that wifi signal did not work so well in the room. I had to sit by the room door to get a connection

    The hotel is in a great location on quiet street with a short walk to most of the popular sites in Berlin and great restaurants. I was able to wake up in the mornings and go for a run through the city. The hotel rooms and bathroom are small but clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and the breakfast buffet has a great selection of food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was good, with a selection of cereal, bread, cheese and meat. They made the breakfast slightly earlier for everyone who was running the marathon on the Sunday morning, which was very helpful. The room (standard double) was a good size for a city hotel, with sofa and a TV. Although the hotel was right next to the Theater and Friedrichstrasse it was actually quite quiet. This central location was perfect for quick access to the U&S-Bahn, so we could get around the city very easily. We had a nice, comfortable stay and would recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many buildings around are being renovated - inevitable noise and other industrial pictures. But in a year or so it can be finished and the area will be ok

    Modest, amiable, safe and smokers friendly place. Excellent location - no crowds around but walking distance to almost anything you should see in Berlin

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi access was free, but quite slow and occasionally cut out for a few minutes.

    Organic food at breakfast and a good-sized room. Not too many bells and whistles, but all the basics were covered.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, between the Friedrichstr and the Oranienburgerstr, close to public transportation options. Staff were extremely professional and friendly (also sent me a shirt I left at the room back by mail). Breakfast was nice, fresh with good ingredients (but except hard-boiled eggs, no 'hot' options). My room was simple, nice, but perhaps a bit cramped.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to eat at night - a bag of chips and chocolate…

    Very good breakfast, if you prefer fruit, plain yoghurt, and oats/müsli like I do! Very good wireless internet compared to four years ago.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower is very tight. The shower stall is small to begin with, and then they installed the faucet and the soap dispenser in a way that they protrude into whatever little space is left. Breakfast was OK but nothing to write home about.

    Very friendly staff, clean, central location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast provided was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location next to the theater, nice restaurants around. Very nice and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was good.

    Very clear and friendly staff. Breakfast was bio.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok. Good choice for a couple of days

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower a bit tight on space

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Almost none.

    Breakfast is good and the single room is comfortable for one person.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bigger Shower

    Location is excellent and staff were really helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of choice

    Coffee

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast finished at 10am would be nice to have option until 11am.

    Location. Spotless. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated bathroom

    Good bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a tick too cosy, though very clear and well lit

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor , didn't bother after the first morning

    The room was clean and warm beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was meh, shower was so small I barely fit in it

    location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to downtown

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small tv

    Good location, o.k. breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really friendly service staff very helpful. Great location would definitely recommend to my friends.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As location is very central it is a bit noisy

    Top location, good breakfast and nice rooms. Good value for money

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only in Germany do you get simple beds for simple usage of a room :)

    Great location and breakfast. Very quiet. Professional.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is great. A very decent stay. Will stay again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly ad helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of hot breakfast

    Location, staff, wifi

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location; easy to access via public transportation; delicious breakfast options

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    TV choice is absent for non-German speakers (just BBC World News)

    Attractive room, quiet, pleasant outlook from veranda, real comfort, good breakfast coffee, welcoming information, free wifi, very good value

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast was good, but as a recommendation: please put some labels near each piece of food. It was a trouble for me to find a stuff member to ask about food ("what is this" and "what is that"). Also, you can only ask for a coffee, it's not available at all times times. The second thing I didn't like, that I wasn't informed that the hotel restaurant doesn't work at some days. Please, make this information available for all guests.

    The location was great: there were several U-Bahn and S-Bahn stations around the hotel (5-10 min walk), so you can choose the most convenient line for you. Also, the stuff was super-friendly. They helped me with everything I needed. But still, I asked about the hot water in the room before arrival and the hotel answered that everything will be arranged without any problems. When I asked about it at the reception, it was a lot of hesitation. But the good thing is - they gave me the teapot I needed, thank you! The breakfast was good, but not the best (see disadvantages). Also I asked for the good Wi-fi reception, so the hotel gave me the room near the router, thank you again! At the elevator was a lot of information! The room was bigs do clean, the bed was very comfortable. You can change the temperature in the room. All in all, I liked my stay very much!

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Couldn't access Wifi from 6th floor, but that's not really a problem for me

    Spacious, quiet room (facing the back), comfortable bed, good breakfast buffet, allowed me to leave my luggage at the hotel on the day of my checkout. Hugely convenient location near Friedrichsstrasse station.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beds of the sort where the mattress is in a wooden surround. These are so stupid as they prevent sitting on the bed in comfort and how much harder must it be for the staff???

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi not available for any Apple products anywhere in the hotel.

    good location, room was fine. easy to find. Breakfast was OK albeit you need to be there early as stuff not replenished.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast buffet was a bit understaffed; Hot dishes (scrambled eggs and sausages) weren't replenished fast enough.

    The hotel has a private parking lot for €10/night with ample space. Great location - a 15-20 min walk from the Reichstag. Friendly staff. Good breakfast buffet. Quiet room. Free WiFi in the room with a good signal.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The shower is a bit small, but the bathroom itself is very luxury. Television only has German channels (for me not a problem, but for others it might be).

    Great location, quiet, friendly staff. Very clean and comfortabel. It's very safe hotel, decent people there, suitable for single travellers.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some of the hotel staff not friendly, some others really outstanding in this area. Would be great to standardize this aspect.

    Great location within a kilometre or so from the Brandenburg gate. Right in the middle of the city centre of Berlin

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - still somewhat more expensive than similar offerings in Berlin - no easy access to iron in room and no quick service for that (either would be mandatory for business trips) - wardrobe rather small even for the few clothes I brought over for a two day stay - only one plug near the bed and the couple of plugs by the desk were under it (not the best location in the age of laptops and gadgets)

    - couple of wifi routers on every floor, very good internet access - very clean - comfortable bed - shower bathroom access from small hallway rather than from room - modern look - excellent location just off Friedrichstrasse in Mitte - found the room very well cleaned - breakfast included - comfy bathrobe available for free on request - room servicing done on-demand rather than automatically daily (I really like this)

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Perfect breakfast-great location-very quiet at night

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Just perfect for a 3-star hotel!!!

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Possibility to have a drink or a snack later in the evening. Or lack of information about this possibility.

    Location, great breakfast, clean room.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff didn't seem very friendly.

    Great location, and exceeding clean. Good sized rooms for the money

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful staff...great location!

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice and friendly staff, good location.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    spotlessly clean,location is excellent for local transport or walking to nearby sights.good quality ingredients in the continental breakfast

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: