Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Eastern & Western Comfort Hostelboat

Mühlen Str. 73, Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg, 10243 Berlin, Germany

#20 of 107 B&Bs and Inns in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 909 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    The room was small, as to expect on a boat, but it was nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small, as to expect on a boat, but it was nice that there were two bunk beds in addition to the main large bed. We could use the extra bed space for storing our things.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Impressively helpful French staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cabin 1st Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could eat my own korean food from microwave of the hotel with the big help of one French beautiful female staff. She really and always makes the clients happy with her happy talks. The hotel owner should have those kinds 0f the employees.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    Unique setting but still work to do on cleanliness and make up of the room design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Cabin 2nd Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room has 2 bunk beds but is in no way big enough for 4 people, the shower room in the cabin was continually wet under foot and the wifi was poor when not on deck.

    Location for Mercedes Benz Arena and the pleasentness of the reception staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    Great location and very helpful and cheerful staff, which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay extra for linens and got a bunch of cut fabric that didn’t quite fit with no blanket and there were no pillows. Also boats sway when they’re docked and both my partner and I got really nauseous.

    Great location and very helpful and cheerful staff, which was much appreciated. I also loved that the bed for two people was one solid mattress and not those annoying twin beds put together to make one.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    The location is perfect and the boat is really nice place to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in is very late and the first guy who was at reception did not let us keep our luggage in our friends cabin even though it was their private cabin and it was only for an hour.

    The location is perfect and the boat is really nice place to stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.3
    Cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot, small and grungy, high chance to have to wait or just skip using bathroom and/or shower since there is only ONE for everyone to use... and at least on summer weekend expect lots of noise especially if you are on side facing land- it’s party central around there! hundreds of ppl walking around dockside drinking, talking loud, playing music, etc...it’s only cool until 3am... then not so much, at least if sleep is on your agenda. Lastly- read the small print... on west boat you need to pay extra for towel and bedsheets!!!

    Cheap. Great for young traveler. The woman at desk very nice and helpful... the young guy is a bit snooty

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    Incredible location in a neighbourhood filled with good...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Western Comfort Ship - Triple Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rocking of the boat sometimes made you feel uneasy. Something we should have considered before booking. Rooms somewhat stuffy.

    Incredible location in a neighbourhood filled with good vibes. Plenty of places to eat close by. Linen was clean and crisp.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Cool place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Cabin 2nd Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is really nice experience to wake up on a river in Berlin! Very good location, close to the East Side Gallery, and close to restaurants/pubs in Friedrichshain. Relaxed atmosphere. Free parking in front of the historic Berlin Wall.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.5
    We appreciated the location of the boat, especially if you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilets could have been a little bit cleaner.

    We appreciated the location of the boat, especially if you want to bike around the city, Eastern & Western Comfort Hostelboat is a perfect choice - you can park the bike nearby, the price is reasonable, hostel staff is very friendly and thorughout the day, you can chill on the boatdeck with a really nice view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location by the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately the 20EUR key deposit wasn't mentioned on the website and I don't normally carry cash with me, so it took me a few attempts to be able to check in. It wasn't the best start to the stay, however, the staff handled the situation and my slight frustration perfectly. I even was offered a voucher to use in their lounge.

    Perfect location. Great ambiance. Very helpful staff. Great view from the cabin. And I totally loved the music they had at the front desk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Cabin 2nd Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast tables were a bit shaky but the breakfast itself was good.

    The staff were very friendly. They provided useful advice on the local area and helped with getting around. The room was very private and had a great view onto the Spree. It was remarkably quiet given how central the hostel is.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    Would recommend to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    (We stayed on the Western Comfort.) The view across the river from the decks, the friendly laid back athmosphere and being near/on the water was wonderful, especially as the weather was extremely hot when we were there. Our cabin was basic but clean, with comfortable beds. The shared showers and toilets were also basic but clean. We would stay here again, especially in the summer, and recommend this place to friends. They seem to apply and support green practices, which I liked.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    The location was PERFECT, the staff were nice and it is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    READ CAREFULLY! There are 2 boats, one eatern and one western (one is a hotel and one is a hostel), at the beginning I thought that I booked for the hotel , but when I arrived there I figured that it was the hostel (which is a bit tricky :P), anyway, I understand that it is a marketing trick, yet it didn't feel good. So just READ CAREFULLY what you book for ;)

    The location was PERFECT, the staff were nice and it is clean :) ! The bar on the boat is also very beautiful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Super friendly staff, during check in they’ll walk you...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Western Comfort Ship - Triple Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly staff, during check in they’ll walk you through all the ‘hotspots’ and you can ask them whatever you want. It’s right next to the East Gallery (Berlin Wall) and bridge, you can see it from your room. Toilets and showers are cleaned very regularly, the room was clean too. It was rather small, but we could sleep and leave our suitcases so it was all good. Also taking into account the low price compared to other accommodations in Berlin it’s a very good spot!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.7
    Friendly, and I was given excellent information on the local...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Western Comfort Ship - Triple Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom, showers and toilets could do with updating. There was no soap provided in the toilet sink area, to wash hands with. The direct area adjacent to the hostel was unkept, dirty, rubbish lying around. (Realise this is the not the hostels responsibility but gives bad impression)

    Friendly, and I was given excellent information on the local area. Water pressure good. Comfortable and quiet at night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No specific complaints about the hostel itself. It is right next to the East Side Gallery, so the area out front tends to be busy with tourists and a bit messy, but there's not really anything the hostel can do about that.

    The staff was pleasant and the check-in process was quick and easy. Great location; close to a variety of public transportation options, plenty of food choices, and nightlife. Nice views of the river from the window in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Incredible location, friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Western Comfort Ship - Triple Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not expect to pay for linen on top of the price, toilets were clean but smelled a bit, thought we booked the western comfort but were put in a smaller room than expected on the eastern comfort.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Eastern Comfort Hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of kettle in the room to make some tea or coffee. Poor WiFi. Not enough light in the room in the evening.

    Very good location near the Berlin Wall and the city centre. Very friendly and helpful staff especially Carol😀

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Great stay on the river in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows get a lot of condensation overnight. Not a problem in Summer as you can keep the room aired by opening the window. I haven't been in Winter, but I imagine they have a good heating system which would help. This didn't stop me from loving this place! The bar has some grotty spots behind the seats. A good scrub and deep clean would fix this. Again it didn't stop me from loving the experience.

    Lovely place to stay. As you would expect, the cabin was small and basic but it was a great location and loved looking out at the ducks, the people enjoying the river and the beautiful bridge. The shared showers and toilets were kept "ship shape" and very clean all of the time. We stayed during Summer so the bar had a great atmosphere at sunset. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    The location is the best one!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet connection. 3 out of 4 days there was no wi-fi. Once they fixed it, but the other days they were saying they were working on the problem.

    The location is the best one! Close to bars and restaurant with splendid views on the river.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Something different and well worth trying!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Cabin 2nd Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and comfortable room. The breeze through the windows off the water was fabulous on a very hot Berlin day. Check in and check out were friendly and no-fuss.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    Amazing location and very novel to be on a boat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the cheaper boat and the cabin was extremely basic (small double bed, one chair, one shelf, a few peg hooks). But this isn’t necessarily a negative...it’s what we paid for I guess!

    Location made it very easy to get into the centre and it was lovely to wake up looking out at the spree!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Cool, unique property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Cabin 2nd Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smelled a bit mildewy. Nothing too bad and probably to be expected on a boat

    Cool, unique property. Friendly and accommodating staff with lots of great recommendations. Fantastic location right on the East Side Gallery. Reasonably spacious room by boat standards. Also very clean in general.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Bigger room than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Cabin 2nd Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work the first day

    Bigger room than expected. Super friendly staff allowed me to check in earlier. Cozy area to sit and enjoy the Spree.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Personally prefer stay on boats, lovely view from deck. Noise level exceptable and away from cars.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Cabin 2nd Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Ability to chose dock or water side when booking online is missing (currently first come, first served, which seems fair, but feel the Dock side rooms should be cheaper than water side as you have to draw the curtains a lot to prevent people looking at you in your room.) Didn't like the 16:00 check-in time as other places for this price is 14:00

    Excellent location and very happy that I was allowed to extend check-out time to 12 noon. I felt this was needed, especially as check-in is supposed to be 16:00 and at £80 per night, I wanted to feel I have more than 1/2 a day to relax.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    great for single travelers for maximum one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was extremely small, no place for storing clothes, the ventilation in the room was very poor, the shared bathrooms and showers were clean but with a very low standard.

    The location is great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our double bed room was equipped with a double bed plus a bund bed, making the room extremely tight. Plus the double bed was weirdly high from ground (with long bed legs), so once in room, I can only stay in bed. The light in room was very dim.

    Nice view of the riverside just outside the window. The boat is really stable, so no problem for a good night sleep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.4
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked the boat after seeing photos online - the cabin we got was very disappointing, and nothing like the photos - the bed was mounted in the middle of the room, literally. Because of this there was no space when u opened the door (which opened to the inside) 2 people couldn't move next to each other. The whole cabin was very basic, one 10.- Euro shelf and one 10.- Euro chair from Ikea. I don´t expect much for 60.- but the pics online were nothing like what we got. We were also unlucky as the window faced the shore - and people hang out there until the morning to party, so its very loud. Unsurprisingly the water in the shower was also cold in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Enjoyed it very much and will stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Cabin 2nd Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not really a comment about what I didn't like because I expected the shower and washroom to be very small... after all I am on a boat. For those that may expect a full size bathroom, large shower or bathtub... not at this place. The restroom was small but clean and very functional.

    I was looking to experience something different and this boat hotel was the perfect type of accommodation. I enjoyed being on the river very much and I will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    top
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cabin 1st Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 2 nights

    absolutely best place to stay in Berlin! spacious and clean cabins. extremely kind and helpful staff. fantastic location and unreal but true-free parking just by the Berlin wall. morning coffee or evening german beer at the upper deck is top

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Its a boat!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Its a boat! Great location for the berlin wall, great graffiti to look at, nice walk along river, nice clean room, lounge area to sit and have some drinks in the evening

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    A great facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cabin 2nd Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm not sure if the problem lies with booking.com or the Eastern Comfort hostel. However, I had to pay an extra 10 Euros when I arrived. We had stayed there the week before---VIA BOOKING.COM---and we paid 64 Euros per night. I know the price changes from day to day, and I had no problem with the price that booking.com advertised for my wife and me---69 Euros. When I arrived at the desk, I was told that I had only booked for one person; in order for my wife to stay, I would have to pay another 10 Euros. I paid, because it was evening, and at that point, I really had no choice. I used our breakfast money to pay the additional 10 Euros. I'm not sure whom to blame, but as it stands now, even though the facility was excellent, I will not use booking.com again; nor will I stay at Eastern Comfort---unless someone refunds my 10 Euros.

    A great facility. Easy to get to central Berlin. Good references to restaurants, but the price changed after I arrived.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Perfect?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cabin 2nd Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low ceiling in shower, but that won't stop us from coming back.

    It was different, but it had everything we needed. Even though it was cold outside, we stepped outside each morning to watch the sun rise.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Excellent staff, lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Cabin 1st Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was really nice.

    It was amazing, i just loved the place, staff was so friendly, kind, as soon as they knew we were from Colombia, they started to speak tonus in spanish (to make us feel comfortable) and they also told us they had been there. The room was lovely, excelent view, temperature perfect (heating working perfectly), breakfast amazing and brunch (1 January) excellent. So, if i ever come again to berlin, i would for sure stay again here. The lounge bar, really nice, and location is pretty good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Very friendly personal, allways someone at the reseption.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Cabin 2nd Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly personal, allways someone at the reseption. They can give some good suggestions about the city. The rooms are cosy and comfortable, the price is low and the placement of the boat is just perfect, close to the wall and to the metro station. Totally going to book at this hotel next time i'm coming to berlin. 10/10

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.5
    Everyone should stay in a boat once in a lifetime!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cabin 1st Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in a "first class room", which was OK, but you should know that these are only "first class" compared to the little cubicles in the boat. The window couldn't be shut perfectly, but heating was great so after all it wasn't a problem.

    It is really cool to stay on a boat, with windows looking to the river, the seagulls or sometimes other boats. Probably you can find hostels at the same value for a little less money, but once in a lifetime everyone have to try it. The boat's location is great, the U- and S-bahn is 5-6 minutes walk away with direct connection to Schoenefeld airport, and the longest and most amazing part of the Berlin Wall's remains are literally 20 meters away from your room. The staff is great and helpful, and the breakfast is way better than what you expect for only 6 euros. (Three kinds of bread, jams, nutella, honey, meat & vegetable & cheese, green and black tea, coffe, orange juice, cereals, yoghurt.)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    4.2
    To cold and not comfortable at all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Western Comfort Ship - Triple Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn’t have proper warming system and isolation, so both nights were pretty cold. They charged in addition for bed sheets and breakfast. The room is really small and very different compared with the photos in the web page. I think is ok for backpackers but not for families. The eastern hotel is not comfortable at all!

    The people were nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent for a short stay (2-3 nights) - unusual experience...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Cabin 2nd Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 1 night

    Keep in mind that there are no air conditioners in the room - no problem if it's not hot outside, but may be an issue during summer. Otherwise nothing to complain about.

    Excellent for a short stay (2-3 nights) - unusual experience, nice view out of the window, clean and a comfortable bed. For longer staying the room may be too small.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.7
    Not nice receptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist when we arrived didn't seem very happy. We were tired after traveling all day on the buses, trains, plane and when he asked us if we want rent the linen and when we told him that we have our own he reacted very bad like we need to show him. I explained to him that we're tired and unhappy to unpack our backpack at the reception... after he even didn't come in the room and check it out. Some people just shouldn't work with the people if they dont know how to deal with.

    We like the place because we stayed befofe. This time we booked private double room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Great experience, fun atmosphere. Can't wait to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cabin 1st Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room looked extremely clean, it was nice and cosy. The bed was very comfortable. The location was excellent, just a few minutes walk form S-Bahn, U-Bahn and Berlin Ostbahnhof.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.3
    Unforgettable experience staying on a boat accomodation, great for kids :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Cabin 2nd Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our cabin was very nice with own bathroom, small size but that was expected on a boat, everything we needed was there and staff were very friendly and helpful. Within walking distance to the centre if you don't mind walking half an hour :-) and of course right next to the Berlin wall.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.1
    Pretty satisfied, cheap and cheerful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed on the Western Boat, not sure if there is a difference between cabins. The room was quite small and a little shabby. Toilets were about the same. Note you have to pay extra for sheets and towels.

    The location is very good, price is reasonable. The Eastern Comfort bar looked nice (didn't drink there), and the staff were very friendly. It was also quiet on the boat we stayed on. It is fine for a place to crash at night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Get on board and relax in a nice room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Cabin 2nd Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    Very friendly Lady at the reception desk. The hotel boat is a great place to stay, one can feel like on a real ship (it is a real ship) :-). Nice room, big, comfortable bed, shower, etc. Close to metro Warschauer Strasse. I recommend to everyone, especially to those who did not yet tried such floating bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    4.2
    Really rude staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Cabin 2nd Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really rude staff. I was late to leave the boat cos I had been out on a works party the night before. Some rude American sounding guy was banging on my door 10 minutes after check out time. I offered to pay for another day but he just wanted to shout and scream. Not used to dealing with low level people like that. It’s a shame cos I’ve stayed several times there I really like the boat and I spend 5 nights a week in hotels in Berlin, but I won’t be back :/

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    Great location, but I expected a bit more value for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathrooms need some renovation and there is not much space to put your clean clothes. Also, as our hut was downstairs and the bathrooms upstairs, we had to get dressed to go there as you pass the front door with clear windows. Normally, I'm okay with walking around in a t-shirt and underwear in a hostel to get to the bathroom, but not if everyone outside can see you like this as well. Of course, this is a personal thing.

    Nearby public transport and at walking distance from Friedrichshain where many cool bars and restaurants can be found. Our hut was on the riverside so we had no nuisance from traffic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.3
    Super place to stay if you don't have cleaning compulsion
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Cabin 2nd Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although bed sheets were clean, I cannot say that about the bathroom and the space under and around the beds.

    Location, hospitable staff, view of the river from the cabin.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    Great, loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cabin 2nd Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location (go to Friedrichshain it's the best!) staff were very friendly and helpful! We got a free upgrade on arrival which was a great surprise!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    A really friendly and welcoming atmosphere, in a unique environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Cabin 2nd Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only a small thing, but the restaurant was booked out for private functions, so didn't get to experience the restaurant for dinner.

    Upon arrival, the French woman at reception (forgotten name) was exceptional! She explained everything I needed to know and was really helpful in making you feel at home and welcome - a big thanks!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Unique hostel with a fun vibe - must stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Cabin 2nd Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It got a little loud on the sleeping on the bottom deck (second class I think) at night. Walls are thin and you can hear people stepping around and talking. Couple bugs crawling around but that's kind of expected due to the nature of the ship and being by water etc

    Awesome place! Such a fun and unique hostel. Staff was helpful and gave tips on what to do for my first time in Berlin. Great location and hip area. Berlin Wall is right there too! Great views from all over the hostel and especially loved the view from my room. Just wish it wasn't so expensive otherwise I would've stayed longer!! Loved it!! Absolutely coming back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    Good, clean and central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Got lost on the staircase trying to get to the lobby. Maybe my fault.

    Staff were super nice despite my drunken comings and goings at all hours and gave me some water when I had a hangover and time to kill before my train.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice crew and nice boat to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed linen package price is unnecessary actually. I was not waiting that.

    Nice crew and nice boat to stay. Atmosphere and location is very good. Near to the station and East Side Gallery.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Great crew
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Western Comfort Ship - Triple Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was ...no food available on board.

    Difficult....to really give any real comments. The nearby restaurants were great, easy access to ATM's.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.8
    Free morning coffee, georgeous views, absolutely the best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free morning coffee, georgeous views, absolutely the best location in Berlin. Very safe, quiet yet busy. The lounge bar is a great place! Everything you need in the heart of this vibrant, raw and gorgeous city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    the staff are very helpful, they will introduce some great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Western Comfort Ship - Triple Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff are very helpful, they will introduce some great places to you and will make sure if you know the transportation. The east boat is very interesting, it has bar on the second floor. The west boat is wonderful to live, it is quite and you can see the beautify scenery on the broad.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Different than other hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staying in this boat is something different than usual and we really like. Our cabin was in floor -1 and river view. Was something really excellent. And the price is good. Near the boat is Berlin Wall.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.0
    Good location and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was kinda ridiculous to pay for the sheets. And would've been really nice if the staff warned us for mosquitos (or bugs). We left the window open and I found bites all over my legs the day after.

    The location and the view was fantastic. The staff was nice and helping. Shower was also pretty clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.6
    There are many hotels in the area within a similar price...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Cabin 1st Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are many hotels in the area within a similar price range. But this boatel has a soul! Nothing beats waking up on the river and having breakfast on a boat deck! :) Also staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.3
    Cool Hostel on a converted barge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was very spotty. Cabin always smelled funky. No free breakfast. Price was quite high for what we got.

    Cool Hostel on a converted barge. I liked it a lot more than my girlfriend

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Floating fun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Cabin 2nd Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was really warm and I had to turn the radiator off. Obviously can't crack open the porthole for fresh air but a fan or air conditioning would be good if that was at all possible.

    It was so fun to stay on a boat! Great location too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    Amazing place to stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Cabin 2nd Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent place to stay, staff very helpful, amazing location, top value, clean room and facilities, near to transport, bars, restaurants, clubs ect,... and it is a BOAT!! whats not to love!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    10
    Simply a dream
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb and romantic accomodation. Staying at BoatHostel is a dream that you can easily realize. Super helpful staff, cozy and comfortable cabin. High standard about service, quality and empathy. We fall in love with BoatHostel!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable stay, ideal for a night between apartments
    • Solo traveller
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It ended up being more expensive than I'd expected. It's 3€ per person for bedding, and you get charged a 3€ service charge for paying by card if it's under 100€, which is annoying, considering as I had already put in card details on booking.com, I assumed that paying by card would be the standard method.

    The beds were very comfortable, and the novelty of staying on a boat made it a fun stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    7.5
    Great location, very friendly man on reception, gave great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thicker mattresses!

    Great location, very friendly man on reception, gave great directions & suggestions. Very local to many nightlife areas / clubs, handy to the train, bus, east side gallery was on the doorstep, Basically a pretty cool place

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.6
    The personal who helped us with everything and was totally...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personal who helped us with everything and was totally great, the place next to berlinwall. And just a few meters on Warsauer straße was gorgeous beigel bistro.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.9
    Gorgeous setting in te Eastern Heart of Berlin with a few tiny mins...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cabin 2nd Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not properly reach our cabin and heating wasnt turned on.

    nice setting on the spree, close to supermarket, cultural sights ad party locations but still nice and quiet!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    9.6
    Loved our stay 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cabin 1st Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just wish there was a kettle in the room

    We loved everything. The boat was brilliantly located. Staff very helpful. Extremely clean! Would definitely return.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    7.9
    The best thing about the place is the atmosphere, being on a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Cabin 2nd Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The worst thing is the cabins. They aren't bad as such, but they're small and not really very cozy and homelike. But that's the hostel way, I think: the rooms/cabins are for sleeping in, not really for hanging out. It was cold, though, and the radiator didn't seem to work. I was in a second class private cabin on Eastern Comfort.

    The best thing about the place is the atmosphere, being on a boat, and the staff was helpful and serviceminded, without being overzealous in their desire to please; they seemed authentic in their willingness to help. For instance I was helped above and beyond, when I had difficulty connecting to their wifi. I'd definitely consider coming back another time.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    8.8
    Fabulous view over river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cabin 1st Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 2 nights

    being a hostel I had hoped there would be a communal kitchen area

    loved the first class cabin we stayed in. Fabulous view over the river. Extremely comfy bed, room was very quiet. Great location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    5.8
    Unbelievable location and thats it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Cabin 1st Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I hope we were paying for the location because otherwise it is stupidly overpriced. The staff were OK, nothing to write home about and quite stressed so theyre not welcoming really.The "luxury" room definitely looks bigger in the pictures and the double bed was everything but comfortable. If youre not used to the noise of a fan then avoid it as you cant sleep with your windows open, really noisy and busy.

    The location is second to none. I cant think of anything better around Berlin.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    September 13 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Cabin 2nd Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Great location and place to stay. Rooms clean and staff friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.1
    Free parking really means find a spot on the street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Cabin 2nd Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free parking really means find a spot on the street. Also I was solo but had to pay for whole room when I only needed one bunk.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    A real gem on the River
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place great staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Friendly, smiling, efficient, multilingual staff :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, smiling, efficient, multilingual staff :-)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Cabin 2nd Class - Eastern Comfort Ship
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive for what you get

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Western Comfort Ship - Double Cabin with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good facilities and nice lounge to hang around. We had a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Eastern & Western Comfort Hostelboat traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: