Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Domstern This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Domstr. 26, Altstadt-Nord, 50668 Cologne, Germany

#23 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 343 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely boutique style hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An ice machine would have been nice.

    Everything was brilliant, staff very friendly, room was nice and the breakfast was very tasty and plentiful. We were a bit worried due to the heat but we could keep the window open and you didn't hear too much noise off of the street.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location behind the Railway station of Cologne
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - My room was in the first floor and although I liked the room, it was definitely not soundproof. I could hear the other guests arriving and leaving late at night and early in the morning a bit too well.

    - A good and varied breakfast for a small hotel, also several vegan options - My room had a nice decoration, gives a special, antique feel. - Comfortable bed! - Good location, easy access to Breslauer Platz/Hbf station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Character hotel in the centre of Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Excellent location near to the cathedral, Altstadt, River Rhine and shops. Compact but comfortable room with bathroom including good shower. Very friendly and helpful staff. Fabulous breakfast, eggs cooked to order plus a wide selection of other dishes. Reserved parking opposite the hotel. Lift available for guests. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Just five minutes from the railway station this is a stylish...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just five minutes from the railway station this is a stylish, beautifully appointed, small hotel - the service is exceptional and better than some "five star" hotels i have visited

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Our stay in Cologne spectacular staying at Hotel Domstern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Great Experience

    Train station just a couple minutes walk to hotel, location was perfect for us. Short walk to Rhine River, the magnificent church, and Old Town. Our room was spacious, spotless, comfortable bed, and nice bathroom. Breakfast buffet was amazing, a great opportunity to try many foods offered in Germany. All employees we met spoke English and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice place for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was really bad. A pitty considering the otherwise excellent breakfast. The location is close to the city center, but you have to go through the railway station to get there and it’s not a very pleasant experience

    Quirky hotel in terms of room decor. Surprisingly varied breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Great quality / value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved everything. The rooms are newly renovated and clean, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the breakfast is amazing, and the location is close to eveything and surprisingly quiet!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Bijou hotel perfectly located for exploring Cologne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We had the one of the rooms on the top floor. It was beautifully appointed and all fixtures and fittings were of good quality. The choice at breakfast had to be seen to be believed. Not cooked breakfast but you could have eggs any way you liked. The continental selection was first class. Excellent location for exploring Cologne.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.8
    Room is small but clean and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Generally good.

    Room is small but clean and comfortable. Good location, 5 minutes walk to train station. Excellent breakfast, with additional eggs of your preference. The reception close after 7pm, left my luggage after check-out in sister hotel (Domspitzen) which is one block away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    I would definitely use this hotel again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee facilities in the room would have been nice.

    Good variety of food for breakfast. Small (single) room but beautifully done. Excellent staff. A change from the standard corporate hotel with this beautifully decorated hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    2.5
    Nightmare.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. The description of the hotel facilities is incorrect. I booked a room "with safe," but discovered upon my arrival that there is no safe, and that completely ruined my stay in Cologne.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place that we will visit again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a double room, but unfortunately our wardrobe was a single wardrobe with a couple of hangers and no shelves in it. This meant we had to keep most of our clothes in our suitcases during our 4 night stay.

    Lovely room with personality and a very comfortable bed. Nicely decorated and immaculately clean. The location is excellent ,close to the station, yet quiet. I have stayed here several times, even when the hotel was under previous ownership, and was never disappointed. The new owners have put a new homely feel to the place, and added some nice touches, like a welcome cake, and extra pillows. Breakfast was a variety of different items, something for every taste. You get the usual continental, plus things like smoked salmon, variety of biscuits, even antipasti. Scrambled egg and fried egg was available on request.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful staff, good breakfasts but miserable wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi signal very weak. Constantly had to log on every time iPhone went on stand-by mode. Very frustrating. Hard to conduct any normal business due to wifi cutting on and off.

    Exceptionally clean. Quiet, central location. Easy walk to public transportation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.5
    The location is great, and the breakfast is delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was very small and if you accidentally touch the pipe in the shower while it is running, you get burnt very badly.

    The location is great, and the breakfast is delicious. The staff are extremely nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    10
    The location is excellent,just a few minutes walk from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is excellent,just a few minutes walk from the station. It has been beautifully renovated and is spotlessly clean. The breakfast is superb with a wonderful choice. Staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    7.5
    The Marie Celeste lives on
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not being open on arrival (20:45) and having to find an associated hotel to register. No in room coffee/tea facilities - a warm drink would have been nice after a long journey. Being charged more than the pre-stated cost because I was a tourist - this should have been reflected in my booking and not added on arrival.

    Very quiet accommodation. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    8.8
    Ideal if you want a comfortable hotel, in a quiet location close to the station, Dom and markets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although we were very happy with the hotel, we didn't find out about the change until we got to the Domstern. No air con which would have been useful with such large windows. No comfortable chair to relax in.

    We were put in its sister hotel, Hotel Domspitzen, which was even closer to the station and Dom. We'd stay again. Excellent location. Breakfasts were very good and had a wide selection Quiet, relaxed ambience Very friendly staff, with good recommendations for eating and visiting Comfortable room, including the bed Heating very effective once curtains closed

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    8.8
    Very comfortable and pleasant short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Basin in bathroom very slow to clear.

    Excellent range of food for breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff. Free wifi. Despite being in the loft there was still plenty of room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    10
    Extras unlimited!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we had to leave early to catch a train to Paris, the staff made us an early lunch pack at no extra charge, to take away. They also made us tea when we needed help with wifi. Very impressed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    8.8
    Excellent hotel for a city visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was compact and well equipped, if a little on the small side.

    Very good location, walking distance from the station and many sights. Modern hotel and decor. Helpful service and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    5.0
    Disappointed!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms to small, no air conditioning, nobody at reception to make questions and i notice and extra charge in my crefit card.

    Breakfast was good, location very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    8.8
    Great location, friendly staff and excellent breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little small and basic.

    Great location, within a stone's throw of the train station, just outside the old city. The breakfasts were fantastic, and all the staff working there were very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Excellent breakfast, great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast, great location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Kind staff, very good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Kind staff, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Breakfast is really great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is really great! The location is good, too. NICE PLACE!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Authentic hotel, very friendly staff, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Authentic hotel, very friendly staff, great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    Experience in Cologne was good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was awkward.

    Location, breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location just some meters next to central train...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location just some meters next to central train station and public transportation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    great holiday in location very near to centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tea/coffee making facilities in room

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.9
    Delicious breakfast, very good location, clean room and nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No slippers and too small breakfast room.

    Delicious breakfast, very good location, clean room and nice welcome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Nice little hotel near the station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for the rail station and city centre. Quiet street. Nice decor. Clean. Well heated. Good choice of breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small

    Close to the centre. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.5
    Short stay in Koln
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room equipment is basic. Could be much better for the requested price

    Very good location. Good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Bed and shower excellent, staff friendly knowledgeable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bed and shower excellent, staff friendly knowledgeable and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    It was a very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was extremely cordial and the facilities were lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Tiny, but very cozy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny, but very cozy room Tasty breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    good staff and location but small room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Good staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.8
    Esplendid location, neat and simple. Wonderfull breakfast and excellent bread, al kind of grains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It did not have coffe or tea facilities, neither service after 6 pm

    The location, the goood breakfast, cleaness and simple decoration, minimalist

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Small room but great location and wonderful breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, though very small, was beautifully appointed. The breakfast was outstanding!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    8.8
    Very good and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good and helpful staff. Good location near the station and the facilities were clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    7.5
    Great staff, lovely breakfast and good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Due to a trade fair, the cost of the room was extortionate and the room was tiny.

    Great staff, lovely breakfast and good location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    6.7
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room small

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    6.7
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choice of breakfast fair, could have been better

    Bed very comfortable,

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    10
    Breakfast is great and rooms are simple and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is great and rooms are simple and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.8
    Friendly and helpful reception, excellent location, clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful reception, excellent location, clean property, good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    10
    Best choice hotel would come again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea coffee in room would have been nice .

    Fantastic stay in hotel and loved German markets staff at hotel fabulous .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    Great place for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quiet rooms, hot shower, 5 minute walk from the station. Friendly staff and a good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Finally found a hotel to come back to - after trying several others in Köln.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Quiet room, good breakfast choices, and excellent coffee. The boxed lunch on the day of my departure was a thoughtful touch.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    8.8
    The coffee was amaxing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains don't cover the window completely so it was light at night

    The coffee was amaxing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    10
    Lush hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Idea location lovely hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    9.2
    The room was comfortable although as we were on the fourth...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really.

    The room was comfortable although as we were on the fourth floor we had to be careful not to bump our heads on the sloping ceiling. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. The location could scarcely have been closer to the cathedral and train station. The staff were very helpful in suggesting where to eat and the best places for views of Cologne. We liked having a fridge in the room.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    7.5
    Great location down a quiet street very close to the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have liked a kettle in the room, no staff cover at night. Sloping mattress which wasn't idea but easily fixed with a couple of cushions placed under the mattress

    Great location down a quiet street very close to the train station. Lovely continental breakfast although the breakfast room was small with insufficient seats

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    9.2
    Nice place, electric locker, clean bed and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room is a little bit small...but worth the price at my own opinion.

    Nice place, electric locker, clean bed and bathroom. Cannot expect more. By the way the breakfast was good and impressive.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    9.6
    Clean rooms, quiet but very handy location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-fi a little flakey at times but adequate. Like many hotels the electricity requires the room card which means you cannot charge a device when you are out of the room. Would benefit from a charging point that could be used without the card.

    Clean rooms, quiet but very handy location. Helpful staff (English spoken), lovely breakfast. My second stay here. Will book again next time!

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    10
    Delightful small, friendly hotel, conveniently placed just 5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Delightful small, friendly hotel, conveniently placed just 5 mins walk from the Cathedral, city centre and riverside. Excellent buffet breakfast with hot food on request. Perfect place to stay for exploring the fabulous Christmas markets.

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    8.3
    Very clean and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Closet space poor. No out of room facilities ie bar or bathroom Fiddly method of using wifi

    Very clean and excellent location. Friendly staff and brilliant breakfast Comfy bed. Decent wifi

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    10
    the hotel was very clean, the staff very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all

    the hotel was very clean, the staff very friendly and helpful, it was perfect location. Staff recommendation for restaurant was spot on and amazing

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    7.9
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    unfortunately I was charged twice for my stay and although the staff was really nice, it took the hotel ages to refund me and when it was done, the rate exchange was not equivalent (I live in England so I had the conversion from euro to pound). my lost!

    location

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.1
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Double room consisted of two single beds together with separate duvets. No tea/coffee making facilities in room.

    Friendly staff. We arrived early and were allowed to check in way before 15:00 as our room was ready. Breakfast was good, lots of variety.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.2
    Terrific staff, great breakfast, fast wifi, candies at front...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location convenient to train station and Dom, but a big away from the old town restaurant and shopping area. Wifi required daily registration.

    Terrific staff, great breakfast, fast wifi, candies at front desk.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    9.2
    The breakfast was excellent with lots of homemade choices...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing apart from the fact that we had booked their sister hotel but on arrival were switched with no real explanation to the Domstern.

    The breakfast was excellent with lots of homemade choices and real attention to detail

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    10
    Atfer i left my room it was no problem to stay and read on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Atfer i left my room it was no problem to stay and read on the terasse on the second floor. So i could wait for my train under the shade in the wind

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    7.9
    The central location is excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Single rooms are tiny. There is no room for a night table or to put your luggage away. Wi-fi needs to be renewed daily even for longer stays. Watch for the local tourist tax that gets added to the quoted price.

    The central location is excellent. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful and the breakfast is amongst the best I have had in a small hotel.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    8.8
    Pleasant staff, secure parking arranged prior by email to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Road was a touch noisy for a side road with pedestrian traffic throughout the night and work vehicles from very early in the morning. No air con in the room.

    Pleasant staff, secure parking arranged prior by email to arrival. Good location behind the main railway station and cathedral square. Good breakfast selection and clean spacious room.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    Very close to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very close to train station. Rooms were small but very nice. Breakfast was just right with a delicious omelet. We needed some directions and recommendations. The people at the desk were friendly and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    8.3
    Would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Missed AC or any fan or refrigerator to help cool down a hot night. Sheets would have been better than feather beds for a July weekend.

    Would stay here again. Convenient and relatively quiet location near the station. Wonderful breakfast buffet and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    8.8
    Big spacious room on top floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had no remote to turn on the aircondition in our room. Walls in the shower had black mold on it. Nothing else.

    Big spacious room on top floor. View to the Dome from our room. Fast check-in and check-out. Location, everything within 5-10 minutes walk. And it's in a quiet street. The breakfast is superb with a excellent variation. They even make it personal by serving cooked/scrambled eggs how you want it. A little old facilities, but top notch in our book.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    9.2
    Breakfast was amazing and staff very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was on the top floor and it got very hot. We had to open the window at night so that we could sleep, but then we got noise from the street, so couldn't sleep anyway

    Breakfast was amazing and staff very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    7.9
    There was a very good selection of items on the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We found the Hotel very difficult to find. We had no internet access and the Hotel was tucked away in a side street which was obscured by a building which provided access to the underground train station. The carpet in the bedroom was badly stained. There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the bedroom.

    There was a very good selection of items on the breakfast buffet. We were also offered a cooked breakfast. My fiancé is a vegetarian and there were plenty of vegetarian items on offer. The staff were very friendly and helpful; particularly the night porter who gave us directions over the phone.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    7.1
    Delicious breakfast, convenient walk to downtown (but the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They sent me down the street, saying my room was in their sister property. Another Rick Steves reviewer had the same experience. It was almost the same hotel, but concerning they would "move" me without telling me. Room was spartan, but nice enough for the price.

    Delicious breakfast, convenient walk to downtown (but the walk becomes rather lonely on their side of the train station)

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    9.2
    Breakfast was simply superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was simply superb. Loads of choice on the buffet, and added to that, omelettes with veg and bacon were so good.We had 2 adjacent rooms, for 2 couples, on the 4th floor. One was excellent with a huge luxury bathroom. The bathroom in the other room was tiny and very basic, a bit disappointing by comparison.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    10
    Staff were more than helpful in difficult times - my wife...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is too popular - I could only extend my stay by 3 days

    Staff were more than helpful in difficult times - my wife needed hospitalisation and they assisted greatly in extending my stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    5.4
    The Location was not bad, but don't go with google map,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room we checked in has no heater in February, and when we ask for quilt, the staff gave us blankets, which were not helpful much in a cold winter night.

    The Location was not bad, but don't go with google map, if you exit from the back gate of train station, it could save over 10 mins walk. The breakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2015

    7.5
    it's very close to the central station and near by the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the stuff who help us check in is not very kind, let us feel like Asian people is no welcome.

    it's very close to the central station and near by the Dom. Breakfast is pretty good. Room is very big, and the view is pretty.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Domstern traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: