Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Drei Könige Dom Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Marzellenstr. 58 - 60, Altstadt-Nord, 50668 Cologne, Germany

#202 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2014 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.8

  • Comfort

    5.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    5.6

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Good choice for the short period trip
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TV doesn't works. Noise from the central station, especially night time, when windows are open. there is no air conditioner

    Comfort room, Staff, Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    Probably reasonable hotel,but not for couples till they finish construction.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under constructing. Not clean at all, like carpet has so many stain. Sometimes door key didn't work well. No airconditioner.

    Convenient location. Staff were kind and smiley. Satisfied breakfast,especially coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    OK for a night.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is currently being refurbished and the front facade is completely covered with protective sheeting. Made it very hard to find, because you can't see the hotel name anywhere!

    Spacious room. Good shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    very close to the Centralstation and Kölner-dom,the rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    better breakfast room and with more variety

    very close to the Centralstation and Kölner-dom,the rooms that we got was newly renoveted and were great..!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    It will be awesome when renovated rooms are finished
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like the unrenovated room we initially got, it was not in such a good shape: old furniture, stained carpet, smelly, old paint on the walls

    This review is for the new rooms at the hotel, the renovated ones. We initially received an old one but after one night stay, we wanted to cancel. So they changed our room and the new ones are awesome! They don't usually book them since they're not completely ready (ours was missing some lights and the tv did not work - we did not care one bit about that) The staff is very nice and the breakfast is good. The hotel is very close to the Dome, nice restaurants and transport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    4.2
    There are some street corners in Cologne more comfortable than this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everthing.

    The whole experience felt as if I took a time machine and returned to 1950 Germany. There was construction going on through out the hotel. Constant banging, the room didn't seem to have been cleaned for ages and the breakfast was worse than average. The best part of the stay was the check out and knowing I would never return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    Will come back after renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above...

    Property is under renovation, nothing mentioned Room was old, worn and in renovation mode, windows new not ready installed Whole hotel is a construction area Staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast very good Location super Very impressive i.e. for british citizens with windows as room to train station direction and no noise! Value for money... super .... although a note about renovation would have been helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.4
    Ok but didn't think it was worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets very dirty and definitely not a room where small children could walk. No shower curtain, no shower rod and was basin was clogged.construction happening and the room adjacent to a common toilet.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    3.3
    This was worst hotel for this price. I was really disappoint. There days booking.com is not doing go
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was worst hotel for this price. I was really disappoint. There days booking.com is not doing good job. Better I have look for some other opitions

    Nothing..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    4.2
    Wouldn’t stay here again or recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dirty, chewing gum stuck on wall, toilet not clean, heavily stained carpet, public toilets outside our door, no lighting in lobby so couldn’t see key hole. Building site

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    6.3
    Very easy to check-in/out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was construction occuring at the property during my stay, so it was very noisy during the day. Other than that, no complaints.

    Very easy to check-in/out. Located close to main train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    Good located with nice people and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old furniture, not so clean space, re-building the hotel during my staying gives a lot of dust.

    The place is near railwaystation and city center, nice people, quite place, good connection to the airport and amazing breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.4
    Wi-fi connection and a good breakfast included in the room...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are important maintenance/restructuration works under way. From 8 a.m. the hotel turns into a contruction site, with a lot of noise and dust.... The old furnitures, stained moquette and worn towels of my room completed the picture. Under these conditions the hotel really do not worth the price. Hopefully it will be better at the end of the maintenances.

    Wi-fi connection and a good breakfast included in the room rate. Optimal position, few steps from the station and from the cathedral.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.5
    Decent price for a clean, comfortable and convenient hotel. Staff are lovely except breakfast lady.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn't work in our initial room, the second room we were given was very sensitive between hot and cold I'm assuming it was struggling due to people showering a lot in the morning. The staff rating would have been rated maximum if it wasn't for an extremely rude/borderline aggressive breakfast staff. Firstly she got angry because I was asking about the tea, then later got angry when I requested white sugar. She seemed very hostile to everyone. You could request scrambled eggs but I don't think anyone dared apart from one person who looked too hungover to care. Personally I was a little annoyed it's not advertised or being made aware to customers that there's a big scaffolding outside...but it didn't cause a problem for me personally just made it harder to find the building as the hotel name and building is hidden.

    Great location - in the centre of cologne, 5 minutes from the train station and 10 minutes from the main shop. Staff on reception were fantastic and friendly, the guy on at night was very helpful when I found our shower was no longer working. Speak very good English also. Very clean, comfortable and for the location it's an okay price. The breakfast was also lovely...shame about the lady who was on that shift though. The entrance, reception and eating area were lovely and seemed high quality compared to the rest of the hotel... however they're obviously renovating so can imagine they're bringing the rest up to scratch. Also quite quiet despite it being next to the train station and being Karneval season.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    3.8
    Poor quality and high price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worst hotel experience in 50+ hotels I've stayed in. A run down, noisy small hotel. Poor thin curtains on window (loads of light). Noisy plumbing system (when other rooms turn taps on could hear much pipe work rumbling. Crumbling and diy patch ups everywhere. Was expensive for a very poor hotel. Location is the only reason to stay (and they likely know it). Also doing a 5 floor extension and building stuff everywhere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.9
    Very close to the station and convenient, worth the money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They could do with new carpets, though the place looks like it's have a refurb at the moment

    Very comfortable beds, spacious enough, excellent location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.6
    Very comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift not working. Shower is very small. Needs More hot selection for breakfast -Needs scrambled eggs

    Very comfy bed. Close to hbf- 5mins. Breakfast good -cheese, meats, breads, croissants, yoghurt, fruit, juice, fresh tea/coffee. Only boiled egg as hot food. Very friendly welcome at 2am after plane had 3hr delay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.4
    Alright hotel, great location but for the price I paid (around 75€ night/pers) I was expecting more
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shampoo available in the hotel, a single duvet for a double mattress was quite uncomfortable. The lift was oit of order during my whole stay. There were a lot of building works going on which you could hear very clearly from the rooms and it was quite disturbing. I was told the breakfast would run until 11am and went down the second day and it wasn't on anymore as that timtable was only during the weekends but they never specified and there's no information anywhere. Managed to fight for £5 off in the bill because of that..

    The girls in the desk were very nice and helpful, much nicer than the man. Grat location close to the cathedral and the main train station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.1
    Was ok just some little touch ups needed.
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in room was in stains. There was some building going on which we were not informed about.

    Breakfast was really good. Maybe could do like omlete or scrummble eggs and saussage.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    4.6
    Find rather something else.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really cold in the room. The radiator was turned off and could not be turned on. Outside was 5°C and could be 15°C in the room. It was an extremely small room with old furniture, even the bulb was missing in the lamp. The Wi-Fi network blocked by password, which I haven't got. I would expect a small shampoo (not only shower gel) as well. Drilling work from 07:30. Should be noticed while booking, major renovations are in progress.

    The location close to the train station is great. But some people wouldn't like to have the platforms behind the window. And the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.9
    Very close the Köln Hbf and the Cathedral.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, small bathroom - teeeeeny tiny shower!

    Very close the Köln Hbf and the Cathedral. Staff kindly let us keep our bags there during the day after we had checked out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    4.6
    Very friendly staff and in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and dirty room. Whole inside needs redone, including furnishings. Too expensive for what it is.

    Very friendly staff and in a good location. Short walk from train station and cathedral. Breakfast was decent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    6.7
    Ok for the one night visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's under renovation work. Dirty stairways and hallways. Expected but the place truly needs a facelift. No warnings when we booked.

    Great location, just a 5 minute walk to the Dom. Nice breakfast. Plenty of choice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.1
    very friendly staff and a great selection for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room looked very run down, as well as the bathroom showed damages. Cables hanging out of the walls in the corridors.

    very friendly staff and a great selection for breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.1
    Convenient centrally located hotel in Köln
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I downrated cleanliness of the room as the bathroom was not as clean as you would expect. I can’t speak for all rooms and this may have been a one off experience. Other comments here will be solved as they are renovating the hotel currently. There was no lift so all luggage had to be taken manually up the stairs when I visited. However after work is done a lift will be installed. I had room on 3rd floor which was a little dark due to builders equipment on facade of hotel but as I said above, once work is finished this will be gone.

    Pleasant hotel 5 minutes from Köln Hauptbahnhof, cathedral and convenient for city centre, and Altstadt. Helpful lady on reception, breakfast included in my booking (getting rare now as this is a paid (expensive) extra in many cases), fairly big room with double bed. This is a private, good value hotel with a very convenient location for Köln. Private bathroom and decent sized room. There are bigger more expensive properties nearby (chain 4-5 star places) and around the city but for a short stay this is a nice quiet central hotel for a comfortable short stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.4
    Price too high for what they offer.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Installation of an elevator, we were not informed about that beforehand. Maintenance is poor, missing lightbulbs in the sleeping room and breakfast room, our toilet was not really clean, brown sediment inside.

    The breakfast was excellent, except from the fruits. Very helpful people.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    4.6
    Sad experience and disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs leading to the rooms not fit for a hotel with the price i paid.

    Hotel not known to nearby properties when we are looking for it. Did not tell in the site that the lift was not available during the period of stay and the facade was covered due to ongoing construction hence we cannot find the name of the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    Great Location, but small rooms!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was also good, but a little smaller than what I expected. the only thing that i didn't like - there was no drinking water facility!! :(

    The place is very close to the station and also to most of the attractions in Cologne. Staff is very friendly, heped me out with quite a few things! and, the BEST part -- AMAZING BREAKFAST !! the breakfast was really nice!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.5
    Needs refreshment, avoid it if you need calm
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel definitely needs a refreshment in the rooms! Quite noisy inside. Expensive during the trade fairs.

    The hotel is well located, the staff is very nice, breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    5.8
    It is very disappointing to see bad quality product within the centre of all the city attraction
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel should not operated, under this circumstances, as there is a major renevation

    Distance to all local attraction Staff is doing their best to help you with lomited facilities

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Nothing too fancy, but I would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator was out of order all the time we were there. In the shower you had to let the water run for several minutes before you got hot water. The soap holder would fall off all the time. The wifi signal was not always great.

    The location was good, within walking distance to the central train station and to the Dome. Also, despite being so close to the trains, it was surprisingly quiet. Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choices of both sweet and salty food. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was quite nice and warm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice, Comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpets in the rooms were discolored and the room was not as sound proof as I would've liked, but it is hard for things to be super quiet in the city center.

    I liked the front desk lady. She was very kind. I also thought the beds were very comfy. The carpets were discolored but it wasn't a big deal. We had to find a place to park our car in a parking garage overnight but the front desk lady was very helpful in giving us directions. There are a lot of places to eat nearby. The restaurants next door were kind of expensive but if you walk a little further down the street you can find some cheaper options. Breakfast had a lot of options, my sister was vegan so unfortunately for her dairy free is not very common in Germany in general. Was nice to stay for one night, the room was not very sound proof, but I was able to fall asleep and sleep through the night and the bed was nice and comfy. The price was really good for the quality and having breakfast included.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    3.8
    Very Bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very Poor Property, Very Poor Cleaning, Very Poor Furniture, Very Poor Bed Linins and Blankets, NO Internet in the room, Very Dirty Bath Room, and Very Bad Hotel,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

    Staff's Co-operation,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    Short stay before catching a plane
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed some renovations.

    The hotel is situated in a very central place, easy to find and very cheap for the location. The personal was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was absolutely ok for the money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    4.6
    Disgusting, never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is showing its age in nearly all areas. Did you want wifi in your room? Tough, "WiFi is broken". Did you want a lift to the second floor? Tough, "Lift is broken". Did you want emergency lighting on the stairs? Tough, the lighting is provided by a self installed led light bar taped to the wall, with the cabling running past your door - don't trip! Room 27 was revolting, facing the front of the hotel, with a window that didn't seal meant the subsequent late night noise was fairly noticeable. I heard from the guests at the rear of the hotel the noise from the 24 hour trains reached unbearable levels by 3am. The curtains were very thin, and with the illuminated "Hotel" sign right outside your window, it was so bright you couldn't really tell if it was day or night, so bring a mask to cover your eyes. The carpet was literally disgusting - this room is not rentable at any price due to that alone, but once you add the holes in the duvet cover and the tatty towels, this place really needs to go to hotel heaven. By the way, don't worry about bringing anything for a midnight snack, I left the jelly baby I found wedged in the frame of the bed for the next person. I arrived late, and couldn't bear the idea of more disruption, but I emailed Booking the next day to get me the heck out of there!

    Not a lot to like about this terrible hotel. The breakfast was simple and the best bit about the stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Adequate but you get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is pretty shabby. Tiny bathroom. Fairly noisy neighborhood. Poor WiFi.

    Friendly, polite staff. Reasonable value. 5 mins walk from Station and cathedral

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Book for Xmas market!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was not told of the Refurbishment in advance, but it did not stop us enjoying the weekend.

    Friendly staff, great location for the Alt Stadt, cheap and cheerful, clean rooms and bedding, was undergoing refurbishment but would go back

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On going construction covered the hotel front. When we arrived at nighttime, a roming man sat in the dark path to the hotel. Elevator not work and carrying heavy luggage up two floors.

    Near train station, DOM, bridge, river walk. Good breakfast, friendly staffs. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    2.5
    Horrible and never again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had heavy bags, and the elevator wasn't working. I ended up carrying my own load all the way up to the third floor all by myself. The rooms were really bad. Carpets were horrible, bed sheets and pillows probably have been used over and over again for the past 20 years ( you could tell due the odd color of the pillow covers which were in pink while the rest of the bed was in white ) The towels also had brown and red stains on them. And above everything there was this foul odor or stench that fills your nostrils the moment you enter the room. Can't believe I paid over 500€ for two nights!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    5.4
    Great Location but small room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very small. The photos are not similar to the ones checked online. Expectations were much more than what was there. The toilet was also small and you could barely move inside . It is suitable for short business trips and well located.

    Location was perfect. Close the exhibition center and to the metro station. The surrounding building are nice. The staff was helpful and friendly. The room was clean and tidy. Accessible to all needed stores.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.9
    The hotel has very good value for price and great breakfast and position. It is a little run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet in the room was terrible and the lift was broken.

    The hotel offers a very good breakfast and has a great location near the station but in a nice street. The hotel is also very clean, but the carpet in the room was old and stained and gave an impression of dirt, while you could see that everything was clean, however the carpet gave a terrible impression.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would definitely change the carpet.

    It is very close to the cathedral/train station, and the breakfast was very good. The staff was extremely nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.8
    Overall fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wouldn't normally give negative feedbacks but it did shock me when I found the van completely covered with very thick layer of dust... imagine the scene when it's running... Also the room faced railways so each time when trains arrived the sound could be heard clearly.

    The biggest advantage of staying at this hotel is its location, as it's close to the central station. The staff was also nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.3
    I liked the location of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The man at the reception was kind of rude/grumpy - when I first arrived at about 8am, i was informed by this man that I could not check in but could leave my luggage behind. I was fine with not being able to check in. The man wheeled my luggage to some back area (not locked, not even 5% secure), asking if I brought rocks from my home country as he did so. As it was very early, I wanted to sit for a bit and charge my phone quickly as I took an overnight train. The man reluctantly allowed me to do so, but told me that I need to leave very soon as the breakfast area would soon be full of guests. When I saw the out of order sign on the lift (I remembered from the hotel description that the hotel was undergoing renovation), I asked the man about it as I wanted to request for a room on the first floor so I did not have to carry my luggage up all those stairs. The man was immediately defensive without even finding out the purpose of my question, saying that 'it is stated very clearly on the hotel page that the lift will not be working, you should have known'. The man also started ranting about how I was only paying 40+ eur for the room, and the hostel just next door was charging XXX....at this point I really wanted to go to the hostel next door. For information, the booking.com page for the hotel states "Please note that due to ongoing renovation works the lift might be out of service for shorts periods of time." I would like to place emphasis on 'might be out of service' for 'short periods of time'. The lift was out of order the entire time I was there (1 night) and the man had acted as if it was to be expected that it was out of order all the time. Nevertheless, the man had unexpectedly carried my heavy luggage up to my room while I was out, which was a nice touch of customer service which exceeded my expectations given the nastiness earlier in the day. So thank you for that!

    I liked the location of this hotel. It was a simple hotel but had what I needed. As the hotel lift was not working, the man at the reception helped to bring my luggage up to my room (albeit with some complaining, see the portion on 'what didn't you like') which was an unexpected touch of customer service after a less-than-pleasant encounter with him earlier in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.3
    Could have been better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No fans and no air conditioning in the property when I visited, renovation was under way but, was not ready when I was there....could have updated the facilities for better understanding

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Best stay in Köln
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift wasn't working because of renovation, well they already wrote it in the description but i didn't read it. I bring a VERY BIG luggage with me. And I have to take it to the third floor. But it's understandable. My room is behind of train station so we can hear the horn of train every night. But it didnt bother us at all.

    Location is really great. It's only 100 meters from Köln Bhf. The staff is really nice, there's accident that i could not arrived at expected day but they let me to extend one more day. They are so friendly. Breakfast is really great despite that it's always same everyday. Room is clean and comfortable. The price is not that expensive. I will book it again if i go to Köln again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.5
    Bad Staff for breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Again this is another Staff breakfast Staff... May be she is the host... Was not so Good.. During breakfast.... I asked her for white bread...she said no its finished with an arrogant attitude... and the other moment in next five minutes.. A European came and Voila the bread came out of no where... This was a pure racial discrimination... In my view......It was raining and we wear ed our raining Cheaters... And to that to she was laughing... She was not aware that i WAS just at her back... I would suggest her to be Good in this terms... Otherwise If this is the case even after we pay for Our stay... I would suggest every indian not to book this Hotel if you do not want to be a part of joke... Or racial discrimination...

    Staff...she was a good person... And was Very polite and soft spoken... When we arrive she was really helpful...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    this hotel staff was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to carry my heavy bag to the room to 1st floor. no escalator :(

    this hotel staff was very good. location is excellent! if I visit cologne again I will stay there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.1
    Nce budget hotel to have a short break in Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are a bit oldy and noisy nut not a big deal. There are reparation works just in front of the entrance .

    Great breakfast. the location is amazing. Good value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    5.0
    Don't rely on the pictures!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole Hotel in general: it's the worst Hotel i have ever stayed. The wonder carpet is dirty and old, i can't stay on it without shoes, the furniture is old and half destroyed, the walls are dirty , the bathroom is dirty and unpleasant , there was a cleaning station left near our door for the whole time , for what ?)) we don't want to clean ourselves the room if they expected this from us :) the whole hotel was under reconstruction when we came, we didn't see the fasade of the Hotel. So i never ever recommend this Hotel to anyone, please made the 100% upgrade of the Hotel!

    the staff was very helpfull and friendly, we liked the wide choise of buffet for the breakfast, the location is perfect

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.5
    Walking distance to the main attractions of the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad timing for us to book a hotel that is undergoing renovation. Because it is very close to the main train station we could hear the noises of the trains at around 2 am. I'm not sure if the room was soundproof at all.

    Walking distance to the main attractions of the city (cathedral, town hall, museums, etc). Breakfast was included in the price and was really nice. Wifi was available in the room & was okay. The room for 4 people was spacious and had a private bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.4
    Not expensive, but with a lot of flaws
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole hotel looks very old and unfortunately also not very clean. The carpet in the room was not clean at all and tbh was a little bit disgusting. The room also had a little bit of strange smell. The bedding had a lot of small holes in it.

    The staff was really very nice!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.1
    With this price, it's ok if you looking the room just for sleep not stay all day inside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's close to train station and city centre then off course a bit noisy with train and drunk backpackers that stay in the hostel close to this hotel

    If you just looking for the place to sleep with close to the center and a price not hight so much then this hotel should to be fine but if you want more comfy then should to pay more with 4 or 5 stars hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    6.7
    Good location ans friendly staff, facilities pretty poor.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are old and need renovating and more regular cleaning

    Great breakfast and very friendly staff, excellent location. But facilities run down and old, not very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    6.3
    Hard to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms carpet was very dirty and construction work was being done to the hotel at that time, being very noisy.

    Very close to the city center and all main attractions. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    Good stay for good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes can be noisy from the Hbf

    Very close to the city centre (right in the middle of it, for true). Fabulous breakfast. Provides everything you need except toothpaste.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.5
    Don't expect much!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was renovating on the outside, so crane, ladders, scaffolding, dust... The first room had a bed a bit bigger than single one, despite the booking site mentioning about king size bed and very, very poor lighting. The TV was not showing any channels, so I asked at the reception and gave us a bigger room, this time with king size bed and working TV and proper lighting. The bedding had a very unusual color, being some sort of yellow, which made it feel like it was no bedding. The elevator was not working so had to carry the pram up and down the stairs. Also the walls are so thin, I could hear the Italians next door watching a movie and chatting.

    The location is great, the breakfast was quite diverse and good, and the bed was very comfortable. Another positive thing is the check-out time, which was 12 pm.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    4.6
    It would be ok if cheaper.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old room, carpet, towels, bathroom. Needs some renovation and new towels. Or take less money.

    Near the central station, good breakfast, a bed to spend the night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    5.8
    Good location not as great establishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is 500 m away at a public location . The beds were falling apart - literally. The bottom half of my body was tilted The room carpet smells terribly and wouldn't recommend it to people with allergies. We slept with window cracked open because of the smell. The plug wire of the internet box run outside our door so we had to be careful when stepping out. The elevator did not work because the hotel is going through construction.

    The breakfast was included in the price and it was really good, considering the quality of the overall establishment.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location, friendly stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Batheroom should need some attention. Happily the hotel is in a renovation stage right now and much needed improvements to be expected soon.

    Location is perfect! The hotel is situated just 4 minutes walk from the train station and the Cathedral. The room was huge!!! Wi-fi is perfect. Good breakfast and friendly stuff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.1
    Nice staff, good bed but awful room - smelly
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the room. Damaged shower cabin. Carpet dashboard full of stains. It was room 37

    Position: it was located very close to the Koln (Cologne) Dom

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    6.7
    Staff very curtious and helpful
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Major renovations were being carried out. I didn't know that whilst making the booking. Interior quite dated Lifts weren't working and we were on the third floor!

    Staff very curtious and helpful Good central location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    6.3
    not value of the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast is poor , no lift , not give me early check in and no real luggage store , they put my luggage in a room full with dust and constructions materials, alot of constructions are going on the hotel even u can not find the main entrance of the hotel u have to pass under construction to go in the hotel , lady in the reception in the moring is not helpfull

    location is perfect

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    5.4
    Wished i'd booked three nights instead of five
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The constant drilling and hammering from 8.00am to 6.00pm, unable to sleep past 8.00 due to the hotel being re-modernised. Scaffolding completely covered the front of the hotel, if I would have known this I would have booked elsewhere. We were on the first floor the room was old and tired, old carpet with cigarette burns, flimsy curtains that didn't block out the scaffolding very well. The shower had doors originally but have been replaced with a curtain which could be a danger hazard for older people. Could of done with a new shower head.

    The bed for comfortable. Plenty of hot water. 5 minute walk to the Dom. Breakfast ok nothing fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    4.2
    Unpleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wake up at 7:50 am with the constructions that were being done in the hotel, just on top of my room #32 (3rd floor). Even after remark the reception no action has been done (no difference). Still the bad had been done already.

    Staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    4.2
    The size of room is ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is under general reconstruction. This fact is not available before or under reservation and we were disappointed.

    The size of room is ok. May be after reconstruction will be normal, 3 stars hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.2
    Very convenient to the station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovations. So noisy. When I questioned when they would finish for the day. The staff stopped them working straight away

    Position. Very close to station. Best pillows we have slept on. Staff were very friendly Breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    2.9
    Pathetic place with really bad staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is really bad. Rooms were not clean and smelly . Lift not working. Carpets in rooms were very dirty. Mattress were not at all comfortable. Instead of double bed they just join 2 twin beds.towels were also dirty.

    Breakfast and location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    6.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast lady was very rude and abrupt and the food served was not to our travel groups liking. There was building works on the property that we were not advised about either. As we left our luggage in storage, my partner had to grab our luggage from building works!

    Very close to Koln station and the tourist spots.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    6.3
    Average comfy hotel but close to the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the landline phone was not working. couple of lights in the room and 1 light in the bathroom was not working. The shower did not have a screen. So, if I stand and bath in the shower then the water was spilling out to the floor

    extra bed and the room was in the ground floor

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    2.9
    Not recommendable!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. There were working activities in the facade, which means that it was very noisy, and with lot of dust. 2. The elevator didn't work, so we had to carry our bags to the 3rd floor. 3. I booked a non smoking room, and I got a smoking room. It was late and they didn´t change it until the next night. The room sticked. 4. There was no water coming from the sink in the first room. 5. The manager had a very bad service actitude when I complained about the first room.

    Close to the train station. Cheap

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    5.0
    :(
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of the renovation it was so loud!!!! I woke up to a drill. The room wasn't too clean. I felt in a horror moovie. If you have choice go to another hotel.

    Good breakfast, the central station is very close, the staff was very nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    6.7
    Try a different hotel - not worth it for the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room very basic but clean....but very dark as all the outside covered up with tarpaulin because they are doing work on the bulding! My original room was so small you could hardly move - but they changed me to a better one.

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    8.3
    Basic but comfortable hotel five minutes walk from the Dom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was a bit grubby and the main light in the room was dim which made it a little gloomy.

    A short walk from the main railway station. Although my room looked directly on to the platforms the sound insulation was perfect. It might be different in the warmer weather with the window open! Friendly and helpful staff. The accommodation was basic but comfortable. Breakfast was enjoyable with a good selection available.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    6.7
    Only if there is no other choice....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is undergoing renovations. I was disappointed to find the carpet stained in numerous places. The surfaces otherwise were perfectly clean. The sink was cracked. The worst part was the shower door was broken and part of it fell off the track. This room should have been put out of order and never sold. I was very disappointed that even an apology was not conveyed and the response I received when I complained is that we had no choice but to sell the room because they were sold out. Renovations lasting about a year. I do not want to stay again.

    The bed was surprisingly comfortable. The breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Drei Könige Dom Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: