Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Centro Hotel Central am DOM This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

An den Dominikanern 3, Altstadt-Nord, 50668 Cologne, Germany

#211 of 232 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3256 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    5.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.1
    The location is the main asset.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Night receptionist unprofessional. Were given a room at the annex of the hotel in the 4th floor. An ugly entrance corridor with a room full of rubbish bins beside the stairs. No lifts so we had to carry our 4 (20kg) baggages up by hand.

    Entering our room was another story, beautifully decorated, spacious with another room upstairs for our children, small kitchen cupboard and oven, clean. No a/c but the fan was enough for the weather we found. Breakfast was good. Very central, just 2 minutes walk from Dom Cathedral, train station and tourist information. Restaurants and shopping center close too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    2.5
    the worst hotel I have ever stayed in my life
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the worst hotel I have ever stayed in my life the room was smelling very bad and the service is worst I will never recommended to any body

    location only

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.1
    A clean and convenient hotel, but bring earplugs if you are easily disturbed at night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were very noisy - especially in the weekend. People were partying outside, there were a lot of traffic noises: cars were hooting, sirens were heard. Sunday night was better ...

    Very good location in the city center and close to the railway station. Very good breakfast with different kinds of bread, cheese, marmelade, a selection of hams and sausages, two kinds of yoghurt, muesli, boiled eggs, fruit, juices, coffee and a selection of teas!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    4.5
    terrible.... definately wont be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cleanliness…. What a dump... the elevator stank … the breakfast staff didn't understand English, nor german

    the beds were comfi and the rooms were clean - however they were newly renovated, so its no surprise they were clean

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    3.8
    dissapointment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pictures from internet looked really good, but reality was not the same. I will not come back to this hotel.

    Room was fearly ok, but otherwise the hotel was dirty and not confortable. Location was really good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel, wouldn’t hesitate to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved this little quaint hotel. Not much to see from street, but the inside was great. Staff were all very nice and most helpful. Location could not have been better from train, old town, the cathedral and shopping and restaurants

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    6.7
    Great location but smells like a dumpyard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place smells like a dump yard at certain periods of the day. It seems like dirty rubbish is brought up and down the corridors and in the lifts which wafts through the hotel. They have air freshners to try get rid of it but its very bad. Thank god we were on the top floor as it didnt reach our rooms it was just as soon as you left the room.

    Location was convenient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    6.3
    Overall, not a great stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel stank so badly, especially around the lift, that we felt nauseous and had to hold our breath when we got in it. (Despite the fact there were air fresheners scattered all over the floor to try to disguise the smell). I appreciate that this was probably due to a short term problem (something about a restaurant that had closed down next door and left a freezer full of rotting meat) but it spoiled our stay. There were no signs up explaining or apologising for the inconvenience. The staff didn't seem to care. The breakfast was basically just toast and cereal. There was a choice of yogurt available on the first day but only natural after that. There is no secure storage to leave your bags after you check out – you have to take them yourself to an unlocked room, where anyone can come and go, and leave them at your own risk. There was a general air of disinterest from the staff.

    The location was fantastic, one minute from the station and the Dom. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Surrounded by convenience stores, with a McDonalds and Starbucks across the street. It was cheap.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    5.0
    The rooms were very small but freshly renovated, so the were...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was dirty and very smelly... in the elevator it stank like in a fish shop Very expensive for what we were given Check in staff after hours very unprofessional and not at all helpful Breakfast staff didn't understand English nor german

    The rooms were very small but freshly renovated, so the were clean. Breakfast was adequate Receptionist at day shift very friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    7.9
    Value for money, but the elderly could struggle with the stairs
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in two locations, the main part is where the reception and restaurant are, this has a lift to the bedroom floors. The other location is a short walk around the corner, unfortunately these floors/bedrooms are only accessible by stairs.

    Nice hotel very close to the Dom.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    6.3
    Room small but fine. Rotting chicken smell in public areas. Public areas are very dated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rotting meat. My main issue was the smell eminating from all public areas, including breakfast room. I can only describe it as being like rotting chicken. All the air fresheners left around couldn’t hide stench. Something has clearly died somewhere, or some rotting meat has been left somewhere. It doesn’t smell in the room thanksfully. The hotel is dated. Interior corridors are run down, poorly lit and confusing to find your room. Breakfast was awful.

    Great location and price. Friendly reception staff. Room and bed were small, but clean and modern. Bed was small but comfortable. TV swivelled for easy viewing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.0
    Since we came to Cologne only to visit the cathedral,it was then great that our hotel was just there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in took some half an hour for just 4 guests checking in. There was another staff, female, who seemingly was more concerned about finding some documents leaving just the male staff to handle all the check-ins. When a guest checks in, assume that they are beat and want the comfort of a bed immediately. Also, we were on the 3rd floor but our room was not on the same floor level as one has to take a a couple of steps to go up and to go down. This is not acceptable when you’re carrying some pcs of luggage. No staff to help with your luggage.

    The distance to the Cologne Cathedral was literally 4 min away. The location offers a good number of stores but not restaurants. One has to walk farther to find more choices. It was a break that the rate we paid included breakfast albeit it was not something one could crow about.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.8
    close proximity to the cathedral and railway station.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was no air condition in the room and the bed was pushed against the wall so access to the bed was only from one side. the breakfast was not up to standard. was only continental available.

    close proximity to the cathedral and railway station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    Good location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is split and I was in the annex. One issue is that the annex does not have a lift and if you struggle with stairs this could be difficult

    Good location can be noisy at times as close to the cathedral

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.7
    Clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The woman behind the reception was unfriendly and everything but helpful A lot of noise from the street and from the hallway

    Clean room Partly renovated

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    Very central to the city, close to lots of sightseeing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very central to the city, close to lots of sightseeing activities. Also very close to the railway station which helps with carting luggage around. Room was neat and tidy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location, so close to Hauptbahnof and the Dom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel does have an unusual layout, passing by the kitchen of a restaurant to reach lift to get to room. Still, not an issue of any real concern. Hotel upkeep was a bit frayed in places, but still worked as a hotel should.

    The proximity to the railway station and also to the Dom, literally around the corner. Lots of places to eat and drink nearby. I had a very early flight the day of my stay meaning I had to leave the hotel at 6 am, with breakfast not starting until 6.30 am. However, it was mostly laid out ready and the hotel were fine with me tucking in early, nice gesture, much appreciated. Also, nice free sweets available at reception counter!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.2
    Go somewhere else!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Go somewhere else! the location is nice, but the staff are unhelpfull, or simply dont care. breakfast is crappy and sub-par and the wifi works sometimes, although when it dosent work for 4 days straight, they tell you they cant do anything. sheets are changed and cleaned, but the hallways are filled w dust, the floor is not cleaned, and the carpets are dirty. dump hotel with dump breakfast and staff with total dump attitude. new name for the hotel: Koln an der DUMP HOTEL

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    2.9
    I do not recommend going to this accomodation especially if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do not recommend going to this accomodation especially if you are with children and baby this accommodation does not look at a three star hotel at all and has a very small lift that does not fit into a baby car!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay!! will recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very hot when we went to Cologne and the fridge in the room was not working or maybe we just do not know how to make it work-- cold fridge would have made some difference with cold drinks we can store in it. Also a lift (elevator) could have helped as we were situated at the top floor of the building and we have had to climb up to the fourth floor. Lastly, maybe an aircon to make the stay much more comfortable and cooler :). OR extra electric fan for the customer.

    We had trouble with our flight and the hotel was very accommodating and did not make any fuss with our late checking in, even kept out room at no extra cost. I booked for a quadruple room which supposedly contains 4 single beds but we were provided with 2 double beds in a room with loft. It was more than what we were expecting. Very comfortable beds. Really spacious rooms looking out to the Cologne Cathedral-- literally a stone's throw away. There was even a cooker. Very friendly and approachable staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minus: - no minibar/fridge available, which can be hard on hot summer days - no air conditioning - again hard to accommodate on summer conditions - maybe better English skills for the personnel won't hurt either, anyhow they were polite and helpful, so not quite a minus

    Plus: -location, location, location - very close to city center, Central station (airport connection), Rhine promenade, Dom - reasonable breakfast (not too many choices, but enough for any reasonable person) - room was small but clean (anyhow the room space was clear from the booking specification) - everything else was as expected and according to the room/hotel description Recommendation: - if possible, ask for a room with view to St Andreas church, it's a very nice view :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was nothing special, would have appreciated a bit more choice Having a tub is good, having a curtain to shower is even better !

    Close to the main train station Large room with comfy bed Nicely decorated

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    Modern rooms right beside the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby corridors dirty and old, didn't give a good impression, extremely warm but that was probably more due to the extreme heats in Germany at the moments, room faced out onto bar below us which was very loud until very late

    Brilliant location, clean modern rooms, lovely breakfast and all for a reasonable price

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    3.3
    Place do not stay here.!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    no good at all!!! rooms are in different buldings.!! pictures that are shown at booking are not real!! this place was a nightmare, we had different rooms in different buldings, so one of them was in the top floor with no lift, about 60 stairs to climb with you luggage, the worst place ever.!!! the main flor is a mix of restaurant you can almost walk inside the kitchen to go to reception!! very bad place, rooms at night very hot we couldnt even sleep that night there is no A/A ......!!!

    just location is good!! appart from that is the worst place ive ever stayed!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.4
    Will return to Cologne, but not in this Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No attention to detail. Only one small ventilator in the room. Since it was very warm we asked for an extra one, since no AC was available. Their reply was that only one ventilator per room was done. We reported that the main light in the room was not working. The receptionist on duty told the Housekeeper about it, but nothing was done. No attention to detail and hotel needs a refurbishment.

    The Location is great. Maybe one of the best in Cologne. WI-FI connection very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Front desk staff/ customer service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No A/C (obviously not an issue most of the year, but it was 95 degrees when we were there - luckily they do have little fans in the rooms though)

    Front desk staff/ customer service!! My booking was for three nights, but then we ended up staying an extra night in a different city so we got in 1 day late (100% our fault in the lack of the communication on this) - so when we got in on what was supposed to be our 2nd night, they had already cancelled the entire booking thinking we were no-shows. When I explained our situation to them they were beyond nice & figured out a way to re-instate our booking and get us in a room even though they were pretty much booked up!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.3
    There's better out there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance from the main street to the block with rooms beginning with three was wide open: so zero security! No air conditioning in the room so with the windows open all night - imagine the sleep disturbance. If it wasn't for the heat wave, this would not have been a complaint. Breakfast was disorganised - timely availability of what to eat / uncleared tables from guests having just left so not surprisingly, we shared our table with ants.

    The location is the only reason for booking this hotel. The check-in staff were helpful since for a room number beginning with three, you need to leave the hotel, skirt around the shops/takeaway premises to the right and enter a separate door to climb a flight of stairs (oh and back again for breakfast).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location, nice large apartment and reasonable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toilet facilities in reception, asked to use toilet facilities in dining area only to be told that is for restaurant only. Asked in reception to be told use the one in your room (room on 4th floor and no lift).

    Great location, nice large apartment and reasonable breakfast too

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    4.2
    Worst hotel I have been in years. rooms without elevator and horrible noises and temperature.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid +130 per night and the place was horrible, room in the 4th floor without elevator. I asked to be changed to a lower one and the receptioniwt said: you are young, you can use stairs. Th staff was extremly rude. The room did not have air conditioning and was hot as hell (+30 C). Also every morning at 6AM there was a horrible noise of the trash truck.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    4.2
    It was a room with stairs inside room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was stairs inside room which was accupying a lot of space. It looks like a extra room from hotel was given to us.

    It was a room with stairs inside room. There is very less space in room due to these stairs

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    3.3
    It was a bad experience staying there
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small and walls were very thin because of which noise comes from outside. There was no way of proper ventilation as windows open in the backyard of another building/house.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    The location is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect! We stayed for a night and it turned out to be a very good decision. Just next to the train station and opposite the Cathedral.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.8
    Rooms are kind of modern.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception/lobby is horrible. No variety of options in breakfast. Elevators do not reach each floor. We had to use stairs also.

    Rooms are kind of modern. Reception staff are friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, just around the corner from Central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallway carpet needed vacuum cleaning. Our window was just above a roof and it was dirty, full with smoked cigarettes. Above all, at midnight, a terrible noise waked us. Îți turned out to be the hotel's heating installation. We had to go to the reception to ask to turn it off. But next night, same problem. Avoid rooms 212-215 because of that.

    Excellent location, just around the corner from Central Train Station and The Dome. Nicely decorated room. Good breakfast. Nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    Good position for tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The staffs are very friendly, but the acient check–in counter remind me 1970s movie, staff sit in a pile of booking file papers, and a computer with a twinkling monitor, works 10 seconds with 1 punch of the boss, buy a new computer pls, hotel master:), a little bit slow check in. 2. The elevator remind me the 1950s movie, noisy and narrow for only 2 persons.

    Perfect positon, 5 min stepway, 2 street blocks to DOM and Koeln Hbf, friendly staffs and good breakfest ( love liver sausage) . Quite clean room and soft bed, good rest all night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    It could be better.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is not listening to what you are telling them persistently! You have to explain things several times until they listen to you. They did not reply to e-mails. If you have some special request or questions, try to find somewhere else to stay just in case. The elevator is tiny; I do not think it is convenient for carriage or wheelchair. And the hallway to the elevator smells really bad - like a raw meat. Also, asking personal questions in check-in does not seem very professional.

    The hotel is very central, minutes away from the central station. The room was spacious enough and the bed was very comfortable (not the pillow though)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location lovely helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of building work going on so very noisy/Barr wires/plastered walls etc. Also in my room (112) the toilet is squashed between the shower and the wall, impossible to use sat down!

    Great location lovely helpful staff. Very nice modern room with very comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Excelent cost-benefit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our roon was outsidefrom reception, in a next door building, no lift, with big luggage, not so good. But I would stay again there.

    Breakfast is fantastic.. less then 3 minutes walking from central station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs.

    The location was perfect. Just round corner from cathedral and station. The room was a good size, clean and newly decorated, the bed comfy and the staff friendly and professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    Best location in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby and entrance do no justice to the rooms.

    Great location, two blocks away from the cathedral and train station. The rooms are clean and modern with big bathrooms. It does have an elevator which is rare for hotels in Europe within this budget.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Location near the cathedral.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking for car. Locally is too expensive to park car near or for one night. Just to drop off the language it was cost 6 euro per hour.

    Location near the cathedral.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.3
    Location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer interaction was not satisfactory. There is no friendly smile from any of the staff nor from kitchen staff.. It was just mechanical.. You pay we provide service.

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.7
    The staff was friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no chair in the room. You can not sit at the table. The hotel did not answer phone calls and a letter. The blanket was too warm.

    The staff was friendly. They gave me an extra bed sheet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money. Request for a room in the building with a lift.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lifts in our building. We were not in the main building of the hotel. We were asked to stay in an apartment the hotel bought and we were on the 4th floor. Quite an inconvenience

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    2.5
    Never again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not even a hotel. To get to our room we had to go through an alley to another building and walk up 3 flights with no elevator. The apartments in this building were shabby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    having read reviews we were not expecting much but this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    having read reviews we were not expecting much but this hotel is fine close to cologne cathedral and centre ,clean room, lovely staff ,would not stay anywhere else if we go back to cologne .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.3
    Don't get put in the annex
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in an annex on the 4th floor with no lift. We had a lot of heavy cases, skis and snowboard. The breakfast was very ordinary compared with hotels of a similar price.

    The room was newly decorated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    Great deal with perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Remodel was already wearing thin, or touch-ups not completed. Construction still ongoing.

    Location was great. Nice color palate in room (grey & purple). Peek-a-boo view of the cathedral from our room. Breakfast included in price!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.3
    Good area, just 5minutes of walking to the central city.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunatelly the quality of mattress was really poor, so 2 nights could be a disaster for my backbone.

    Good area, just 5minutes of walking to the central city. Very nice breakfast, clean bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.9
    A convenient place to sleep and eat breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Mice in the restaurant

    Perfect location: close to the Hbf; Dom and walking distance from the Messe. Breakfast is nice and uncomplicated with a good enough choice - quite unusually a selection of sliced peppers.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.3
    Good value, great location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A desk light would have been good. Some construction was going on in the hotel that created significant noise from about 8am

    Room was comfortable, bed was fine, everything clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    5.8
    Friendly staff, clean room but small and noisy with disappointing breakfast and no view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The thin walls, you could hear everything outside,woke up by building work at 8am.The breakfast was very awarage and not fresh at 8.50am.Booked a twin room,got a double bed,had to share with my 16y old son.

    The newly renovated room and bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    5.8
    Ask for a room on the upper floor and away from the stairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the 1st floor so could hear everything from reception up until 3:30am!!! Also was beside stairs so everyone walking by. Breakfast was very basic but ok, mouse running around in the breakfast room!!!

    Good location, near train station and also close to the cathedral

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.1
    Clean but basic with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit rundown and basis but was clean and only used as somewhere to sleep. a partial payment was taken early from my account before I arrived which shouldn't have happened and as a result check in took a while.

    Great location and good value for money. The breakfast was a typical cold European one of bread and an assortment of meat and cheeses but was included in the room price. The room was clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.1
    Perfect location for visiting Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long wait at reception

    Room size was great - huge. Location was perfect - 2mins to the central station and the main attraction of Cologne - the cathedral!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    The room was clean and the bed comfortable
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no remote control for the tv in the room and the staff from the reception said that “that’s it”.I felt that they didn’t really cared about solving this issue.A bit dissatisfied for the service.

    The room was clean and the bed comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    The room is quite small but it's
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smelling on the walk way to the elevator, the kitchen should close the garbage bin and kitchen door.

    The room is quite small but it's good location, easy to walk to main station, Cologne Cathedral and shopping street.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.3
    Ask for room that matches the pictures on booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -power cut for 8 hours overnight. the power went off 10 minutes past midnight and came back the next morning between 7 - 8 am. No explanation was given. I had to go to reception to find out. -heating wasn't working to start with and there wasn't any hot water in evening of the 2nd day. Both got fixed after I had complained at the reception. -the free WIFI didn't reach my room (243) -There was no resemblances between the pictures on booking.com and the actual room. The pic were showing a very modern room but the room I had was dark wood and fairly small. It also showed facilities (kettle for coffee/ tea) which didn't exist.

    -Location is perfect -the bed was very comfortable & it wasn't too noisy in the night. -standard of bathroom is ok -small fridge (minibar) which was empty and could be used for own stuff like drinks & food. -power socket next to bed to charge up phone & tablet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    Not worth for money paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was not working but the room was in the 4th floor. Hot water for making a drink was not provided except the breakfast time.

    Great location. Closer to many of the attractions. Staff were friendly. Room was very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.1
    Very central to train and major sights. Hotel looking a bit rundown ok for overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress needed replacing - 2 people roll in towards the middle and it was uncomfortable. Noticed a drainage smell in bathroom which was unpleasant.

    Breakfast was good and value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.1
    Read the reviews and act on them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee making facilities and putting a gag on the female member of staff who works in the kitchen or in the reception who woke everyone up at six am till 7am with her constant loud chatting

    Room okay ,staff friendly. Near to the centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    4.2
    reception was impolite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    reception was impolite. internet connection was awful and everyday we had to get printed permission and wifi code. room was cold and warm system did not work properly. there were no facilities to have warm water for tea during the day and night. The reception suggested to buy outside. While breakfast there were no enough bowl and plate and when we asked the staff they suggested 2 person can eat in one bowl !!! and after all we had to wait for frei seat. The only positive is the lage

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    5.8
    Basic accommodation in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was travelling with my mum so we had 2 single rooms. My mum's room had a lovely view of a court yard and had nothing really wrong with it however my room had a bathroom door that did not close properly and the switches to control the main lighting were faulty. The heating was also on full blast when we arrived which made the room very stuffy, but the heaters had their own controllers so could be turned down, which I did on the second day! We had to wait quite a while to check in and check out (we only arrived 30 mins before our official check in time but were told the rooms were not ready and to come back later but of course when we returned at 2pm there were lots of other people waiting to check in at the same time - normally we have been able to check in early and then leave our luggage and simply collect the key when the room is ready - something this hotel could consider implementing). Similarly on departure there were several people checking out at the same time but only one person able to process the check outs.

    Cologne is an amazing city and we were there at the time of all the wonderful Christmas markets so we had a great time! The hotel was in a very convenient location, near the main central station; the city's cathedral (Dom); and within walking distance to shops, restaurants, bars and the river. The hotel was a reasonable price for what we got and included a breakfast of cereal, juice, hams, cheeses, breads, tea and coffee.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Great location, enjoyed the experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to climb 4 flights of stairs.

    Location is right in city center next to train station and hub of activity including shopping,dining/pubs, museums, & sights to see.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.4
    Ok for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms at the front were really noisy especially at night. A lack of onsite parking is a bit of a pain, but there is ample public parking close by. I would give a good rating for cleanliness if under the beds saw a brush once in a while.

    The hotel is in the centre of Koln making it really easy to get around on foot. Breakfast is busy but plenty of choice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    4.6
    Poor hotel. Poor service from Booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Smells funny. Freezing cold (heating faulty). Small room with uncomfy/broken bed. Showers often cold. Staff a mixed bag (some good some awful). Room shabby and unkempt. End up in the old section (un-renovated) and you will have an awful experience.

    Clean(ish). Good location. However main issue is Booking.com does not inform you in advance, but the hotel is split into old and renovated sections. If you get to stay in the renovated section it is ok(ish), but the old section is awful!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    4.2
    Location is great, all the rest is poor and we would not recommend the hotel to our friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hot water for first two days, overpriced, first room we got had a strong smell, asked for another room which was better, thin walls means that you hear when the guests from your floor return home, breakfast was very average to poor especially if you turn up later than 8 am, €300 for two nights is too much to ask...

    Location is the only selling point of this hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.4
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very noisy room. Every time the front door of te hotel opened our room door would rattle very loud. Burning hot water in the shower when flushing the toilet. Old electrical heating devices. Small room. Drapes coming off their rails. Reception staff poorly trained.

    location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.8
    On the whole we were very comfortable and most of the staff were friendly. The hotel is very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The last day we did not have hot water and we were not notified. During the winter months no one enjoys going into the shower without any hot water. We did not even receive an apology for the inconvenience

    The hotel is very central and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    3.3
    Disappointed and will not be staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly, we had no hot water, cold showers in cold weather is not pleasant. Our room was extremely small and very basic. Though our main disappointment of the stay was my friend woke up covered in bites. As the day went on, she noticed more. Before picking up our bags, we spoke to the reception staff and informed them of the issue and that my friend has picked up bed bugs. The staff gave us contact details for the customer service, which I will be contacting as we required a reimbursement for our dry cleaning bill. All our clothes are wool and cannot be washed in high temperatures. This completely ruined our trip as we had to inform the next hotel as they will also need to sterilise the room after we left. We will never stay here again and hoping our dry cleaning bill and a refund is granted.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.5
    Basic accommodation in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was adequate but once items ran out they were not replaced. Even though we were told breakfast was served until 10.00 a.m. when the coffee ran out at 9.40 a.m. the waiter would not replace it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    3.3
    Very low standard this was the worse place i have stayed so far on my travels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was very run down . poor quality. Lights not working. Holes in curtains. Dust nearly choked us having taken a case down. Bed was so low and no room for person on the inside to be able to get out. breakfast was terrible.ran out of glasses along with juices,water and cutlery. Toilet near the restaurant looked like it hadn't been looked after for the whole time we were there. very disappointed. A lot of lovely hotels nearby.

    location only

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    6.7
    Location excellent close to train station and city centre, however staff and hotel disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Reception not so friendly Lack of coffee at breakfast. Elavator small, claustrophobic and with broken glass damaged on one floor.

    Cosy modern room, bathroon, clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was dirty and staff were not very accommodating. Breakfast was not good with limited choices. Hallways were dirty and smelly. Rooms were not very comfortable but overall were clean and really just a place to sleep.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    5.0
    Brilliant Xmas markets not matched by the hotel service or room taken.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Couldn't get breakfast table laid could not get served we didn't have a single breakfast there, Safe was not secured so could be taken out of the room, light fittings dangling from the ceiling. Workstation didn't have a chair. Had to squeeze past the bed and table. No phone in room had to renew wi-fi password after 48 hours. Stairways dirty, lift door on first floor broken. Some sockets in room not wired!

    Location.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Centro Hotel Central am DOM traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: