Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Donnersberg

Donnersbergring 38, 64295 Darmstadt, Germany

#1 of 33 hotels in Darmstadt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 258 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    I had some personal challenges to address and this small friendly hotel was most suitable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Perhaps some magnets on the base of the shower curtain to "anchor" it to the shower tray would prevent the curtain from becoming so "affectionate!"

    Excellent instant hot water. Room and en suite very clean. Like the addition of a fan.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Good Hotel, stay and judge by yourself :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    None

    Nice clean deco bedroom with comfortable bedding/ mattress, new modern bathroom. Small fridge would be great to have in room as there aren’t shops nearby by, but at entrance drinks at reasonable price and free coffee and cookies as well. Good location two mins walk to tram and road outside isn’t noisy either.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent welcome, clean, not warm enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not find out on time that there is no 24 hr reception- I wouldnt have booked it. I couldnt operate the shower properly the first evening so the water wasnt hot enough the first time. It was freezing in my room when I arrived.Floor heating takes several hrs to come on, wasnt very earm anyway. Bathroom cold.

    Everyone was genuinely friendly and helpful. Very clean. Excellent breakfast and service. Best welcome out of all German Hotels I visited.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.3
    Good place to stay for acceptable price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You should keep in mind that hotel is right near road with active traffic, it was ok for me but if you want to sleep till midday noon it can be a problem. My pillow was too thin but still comfortable. It would be great to have small fridge in the rooms in case if peoople want to store theirs drinks, ice creams or medicines (e.g. insulin)

    Quite good hotel for acceptable price. The kindest personal I have ever met works in this hotel, really. The lobby have cool African style. Rooms are clean and have just renewed bathrooms. Also there is a kind of simple climate control in the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in Darmstadt
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would be happy if there was also at least one pack of instant coffee next to the water boiler in the room.

    Personnel were very friendly and helpful. Even I had no breakfast, they served free coffee in the morning and even it was possible to get it as take away. Nearest tram station is only 2-3 minutes walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    I wish all independent hotels were this nice!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to be picky, the only thing I would change would be having glas doors instead of the shower curtains as they tend to stick to one, but other than that I can only recommend it.

    Very friendly staff and had a very comfortable room. I would say that this hotel was an excellent example of a privately run hotel with great character.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    5.4
    Acoustic isolation of room from outside noise is an issue. Bad sleep due to this!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was very noisy due to the traffic on the road. Although new, the window was not able to acoustically isolate the room. Very bad sleep due to this. Shower tent pretty uncomfortable when you take a shower.

    Courtesy of the staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    9.6
    Happy place in DA
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room temperature was a bit too chilly at 18-19 degrees celsius at night -- down blanket kept me warm though

    Staff was superb! Very kind and accommodating (I arrived early but they still put me up in a room instead of just having me drop off my luggage). They made sure to meet my dietary needs for breakfast and let me leave my car there until the evening on the day of my departure

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    7.5
    Nice small hotel with room for improvement
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower is both great (rain shower) and ridiculous (small with a shower curtain that limits your space to about 0,5x0,5m). Also the bed is so soft and foamy it makes your back hurt. Then, theres a lot of carpet throughout the hotel and you can smell the dogs of the receptionist.

    The staff was very nice and room was big and bright. Location is OK. Bathroom is good but the shower curtain eliminates the comfort.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel just out of Darmstadt center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet connection was not stable all night, although the speed was very good (I was able to watch Netflix for 1 hour and then had to reconnect)

    The hotel staff is very friendly and the rooms are very clean. The hotel has floor heating which gives a good level of comfort.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    The interior of the building brings you to South Africa,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location is a bit far out of the city center. A good walk of about 25 minutes

    The interior of the building brings you to South Africa, this results in a nice and low stress ambiance.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Darsmtadt
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Free Wi-Fi connection was organized in a kind of a weird way, with 2 step authentication and lack of the ability to log in from more than one device simultaneously. Maybe that's solvable, I don't know.

    Host was extremly nice, friendly and helpful, room while being not big, was really comfortable. Breakfasts were great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, nice and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, nice and friendly staff. We will come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There could be more parking lots

    Very nice interieur, nice staff, perfect location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable, nice and easy to reach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.1
    Unflexible Checkout Zeiten
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unflexible Checkout Zeiten

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    Lady at reception - very helpful and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lady at reception - very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.3
    My new favorit Hotel in Darmstadt. Better book directly on their website.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Great family run botique hotel. Very nice and personal design/decoration Simple but great value breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Too soft bad.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too soft bad. I prefer hard. Cleaned my room despite not needed at all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.9
    No air conditioning.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.2
    Minibar
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minibar

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    7.9
    Nice spacious room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi connection was terrible in the room

    Nice spacious room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Renewed facilities, good quality and very clean. Excellent choice. I will definitely come back.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    9.2
    Friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    8.8
    Great hotel with homely atmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - a bit cold in the room

    + great and helpful hosts + comfortable bed + good breakfast + free wifi + St. Nicolaus surprise :-)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    Great Stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Very happy overall

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Beautiful, newly renovated and very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is freshly renovated. The rooms are really nice, the bed, pillows and linen wonderful and the staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    staff very good to take care
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    staff very good to take care

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    10
    Staff at Hotel Donnersberg were absolutely the best,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff at Hotel Donnersberg were absolutely the best, welcoming, helpful and lots of great tips / advice on the city. Breakfast had a large range of choice, with lots of nutritious options and very good quality.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    8.8
    Coffee in the lobby, the decor was lovely.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi didn't work for one day, very minor issues with the a loose bulb in the bathroom, a loose lampshade, and cracked/damaged shower panel.

    Coffee in the lobby, the decor was lovely. The staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating. The room was very clean, had under-floor heating, and was close to the Straßebahn. The glass nightstand was immaculate and the glass bierstein was polished. I would stay again. I also found the breakfast buffet layout cute, unique and interesting.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic bed, lovely staff, delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you want a hotel that is exactly in the centre of a city then this place is a little further out. Not by much though, and the tram is very near.

    Fantastic bed, lovely staff, delicious breakfast. Clean, comfy, pretty darn cheap comparatively.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    9.6
    room commodoties, confortable bed, bar service, personnel...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wireless can be tricky sometimes but personnel is always there to help you

    room commodoties, confortable bed, bar service, personnel service, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    The proprietor (Barbara) is fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning woul have been a plus, but not a oroblem. Wash towels wiukd have been nice, since liquid, rather than bar soap is provided. But, again, not a probkem.

    The proprietor (Barbara) is fabulous! Outgoing, helpful, accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    5.8
    Staff was extremely friendly and a lot of effort has gone...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The shower was so powerful that it sprayed all around the room but I had to eventually hold it to be able to take a shower The room was smelling a bit damp to

    Staff was extremely friendly and a lot of effort has gone into decorating the place.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    9.2
    This is a hotel with a bed and breakfast feel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's about 25 minute walk from railway, but there are cabs, and bike rental The street is noisey enough to be distracting if you sleep with window open, I brought ear plugs to solve that.

    This is a hotel with a bed and breakfast feel. The lady running it is super nice and helpful. The breakfast is amazing

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    10
    very friendly and accommodating staff, good breakfast, great...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very friendly and accommodating staff, good breakfast, great location

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    10
    good rooms and good service!
    • Business trip
    • Group

    good rooms and good service! The hostess is very kind .

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    10
    Very comfortable room, had all the amenities and the bed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing!

    Very comfortable room, had all the amenities and the bed was just perfect! Host very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    9.6
    the people work in hotel are very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    the people work in hotel are very nice.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    7.5
    Personal was very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room had no heating!

    Personal was very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    8.8
    easy, flexible, accommodating staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    decor a bit old and dated, shower a bit slippery and dark

    easy, flexible, accommodating staff

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi coverage a bit patchy in my room.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Close to a tram station. Great shower.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    9.6
    The best is the fact that you can darken the room to 100%.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The best is the fact that you can darken the room to 100%. Best sleep in a hotel since a long time.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    8.3
    Good room, good bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Exhaust Fan must be good inside toilet & bathroom. Room was little stinking due to carpet or due to bad exhaust fan.

    Good room, good bed.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    8.8
    junior suite was very comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    junior suite was very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful and hotel had lovely character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpful and hotel had lovely character. Very conveniently located. room was lovely and spacious

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    8.8
    Breakfast was amazing!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Missing a boiler in the room for making tea

    Breakfast was amazing!

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    10
    Good atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    8.8
    Exceptionally friendly & helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Difficult to get access to wi-fi and if you have it might not work either.

    Exceptionally friendly & helpful staff Clean & spacious room

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.8
    fast Wifi, comfortable bed, quiet room, parking available...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    complicated to get access to Wifi, room was rather dark,

    fast Wifi, comfortable bed, quiet room, parking available and free, cheap minibar

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    8.8
    Honestly best hotel room I have stayed in Germany.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Honestly best hotel room I have stayed in Germany.(of a lot!) Lovely staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    7.5
    Dogs of the hotel owner are not supposed ti be in the hotel...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Dogs of the hotel owner are not supposed ti be in the hotel facilities. In the elevator is strong smell of this dogs which is not really hygienic.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    7.5
    Clean,frendly staff,very kind,wifi good,brekfast very good.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Clean,frendly staff,very kind,wifi good,brekfast very good.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: