Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Domspatz Hotel | Boardinghouse This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

An den Dominikanern 1, Altstadt-Nord, 50668 Cologne, Germany

#204 of 231 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 274 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    5.8

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 39

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    4.6
    Location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows. Pillows were really uncomfortable. No elevators in the property so we have to carry up our bags three floors up

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    4.5
    Short and not so sweet. A smelly box of a room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelled of strong urine. The shower did not drain. The cleanliness of our bed was questionable. The balcony was filthy. No answer to our phone calls. No response to request for early checkin. No bag storage and very impersonal.

    Across the street from the cathedral and train station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.0
    Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't sure about checking out - we left early morning and left the hotel - rang through to the hotel number at 7.30 am from airport so they knew we had left . Apparently you don't need to do anything just leave .

    The location is fabulous . Great to have tea / coffee facilities . Basic but clean and adequate for a one night stay . So close to the station and city centre .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Price Quality Worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator, no staff in the hotel, rooms are quite small. Wifi was not working not was the TV properly working, no channels displayed. Would not recommend for couples and would definitely not recommend for more than one evening

    Great Location close to the train station. Great place to stay in case you are travelling early to the airport. 5 min walking distance from the main cathedral. Easy check in would reccomend for a night's sleep.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.4
    A great location for a terrible place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way the hotel handles debit payment for reservations is ridiculous and essentially makes you pay twice for the room. First time you pay they use that payment as a ‘deposit’ and then when you arrive you have to pay the same amount through a different transaction. The room we got was tiny, luck of the draw I suppose and it also lacked any air conditioning. When we opened the door and windows to the balcony we were greeted with the backs of shops and restaurants complete with all the noise they come with through the night. The free Wi-Fi was also terrible, I know it was free but it took several minutes for anything to load, from small images to low-quality videos.

    The location was perfect for Gamescom, the train station, and the cathedral.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.4
    The worst check-in, the most dirty room ever
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was highly dirty. There were hairs, dust and trashes in everywhere in room. Also the checkin processes was the worst I have ever seen in my all vacational experiences. We made a resevation because of an immediate situation, other than such emergencies I do not suggest the hotel to anyone

    The location is awsome, its almost nesr to everywhere in city centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.0
    Never again. Will not go ant where where codes to access are required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Access was a nightmare. Getting code for entry was not straightforward. Once obtained it was difficult to accss room due to the light and now being able to see numbers to enter code. We wer not the only ones with a young couple have similar issues and another who tried access at night and spoke with someone but we were kept awake for two hour whilst hings were being sorted

    Position

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1- there was no hair-dryer 2- like other buildings in germany there is no air conditioning to cool the place in warm weather, so by opening the window it can be very noisy

    1- friendly staff tried to satisfy my wish giving me a triple room instead of twin 2- the location is 10 min walk to the Kö street

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.3
    Okay but not the best by far.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel does not have a reception and works on an automated system which requires a received payment in order to release the door number for your room. Allow time for the payment to go through before arriving as the hotel will refuse entrance without a received payment even if the payment is pending and has already left your account.

    The room was quite nice for the price you were paying. It had a private balcony and is next door to a cute cafe.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    The location was great;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not have warm water. I had to take a very cold shower!!! I booked my room through booking.com, the room was supposed to have a balcony and two beds but it came with non of them.

    The location was great; exactly in the centre. The room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    It was in a perfect location, St Peters and the shopping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has no reception area or reception staff. It’s a on screen check in which was fine and easy to use.

    It was in a perfect location, St Peters and the shopping district just behind the hotel, with any amount of coffee stops too 😊

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.6
    Budget stay with compromised comfort on amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower drain was plugged with ++ hair; Neighbor knocked on our door to use shower because theirs did not work. The balcony were littered with cigarette butts and a coffee mug that was from the previous clients

    Short distance from central station Comfortable beds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.4
    Basic accommodation, should have taken more notice of the word ‘boarding house!’ But clean and adeq
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small , could hardly get between end of bed and wall. Bathroom door opened on to side of bed. Balcony needed a good sweep, cigarette butts on balcony floor when we arrived. Street side check-in unusual but worked ok, no reception just a number to ring if a problem

    The bed was very comfy, slept well. Room quiet.Room and bathroom clean. Very central and close to everything. Balcony extended size of room and very private though looked out onto backs of other buildings,some of which were untidy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location! Didnt look great from the outside but clean comfortable inside. Lighage storage at other location very helpful. Would post something as we had to ask. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location, close to train station and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, especially for 2 people and not the room advertised/booked. No city view and a filthy balcony. The property blocks the cost of room on your card, however you are still required to pay upon check-in, therefore deducting payment twice. This was not explained anywhere and is inconvenient when using a debit card with limited funds.

    Good location, close to train station and shops. Check-in process was relatively easy (code is room key). Bed was comfortable although not "extra large double" as booked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Loved the mineral water, glass and coffee facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water from the showerhead was piercingly sharp and strong. No matter how strong I turned it on. A better showerhead would have made me feel even more comfortable. Balcony had spiderwebs/wasn't so clean.

    Loved the mineral water, glass and coffee facilities. Room was really nice. Bed and sheets clean, enough pillows. All in all a nice place. Only stayed one night though.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    3.8
    Avoid like the plague, or you might catch it
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They reserved money from my account then couldn't access it. After watching the hotel cancel the payment I had to pay again (Would receive first payment for 2-3 working days but my bank said they would look for 2 payments). The room seemed ok for the first night but in the morning there was a smell of sewage from the toilet, when flushing the toilet the stench filled the room and became unbearable. All in, a terrible experience

    Close to dom and Hbf

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.3
    No elevator is the end for the travelers !! we can find a better hotel nearby with the same price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No staffs at all. Everything has to arrange via machine. The worst of the hotel is no lift!! And you never mentioned. we have the room on the 3rd floor (mean 4th floor with narrow high stairs) with big luggages. Nobody help us as nobody surrounding like in the robot hotel. When we check out. We have to carry a big heavy luggage's down we met the guy cleaner the room who has no service mind. Not even to try to help us about the luggage at all.

    Location of the hotel is perfect. The room is clean and free wi-fi. that's all!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    2.9
    Dangerous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's the worst. ・Wifi could not be used until the night. ・It is difficult to understand how to check in. ・Since there is no reception, I have to bring my luggage to another hotel (Dom Hotel Am Römerbrunnen) . 10 minutes on foot. ・No elevator ( I stayed on the 4th floor.) ・Heating is not effective enough. ・Noises. The sound of the bell, the street and the voice of the next room (thin wall) ・The shower door is broken. ・There is no reception in the hotel. About midnight at around 23:30, several men knocked my room shouting loudly. Since there is no peephole in the door, I called the front desk of the hotel and confirmed whether they were employees of the hotel. They were not employees of the hotel, so I was instructed not to open the door. I was very scared, so I requested to manage somehow but did not do anything. After that, I understood offenders were persons in the next room, because they( Upper body naked ) called me many times from the next balcony. The balcony is same ground and there is only a simple fence between rooms. The veranda is partitioned by a fence which can be easily overcome even by a child. The employee does not even reprimand the next guest. Eventually the neighboring guests were making noise about 1 hour in their room and their veranda. I asked a front for help many times, but did not do anything saying it was not a body guard. I was told to call the police. Eventually, the employee told me not to call front. I was so scared and could not sleep. 本当に最悪の一言に尽きる。

    ・The station is near. But there is no reception in the hotel. Rreception is in other hotel (Dom Hotel Am Römerbrunnen) 10 minutes on foot, and you can leave your luggage here. As a result, it takes more than 15 minutes on foot from the station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.4
    Location is just perfect, 3 minutes away from the Dom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no reception, so you have to pay outside. No elevator, so you might experience inconvenience if you carry a heavy bag. Had to pre authorise payment and had to pay once again the day I arrived. A problem with ATM occurred when I was trying to pay upon arrival, my transaction was considered unsuccessful but money was charged anyways. Overall, paid three times (my pre authorise payment was refunded later though).

    Location is just perfect, 3 minutes away from the Dom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    the location is top only 3 Minutes walk from the central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located exactly in front of the traffic junction and above many stores and restaurant, which could be very noisy if you open the window.

    the location is top only 3 Minutes walk from the central station. The room was big and clean. The hotel provide us watercooker and also coffee, tea. Check in is easy using machine in front of hotel entrance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    4.2
    Not pleasant for a normal tourist. Maybe for backpackers good and spacious!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.no front desk. Just a teller machine. Had to pay on the street! 2. no information about floor where room is located! And neither that there's no elevator!! We had two heavy suitcases and had to carry them 2!! Flights of veeeery steep stairs. I nearly felt backwards and was so out of breath with all the winter clothing on plus a heavy suitcase and handbag! 3. shower stall was precarious. Very little space and old and not very clean. Although room decor is new and modern the bathroom is not.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    6.7
    Hotel with lots of potential in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the location is the best you can get for everything the hotel is in process of renovation and was disruptive. The workman was very nice about the drilling and banging and did try to work as quicky as he could. The wallpaper was peeling and the carpet had so many stains we could have played connect the spots. (Friend got a refurbished room and it was very nice! Guess we were unlucky) The door entry system is not very straight forward, Had to call reception twice, but once you get the hang of it it's okay. There was no coffee/tea making facility in our and was then told had to share one with the other room! (Friend was on another floor so not practical) we did however get bottles of fizzy water. Had to pre authorise payment on my card and then on arrival had to pay again, returned to UK on 20th December and still have not been refunded! Have had to spend £10 on my phone bill chasing up and still waiting. In future will avoid any booking that needs pre payment.

    The bed was big and was comfortable and the shower had good pressure and nice hot water. We were put at the top of hotel, view was nice and if you are counting steps on fitbit you will love the stairs as it really gets the heart rate up!! Staff helpful and patient on the phone explaining how to use the door codes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    Value for Money
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its is summer so its get quite hot

    What you paid is what you get, low cost, decent & efficient

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Everything else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were incredibly bad wifi connection.

    Everything else.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Stylish Outstanding room with great balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3pm check in but I was able to leave bags with sister hotel

    Balcony with view of cathedral 5 minutes from central train station Very stylish room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.0
    Regular room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and uncomfortable to move inside. Was very hot and without a fan.

    Was very clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    The space is a little bit small for two people, but the room is big enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free mineral water

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect, exactly near the Cathedral square. Very comfortable bed and clean, cozy room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.4
    Very dodgy entrance. Room similar to pics
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no reception Check in through a mashine

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    In general, I like the room and I recommend it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small blanket on the bed

    Location and wifi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    2.5
    Compeletely Crap!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compeletely Crap!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    İt was not clean

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Confortable, clean,and in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the main entrance. It looks like an abandoned place

    The room was very stylish, the balcony was pretty good for having tea or coffee and relax

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    3.3
    disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was dirty. the bed was broken, the balcony was full of rubbish and cigarettes

    nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.9
    the pillows
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the pillows

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    3.8
    Having somewhere to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The broken amenities.

    Having somewhere to sleep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.0
    Free mineral water and coffee in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's too hard to get with luggage by tiny stairs up to 4th floor. No elevator. Just pay by card

    Free mineral water and coffee in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    4.2
    Small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Small uncomfortable room

    Stayed in January 2018

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: