Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Diplomat This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Ostendstr. 24-26, Frankfurt City Centre (Old Town), 60314 Frankfurt/Main, Germany

#218 of 221 hotels in Frankfurt/Main

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1892 hotel reviews

5.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    4.8

  • Comfort

    4.5

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    4.4

  • Staff

    5.9

  • Value for money

    5.5

  • Paid WiFi

    3.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom were not very clean and bit smelly.

    Convienitly Located, it was 13 mins walk from Romer and 2 mins walk from nearest station. For the price the breakfast was good .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Northing as everything was not value for money I, paid and the picture of the hotel in the website are total different with the real picture on the ground.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very run down place in dire need of renovation and smelled weird and old, like people have smoked inside there in the past. I'm not so picky normally and have stayed in a lot of hostels and hotels before, this one definitely one of the worst places I've stayed in. Also the fact that I paid 85€ for it, which really was not worth it. I wish I had read the reviews before booking as I only looked at the images, they're probably of the only room that actually has had a touch-up in the past 40 years. If you're a student or someone on a very low budget this might be your place, but if you're there for business, pay a but more and get a decent place. I do not recommend this place.

    Good location close to the S-bahn. Staff was okay, but not really friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff - on check in was told to make it quick as he was tired and could be bothered Loud at night No curtains Dirty bathroom

    Good bed Close to centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not like what was advertised. The lamp and cupboard were broken, and the curtains were torn. It wasn't very clean and the wifi was an additional cost. The check in staff was rude and dismissive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too springy, and the building itself is very old. I had a stiff neck after my night's sleep. My room was way too stuffy and warm with it feeling like it was closed for days without ventilation. I had to open up my windows and go out for a while leaving the window open. There was no shower curtain and the shower head did not have a holder so you had to be careful to not wet the bathroom. The next time I come to Frankfurt I'll definitely pay more and stay elsewhere.

    This was the cheapest place for my dates and had parking available on site (6 euros per day and limited spaces). Breakfast was included but was very average. It is a 15 minute walk to the old town and is in a quiet neighbourhood.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cheap hotel but you get what you pay for. The hotel is old and in dire need of a renovation. Whatever you do, do not spend the 5 euro per day for the WiFi. Getting the online data via pigeon would have been faster. It took for ages to just load something simple like Gmail. Don't even think about trying to stream Netflix or Youtube. Parking is a bit tricky, narrow corridor to drive through.

    The staff is very friendly and very helpful. I guess they can't help that the boss hasn't invested in the building. The location is fairly good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had dust bunnies under the bed. Seems like the staff has no access to booking sites, or they have no idea how they work - request about information was not responded to. During the check-in it turns out the receptionist had old information about the booking, and they had no access to booking.com to check it. Eventually after some arguing the receptionist handed us our keys, but once we arrived at the room we saw that it was occupied by another customer, who had left their things in the room. Upon that the receptionist gave us a new key to another room (obviously without even apologising) for a room with two separate beds. By that time we were tired of running back and forth of the reception so we accepted our fate and slept in separate beds. The beds are great if you are trying to stay extremely still throughout the night, other wise they will just make a lot of noise (please replace the springs or get new beds).

    There was a bed(or in our case two beds), and they served breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi was terribly slow and it costs extra for wifi access.

    comfortable room, clean bathroom. location near to s-bahn station, public transport available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs a total over haul. Smells moulds. It is extremely old.

    Very attentive and kind staff in the restaurant and very kind and practical lady at the reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cleanliness could be improved, especially in areas of vacuuming of carpets in the room, most especially underneath the bed.

    The lady receptionist was very assisting, and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could definitely use renovations - the paint is chipped, carpets and bathtub stained, and the bathroom door in our room was upside down and backwards (so it didn't close).

    Great breakfast and friendly service. The beds were comfortable and the linens clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and furniture very old, poor Quality, and not clean. Bathroom covered in mold, and in placed painted over to cover old stains/mold. Bath shower did not even have a curtain. Never again!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I went to dinner in the area and it seemed fine and pleasant enough, altough I find the park at the end to be quite spooky and not all that safe for solo women travelers (I got bothered by catcallers). The worst part is that the room smelled really bad, like cigarette and mold. I had to sleep with the window open and I am not that sensitive, because I am a smoker myself. The bathroom was very old and had a broken and rusty tap and no shower courtain. The furniture is about 4 decades old and the color palette of the entire hotel is questionable at best. Basic to poor-quality breakfast. Forget about the TV. You have to pay 5 Euros for the wi-fi (unacceptable!!). Prices are wayyyy to high. Never again.

    Nice ivy covering the facade. The location is quite central and well connected to the train station and the airport due to the S-Bahn next door.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed too small. Only 1 socket available in The room therefore you cant watch television if you have to charge your phone or use your laptop. The TV is too old the type used in 70s.

    The bed is hopeless. Only 2 feet bed.Smaller than what is used in school hostels

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please see above for a brief summary.

    This hotel is suitable for a single solo traveller, looking to get a nights sleep in a no frills, low budget hotel, for example, party animals and backpackers. The reception staff go out of their way to help with all enquiries. You are able to get a very basic wash via a mixer tap type shower, so you can keep clean.However, the bathing and toilet facilities are of a very basic standard. I would say that you get what you pay for, with this hotel.Forget about eating the free breakfast, as it is free for a reason. To sum up, this hotel would be ideal for a quick nights sleep at a very cheap price. Give it a miss unless you are a bunch of youngsters wanting a nights kip after a heavy day on the lash.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite dirty, in bathroom there was only soap. Everything were very very very old. It was noisy because of bad isolation.

    Only location and included breakfast (very simple but it was quite enough)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not that clean. Under the bed is a lot of dust and other things. On the carpet are a lot of stains and the wardrobe looks like never being cleaned up.

    The Hotel is close to S-Bahn Station Ostend and the central of Frankfurt is really easy to reach. Check in was fast and the staff really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclean. Grumpy old mean guy running the place. Hair on towels. Dark. Dirty old lift.

    Location. Very close to the city center. The lady in the reception behaved well so as one of the older staff members.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I expected it to be closer to the city center. Breakfast was very simple, not much choice. Also, kids under 7 stay for free, but the hotel does not have baby cribs.

    Staff was kind to us, and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel needs a lot of improvement, specially staff needs to learn a lot(Except for the lady on reception during day) bathrooms are outdate, mattress was already near end of its life, etc.

    Location is a pre, also they provide overnight parking for 6 euro.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor point, but room carpet had seen better days.

    Location was just where I needed with the bonus of Underground and the river nearby. Very close Bank skyscraper.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so dirty that you could count the spiderwebs. The bed was very uncomfortable and crooked when you moved. The staff was rude. Wifi is not free and costs 5 euros and you can use it only in one device. The building itself was old and dirty.

    Cheap Location is fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Poor hotel Rude staff Dirty bathroom Broken matteras In detail Bed was not comfortable at all. Taps were broken and bathrokm was dirty. Please dont waste your money here where you cant even sleep nicely. I booked a double room with double bed. What i got there were two single beds put togather and matters in the middle was v poor quality. You cant lay staright. Immediately next morning I shifted to other hotel.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property needs rehabilitation,should be more cleaned,the toilet is old and everything is old,plus the floor is a caroet so should be well cleaned because it had a bad odor.

    It looks like a family business,the staff are nice the property location is good sooo close to the old town and main attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Probably better suited to renting rooms by the hour. Shower had no curtain. Decor was dire. Pay for internet. Red lighting in corridor. Noisy bins in morning. Rubbish TV.

    Elevator was working. Only room available in Frankfurt during fair. Breakfast OK. Staff OK.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They cut out all expenses, everything was very old and the building smelled bad. The receptionist was quite rude when I wanted to leave the hotel around midnight. All in all for the same price range there are much more decent places.

    I had a roof over my head.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    so old and far from center and due to oldness it is not clear enough. comparing its situation quite expensive. the breakfast room extremely poor and old.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is really old, dirty and run down. I get it, you want to offer something really cheap so you don’t invest in it but you could at least clean occasionally. The place is so filthy and disgusting, I didn’t even want to touch anything, let alone sleep in the “bed”. The breakfast is free but I didn’t even go. I don’t want to eat anything in a place as dirty as this.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not even a real hotel. Switched 3 rooms then finally gave up because simply every bed in the hotel is broken. Pillows were basically sheets in a bag. Toilets are broken, 2 light bulbs and very dark room, and dirty everywhere. Nothing was like on a picture.

    Neighbour with same complaints as me gave up on them too and we went to grab a beer all days we were there before sleeping. That made it viable... Wi-Fi 5€ , bar at the corner had it for free. Breakfast was just do they can set they offer it, but terrible.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location with parking place, The hotel is located in a quiet place at the same time well away from the old town. The hotel staff were professional and polite. The breakfast was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a terrible smell of mould in my room, it wasn't clean enough, broken furniture, dirty walls, only the bed sheets were clean. The hotel doesn't even deserve two stars. The price was too high for the given conditions. I don't recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very old and really needed some upgrading to be done. Aside from that, everything else was good and worth the price you pay.

    The reception lady and the kitchen staff were very welcoming and the breakfast was a nice touch. Aside from that the location itself is desirable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I payed for 1 big bed room(2 people) and the man at the reception gave us 2 small beds room and he didn’t even mentioned it. When I complaint to him next morning the reply was: “Yes but you have the check out today” Beds were uncomfortable. There was no soap in the bathroom. Window curtains were broken. The room wasn’t totally clean. Breakfast was poor and cheap. There was no WIFI and pretended to charge 5€ extra.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed with everything!! Very expensive at the exchbition time !! I didn’t like it at all!! The bed was horrible and the pillows also the same !

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that I could find

    The room was very nice!! The metro is just two apartments away and the city center is just 2-3 blocks and the scenic river side is just around the corner. Breakfast was awesome and had plenty of options!!! I would recommend this place!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. This is the most horrible hotel I was in in my life. Everything is extremly dirty. Unfriendly people, it is stinking everywhere. We couldn't sleep at all. This hotel must be closed !!

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The problem is that the hotel has not been renovated for ages, the bathrooms looks dirty as things are not kept uptidy, but messy, so you see rust everywhere, at least in the room I was in. The sheets were very clean, but the furniture and the room, the curtains had an air of not being renovated since the 1960s. The radiator worked, but the dust accummulated was probably due to not paying good money for cleaning.

    The location is ok; the staff very competent, the sheets very clean, the breakfast good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I stayed in was very small, with old furniture and no TV, althogh it was mentioned on the site. Also, one of the other rooms I booked looked quite similar, but it had a TV.

    It is very close to the city centre and the main attractions of the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing, the breakfast was mediocre.. no big deal... you are better off buying a butter pretzel to this breakfast

    Nothing.... Rude front desk satff... they dont know how to talk to their collegues... and zero inter team communication

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The furniture was old, window frames were not stable and I was affraid to open or close the window, as I was not sure it would close. No hairdryer.

    The location is great - S-Bahn stop is just meters away. Old city and Main River can be reached in few minutes. 24 hours reception.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not helpful

    Room is not worth to pay 41£ it’s singl bed with to no proper pillows it’s like a guest house . No tea, coffee in the room. Old third class furniture and building. For phone charging they used 2 pin while we all used 3 pin they are dealing international customers but they don’t have any converters. I have to go out to get another charger at 9pm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly toillett , dust was allover the place including on the sink! Smell of the cooked onion allover the place i still have it! The furniture is something that you see on garbage. The tv has max 10 channels! Don’t ask for a hair dryer they dont have. The matresses are horror! Rather sleep in a tent!

    The dust that you could grew a crop

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the worst place I have ever stayed in and I am a budget traveller and stayed in lots of budget places. It was reeking in bacteria. We checked out and rebooked an other accomadation. The staff were rude and everything in the room was broken and filthy. What was supposed to be carpet was frayed and stuck to your feet. The bath tub was full of other peoples body hair. It was discusting. Bedside cabinet was half off and sticky with molded on dust. When I complained to the guy at reception he said its budget what do you expect? CLEAN ROOM. Very dissapointed. I would not call it hotel, more like a hovvel. Pigsty

    Nothing but the location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on reception in the evening was very rude and unhelpful. The hotel is in poor condition. My bathroom light didn't work, I asked politely several times for someone to please look at it and replace the light bulb. This was never done. The decor is decades old and veer, very shabby.Hotel Diplomat may be the single worst hotel in Frankfurt.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The floors, the doors and the furniture are quite old and damaged. So are the halls and the elevator.

    Good value for money. You cannot find a cheaper hotel with breakfast included in the price and with such a good location. Very clean. Staff excellent, pleasant and kind.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of it

    The hotel is from first world war !! the carpet is extremely worn and needs to be changed. Very unfortunate to step on. This hotel can clearly not be recommended!! but the good thing is that you can park at the hotel for free!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bed very narrow, old fashioned room, you are 20 year behind the time when comes to room amenities, wifi very bad

    Location is fantastic, hardly 1 minutes from DB junction and commuting is very easy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the worst Hotel I`ve ever been in. Hotel Diplomat is a disgusting dirty place with very unfriendly and rough employees; you have to pay extra 5-€ for W-Lan, it`s never for free. No parking-places at all around the hotel. Forget the breakfast...even if it was included I would never eat in such a filthy place. I will upload my pictures as soon as possible, so you can see what I`m talking about. Don`t book this place: if you have the chance to get anything else do it: everything is better than this one!

    This is the worst Hotel I`ve ever been in. Hotel Diplomat is a disgusting dirty place with very unfriendly and rough employees; you have to pay extra 5-€ for W-Lan, it`s never for free. No parking-places at all around the hotel. Forget the breakfast...even if it was included I would never eat in such a filthy place. I will upload my pictures as soon as possible, so you can see what I`m talking about. Don`t book this place: if you have the chance to get anything else do it: everything is better than this one!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When you go to Diplomat you got the money for the price, its the cheapest hotel in Frankfort, so do not expect suite with welcome drink and jacuzzi... Employees are really friendly and supportive. Quite location. An experience, of course if you are looking for a place to go with your beloved one, its not at all the place

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the mattress is saggy and thin. the lighting in the room is poor. the room size is small

    the good side is it is excellent location, the water for showers is hot and the breakfast is good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pure hotel. Price per night was 110 eur (during the fair) but its 5 times more expensive as it should be. Everywhere you can feel smoke, it is allowed to smoke in rooms and that is spread everywhere. Breakfast is pure. Not clean, hairdryer not available in rooms and reception. Even shampoo is missing. Free Wifi not available. Never ever would book this hotel and would not recommend for others.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bcz of this hotel is not clean n not as in web mentioned it’s totally different and shocking is that wifi to be paid without recipt of payment

    Nothing to like

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would say that I was not impressed with hotel in general. First day of arrival, gentleman at the hotel reception was very helpful. However next two days lady reception staff was not welcoming and felt sometimes she was rude. Room were basic, hygiene standard in room were not the best and also in toilet. As soon as you walk in corridor there was noticeable smell of cigarette, which was not great. Overall I was truly disappointed with hotel.

    Location was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old, would do with a total refurb. No kettle in the room. You get what you pay for :)

    Walking distance / close to town centre (old town Römerberg and Alte Oper). Had a private onsite secure car park ( euros). The room had a private bathroom / toilet, and free toiletries (soap and shower gel). Relatively cheap.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures for Hotel Diplomat must have been taken 10 years ago. The room had a musty smell and we slept on 2 seperate single what llok like child bunks 2inches off the floor. This place is a dump is represents poorly for booking.com which I truly love.

    N/A

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty tatty, not particularly clean although not filthy. A range of customers. Some long term by the looks of it. Tv didn’t work. No fridge. No shower curtain so you have to kneel rinse lather up rinse. Very two star

    Location is good. Breakfast was more than enough. Rolls cheese ham butter jam boiled eggs. Good coffee. On site parking but you had to pay for it 6€ a day

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old as also the furniture inside which is broken. Moreover the carpet in the room was not so clean and there were some rubbish.It was okay for one night stay into account the price.

    The hotel is located exactly near S-Bahn station.The Dom Romer square and the river of Main are also very close.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable and paying for WiFi I didn’t do because that adds extra cost to hotel stay and my bathroom toilet was leaking whole time and the bathtub had no curtain or shower head so taking a simple shower was rough

    Close to metro and short walk to Christmas market/downtown and breakfast included

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Old, Dirty, Broken Shower, weird staff, people smoking in the hallways, cockroaches/silverfish in the room. Unless you have absolutely no choice (e.g during a festival) then avoid.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is very old and shabby. It looks as it has never been renovated. If it wasn't for the fair, I would have chosen something else.

    The hotel is situated near Zeil street.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had no shower curtain and no mounted shower head. Instead there was a shower hose so you have to wash one handed and the water splashed absolutely everywhere.

    Incredibly easy to access from the train station. A ten minute walk to the city centre or take another train in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was noisy when you move due to old springs in the mattress, tv had only a few German channels. Very old furniture (desk, chair) and the whole room looked really outdated. A plug was damaged and there was not too many spots to charge mobile/laptop. Breakfast consisted only of some boiled eggs, cereals, bread and cheese/ham, coffee, orange juice.

    Quiet location, quite peaceful area. It is worth for a night or two if you plan to spend most of the time out in the city, metro station is only a hundred meters from the hotel. Zoo is also closed by.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building and facilities are old. The bathroom wasn't very clean. The breakfast was not worth it.

    It was close to the tram station which was a plus.the neighbourhood is quite.There's a turkish doner place about 4/5 minster away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff - didn't speak enough English, couldn't provide us with decent information, we asked for the early breakfast which we never received, also made problems with the parking place. The invoice hand-written, the receptionist was fussing about while preparing it. Comfort - rooms left a lot to be desired, decent & simple, but I wouldn't say fresh and very clean. Guests were walking around the hotel drinking and smoking, a lot of whole families living in the hotel and a lot of drunkards around.

    I guess almost fair value for such money...also, the location is very good. Better for backpackers than families on holiday or business trips.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    So much to write....long list.

    Nothing really....A very bad experience. When i reached first full day and night there was no heating. The staff was uncooperative and always angry. And very poor wifi. etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not lock my hotel door. The locking mechanism had a large metal plate screwed on to prevent it from locking. It was late so I moved the giant box TV to block the door.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing is good except the location. Do not ever think about buying internet, it doesn't work and you still pay money for it. Staff is unfriendly. Facilities are old. Heaters were not working so I couldnt take a shower. They repaired it later on..

    Location was central

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need renovation and the badroom dirty. TV old.

    Need renovation, badroom quite old and dirty. TV bad connection. No hot water but 50% discount after I complained. Definitly not again. Hotel near the trainstation are similar for the price but more comfort and better breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was unclean enough and the bathroom had a bad smell the bed was making sounds and broken internet was to expensive and slowly the parking entrince was narrow and the old man from the reception was not clear enough with us plus they start to work in the doors of the rooms early and the workers was making loud sound and they had a fly in the honey of the brakfast and the jam

    I Do not like anything in this hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself is a joke! It took 25 minutes to check-in as the receptionist did not know what to do.. most likely he was way too old to handle things like that! The room was a disaster.. but I decided not to complaint at that price range! We checked out mid night as we did not feel safe any longer as our hotel room door was literaly not holding properly as handle broken etc etc..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The worst was the smell. I requested non-smoker room, but I could smell cigarettes as if someone was smoking just next to my head. This made the stay in the hotel very uncomfortable. Further, less important: All the equipment of the hotel was very old-fashioned. The furniture was still OK to use, but you could see that it is old and damaged. With so high price per night and so low standard of the hotel, I would have expected to get at least wifi for free.

    It was near S-Bahn station, comfortable to get to any location within the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were fairly clean, telly was rubbish.

    Met requirements, very cheap hotel in Frankfurt. Place to sleep and passable breakfast in a great location. Well worth the price, but no Diplomats to be seen !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building

    Their attitude of the reception are not good they just trap customers with no facility even they charged WIFI for mobile and laptop separately where as every where in hotel it’s free.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was directly next to the lift shaft and thus it felt that I did not sleep at all. That said, to still get a room in that fantastic location during the Frankfurt bookfair was a minor miracle. I will, however ensure on my next visit to be situated far away from the noisy lift.

    The staff were helpful, friendly and gave the place character.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Diplomat traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: