Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Restaurant Doppeladler This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Bahnhofstraße 48, 46459 Rees, Germany

#3 of 10 hotels in Rees

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 666 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    We stayed in the new accomodation adjacent to main building. The room was furnished to an extremely high standard and was immaculately clean. The food in the restaurant was exceptional and great value for money. I would highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance from towels to wash basin in bathroom, the frosted glass door does not give much privacy.

    Just about everything. Room, fantastic restaurant and walking distance to anywhere in Haldern .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is actually in the town of Haldern, not Rees. The hotel doesn't seem to have air conditioning, but there was adequate ventilation through the windows and roof vents (in May). Room and bathroom were very spacious and well-kept. The restaurant was great, -- you know it's going to be good if most of the people there are locals. There's a fantastic bakery just across the road with wonderful pastries, pies, and cakes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got an upgrade to a suite because of a family wedding. The staff was super nice. The room was amazingly clean and the overall atmosphere was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big room with a refrigerator, a tv and a comfortable (twin) bed. Convenient and clean bathroom. Room is situated opposite to the 'real' hotel where you can also find the hotel's restaurant, where they serve local and Balkanic meals for fair prices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside was the fact we were woken twice in the middle of the night by the fire brigade being assembled. On top of that, when the central heating turned-on all radiator valves were oscilating at a frequency slightly lower than those used by the community sirens, but equally loud. I quickly discoverd, that re-adjusting the thermostats solves the issue in our room, but I could here the same sound emminating from surrounding rooms.

    The rooms were upgraded by the hotel, we were located the the recently built part accros the street. Lovely rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large spider in corner of room. Didn't bother me as eats flies. Also hotel had large fire about 10 years ago so was disturbed to see smoke detector in my room had been removed and wires left hanging in ceiling. Also I was at front and with windows open to cool room noise below from restaurant went on quite late.

    Food in restaurant excellent but it's wise to reserve a table as very busy Breakfast good also

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Such a nice, friendly and helpful staff. Modern, clean, spacious room, bathroom and balcony. Great restaurant to have lunch/ dinner. Will definetly come black!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small remark; add an optional modulating fan in the room as there is no airco in this traditional building.

    Good diner options,nice menu, good kitchen. Complete continental Breakfast choice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    We were unexpectedly delighted with this hotel! Our rooms were across the road from the traditional German Hotel/restaurant but it was no problem! These rooms were brand new, well fitted, spacious and comfortable. All the staff were friendly and helpful as well. A great place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A second stay here and the first time in the main building. Rooms are a little more dated, but still comfortable and perfectly acceptable. Dinner and drinks here were great again, as was breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel cleanliness/comfort excellent ~ staff friendly ~ restaurant very very busy but no wonder food was to a very high standard ~ would love to return sometime soon

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice Hotel with affordable price. Restaurant. Nice people, helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was bad. Problems with scrambled eggs, coffee....

    The room and the dinner were excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All good. Not 5 star hotel but nicer. Good staff friendly .a place I ways return

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Food, staff, rooms, location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean and quiet hotel at the country side. Modern and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else

    Food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had a semi transparent glass door which felt uncomfortable.

    Beds comfortable.Delicious meals with plenty of variety on the menu.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Pleasant staff and manager

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all

    Staff Spacious room breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    excellent restaurant with reasonable prices and great food in this hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs with heavy bags.

    Restaurant at hotel was superb.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Selection

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was excellent,roomy bathroom (shower). New building.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everythink is good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic bathroom

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The arrival time on Booking.com was incorrect.

    Margaret Glaspy concert across the street.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Doppeladler is in a convenient location, easy to find in the lovely little village of Haldern. Friendly welcoming staff, comfortable and clean rooms. Excellent and very popular restaurant - staff managed to find us a table quickly even though we hadn't booked. Have a good appetite as portions are generous! The picturesque old town of Kalkar is about 30 minutes' drive away.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed one night, Saturday to Sunday, in a room facing the town square. There is a nightclub of some kind on the other side of the square which had a disco in full swing when I went to bed. I woke up at 5am and it was still going. It kept me up for about half an hour before I fell asleep again. The repertoire was 70s and 80s disco hits, so if you don't like this kind of music, request a room facing the back.

    Value for money, food, and pretty much everything else.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was incredibly busy when we arrived and we were left waiting at reception for a fair time whist staff rushed around dealing with diners - we appreciated they were busy but in full bike gear in hot and humid weather we just wanted to check in not stand around for ten minutes. There were lots of staff available (it has a very large restaurant) so perhaps they need to dedicate someone to provide a hotel check in service as our first impressions (being tired after a very long journey) were not good. The rooms were nice and of good size but they overlooked a very busy outside dining area, plus there was a football party in one of the downstairs function rooms singing and partying late into the night, so its fair to say it was not the most peaceful or restful night. Our evening meal in the restaurant was good though we weren't able to dine until very late because it was so busy. Our stay was OK and perhaps we just caught them on a busy weekend, but not sure we'd return.

    Nice location in the middle of the small town square.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Thedining was fantastic, lovely rooms and great value for money. Lovely setting and dining was so busy as used by so many locals an indication of the quality.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Couple

    We were on the second floor and there were no lifts. Not good for the disabled.

    Room was a family room. Very comfortable and good price. Restaurant was superb and excellent value.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    When I arrived I got info that all room are already booked. After 600km drive I was exhausted and disappointed. He said that that the Booking sytem failed. However the Manager call other locations and lucky me I got the last room in other Hotel but I have to pay more as it was booked before.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi didn't work till morning :(

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    WiFi very poor

    Great restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bar staff didn't speak v.good German.

    Cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing everything was fine

    Best you can get for this price the place was amazing. Friendly helpful staff. Good rooms that were clean and modern

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendliness of owner and staff. Excellent facilities in all respects.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Welcoming. Very friendly. Great food and ambiance in restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The food menu is amazing, it was very busy in the restaurant, that tells you how good it is!

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Couple

    Large Room Nice Beds In the Middle of the village

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Browse Hotel Restaurant Doppeladler traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: