Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel am Augustinerplatz 4 stars

Hohe Str. 30, Altstadt-Nord, 50667 Cologne, Germany

#121 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 304 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Currently the hotel has a lot of construction around and in front of it. This made checking in and finding parking garage a bit tedious but once in garage we walked everywhere. Has a cool little bar but not open during the week. The pillows were not to our liking, almost completely deflating when you laid on them. We had to fold up to get any support

    Great location very nice room. Has Air conditioning which is not a given in Germany. There are plenty of outlets and a great bath with a huge tub and shower combo. Plenty of counter space for sharing. There was complimentary sparkling waters in mini fridge.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was on the hard side and there was a fair amount of noise late night partiers walking to the metro which made it kind of difficult to sleep. A few days our room was not cleaned as well as you might hope (i.e. used wine glasses not cleaned or replaced, surfaces not wiped down).

    Our suite was pretty comfortable in general with plenty of storage space and an unexpected additional 1/2 bath. The location is very central with quick access to transport and the old town. At 14 EUR, the breakfast buffet is a pretty good deal if you are looking for a full meal.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in two hours delayed. Junior Suite - no mount for the showerhead (spurt way too hard), poor illumination (no dimming, broken spots), pillow too soft and no alternative, split mattress, not modern, little room space, bath small and shallow, low water pressure, broken toilet flush, small TV, TV volume limited, mini bar empty, no climate control... we slept terribly bad due to the room temperature and bed condition.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was broken both nights when we got back (worked during the day but not at night!). Hotel was overpriced. Rooms very small. Left our luggage when we checked out as we had a few hours to kill before our train. No ticket system. All guests leave their bags in an unlocked closet with is accessible to anyone in the lobby.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing bad to say about the hotel, but taxi to the airport is very expensive. Hotel should have some special deals for the customers.

    Breakfast was very good and bed was very comfortable! Hotel is in a very good location and staff was friendly!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly receptionist, her names is Sori ( blonde Hair , white eyes glasses ), she was angry to see American passport holder, and she was surprised to hear when I was going to stay one more night because my flight was canceled, my first business credit card didn't go through, probably I was trying to use it over without informing my bank ,while she was swiping the my first card, it didn't go through then she got upset and threw my card on her counter, so rude ...I gave her the second card , it was ok ...., she didn't find my second reservation because the third party booked and misspelled it but I was trying to show her the confirmation number and my American passport - but she Didn't even want to look , ... bad receiption

    Unfriendly receptionist, her names is Sori ( blonde Hair , white eyes glasses ), she was angry to see American passport holder, and she was surprised to hear when I was going to stay one more night because my flight was canceled, my first business credit card didn't go through, probably I was trying to use it over without informing my bank ,while she was swiping the my first card, it didn't go through then she got upset and threw my card on her counter, so rude ...I gave her the second card , it was ok ...., she didn't find my second reservation because the third party booked and misspelled it but I was trying to show her the confirmation number and my American passport - but she Didn't even want to look , ... bad receiptionUnfriendly receptionist, her names is Sori ( blonde Hair , white eyes glasses ), she was angry to see American passport holder, and she was surprised to hear when I was going to stay one more night because my flight was canceled, my first business credit card didn't go through, probably I was trying to use it over without informing my bank ,while she was swiping the my first card, it didn't go through then she got upset and threw my card on her counter, so rude ...I gave her the second card , it was ok ...., she didn't find my second reservation because the third party booked and misspelled it but I was trying to show her the confirmation number and my American passport - but she Didn't even want to look , ... bad receiption

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staffs should asked us if we are on the business or tourist before charging the tourist levy. Upon check in we have mentioned that we came for FIBO exhibition but they still charged us EUR50.00 for that tourist visa when we checked out.

    location and the breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Class Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was really soft which might be disturbing for some people.

    Location was really excellent in the middle of town. Room was really modern and wifi was working better than in most hotels in the world. Breakfast (14€) was good with plenty of basic offering, nothing extra though.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is surprisingly difficult to get in the hotel at the late hours. I arrived on Friday night around 11.30 pm. The gate was closed and it was not possible to enter the hotel without entering the yard. I called them few times before they answered. After that I was waiting in a street for 5/10 min before i was finally let in.

    Housekeeping is good. They returned my chain which I forgot in my room after check out.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some members of the group had rooms close to the main street, which was often quite loud until the early hours- take ear plugs!

    Excellent location, walking distance to the Dom and lots of restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing special: breakfast not included in the 272 euro for 1 night stay. Some lights in the room were broken and the mattress was "quite used". Not enough value for money spent and ratio price/quality unfair.

    Position is good, staff was helpful. Wifi worked well. I appreciated the minibar availability and the room was nice, big and well furnished.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very small, dark and dowdy Very limited choice at breakfast Soft bed with odd-sized quilt, ill-fitting bedding and 'pillows' that were more like folded quilts

    Located within main pedestrianized shopping area 10 minute walk to the Dom, main railway station Extremely quiet room considering the busy location Effective heating/ air con

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold bathrom, very tiny toilet, poor breakfast choice and terrible pillow (requested pillow menu, not received). Very poor customer care.

    Great location, great coffe machine at breakfast area and good air conditioning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Class Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't quite worth the money they are great bakery's down the road for great prices

    The location of this property was fantastic shopping, bars and cafe are all within walking distance the cathedral (5 minute walk) the hotel its self Is fantastic there is parking right next to the hotel for (10 euro for 24hrs) I cannot stress enough how good of a location this is!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the hotel is located centrally on one of the main shopping thoroughfares, there were one or two unsavoury characters hanging around outside at night!

    The hotel had a bar! And it was within about 10-15 mins walk from the main railway station. Friendly staff and very clean. I would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Class Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is so comfy and fresh.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Class Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inexperienced barman, confused when I ordered a martini.

    Very clean, Perfect location, Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checkout too long ,the sheets was with sweat smell

    Locetion

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gym

    Clean. Staff. Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wasn't expecting such a small single bed but it was comfortable enough for a couple of nights

    Great location and very cool funky vibe to the hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price is too high for that kind of room size

    Breakfast and location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room for single.

    Walking distance to the Train Station.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great.

    very clean comfortable. At the heart of the city.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    to soft mattrass

    good location, very good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No mini fridge Small size of the single room

    Bed Lobby music Location Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Its the best hotel in cologne Very clean Modern Stuff are great and location perfect

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bed

    Perfect Area

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Business Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly, room was clean, cheap parking, close to major sites and pedestrian mall and shops

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Class Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar was never staffed, restaurant only served breakfast. No room service.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra small room No mini bar

    The location is perfect to explore the city, close to everything you need. Also the room was very clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Class Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Air con is fantastic

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It took ages to get warm water. It always came finally, but what a waste to let cold water run such a long time.

    Excellent: a hotel where there is proper lighting in my room! Great for business traveller!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    We visited Cologne for the Christmas markets & this hotel couldn't have been in a better location. It's about a 10 walk to the Cathedral which held the biggest market, it was literally a couple of stops away from the triangle which gives a great view from the top & a bargain at 3 euros! Hotel wise we had no complaints, the beds were nice & comfy, the pillows were a little flat but we requested extra from reception & they arrived before I had put the phone down, the room was nice & warm & there was plenty of choice at breakfast. Location was perfect, close to the shops, bars & restaurants & all the markets were easily accessible.

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room on the 4th floor was extremely hot at night well above 20 degrees and the air conditioning wasn't working The mattress was very hard, the duvet far too small for the bed and the pillow of not very good quality with the result that I hardly slept for my entire stay

    The location of the hotel is perfect to explore Cologne. In addition, there is a supermarket and a department store both with a deli round the corner which is good if like me you don't want to eat in restaurant every night

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel was having the carpets throughout replaced during our stay.

    Modern Junior Suite, Very comfortable. Friendly staff. Issues were resolved in a proffesional manner.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I messed my booking up (booked a single when I needed a double for three nights) and they upgraded me to a suite at no extra cost! The location is excellent for the Cologne Messe and is right in the best shopping street - a pedestrian area all the way to the DOM (8 min walk). This is my third stay over 6 years and its as good as ever

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    - No free breakfast and more expensive than similar quality hotels in other cities; - Understaffed, no one on cafeteria for breakfast, no room service, no one to attend a extra pillow request;

    + Great location with shopping area nearby; + Courtesy water bottle;

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The signage from the outside is off the street and not obvious while driving by. More clear directions should be given for access and parking.

    The central location.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Man versinkt in den Betten, erholsames Schlafen nicht möglich; riesige Polster; Neonlichtschriftzug genau vorm Fenster; Hotel dunkel gestaltet - wirkt dadurch schmuddelig; Duftkerzenduft in der Lobby; wirkt insgesamt wenig professionell

    Freundliches Personal

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    -The breakfast. When I arrived at 9.30 (breakfast was served until 10.00), there was almost nothing left anymore. After discussing this at my check-out I only had to pay half the price of the breakfast, as a compensation.

    -Very friendly staff -The room was very clean! -For a 3*** hotel, this is really a good choice!

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not the most scenic of views from the room, but a 2 minute walk is all it takes.

    Being a very short walk from the Dom Good they have an a bar "for a late one" Some great nearby shops to fill the fridge with reviving soft drinks and snacks.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean, spacious room, modern bathroom and excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent TV with plenty of channels including English news. Helpful staff and place was clean

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    strange furniture. To much male guests.

    breakfast was ok

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close to the shopping street and train station

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Extremely small room for an extremely high price on an old facility that needs to be refurbished. Breakfast not included!

    Location

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Little over priced

    Location and staff

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    too small room

    location

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location was excellent, very clean, the bed and pillows are very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nearly overprized.

    Location is good, at the main shopping street. 5 min walk to Köln Dom.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very central location

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location and parking facilities

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no minibar in the room

    great location, just at one end of the shopping street friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    tea and coffee facility in rooms would be nice

    location and staff were excellent

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location!

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy on main road .breakfast was very disappointing and very busy but Cologne was amazing and made up for the hotel

    Nice size room

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no bath despite it saying so on the booking. no rooms with a bath left. quite pricy - £150 for a premier double room

    location. very clean.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Well situated and clean. Beware of the cultural tax (not the Hotel's fault). Breakfast good but quite expensive

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quite unfriendly stuff; bathroom was disaster-small towels, not properly working shower, no shampoo...

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    small single room (this time)

    location and staff

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very expansive for a poor service.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not good enough cleaning between bathroom tiles.

    Location and good bed.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, location, location

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms are small and tv channels are badly selected.

    Very Google location and cleaning is very good.

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Guests also reviewed these properties: