Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Airport Hotel Karsten This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Linder Weg 4, Wahnheide, 51147 Cologne, Germany

#16 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 243 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was so wonderful and made me feel very comfortable. I had to leave early in the morning and she made me a plate to put in my refrigerator in the room so I could still have breakfast. The garden is also beautiful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, very friendly and helpful staff, great service. I was provided transit directions to visit Cologne and back which were very detailed and helpful. In addition, they provided a free shuttle to the airport for my flight.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely comfortable hotel conveniently situated for the airport. Excellent nights sleep in a spotless room. Delightful hosts who made you feel most welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing needs improvement.

    Large room with kitchenette. Range and quality of items for breakfast was fantastic! The garden area with breakfast in the Consrvatory was amazing. Transfer from and to the airport was included. Just great service with a smile! Oh and also our hostess had prepared an info sheet so we could get a bust ant then train to Cologne Central Station where we were able to visit the Cathederal and dine by the river.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    We always stay here when in Wahnheide. Never disappoints and stafff and management always go above and beyond. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Parking facilities; only a few available. In the near area it can be busy with cars in the evening so you might need to search for a spot - You wake up in the morning with the smell of baking eggs ('breakfast odour' in general). I thought that was to much but you might like it. - No fruit available at breakfast.

    - Kitchenette available (with refrigerator) - Great stay for business trip in area or when travelling from Cologne airport - Supermarket and gas station (shell) around the corner - Friendly staff and very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi could be a bit more modern system, single codes for each device and every time needing to re-introduce the long code is not very up to date...

    in particular the very familiar atmosphere, excellent breakfast, and café latte

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners do all they can to ensure a comfortable stay. Very reliable airport shuttle service, always an open ear and mind for solving problems. Very tasty and rich breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in quite neighborhood with very few eateries and no shopping. Nothing for children or long term guests.

    Close to Köln Bonn airport and Portz Wahn Train Station. Free shuttle service to/from both. Great for travelers flying in/out. Great steak house nearby. Average breakfast but offer eggs to order. Annaliese (owner) and daughter Stephie are funny, informed and speak fluent English. Gabby (shuttle driver) ironically doesn’t speak English.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You pay extra for service 17 euros. I couldn’t get breakfast and instead a very sad bread with a cheese was provided. You could not sleep at all, you can hear everything around the rooms. When you enter the hotel it smells. I asked the receptionist to call a taxi in the morning that could be payed by card and did not get that. Overall the worst experience and a terrible hotel to stay at and far way too expensive for what it is

    Nothing. Maybe that I didn’t have to wake up that early to go to the airport (but still pretty far from the airport)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi didn't work in my room but it worked in the lobby and restaurant/breakfast area.

    I absolutely loved the breakfast! It's a feast! And the breakfast area is the most charming area of the hotel. Annelise, the owner, was as sweet as can be. She picked me up at the airport, gave me information about the area, and even helped me with my money exchange situation. She also took me back to the airport the next day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Close to the airport (around 10 minutes away) Free shuttle service good breakfast very nice rooms, all with a kitchenette great garden in the back The absolute best thing about this hotel is the owner! She went out of her way to make sure we were set with our traveling. Recommended where to park at the airport, made us breakfast early so we could eat before our 6:45 flight, held our bags...you name it, it was not a problem. Would highly recommend staying here!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's practically nothing around and a car is essential. Breakfast lacks of some sweet food. WiFi works fine but disconnects too often and you have to always keep the codes with you. Noisy doors which don't open very easily and need to be replaced. Very small and basic bathroom.

    A good welcome. Clean hotel. Quiet area yet close to the Autobahn, half way from the city centres of Bonn and Cologne.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only the wifi was not too good, connection was weak, had to reconnect again and again. I could not work in the evenings, altough it would have been important.

    Fantastic breakfast, super nice hosts, comfortable and clean rooms, and yes, the pillows were lovely. :-)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a very warm welcome and were delighted to find this a Motorcycle friendly establishment. The Family who run this Hotel were very helpful in all aspects. I would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike but note that it's not near Cologne centre nor the airport entrance

    Really friendly family run hotel. Great breakfast. I would really recommend this hotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a car/transportation to the old city. Highly recommended if you have a car

    Everything was good. Breakfast, wifi, the owner was perfect. Had coffee and a balcony in the room. Had parking place. Very quiet area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was good size, with small kitchen as a bonus. Pick up from airport was really helpful as it was not an easy location to find. Good evening meal options within a short distance. Very quiet location and a beautiful garden

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing was too much trouble. The Free shuttle to the airport every day was a big plus. The room was very comfortable with the added bonus of a small kitchen attached. Amazing breakfast. Close to shops and public transport. Nice quiet area to stay.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything OK

    Very friendly hotel close to Cologne airport, ideal for our one night stop-over. Staff exytemely helpful and friendly. Airport shuttle great.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many restaurants in walking distance. Excellent breakfast and quiet zone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door of the room opend and closed heavily

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Klein aber fein

    Near the airport

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality

    None

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very kind stuff, fast internet, perfect breakfast, free transport to airport

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom and furnishing

    Good breakfast and warm staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect place

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shuttle service to the airport.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kotu bir besik icin gunlugu 15 euro para aldilar! They charged 15 euro per day for an old baby crib!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    People were lovely, the facilities were also way above what I expected (had its own little kitchen)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was very nice. My only advice to travelers is that I couldn't use wifi simultaneously on my phone and laptop. So, you'll have to connect with one device at a time. Start with your priority.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    A bit older facility/ accomondation. Room was next to the reception and thus noisy in the early morning.

    Super friendly owners & staff members!! Delicious & extended breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast was quite rich. Nevertheless, a couple of croissants extra would have been appreciated

    The staff is very kind and helpful, the internet connection in the room(after a first day issue, promptly solved) is strong and fast, the bedroom is clean, silent and confortable

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful, friendly staff! Excellent breakfast Extremely clean room Kitchenette adjoining our room Convenient location near the DLR On bus route to train station (Porz Wahn) Nice, quiet neighborhood Excellent free wifi Very good value for money

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was small and a bad smell from the bathroom.You had to crry uyour luggage to the 3 rd floor without an elrevator.

    The Breakfast and staff's atitude

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was some noise from people in other rooms.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great and available early.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff is very charming

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    "old style furnishing"

    Position near the airport, very great staff, good breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very helpful staff! Very accommodating! Very clean! Will definitely stay here again when flying out of Cologne Airport.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Liked Everything-very nice staff

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Very difficult to find...need better directions on website

    Well run property...obliging hostess comfortable, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendly staff, the shuttle & outstanding breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff service is excellent. Hotel arranged a pickup and also drop off to the airport. There are some good restaurants nearby.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, beautiful grounds, outstanding breakfast; excellent staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - Very friendly welcome. - Excellent breakfast buffet. - Photographs of Russian cosmonauts who have stayed.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A big thumbs up for: -very friendly owner and staff -free airport pick up shuttle -free shuttle to the S-Bahn -great breakfast -excellent wifi

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Browse Airport Hotel Karsten traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: