Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Eckert This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Basler Str. 20, 79639 Grenzach-Wyhlen, Germany

#3 of 11 hotels in Grenzach-Wyhlen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 543 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Modern, boutique hotel with excellent facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid extra for a big room but had no balcony (virtually all other rooms had balconies) - it was not clear when booking that there would be no balcony as the facilities mentioned 'outdoor seating'! Hotel looked to be in the countryside, but actually it was near a very busy street, and therefore the evening walk was not as relaxing as anticipated....

    Modern, well designed hotel with lots of lovely, quirky extras (especially reading material!) Lovely areas to sit outside and inside the bar/restaurant. Very relaxing environment.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Location, great restaurant, nice design, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room (triple room) was very hot, despite the (small) open window. We couldn’t get the heat out.

    Location, great restaurant, nice design, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Any other day a great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wedding party going on. Nothing wrong with that besides that the parking lot was full. Also the noise wasn't nice during the evening. The staff at the reception told us to park the car at a puclic parking lot. This resulted in a 150m walk. Maybe this sounds like we are just looking for making complaints but if you drove for 1000 km on one day you want a relax stay. My advice would be to call or inform the customer about a wedding. Also keep some parking spaces left for your guests.

    The breakfast is nice. You can order an egg the way you like.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Simply the best!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints!

    The best hotel I have stayed in and I travel a lot! Situated in quaint Grenzlach-Wylhen this hotel is convenient to Basel by a short bus or train ride yet away from the hustle and bustle. The hotel is well situated with the restaurant and check in street side but the hotel buildings with the rooms set back and affording total peace and quiet. My room was on the ground floor with a garden patio. I loved the decor, the comfortable bed, the record player complete with records. The restaurant is superb for lunch or dinner; I ate there each night and wished I could have stayed longer to work my way through the excellent menu. The staff are outstanding; warm and welcoming; nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is excellent with a great variety. My stay at Hotel Eckert was faultless; 10/10; I'll be back for another visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    we really liked our stay, great staff and beautiful hotel. recommend and plan to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we've been accommodated in older building, which rooms could use a bit of restoration, especially painting and maybe new windows. furniture and interior design is outstanding though.

    hotel is beautiful, public transportation to Basel is fast and easy, breakfast options were superb and staff was really kind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Great little business hotel close to my clients in Basel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    I appreciated being able to move rooms. The room the hotel had reserved for me was on the ground floor and like to sleep with my window open and therefore prefer a room on a higher level for security reasons. I was moved immediately, no questions asked. The staff are attentive and the breakfast amazing! I really apreciate the healthy options.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Perfect. Will be going again for longer stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Friendly from the start. Beautiful room with a small terrace and the record player with a couple of albums was a nice touch. Restaurant food was fab but pricey but worth it. 10 minute drive into Basel but public transport looks ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    10
    Very thrilled, great choice for Basel visit
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No issues, can't tell. We agreed with my colleagues that this was definitely one of the best choices we could made.

    Good location for Basel trip (approx. 10-15 mins to city center with cab, better to rent a car for longer trips), very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel is very nicely furnished, piece of art. Varied breakfast with high quality food. Wifi worked whole time. Last but not least the price was very reasonable for 2 rooms.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    9.6
    Brilliant hotel for allergy sufferers like me.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant hotel for allergy sufferers like me. Hardwood style flooring. No aircon - Yay and no fragrances in the room, Thank you, those things can really ruin a stay. Great looking restaurand garden, sadly I had already eaten so did not get to try it. Lovely atmosphere. I will definately stay here again!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    9.2
    Nice and cheap hotel for a stay in Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel advertises enough parking spaces but finding one was actually a challenge.

    Personnel was exceptionally friendly, the room was very clean, large and comfortable. All in all I can definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel with a modern decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double room was a little warm and the family were split into rooms in different blocks.

    Accommodation highly recommended. Comfortable spacious rooms which were clean and modern. Large bathroom. One accommodation block was newly built. Nice location in quiet town. Good view of sunsets. Large balcony in 3 person room and it even had an English socket! On Swiss/German border. Friendly staff. Restaurant on site. Gym on site.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.0
    Great hotel, with an awesome restaurant!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel, with an awesome restaurant!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    The Breakfast was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Convenient stop-over just on the border of Germany/Switzerland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good stop-over on our trip to Italy. Too bad the weather was too cold to enjoy the pool :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Very pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice small hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Gym
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gym

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.5
    Excellent design location but a lack of excellence
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comfort of bed & laundry, lighting in the bath room

    Design environment and the atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful Hotel Great Location near my family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location near my family. Was great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Very design, clean and excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very design, clean and excellent service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel menu was OTT. Don't go looking for something simple, the menu is "Haute Cuisine".

    Room away from the road.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Absolutely great! Great service, great restaurant, great hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    10
    Excellent breakfast,very nice and friendly staff, very clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Excellent breakfast,very nice and friendly staff, very clean, new renovated restaurant, rooms and the like

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    friendly staff and nice breakfast , big value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    friendly staff and nice breakfast , big value for the money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    7.5
    short but nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV had channels only in german ,no CNN or BBC

    Dinner

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    9.2
    Nice comfy hotel to stay the night in
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a cigarette odor in the hallway before entring the room!

    It has parking space for cars and even for E Cars. The room was clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    Perfect to stay and recover from the week
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything is perfect

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    7.9
    Modern comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean modern room, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    Beautiful hotel and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    8.8
    Efficient and friendly staff, comfortable and practical hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb breakfast, very clean and functional room, quiet

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    8.8
    Friendly staff, modern, clean rooms, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No English channels on Tv. Poor shower design (leaked all over the bathroom). Very pricey bar service (3dl of house wine and one beer = 28 EUR!)

    Friendly staff, modern, clean rooms, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    6.7
    Decent hotel in small town close to Basel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The claimed 4-star rating is nowhere near the reality. It is no more than 3-star facility. There is no receptionist after 11.30 am, which is unacceptable. There is central heating and it did not work. The breakfast is good, it is not included in the price. Hotel is overpriced for the service they provide.

    Decent hotel in small town close to Basel.

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly staff, good location for Basel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The ventilator-hatch in the bathroom door means there's a little less privacy than you'd hope for...

    Very friendly staff, good location for Basel. Great breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    8.5
    Well run family hotel with clean , modern rooms and a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing not to like !

    Well run family hotel with clean , modern rooms and a good breakfast only 10 minutes from centre of Basel and a gateway to the Black Forest region. free parking at the hotel and friendly, pleasant staff.One hour drive from Zurich airport and better value than staying in Switzerland

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    10
    The room is comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room is comfortable. Big TV with channels in different languages. I attended a conference in Basel (Messeplatz) and it was easy to leave the car at the hotel (free of charge) and travel to Basel with public transportation. Just 12 minutes by bus 38 to the "Klein Basel".

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    8.3
    Good for a quick stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were here at the peak of summer. The rooms did not have air conditioning and were uncomfortably warm. A small fan was provided which provided little relief.

    Good for a quick stay. Big rooms and excellent restaurant

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    10
    Extremely helpful, with a highly positive attitude and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My only suggestion - to provide also some more rigid pillows. The bed otherwise was extremely comfortable.

    Extremely helpful, with a highly positive attitude and concern regarding your preferences. We have arrived late in the evening, the check-in was done in 1 minute without any fuss or inconvenience. We wanted afterwards some cheese and wine and, despite the fact that the hours so late - close to midnight - they have managed to provide an excellent choice of cheese, beautifully arranged on a plateau along with the perfect wine. It was a real pleasure to see somebody that takes care of the business so seriously and so pleasurable for the guests. It looks more as a boutique hotel, with a lot of beautifully arranged corners. Also the restaurant was full, with a happy and warm atmosphere - I guess that many people are choosing such a nice and warm German restaurant instead of the boring Swiss atmosphere and cuisine. So - EXCELLENT!

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    9.2
    Room is very well decorated and cozy-looking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    At first, couldn't find a responsible personnel while trying to check-in on my first night. Also, sanitation could be a little bit better (traces of past hairs etc.)

    Room is very well decorated and cozy-looking.It has a garden view. Reception is somewhat embedded into the Restaurant section, which makes hotel area tranquil.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    8.8
    Staff efficient & friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    NA

    Staff efficient & friendly. The hotel has very modern interior & the breakfast was great.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    10
    Beautiful location and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Beautiful location and very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    10
    Staff was incredible.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wireless was terrible. Could not connect in room 7 or 8. Please fix.

    Staff was incredible. Breakfast was a treat. Will return for sure!

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    8.8
    Comfortable room with good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too small bed for 2 persons.

    Comfortable room with good facilities.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    5.4
    Professional staff;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Extra fee for breakfast. No free cancellation or refunds when booked through booking.com

    Professional staff; most speak English.

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    9.6
    Stunning design decor and extremely friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stunning design decor and extremely friendly staff. Dinner at gastronomic restaurant in hotel was outstanding and romantic!!

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    9.6
    Well designed, practical, comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rennovations near by

    Well designed, practical, comfortable

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    9.2
    cool and modern hotel with great layout
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    n/a

    cool and modern hotel with great layout

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.2
    The food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No air-con. It was extremely hot in the rooms.

    The food!

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    9.6
    Clean, interesting design, good reading lights for each half...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience

    Clean, interesting design, good reading lights for each half of the bed, spacious.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    8.3
    Brand new facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi was not working...

    Brand new facilities

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    10
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A baby crib wasn't present

    Friendly staff. Renovated room.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    5.8
    Convenient to Basel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was just ok for a 4star hotel.

    Convenient to Basel.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    10
    the brakfest was wonderfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing. i hope to visit this hotel again.

    the brakfest was wonderfull the rooms are well diesgind location is nice with a parking place.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    8.8
    The room huge and the gym fully equiped
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The door of the room you can hear everything. Hotel is missing some good sound proof for the rooms.

    The room huge and the gym fully equiped

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: