Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Don Giovanni This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Schwartzestr. 1-3, 04229 Leipzig, Germany

#18 of 90 hotels in Leipzig

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 515 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.6
    Great!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from the street and church bells, neither of which anything cna be done about being a ground floor room

    Room was comfy and luxurious style for such an average size room. The italian theme of the place is rather wonderful and nothing we have ever experineced outside of Italy. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant was delicious...the veal & truffle pasta dish ‘to die for’! We paid extra for breakfast too which we enjoyed it having a unique twist to it also. Would not hesistate to stay here if ever in Leipzig again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    9.6
    We loved the overly Italian everything, clear love for Italy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was just a tad further from the city center than I anticipated

    We loved the overly Italian everything, clear love for Italy, the homeliness, crazy many paintings and happy plants and the fantastic food. Everything was extremely well cared for, there was plenty of staff (diverse too!), the bathrooms were spotlessly clean and well equipped.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant stay in a hotel with character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The spiral staircase to the upstairs room was difficult to manage even without luggage. The carpet on a couple of the steps was loose and quite dangerous if stepped on quickly. Perhaps this staircase could be re-designed for easier access.

    Free parking in hotel car park was great and having private access to the rooms without having to go through hotel was great also. We stayed in the upstairs room which was comfortable with adequate space. The hotel is traditionally decorated as are the rooms. Although not a new hotel the restaurant area was charming and had a certain appeal, although it may not be to everyones taste. The tram stop to town was just around the corner (combined bus/tram stop). You can purchase tickets on the tram at the blue machines as there is no ticket machine at this stop. It takes about 10 minutes to get to town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    10
    Good service, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    no elevator, Steep stairs, Not accessible for the handicapped

    Very cute boutique-hotel. not fancy and don't expect any luxuries, but definitely value for money. we stayed at the roof-top room, which were well equipped: super comfortable bed, several sofas and working desk. the bathtub was very clean and perfect for relaxing. breakfast - costed us 10 euro per person and was great: a huge buffet and fresh coffee served at the beautiful hotel's garden. staff are super friendly and helpful. highly recommended!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    10
    Wish we had stayed longer at this beautiful hotel in Leipzig.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We liked everything.

    We loved the staff most of all. They were very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. They even took us to the train station when the taxi was late to arrive during a thunderstorm. We also loved the hotel and the rooms were beautifully decorated. I could not believe the creativity and detail of the beautiful room that we stayed in. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant in the winter garden area - the food and service were great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2017

    9.2
    Perfect for our overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would suggest just to replace the hairdryer with a new better one. However, not a big deal.

    The room was really pretty and clean. Bed very comfortable. They have a very cute inner yard. We had a private parking place for our car. The staff is extremely kind. I recommend this place.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2017

    10
    Excelent place to stay in Leipzig
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -

    Amazing breakfast especialy because of the italian influences. Free parking place. I arrived after midnight and they waited for me although the reception closed at 10 pm.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2017

    8.3
    favourite spot of mine
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi is a nuisance - within 12 hrs had to punch in 8 times a different 10 digit code because service is being aborted on a regular basis and a completely new log in required every time. Make sure you receive enough of these codes at the reception in advance

    My favourite place in Leipzig, comfort, privacy, good kitchen, nice people, hilarious design

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2017

    8.8
    A good hotel with an impressive italian restaurant. In Leipzig-Germany!
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is not in the city center, but you can reach the city center by the tram. And the tram station is around the corner. It is a quiet area and, if you arrive by car, the parking is free. The staff is friendly, the breakfast is very good. Excellent room with well equiped bathroom (with candles in the bathroom !). But nothing in the location compares to the restaurant. An italian restaurant with excellent food located in a mini botanical garden. I was very impressed. I love the italian food and the botanical gardens too and the combination of both was very nice for me. I ate every evening in this restaurant and I was impressed every time by the quality of food. For people who like italian food, this is the place to eat where in Leipzig.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2016

    10
    Treat yourself to a great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not one single thing!

    Beautiful facility and everyone was very friendly. Food was excellent along with the wine. One of our favorite stopovers while in Europe.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2016

    10
    A little part of Italy in Germany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A family -run hotel... all three generations were charming and helpful, and multi-lingual too ! Parking readily available, and tram stop very close by to get into the city. The Italian food was sublime, as well as very good wine.According to the weather, there was a summer garden or winter garden to eat in. Our room was on the third floor, which was quite a climb, but ,it had air-con.The decor for the whole place was pure "fantasy" style.... really quirky !

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2016

    10
    Thank you dream hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Everything was perfect. The room was awesome. Staff was very kind. They even had this lovely and tasting restaurant under the hotel. Which was very convenient. I would definitely visit again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2016

    6.7
    Nice classic hotel near Plagwitz
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff can really be hard to find at times. We arrived around 0845 and took us near 30 minutes to find someone near to let us in and get us checked in.

    Great classically styled rooms Very clean

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.3
    Inside atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Neighborhood it’s located in

    Inside atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    9.6
    Nice breakfast, perfect restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice breakfast, perfect restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    7.9
    Unique restaurant on site with a lovely breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unique restaurant on site with a lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    10
    Amazing experience.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing experience. Will never stay anywhere else in Liepzig

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    7.5
    Nice place with familiar atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was ok. Very nice atmosphere at the restaurant and good food. Free parking at the hotel was also appreciated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    7.9
    All is good , only minus is no wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No Wifi

    All is good , only minus is no wifi

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    9.6
    Very quiant hotel and would be happy to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful decor of both room & property, friendly staff & lovely evening meal in in-house restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    9.2
    Surprisingly pleasant and comfortable stay in Leipzig
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed in a "junior suite" and although it was only one night, I just had a great night sleep

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect stay in Leipzig
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could have been better for 9,50€.

    We had a very pleasant stay. Tram station just around the corner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    9.6
    leipzig in 2days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No window curtains.

    Very funny 😁 place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    9.2
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very special hotel and restaurant. Nice rooms and the food is good. Very good value for money. Easy connecting to city center via tram

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly staff ... excellent service Thanks Marco !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2017

    10
    Perfect ambiente for low price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shampoo in the plastic bags, impossible to tear with wet hands))))

    Perfect room design and style, clean bathroom, friendly reception

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2017

    8.8
    The staff, the room and the food was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff, the room and the food was great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2016

    7.9
    The room was clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location far away from center

    The room was clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2016

    9.2
    Very helpful staff
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    Very helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2016

    8.8
    Public transport close by, excellent service, closed parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet codes are valid for a couple of hours only & are not the best solution for a hotel.

    Public transport close by, excellent service, closed parking lot (free!), good restaurant next to the hotel. Good beds (however 1 large mattress would have been better then 2 separate ones) in a large room, clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2016

    10
    Staff are really friendly, the room was really lovely - full...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a shame that after a couple of hours the Internet codes ran out and we couldn't renew them as it was late and no one picked up in reception. We didn't want to walk outside and over to reception for new codes as it was late. It meant we couldn't enjoy our favourite chill-out music as we couldn't use the Internet. Also, it would be good to have either a mattress filler between the two single mattresses or a double mattress on the double bed (it was very easy to slip between the two and a little 'unfriendly' to sleep as if in two beds!)

    Staff are really friendly, the room was really lovely - full of character - which is why I chose it. Everything was clean and fresh, and extra touches like a chocolate on the bed and a little gift of Italian cookieswhen we left, or the folded end of lavatory paper all showed great thought and care for guests. Great value for money and the restaurant and mini-bar prices were very fair. This makes a big difference to whether one returns or not. (And we will!)

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2015

    7.5
    This hotel is a gem.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is a gem. Tastefully Decorated in a baroque style, it's unusual but functional too The room was clean, the bed very comfortable, with lovely soft pillows. The bathroom was large with a fantastic shower. The restaurant was fantastic, set in a huge conservatory, complete with a fountain. Food was excellent. Breakfast was simple, but adequate. We found on street parking immediately outside the hotel.

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2015

    10
    Fantastic facilities, great ambiance, lovely restaurant,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Fantastic facilities, great ambiance, lovely restaurant, friendly and helpful staff. The room was first class, clean and well equipped, and the price was stellar.

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2015

    9.6
    The shower is perfect, bed is nice and comfort very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Internet is most unstable.

    The shower is perfect, bed is nice and comfort very nice. Room is big and decorated in romantic style, view is nice. we had late dinner, ( perhaps because we were hungry ) the food was delicious. It is quiet, (train go by with out blowing the horn ).

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2016

    10
    Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Room was beautiful and bed very comfortable

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2015

    8.8
    We liked the restaurant and the atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked the restaurant and the atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2015

    10
    The friendly welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The friendly welcoming staff. The ambience. The high quality quisine.

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2015

    10
    Quartiere tranquillo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quartiere tranquillo Staff multilingue Vicinanza fermata del tram

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Browse Hotel Don Giovanni Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: