Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Doria 3 stars

Duisburger Str. 1a, Pempelfort, 40477 Düsseldorf, Germany

#55 of 197 hotels in Düsseldorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 439 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was quite small and located under the rooftop. It was okay but in summer the heat would have probably killed me (with the addition of the lack of air-conditioning in the room). Soundproofing is quite bad, between the neighbors and the very loud tramway that runs quite late... Fortunately the hotel provides free earplugs but that might be inconvenient for some travelers.

    Located closely to the center of the town, very close to the tramway, staff does its best and is friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn’t even have an electric kettle and found it a little by difficult while traveling with a child! There was no complimentary bottled water as well

    The staffs were very friendly and the breakfast spread was really good. The location is great and it is value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All the rooms are actually located in TWO separate buildings - one is a typical hotel with all the facilities like: an elevator, the dining room, Reception, shoe polishing machine ;) etc. However, the other building is rather like a 2 storey block of flats / apartments (with no elevator, so if you have a heavy luggage.. you are sure to exercise some weight lifting ;) Also you will need to walk to the 'hotel' building for your breakfast. So if you care for some more comfort, you'd better make sure which building the room you've booked is located in.. There is no air conditioning (which might be problematic during the summer). The cleaning (service) is quite poor - there were no towels in my room when I arrived (!), but there was some dust in the bathroom. Paper hand tissues were not replenished after I had used all of them. Bed linen is not changed every day. Wi-Fi signal was not too strong in my room.

    There are 2 biggest assets of the place: its location and Staff. The hotel neighbours good restaurants, shops, subway, trams, and is in a walking distance (15-20 min.) to the Old Town. Some rooms have their windows on the backyard, which makes them peaceful and quiet. The personnel are so nice and helpful! They speak good English and are very friendly :) Breakfast is delicious, with limited choice of classic dishes but of superb quality and taste (e.g. fresh bread, fantastic Caprese, great cheese, meat, and scrambled eggs!). Coffee machine is at guests' disposal. Also a wide range of tea flavours should be noticed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was warm, nice, cosy and clean! easy to reach from airport and close to city centre. The best part was that we arrived at 8am and could do the check in immediately which felt great after a 20h flight!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I had booked had not been cleaned, the bed and bathroom had been used. The room I then got as a replacement was in one of the upper floors which was inconvenient because of my luggage and no escalator. Also the heating didn‘t work at the beginning

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quirky and tiny elevator? Tight stairs? Actually, we liked everything.

    Great location if you want relatively easy access to the Altstadt, but don't want to pay for city center. Lot's of stuff nearby. Highly recommend "Himmel und Ähd" for traditional Düsseldorf cuisine and beer.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room was very small and the hotel is not proper for families. the train/tram noise was really disturbing.

    it was clean and the breakfast is good. very helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is very good. One can walk to Rhine and old city. Good restaurants in the city. One can find public parking around the hotel also, however it could be expensive if it is not a weekend (0,30 Euro for 30 mins). Staff was very nice and helpful. Rooms are very basic. It was cold in the night even with the heating on.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The night staff was very rude to us and reluctantly gave us Wifi access despite it having been included in the price of our room. He also did not notify us that the Wifi access would only work on a single device. He treated us as though we were demanding services that we had not paid for.

    The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The morning staff was very kind and the treats in the front lobby were good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice Hotel Doria. Not far from the embankment and many main sights. REWE supermarket which works till 10:00pm is acroos the road. It is also easy to find the place because it is near ERGO tower which can be observed from the embankment. Breakfast is quite good, room was clean an cosy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. We were in the small anexe and could not connect to the wi fi.

    Pleasant and comfortable. Did not feel like a hotel. Staff helpful and courtious. Central location to the old town which has many shops bars and eateries.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incheck time is not at 11 am! Wrong info on booking.com - its from 14pm and up.

    Room was good; big sized for two persons and the beds were great. The noise from the street didn't bother us at all ( were from Amsterdam) nice and helpfull staff!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cosy hotel with kind staff, brilliant location with shops and restaurants close by. 15 min by foot through Hofgarten to Old Town, Königsallee or Rhine. If you like a bit of urban city life, this is for you. Especially liked the two pillows in the comfortable bed. Did stay there 2 times and will be back for sure whenever I am in Düsseldorf.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there should be an elevator. very difficult to carry big suitcases up to 3rd floor

    everything was fine about the hotel. staff are very nice and helpful. breakfast is good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn't work.

    Good location, big room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-conditioned.. apartment was very hot and noisy if windows are opened

    Staffs, cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room temperature was a bit too high

    Location was surprisingly great, with cosy restaurants and cafés closeby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing Thank you.

    I have stayed here over the past 10 years and I find the hotel perfect, the Staff very friendly and cannot fault it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Total nettes Personal

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not worth the extra spend

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Breakfast and very friendly staff at reception, breakfast and housekeeping

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a tram line in front of the hotel which can be heard when in the room but we didn't find it to be a problem.

    Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable and quiet room. Hot water instantly in bathroom. Breakfast varied and tasty

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is nice and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby and common area was small

    The staff were very nice. The cleaness was excelent. The location was near the center of city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very Helpful staff, nothing was a problem.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small and there are still some stairs to the room along with the elevator.

    Place to put a suitcase

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was wonderful! Nice and clean hotel with friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the evening receptionist could have been more pleasant

    Good as usual

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Noisy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff are very friendly. Easy reach from business.

    Cleaning was not good. Location very noisy!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Except for size of room and street car noise this hotel was excellent. Overall a fantastic value! Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was nothing to dislike.

    just a very friendly sort of hotel that ticks all the boxes for me.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy . The bed was uncomfortable

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, 1 minute walk from subway station, surrounded by many shops, cafe and supermarket

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very difficult to find a space to park a car.

    Good location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small

    Public transportation in front of the door

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything. Especially the kindness of the staff. Very RECOMENDED

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very comfortable stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was small

    The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of tram can be heard, no airconditioning, poor breakfast.

    Location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A room was quite small. Walls were really thin, so I could hear my neighbor coughing. However, a pair of earplugs was left on a table, so if I had a trouble sleeping, I could have used those. Very thoughtful!

    This was so much better than my previous experience in Germany. That's why I think I could be biased upwards with regard to this accommodation. In general, everything was really good, they even had shoe polish, which I gladly used, because I don't bring things like that with me.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pillows filled with feathers - people have allergies!!! Bathroom rather small but ok, but annoyingly no electric extractor fan!

    Excellent breakfast, and very friendly, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could do with a kettle in the room

    Good location just a nice 15 min walk to the Rhine and the bars and shopping centre also there are good places to eat and drink around the hotel as well great staff very helpful

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Its a little noisy. Especially on the side where the tram goes regularly by..

    Staff are friendly and helpful. Is well located. You are able to make your room completely dark

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I hadn't realised that there were 2 separate buildings and that my room was located in the building away from the main hotel. The wifi connection was very poor.

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None, although bar could be more of a facility.

    Location is great for exploring city with excellent tram and underground links. Car parking arrangements at nearby garage are very convenient. Breakfasts wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi worked slow with interruptions. Each device have to be connected separately. Low soundproof, but it was ok for us.

    Location is excellent. Breakfast was perfect. Staff was friendly and helpful. We arrived in the night and got keys from the room very quickly. Car parking within 500 m from the hotel is ok for the city centre. A lot of different cafe, bar, restaurants and shops nearby. We liked this place!

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is two buildings, one is Doria hotel 3 stars and another one 100 meters away from the hotel. The second one is just a guesthouse with no elevator! No service! You should come to the other building for the hotel reception and breakfast! They should make it clear that it is zero star hotel nearby when they don't have enough room in the hotel!

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed only for 2 nights but I was over-charged for one more night with full fare!! All of guests are requested to pay their maximum attention during checking, even in busy morning hours. Unfortunately not the level of 4 stars hotel. このホテルは部屋代を過剰請求してきました。星の数に惑わされて安心する事なく、チェックアウトの際は細心の注意を払ってください。

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We flew into Dusseldorf for a one night stay, arriving at the hotel late morning and leaving for the airport at 0400 the following day. We were checked in swiftly by a professional and friendly person on reception (other hotels make you wait until the afternoon). The room was small but clean, well-decorated and with comfortable beds. Reception gave us good directions to get to where we wanted and how to get back. When we returned from our evening function at 0100, Reception greeted us and arranged for our taxi at 0400. Good location, 5 minutes from the U-Bahn.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel is in a nice area with shops, bars, restaurants. Staff is very helpful. We used the Subway across the street for breakfast. Only a short walk to the Altstadt.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed in a single room, clean, quiet and comfortable, with a bathroom recently refurbished. WiFi is free and works very well. Breakfast is basic but appropriate. All in all, a nice place with that old-style fashion in the rooms so different from the standardized international chains. The price is a plus as well.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stayed 3 nights B&B for the Christmas markets. Excellent location for airport and city centre using public transport, we used the Düsseldorf card. Quiet, clean rooms and looked forward to breakfast every morning. Would definitely return again.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent location, clean, great wi-fi

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Super-clean, very friendly staff. In the middle of town - you are everywhere quick. Just a great little hotel for a great price.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking difficult to find and solution from hotel 300m. Too far away.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Have stayed in numerous hotels in Dusseldorf and this is by far the best.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Excellent location for where I was to be. Room was very clean and to a high standard

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stay on a regular basis, both myself and my Wife and we both find it very friendly and comfortable hotel.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was very small

    Location,breakfast,staff

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location! A lot of restaurants and shops around and great public transportation. Also the staff is very welcoming and friendly!

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Clean, friendly and very convenient for the City Centre and Old Town. The breakfast buffet was excellent. We would certainly use this hotel again

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    For the price I expected a bit more, say, luxury.

    Quite attentive staff (most of them).

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and Hotel services.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Trams woke me up around 6 o'clock but ear plugs are provided.

    Staff very helpful, despite my arrival at 1:30am. Short walk to the underground

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Smelly room. Different building from reception. Many floors without elevator.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, all was great.

    Staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything was perfect

    Perfect hotel Very pleasant and helpful staff Breakfast was amazing Great location

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Parking was nearby

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No A/C. Noisy

    Location

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything except the noise

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noise, both from street and other rooms (but earplugs are provided)

    Friendly staff, located on lively street with lots of shops and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Easy access to city.

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Doria traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: