Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Drei Kronen This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Auf dem Brand 6, Altstadt-Nord, 50667 Cologne, Germany

#10 of 42 B&Bs and Inns in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1201 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Cozy spot in vibrant neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Use of side entrance in a small alleyway when returning to the hotel after 9 PM.

    Location in walking distance from railroad station, cathedral, museums.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    An enjoyable stay with very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly noisy outside at night due to location but ok if the window is closed. No air con.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Great location. Great view of the river. Good food from the restaurants nearby. Easy to get to from the central train station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    Clean, overlooking the promenade in a nice 'old town' location. Room locks might be potential issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel guests enter from the back of the building (the front is a restaurant), so there was this smell of food hanging in the air at the reception, from the hotel's kitchen right next to reception - this was a bit off-putting. Bathroom lock was broken, so the door wouldn't close. If we were staying for longer, we would've asked for it to be fixed or changed the room. Bathroom was also tiny (but it was ok for the tariff); also it was clean, so didn't matter. There was also noise from the restaurants/people right below, which we expected and did not mind. Slightly concerned about security as your room key doubles as the main hotel door key as well (which you use when the reception staff leave for the evening/night), so assuming that all guests may be able to access all rooms in the hotel - which obviously could be a problem.

    Lady at the reception was wonderful! Went above and beyond to help us with ideas for travel around the city, and our way to the airport for an early morning flight. Extremely helpful. Rooms look like they have been refurbished, which is great. Our room & bedding was clean. We got a room overlooking the promenade, which we were glad about - the view itself was ok.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    The accommodation is just by the river, the cathedral and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were quite confused when we approached the hotel at first, there is not clear sign of the hotel.

    The accommodation is just by the river, the cathedral and the train station, so the ocation of this place is just perfect. There is a restaurant right on the bottom of the hotel, we enjoyed the live band that we could here in our room. Highly recommended

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.8
    Below Expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floors and bathroom were not very clean and the shower was extremely small—and the shower curtain needed replacement. The staff also argued a lot (maybe due to the heat wave) and you could constantly here doors slamming.

    The Hotel Drie Kronen was an excellent location right along the river within 10 minutes of the train station and a restaurant at the main floor. The room had a modern/updated look.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.3
    Location to old town & Rhine River
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-conditioning- weather was warm Shower leaked on to floor No refrigerator in room

    Location to old town & Rhine River Large room Windows can be opened

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.4
    Near the river and city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot, very very hot No air conditioning Noisy outside (but you have the view). The rooms at the lower level must be even worse since they are above the restaurants

    Near the river and city center

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Alone in Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had what I needed and more for a solo traveler. Easy to get to the sites from where the hotel is located. I got the room at a reduced price which made it worth it. I don't think the usual price would have worked for me unless I was with someone else. I didn't try the breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Excellent location convenient for all tourist attractions and the railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have helped if there could have been a sign saying "HOTEL DREI KRONEN" on the front / riverbank side rather than just the somewhat hidden entrance on the road at the back of the hotel. We only found it easily because we had the photograph shown in booking.com.

    The room was spacious and overlooked the riverbank with its lively cafe atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel room in a very central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exterior noise. I made comment before on this. However with its very central location to the major tourist areas I can understand why. Therefore would say expect the street noise but do not be put off

    Very good size to rooms, staff friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel ,shame about the noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Football noise in vicinity from bars very loud. Singing shouting and car horns. Had trouble getting to sleep.Some patrons very noisy going to room in early hours was woken up Appreciate Germany were playing and did win but the stay would have been 100% without the noise

    Very good room ,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Good value in a prime location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The downside of the excellent location is that the street can be noisy with late night partying, very early morning deliveries and rubbish collections. No problem with the double-glazed windows shut, but sleep can be difficult on a hot night as there is no air conditioning. Could be worth asking for a room on the Rhine side of the building.

    A good value comfortable place to stay just a very short walk from the Rhine, the cathedral, the old town and some of the main museums. Breakfast is served in the Cosa Nostra restaurant, which is a separate business in the same building, and can be taken on the terrace outside. (But when they say it's available until 10.00, they really mean they'd like you to have finished by 10.)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Location, location, location. Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was small and the shower curtain needed replacing (in my opinion).

    The location. Unbelievable. A walk from the station with cases. And then right on the river. Great spot to be.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent position with river views, right in the middle of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning and the fan provided was small. There is some noise from the railway bridge but we still slept with the windows open (summer time) and it was not a problem for us.

    Excellent position with river views, right in the middle of the restaurant precinct along the Rhine. Breakfast is very good and comprehensive, although additional cost it is good value for money. Management and staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel can be very noisy at night as it looks over the Rhine and a very Lively party area. The mattress is a memory foam which if you prefer extra firm will work for you otherwise it can be a bit uncomfortable. The bathroom is utilitarian at best with a tiny sink and a tiny shower. The bathroom smelled a bit moldy.

    Our view was amazing and we had a mini balcony that overlooked a lively park area and the Rhine so we could watch boats coming and going. The location was perfect for dining al fresco and people watching. There is a very Lively nightlife culture surrounding the hotel. Breakfast consisted of a few cold cuts rolls and your choice of eggs and coffee. The room it was clean and updated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.4
    Location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioning Noise outside from crowded terraces at the front of the hotel. There is a steel bridge where every 5 mins a train passes so you can’t leave the windows open at night. No flexibility with the staff... it’s not nice to be confronted with a much cheaper ‘last minute’ price compared to the price you booked this accomodation for months ago. There was no way of any compensation at all

    Location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Location is the main attraction if using trains and river trips.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are above restaurants, so cooking smells waft inside, shower is quite small and bed a little hard. Reception is only manned at certain times with a buzzer available if checking in after hours. Noisy street early morning with delivery and rubbish trucks.

    Great location for walking from station and cathedral to the river, Rathaus etc. Large room and bed, tea and coffee making facilities. Small fan also in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel with a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very spacious with a great view of the Rhine. The location of the hotel is great for walking in the heart of the city. The train station and cathedral are very close as well as many bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Very convenient for HBF.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot and humid. The window opened onto a busy area so there was noise if I wanted to cool the room down.

    Very convenient for HBF. Great view of the river and railway bridge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Right behind promenade. Great location without night noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not connected so for a couple that likes to sleep next to each other it was a bit of a challenge.

    Fantastic location for everything! Nice size room and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unpersonal staff attending the reception, very few ammenities in the bathroom

    Very good location between the Cologne Cathedral and the river. Just outside there a plenty of good restaurants facing the river. Very good beds, comfortable!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    The bed was comfy and sheets were nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the bed covers had small holes in them and when we checked in, the room hadn't been cleaned yet. However, as soon as we told the staff the housekeeping ran up quickly to our room to clean it.

    The bed was comfy and sheets were nice! The location is great and our room had a great view of the water.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Clean, friendly hotel in a fantastic location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was TERRIBLE! Many common websites, including the Cologne transit website seemed to be blocked as they simply would not load. This was more of an annoyance than a game changer, but with so many places offering wifi, it was disappointing.

    The hotel itself was great! The location can't be beat! The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and more spacious than we expected. Overall our experience was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Was a perfect location, close to everything (central train...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can get loud at night on weekends based on the location.

    Was a perfect location, close to everything (central train station, restaurants, river). Since it's close to where people party on weekends, it did get loud on a weekend night(I stayed on a Friday night) but a fan was enough to drown out the noise. Would definitely stay there again!! Highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    Only good because it was near all the attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Larger selection for the breakfast, since it wasn't included and it was expensive. We got a lot of eye rolls from the staff. Very loud at night even from the top floor.

    Very close to all the attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location, great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only sad that we could not eat breakfast at the outdoor tables, but apparently this is a licensing thing.

    Fantastic outlook on to the river, ample room, perfect location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Gladly again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect, just a stroll from the cathedral in a very alive area. The room was very comfortable (highlight: nespresso machine) and clean. Overall I enjoyed to stay in a hotel quite different from the classical hotel chains, but still offering all the „modern“ comforts. Note: cannot say anything about the breakfast as I did not go for the option

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit chilly when we arrived (the radiator had been turned completely off and didn't warm up again until the morning). There was some loud music from a nearby bar on the Saturday night which went on until around 1am: it could be a problem if you're a light sleeper. The room would benefit from another plug point: there was only one that was usable (the other caused all the lights in the room to go out, meaning we had to ask reception to open the fuse box).

    Very central location, close to Dom and major museums. Clean and spacious room, if a little basic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.5
    Good value and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't get into the hotel around 5pm for a quick rest before dinner. There was no one at reception even after ringing so many times. When we finally got in an hour later the lady receptionist gave an excuse the doorbell was faulty. This was also experienced by another guest who was trying to check in too. Poor excuse.....

    When we arrived on 26 Feb 18 it was freezing cold outside and even though we were early around 12pm the staff (he) was nice to allow us to check in and the room was ready so we could leave our luggage. Plus the room I requested (with a view of the Rhine was met).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Really excellent winter stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We don.t really like the German tradition of having two separate quilts on double bed. They fall off! But that seems to be the norm everywhere in Germany. Tv selection could have been broader and slight issue for us as my partner is hard of hearing - we could not find any subtitles on the tv - button on control for this had no effect which was a pity since with subtitles (German ones) we would have been able to watch and understand the programmes, but internet on our iPads made up for this instead! Pity the Rhine boat trips right alongside didn’t start service till mid-March but not hotls fault.

    Location, location,location! All the things we wanted to see were within walking distance. Large room. Simple but elegant decor - loved the silhouette of Köln over the bed! Lots of electric points. Lovely warm shower. Excellent breakfast with polite and caring staff. Looking out to the Rhine from the breakfast room. As it was very cold outside we ate there every evening as well though there was much choice of restaurants around. Able to park briefly behind hotel to load, unload and public multistory parking extremely close by.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Very handy as an overnight stop and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to find the way in, the 'front', facing the street didn't have the hotel name, the restaurant is there, which is where breakfast is served,and it has a different name.

    Very close to the Cathedral and station but quiet

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    Accurate reviews of hotel enjoyable and pleasant and very clean
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it’s a small hotel elevator is small that’s how it is in small hotel excellent value

    Very friendly check in and out - fine staff Location excellent Good value

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    The location is perfect, 5 mins walk to the train station,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sign of hotel is not obviously, hard to find, especially in the daytime.

    The location is perfect, 5 mins walk to the train station, Cathedral and shopping area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.2
    Ultra-handy location and five-star river views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly functional decor and sombre breakfast room

    We were looking for a budget hotel very close to the Cologne Philharmonic and train station and the Drei Kronen provided that – and then some. I hadn't expected much, but the room was very spacious, with large windows framing a five-star view of the river below. Everything was impeccably tidy and, though erring on the functional side (no boutique hotel pretensions here) this was reflected in the very generous room rate. If the breakfast area and common parts had a tad more charm, it'd be a real find, but even as is I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    A very good hotel in the best location :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good hotel ... very good location near the Dom in the old city ! :) Rooms are good and clean. Breakfast is very nice, and the staff is very helpful ! 10 points :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    In Cologne, stay at this gem!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having too much of a good time to find anything we didn't like

    The location near the Rhine, restaurants, Cologne Cathedral, and center exceeded my expectations. Loved the locale

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    The room we got had a view on the Rhine, pretty great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly it did not have a king sized bed as asked for, but two joined single beds. There was no space between the mattresses, however the two beds weren't actually connected so that they easily moved away from each other if one sat in the middle.

    The room we got had a view on the Rhine, pretty great. Also the central location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Pleasant, clean and secure hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The continental pillows were a new concept to me - extra or spare rectangular / Oxford pillows would be nice.

    Very friendly staff, great hotel room!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    Exceeded expectations, definitely recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was no soap in the bathroom, not an issue really as we had brought some.

    Arrived at 10.30am, were told initially room wouldn’t be ready but then kind receptionist told us he had a room available. Great river view, nespresso machine in the room, plenty of space in the room and quiet at night. No complaints!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.2
    Perfect for Christmas markets and exploring Cologne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is perfect for exploring the three main Christmas markets. It's an easy walk from/to the main train station and Cologne Cathedral. We walked to the Chocolate Museum, which was excellent. Always a reliable hotel at a good price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.6
    Very clean and spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rain.

    Very clean and spacious rooms. Breakfast was good and eggs made individually to your taste. Easy and excellent location for transport as well as sightseeing. Staff helpful and friendly. Good views at the rear of the hptel along the river. Quiet location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.5
    Strandard normal hotel, nothing special.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too late breakfast

    Strandard normal hotel, nothing special. Comfortable if you need to travel by train (very close to train station). The airport you will reach in 30 mins inclusding walk to the station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, just a few minutes from the train station, cathedral, philharmonie,... Great view on the river. In november the surrounding was very quiet. The room was clean and the staff was very kind.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel with an outstanding location and view on the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From the description it was not clear to us if breakfast was included in the room price. In the end, we had to pay extra but it is/was very cheap 8.50E p.p.

    We had an amazing view on the river. The room was very spacious and well equipped. Good, simple breakfast. The location was outstanding. Definitively would stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Excellent location on the Rhine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is in an excellent location from the Train station which is a 5 - 10 min walk. Hotel is very clean and room was spacious. Breakafst was very good and cooked eggs on demand which was very nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    Value for money room with superb Rhine view
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The old -non sound proofing- door of the room

    Very convinient location (close to old town, train station, cathedral and shopping streets) Great view Old renovated property Value for money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.3
    Very neat and practical.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom a bit too small.

    Nice and cosy place. Very spacious room. Super comfortable bed. Extremely nice and friendly reception personnel. Good breakfast served.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.8
    Acceptable but wouldnt use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Laminated floor

    Beds were comfy and room clean but quite dated. Very noisy...heard people walking up and down stairs, toilets being flushed and whirring noises in night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.3
    Comfy hotel in the heart of Köln
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only bad thing was the coffee machine in the room that was not working.

    The location is super, you are in the very center of Köln and if you are tired after a long day walking you have everything you need nearby. If you come by train is just 5 minutes walking, if by car the area is full of parking. The room is big, the view on the Rhein is beautiful and the beds are comfortable. Staff is nice, smiling and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    Amazing location but quite noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really noise. People were drunk inside the hotel and yelling during the evening. I was in a room on the first floor so from 6am onwards the staff started to set up the breakfast area and felt like they were in my room.

    Amazing breakfast: cheap and amazing. Helpful and friendly staff. Perfect location. Really close to all the amenities. Paid parking really close to the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant stay. Walk to train and shoppinh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Washroom. Couldn't find the name from the front of the building. Could get load at night because you are on the waterfront and restaurants

    Get the breakfast with the room. Very reasonable. Rooms are big. Bed is comfy.our room over looked the river.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for visiting the modern art museum
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You cannot check in after 22:00 at all.

    Central location on the banks of the Rhine river. It is in the middle of a lot of restaurants - one is downstairs. Room was good size.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.9
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed were no double but two single that kept on moving apart from each othwr. Construction works outside on the next door building and quite noise. At nights quite noisy as we heard lots of people getting in late nights.

    Location.excellently located in the city centre. Easy access to all amenties.big room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location for solo traveler or couple traveling w/o tour itinerary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice small German hotel. Lovely staff, nice restaurant/pub. 3 blocks from Koln Cathedral square, shopping. Koln Central Rail Station, within walking distance. Our room overlooked the Rhine. Unfortunately it weather was dreary and rainy so beauty and charm of area were suppressed as were night life in beer garden on the river front side of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    neighborhood of the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I require a view of river, but the hotel did not provide it to me, despite the fact that I had already reserved the room about 2.5 month ago.

    neighborhood of the train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Small hotel with perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Fantastic location between the river and Dom, and next to the old city's small streets. Railway station and boat piers also walking distance. Good value for money and good breakfast. Quiet room, even the city was full of life. Italian restaurant Cosa Nostra downstairs was worth visiting, too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Great location,right on riverfront and in a line of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't like the lift system.....when you got out,you had always a few steps extra to go up....awkward with luggage for us.Would be a no-no if in whellchair or using a baby buggy.

    Great location,right on riverfront and in a line of cafes/hotels/restaurants close to Hbf.Very close to old town,the Dom and Rathaus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.4
    I expected a room with a nice view but it is not (toward the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I expected a room with a nice view but it is not (toward the back of a big building). There are some dirty kitchens downstair and they are so noisy and smelly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.3
    Centrally-located hotel with scenic river views
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks a little worn with quite basic and somewhat outdated furniture, which didn't lend a cosy feeling in what little time I spent in there; bathroom had quite an astringent smell of commercial cleaning agents, and water temperature while showering consistently fluctuated between scalding hot and cold, which was more of a safety risk than a mere inconvenience; also the slight bother of carrying around my hotel room key on quite a weighty keyring.

    Prime Altstadt location right by the river Rhein, very helpful and hospitable staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Small but clean and comfortable hotel near Cathedral
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi was almost non-working. I could not connect my laptop, few times my phone got connection but lost it soon

    Excellent location just near Cathedral and Central station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning in the building which was a little annoying as it was quite hot when we stayed but they did supply us with a fan.

    The hotel was super close to the train station and cathedral. There was lots of restaurants close by too. From our room we could see love lock bridge and the entertainment of performers down on the street.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.8
    Superb Accommodation. Pity about the rate
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a Trade Show on at the time of my visit and as a result the rate was increased to a ridiculous cost. However, in saying this, it was still better value than all the other hotels in Cologne. Pity about this as it will have had an impact on the review score for what was a faultless review outside of this.

    The location was excellent. The staff were super efficient and booked my taxi for the next morning as I had an early flight. the room was very clean with a view of the Rhine with restaurants and bars within seconds of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel in fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We had a room overlooking the Rhine - absolutely fabulous. Very comfortable but unpretentious hotel, lovely staff, good breakfast. Perfect spot - highly recommended

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel close to station and dom
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You cannot check in past 10:00 PM - we arrived at 11:30 PM and did not know this and had to find another hotel nearby for one night which was not good !

    Staff very helpful and good English spoken , breakfast good selection and tasty Rooms bright and airy with comfy beds

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.9
    Drei Kronen
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    slippers should have been in the hotel room.

    Very close to DOM HBF and bars, restaurants etc. Rooms are cleaning every day and serving 1lt water. climate system is excellent. Room is silent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Ideal for Koln
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was in Koln for a long week end, this Hotel was the perfect choice: just 5minute walk far from the train station and just in the heart of the old town. Really close to lovely places to eat something or drink a beer long the river

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Location & Friendly Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom in our room was a little bit small, but that didnt spoil our enjoymnet of the room or hotel.

    The location of the hotel is perfect for Cologne Central railway station, and also right in the heart of the old town. The view from our large and sunny room (room 110) over the river Rhine was fantastic. The staff were very friendly, and helpful. Definitely a hotel to recommend, and for us to return to.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.3
    Well-located, inexpensive hotel by the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inexpensive hotel in an excellent location. Many rooms have a view of the river. Close to the museums, cathedral, and railway station. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice centrally located hotel to sleep over
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel has no lobby at all or any place similar where one can contact or meet somebody (except their restaurant). The entrance into hotel,as well as the stairs and corridors inside looks seedy. There is no 24 hours front desk service, could not pay and get receipt from 17:00 until morning.

    Great location: Hbf,Cathedral,restaurants, bars,shops are in the surroundings.The hotel is on the first row next to Rhein, I had nice view on the river. The room was spacious, clean, well furnitured. Beds comfortable.Safety deposit box and coffe machine in the room. WiFi was good.Breakfast for 8,50 Euro good. Staff polite and helpful. Alltogether, for short stays very good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    9.2
    COMFORTABLE, INEXPENSIVE HOTEL NEAR THE RIVER
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No soap in bathroom and the soap dispenser was inaccessible from the shower.

    Great view of the river and riverbank area from some rooms. Plenty of space in the rooms. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel but work next door meant very little sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of loud construction work going on next door and we were woken at 7.30am. We weren't warned of the works whatsoever and after a long day travelling the day before and a long day ahead of us we were fairly unhappy that we didn't get to sleep longer! Also booked a double room but it was 2 single beds latched together with 2 single duvets.

    The room was beautiful and overlooked the river. Stunning view. Staff were friendly and bed was very comfortable. Coffee maker in room with nice coffee. They let us keep our bags in the hotel after we checked out which allowed us to explore the city further.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    10
    We liked everything at this hotel - its staff, its cleanness...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything at this hotel - its staff, its cleanness, interiors, freshness. I had experience to try somewhat similar hotels around in my several previous visits to Cologne, however this Drei Kronen hotel has appeared to us a true gem. And of course we so enjoyed the magnificent panoramic view from our room onto the Rhine river. Hope to stay here again in future.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    9.6
    Hotel is really close to the cathedral and rest of the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproofing inside the building is not quite good. You can hear everything that's happening on the stairs. But for blocking outside noises soundproofing is good.

    Hotel is really close to the cathedral and rest of the city center. I had room with view on the Rhein river and Hogenzollern bridge.I guess all rooms under 1 and 2 number face the river side.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.6
    Great location for Karneval!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby was very small! Staff allowed us to leave our suitcases next to reception desk but they were not secure!

    It was close to train station, next to the river and was easy to go out during Karneval. Room was spacious!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Over priced hotel room and very poor facilities. The price was no doubt inflated because of the Cologne Carnival. Noisy location not just because of the carnival but also because of the inconsiderate guests who seemed to spend most of the night playing music in their rooms and shouting in the stairwell which meant that I got little sleep. Although the hotel was all non-smoking my room was like sleeping in an ashtray. The shower room was very small and the tacky plastic shower curtain was not good enough so the shower room flooded. The Italian restaurant associated with the hotel was very average and you could not charge the meal to you room. All in all very disappointing. It spoilt Cologne for me.

    Central location. Coffee machine in room.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Drei Kronen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: